Author Topic: Fridge slide, pivots 90 degrees help!  (Read 16256 times)

Offline mato

Re: Fridge slide, pivots 90 degrees help!
« Reply #25 on: March 06, 2016, 12:56:25 PM »
Tryagain i like that idea with the tracks i did not know bunnings sold that
Very cool

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Offline deetee

• GIC Alpha with 100series T/Diesel tug
« Reply #26 on: March 10, 2016, 10:34:17 PM »
I went into the MDC showroom on the sunny coast and had a real good look at the fridge slide. Took my tape paper n pencil, did some measuring, took photos the whole nine yards. The guy didn't mind. I'd seen this slide at the camping show a few times. After a bit of navel gazing I decided to fork out the $900 as its a really well made and finished bit of kit, I'm a sheety by trade and I couldn't be bothered to make this when I can buy it. I know it's the old plumber had leaky taps, sparky has faulty lights story😊 haven't bought it yet as I'm still doing the 12v fit out. Probably a couple of months away yet. Probably next time I'm home, fifo worker.

Offline WomblingFree

« Reply #27 on: March 12, 2016, 01:36:20 PM »

Suggest you go buy one of the corners and hit it with something heavy to see how robust it is before you spend the big bucks..
They are only a very poor grade alloy and easily break just when being pounded into the tubes. Can't imagine it surviving long in a camper.

Also have a look at Altitude campers who do one. Thats what I'm copying for my Johnnos.

« Reply #28 on: March 12, 2016, 02:54:29 PM »
Suggest you go buy one of the corners and hit it with something heavy to see how robust it is before you spend the big bucks..
They are only a very poor grade alloy and easily break just when being pounded into the tubes. Can't imagine it surviving long in a camper.

Also have a look at Altitude campers who do one. Thats what I'm copying for my Johnnos.

Not planning on using the corners at all, just bought it for the steel track.

Offline WomblingFree

« Reply #29 on: March 12, 2016, 03:09:04 PM »
Ah, right. Thought it was speed frame.

Do your rollers need tyres to make up the track internal  size or you want low noise?

« Reply #30 on: March 12, 2016, 03:32:23 PM »
Ah, right. Thought it was speed frame.

Do your rollers need tyres to make up the track internal  size or you want low noise?

Internal track size,otherwise it would just be the bolt sliding along the gap in the "C" channel and the bearing not touching. I think with the "tire" it should be just enough to avoid the bolt fowling but wont be able to be 100% sure until its all working with a load on it, I may need a slightly bigger overall diameter. Did you have any pics of the Altitude camper slide, I cant see too much detail on the images I could find with Google but am more than happy to take any of their good ideas they may have and incorporate it with what I have in mind.

« Reply #31 on: March 12, 2016, 03:35:42 PM »
mine are directly to the side of the trailer

Thanks, are they bolted or welded.

Offline myminirocks

« Reply #32 on: March 12, 2016, 11:08:38 PM »
I've been wanting one of these since the first time I saw one. Now I'm at the pointy end of making it happen.

Can I ask anyone who has one, be it MDC or Camel or DIY, how has it held up?

My concern is not if it can support the fridge weight when it has been pulled out and swung away, my concern is when it is put away and when you are driving on shocking roads. I worry about the curry aged ruts etc with the weight of the fridge being supported only by the wheels in the runners. 

Love to hear people's feed back.
Check out our blog where we documented our (interrupted half) trip around Australia: http://fealyfamily.wordpress.com/

2009 Full Off Road All Terrain Camper, bare bones for now, but a few mods in mind.
Tow vehicle is a Prado 120 Series D4D with a little bit of fruit.

Offline Mitch92

« Reply #33 on: March 13, 2016, 05:20:06 AM »
Gday

Mine is not yet built but will be picking up kitchen in two weeks.

I'm going to do mine so that as it slides in to the trailer it will have skids on the bottom to support its weight on that rather than the wheels (well both kind of)

Offline mato

« Reply #34 on: March 13, 2016, 06:47:41 AM »
Why not just make a drop down support that you can put down when packed up and when also in the trailer.

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Offline WomblingFree

« Reply #35 on: March 13, 2016, 10:48:54 AM »
Did you have any pics of the Altitude camper slide,

No, only the ones from their website but do a MySwag search for Altitude as I've seen pics somewhere from an owner showing quite a bit of it in the kitchen.
It uses the aluminium tracks from Ovesco and they have matching wheels - much bigger/stronger than the Bunnings thing but quite a bit more expensive as well.
https://www.ovesco.com.au/products.php?catname=Drawer%20Slides&cat=3&sub=72&subname=OCCO%20Track

If you are able to read AutoCAD drawings then I can send you my designs. They are based on the size of a Weico 80L fridge but you can scale the whole thing if needed.Current design uses fabricated slides made from 20x20 hollow section but I'll be using the Ovesco tracks.