Author Topic: Does anyone remember 'Super Responsive'  (Read 11312 times)

Re: Does anyone remember 'Super Responsive'
« Reply #25 on: October 31, 2016, 08:55:31 PM »

Vallo is poo brown with a vynil roof , smells like a valiant or 1969 depending on how old you are

80's EFI....  Forgot how bad that junk was.

Currently I'm trying to get the EFI crossflow running smoothly, or more to the point idle. Can anyone say vacuum leak

Turbo Barra ;D

F### originality, vac leaks, horrendous fuel consumption!

HELLO REAL WORLD!

Turbo Barra ;D

And 10" rears ;D

« Reply #26 on: October 31, 2016, 09:47:03 PM »
80's EFI....  Forgot how bad that junk was.

I recently picked up an 87 XF Fairmont Ghia in reasonable nick to play around with. Plan is (if I choose to keep it) for an injected Windsor or a Turbo Barra. Currently I'm trying to get the EFI crossflow running smoothly, or more to the point idle. Can anyone say vacuum leak!  Probably doesn't help that the rocker cover, sump, rear main, oil cap and dipstick all leak...

Have you checked the air flow meter? Had one in the early 90's. It was fiddly to start, and idled like it had a vac leak.
Took it to the local dealer 3 times but no joy. A smaller local mechanic found the issue within 15 minutes.
Electronics in the AFM had given up.

Turbo Barra =  ;D

« Reply #27 on: November 01, 2016, 06:26:02 AM »

Have you checked the air flow meter? Had one in the early 90's. It was fiddly to start, and idled like it had a vac leak.
Took it to the local dealer 3 times but no joy. A smaller local mechanic found the issue within 15 minutes.
Electronics in the AFM had given up.

Turbo Barra =  ;D

It's on the list, doing process of elimination. So far I've sorted the obvious vac leaks abd pulled apart and cleaned the idle control valve. I'd rather not tip any money on this motor though.

Turbo Barra ;D

F### originality, vac leaks, horrendous fuel consumption!

HELLO REAL WORLD!

Turbo Barra ;D

And 10" rears ;D

Bloody wreckers want decent coin for them.  Complete 200,000km motor and box with all ancillaries, loom and ecu will set you back $3,500 to $4,500 for BA-BF unit.  Lot of coin to spend on an XF...
On the other hand a N/A FG motor and box conversion can be had for around $1,000.  195kw would still go okay.
Need to check out auctions for a complete write off.

Or, I can get a complete 220,000km 96 NF V8 Fairlane for $800.  Now a N/A Barra would flog it, but it'd have the note.

10" rears.... 12 slotters with TA Radials.

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
« Reply #28 on: November 01, 2016, 07:19:54 AM »

Land Rover ( contrary to the one eyed jealous  dribble posted earlier ! ) is a dead set weapon , the fastest Fat Girl - 2.5t super quiet , super comfy goes anywhere gentlemans club lounge on wheels !!!

Sensitive much  :cheers: :cheers: See you on the tilt tray  :-*
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

« Reply #29 on: November 01, 2016, 07:21:49 AM »
It's on the list, doing process of elimination. So far I've sorted the obvious vac leaks abd pulled apart and cleaned the idle control valve. I'd rather not tip any money on this motor though.
If it was ever on gas, the AFM has probably had the arse blown out of it.
[/quote]

« Reply #30 on: November 01, 2016, 08:21:45 AM »

Just removed a set yesterday, I'll put 'em aside for you ;D

« Reply #31 on: November 01, 2016, 09:08:53 AM »
If it was ever on gas, the AFM has probably had the arse blown out of it.

Thankfully this old girl escaped the taxi gas conversion.  Air box is still in one piece.

I've got a fatory Egas BA wagon (ex Telstra not taxi) and I noticed Ford fit spring loaded mounts on the airbox to minimize backfire damage.

Just removed a set yesterday, I'll put 'em aside for you ;D

Cheers!

Everydays a wet day with TA's....

« Reply #32 on: November 01, 2016, 12:41:49 PM »
I was trying - file is too big ........
It's red , with flares and stripes , smells like 1980 .

Don't give up, keep trying. It might be the same as mine.

« Reply #33 on: November 01, 2016, 01:56:25 PM »
If I cared about going fast, and super responsive again, I'd buy another bike..

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #34 on: November 01, 2016, 03:44:57 PM »
Don't give up, keep trying. It might be the same as mine.

Here try this , i submitted it around 2009 to the NY Times !

http://collectiblecars.nytimes.com/View_Listing.asp?ListingID=COL611151

Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #35 on: November 01, 2016, 03:48:00 PM »
If I cared about going fast, and super responsive again, I'd buy another bike..

Except new ones are scary fast and im old n soft - plus  there are too many halfwits on the road with no idea of 'awareness '

« Reply #36 on: November 01, 2016, 08:20:32 PM »

How long have owned that. I use to know the owner of it. The car featured in Underbelly the Golden Mile.

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #37 on: November 01, 2016, 08:48:52 PM »
I've owned it approx 13 -14 yrs or so , was involved in the HDT club and yes it was in underbelly . What's your true identity !

Offline Joff

« Reply #38 on: November 01, 2016, 08:56:51 PM »

Nice old car en all but wouldnt it be more correct to say that this car was the point at which the Holden Dealer Team started selling cars rather than

This Car started what would become an icon in Australia, The Holden Dealer Team

Coz i think the late great Harry Firth might have a bit of an objection to that statement as would any monaro or torana nut.

« Reply #39 on: November 01, 2016, 09:08:57 PM »
Nice old car en all but wouldnt it be more correct to say that this car was the point at which the Holden Dealer Team started selling cars rather than

This Car started what would become an icon in Australia, The Holden Dealer Team

Coz i think the late great Harry Firth might have a bit of an objection to that statement as would any monaro or torana nut.

Model/ ???

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holden_48-215

Offline Joff

« Reply #40 on: November 01, 2016, 09:44:15 PM »
Model/ ???

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holden_48-215

That's the first holden but the Holden Dealer Team started selling cars in 1980 when Brock bought it. What became HDT Special Vehicles started with that commodore but the Holden Dealer Team had been around since 1969.

« Reply #41 on: November 01, 2016, 10:01:21 PM »

Bloody wreckers want decent coin for them.  Complete 200,000km motor and box with all ancillaries, loom and ecu will set you back $3,500 to $4,500 for BA-BF unit.  Lot of coin to spend on an XF...
On the other hand a N/A FG motor and box conversion can be had for around $1,000.  195kw would still go okay.
Need to check out auctions for a complete write off.

Or, I can get a complete 220,000km 96 NF V8 Fairlane for $800.  Now a N/A Barra would flog it, but it'd have the note.

Rebuild the Fairlane donk to a performance  full gas [ LPG ] only set up..  ;D

« Reply #42 on: November 01, 2016, 10:07:19 PM »
:
« Last Edit: November 02, 2016, 07:14:06 AM by Footy Shorts Shane »

« Reply #43 on: November 02, 2016, 07:49:28 AM »
Quote from: Joff
That's the first holden but the Holden Dealer Team started selling cars in 1980

look at the ad in NYT.. says its a 48/215.

Offline Joff

« Reply #44 on: November 02, 2016, 09:17:29 AM »
look at the ad in NYT.. says its a 48/215.

Right. Missed that. my bad.. sorry FSS  :-[

« Reply #45 on: November 02, 2016, 11:23:06 AM »
I've owned it approx 13 -14 yrs or so , was involved in the HDT club and yes it was in underbelly . What's your true identity !

Did you own the car when it was in Underbelly. Are you DM

Offline Joff

« Reply #46 on: November 02, 2016, 11:39:46 AM »

Considering that Underbelly was only a few years ago and he said he'd owned it for over a decade I reckon you can take it as read that he's DM  :laugh:

Elementary my dear MDS69 (if that is in fact your real name)

« Reply #47 on: November 02, 2016, 03:25:20 PM »
Considering that Underbelly was only a few years ago and he said he'd owned it for over a decade I reckon you can take it as read that he's DM  :laugh:

Elementary my dear MDS69 (if that is in fact your real name)

:-X

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #48 on: November 02, 2016, 04:13:34 PM »

Yes to both !
 :D

« Reply #49 on: November 02, 2016, 09:38:40 PM »
Yes to both !
 :D

I was having dinner tonight with some of the boys that we both know from the owners club days and asked if you moved to Mexico and Phil confirmed it.