Author Topic: Another chainsaw thread  (Read 17520 times)

Offline Brodie Tas

Re: Another chainsaw thread
« Reply #50 on: May 02, 2017, 06:48:44 PM »
About 3 years ago I brought a 16inch ryobi saw from bunnings and I'm really impressed with how it runs and handles, never had a problem with it, also have a 22inch baus saw from eBay, I was a bit  concerned about it but when it got here it was way better then I thought and use it all the time, for my needs these saws do me,

« Reply #51 on: May 02, 2017, 08:24:06 PM »
Hi All, I bought a ms 170 for $249 six months ago I have cut down 30 big royal palms with it then cut them up it to 2m lengths and over time cut up heaps of dead firewood with it, and today I put 5 tanks of fuel through it ripping the royal palms in half trying to dry them out so I can burn the flaming things, its a great well balanced saw with ample power for its size and easy to work on, with the old stile screw on fuel and oil caps that I like,  Craig 

« Reply #52 on: May 02, 2017, 09:18:11 PM »
Give it a good bath Craig, palm sap kills saws quick just in case you weren't aware.

« Reply #53 on: May 02, 2017, 10:41:24 PM »
Thanks GBC great tip, I blow it out with compressor and wash with 2/ fuel then squirt it with inox, Craig
The following users thanked this post: pank

Offline grafy82

« Reply #54 on: May 02, 2017, 11:56:39 PM »
I managed to pick up the Victa 80v cordless chainsaw on the runout yellow sticker sale at Bunnings for $20 ;D. It's a brilliant saw with plenty of grunt and it'll do a surprising amount of cuts from one charge. As far as safety goes, they are brilliant because as soon as your finger leaves the trigger, they come to a dead stop. I also have the little 10" bar Ryobi 18v cordless that I always have in the campers toolbox. It's not a speed demon, but with a sharp chain it still cuts through tough hardwood with no dramas and it's so small and quite it can be used just about anywhere >:D. I noticed today at bunnos that Ryobi has brought out a brushless version of this 18v saw so that should be a ripper too.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

Offline Paddy16

Another chainsaw thread
« Reply #55 on: May 03, 2017, 08:00:46 AM »
Like with 4wd's I reckon whatever suits your pocket and is safe while doing the job is perfectly fine :) I waited 2 years before buying mine as I wanted a Husky. Never been sorry for one day. I'm a firm believer in buy right - buy once

Offline LB

« Reply #56 on: May 03, 2017, 10:41:13 AM »
As a member of NSW SES I would spend the extra money and get a stihl they just keep going. One thing I have noticed in general is that men pick the biggest saw and women pick the one fit for purpose. The bigger the bar the bigger the motor the heavy it gets. I would go for something in the middle. They would be more times the big ones are a pain then helpful. If you know what you are doing a med saw will cut down just about anything.
2017 BT-50 GT
Kimberley Kamper Platinum 2013

« Reply #57 on: May 03, 2017, 12:26:47 PM »
As a member of NSW SES I would spend the extra money and get a stihl they just keep going. One thing I have noticed in general is that men pick the biggest saw and women pick the one fit for purpose. The bigger the bar the bigger the motor the heavy it gets. I would go for something in the middle. They would be more times the big ones are a pain then helpful. If you know what you are doing a med saw will cut down just about anything.

Wife uses a Stihl MS231... she's 5' on a good day, but has been using chainsaw for a fair few years, and isn't afraid to learn new things. One dealer tried to get her to go up to the next size, but she was happy with the 231 and it seems to be doing everything we ask of it. On the other hand I use one of these... works well for what I need it to, but I could do with getting some new blades for it.

On the subject of sharp things, with whatever chainsaw you go with keeping it sharp makes life much easier and safer - they're like a knife in that respect, they're safer sharp rather than blunt. We picked up one of the little $50 Ozito sharpeners for ours, and we run 3 chains now to make it easier to keep going safely.

Offline Paddy16

« Reply #58 on: May 03, 2017, 05:10:43 PM »
I also got the Stihl, Stihl story but narrowed it down to what works best for you as the top two brands both have advocates of them. In certain ranges Husky has more models but its servicing dealers that helped me decide - our local Stihl dealers are hopeless. Do I think less of the brand - no. Most Vic emergency services use them too.

« Reply #59 on: May 07, 2017, 07:18:24 PM »
I've officially got saw envy now.
Went away for the weekend with a few mates firewood cutting.

Had a crack a my mates 880 Magnum fitted with a 46 inch bar. What a beast. It produces kindling, not sawdust...

That's 2 170's end to end and they're still shorter. In the background is a 390.

I'm now tossing up between a MS291 or MS391 in addition to my 017.

Offline raider

« Reply #60 on: May 07, 2017, 08:41:41 PM »
My mrs works in the pawn industry >:D and someone has got a loan on a big old Husky with a bar on it like that Stihl. I said i'll take it if he fails to make the payments or wants to hock it. ;D
Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done

« Reply #61 on: May 08, 2017, 09:45:22 AM »
yea nothing like a big bar ;D

« Reply #62 on: May 08, 2017, 08:40:45 PM »
Hi Bird, I had an 090 but not with a bar that long, great old saw I use rip fence posts with it flaming heavy old buggers, Craig

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #63 on: May 09, 2017, 10:51:07 PM »
Hi Bird, I had an 090 but not with a bar that long, great old saw I use rip fence posts with it flaming heavy old buggers, Craig
Ditto that... The bar on mine was about 28 inches from memory... Definitely a pig if it decided to kick on a knot...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #64 on: May 10, 2017, 07:56:07 AM »
Hi Drew, But Man the power that thing had running on super fuel was unreel I could not stall it out, it was a beast, My brother has the 880 Magnum but the 090 seemed to have better grunt, Craig

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #65 on: May 10, 2017, 08:40:12 AM »
Hi Drew, But Man the power that thing had running on super fuel was unreel I could not stall it out, it was a beast, My brother has the 880 Magnum but the 090 seemed to have better grunt, Craig
Oh yeah, torque on tap...

Bought my current Husky as a limbing saw, and it's been terrific too

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #66 on: May 10, 2017, 09:08:20 AM »
I like the Huskies too mate has one around 60cc great saw, Craig