Author Topic: Dual cab utes and short wives?  (Read 6538 times)

Dual cab utes and short wives?
« on: December 28, 2015, 02:09:07 AM »
Just wandering if any of you ute owners have issues with shorts wives/partners and access to the stuff in the rear?

I see mums at school use utes with lifted suspension and drawers in the back as daily drivers and I can't help wandering how they access the stuff in the back? When they need to get the pram out or whatever I imagine it would be a struggle, especially if the stuff is up near the cab end.

My wife is 5'2" and she is happy loading stuff into the back of our 2" lifted Pajero but she struggles a bit putting the kids seatbelt on in the middle. The utes seem much higher that my Pajero so my wife would struggle like buggery!!

(PS not looking to upgrade the Pajero yet, just getting some ideas while I dream on Carsales hahaha)

Re: Dual cab utes and short wives?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2015, 04:08:52 AM »
Just wandering if any of you ute owners have issues with shorts wives/partners and access to the stuff in the rear?

I see mums at school use utes with lifted suspension and drawers in the back as daily drivers and I can't help wandering how they access the stuff in the back? When they need to get the pram out or whatever I imagine it would be a struggle, especially if the stuff is up near the cab end.

My wife is 5'2" and she is happy loading stuff into the back of our 2" lifted Pajero but she struggles a bit putting the kids seatbelt on in the middle. The utes seem much higher that my Pajero so my wife would struggle like buggery!!

Side steps might make the job of seat belts a tad easier..... I have a BT50 with a lift but no child seats so i'm not sure how my wife would go reaching them as she is only short too

(PS not looking to upgrade the Pajero yet, just getting some ideas while I dream on Carsales hahaha)

Offline Jackdawg

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2015, 06:40:52 AM »
Just tell them it makes up for us having to bend over to reach the kitchen sink :)

« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2015, 07:49:07 AM »

« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2015, 08:04:50 AM »
Here you go. Just don't buy a Jeep. I'm sure you could get these for a Hilux if needed.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=kMljg4Jy7Eo

Remember to
chill, put the aircon on, climb another great Vic High Country track then look north to see what other swagg'rs are up to in the electrical thread.

« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2015, 11:07:33 AM »
That's why they make them with the non optional bending chassis... so shortarses can reach inside the back :D

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2015, 11:21:21 AM »
I have a lifted Hilux and the missus uses the side step to get in and do up the 4yr olds seat belt.

If there is anything in the back that is to far in, in the draws or in the fridge, she uses a step that Symon showed.

Offline gnomeo

« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2015, 01:06:52 PM »
The minister for finance here is just a shade over 5' tall and I have a new hilux on order. She has managed to get herself and other goods in and out of one I borrowed for a few days before the purchase decision was made.

Mind you it was that or she'd be doing a lot of walking   >:D

« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2015, 01:35:08 PM »

Hey, that's a cool step Symon. are they available locally?
Never seen them before and one would be handy in the CT

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2015, 01:40:52 PM »
I am about 5'2" myself and the dmax is my daily driver. No kids car seats so if I only have a few things in the shopping I put them on the back seat. Also have one of those canvas car boot organisers it at least stops things rolling around the tub. If I need things from the front of the tub I usually just climb in there. We have a canopy on the ute if I want stuff from the fridge I open canopy door but leave tailgate shut and climb on the back step. I think one of those fold up steps would be handy at set up pack up of the camper but I usually just do the other setup jobs.

Offline cheif carlos

« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2015, 02:08:46 PM »
You can get a tray slide much like a drawer would enable access to the back of the ute
Need to get the backside into gear and get out camping

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2015, 02:33:24 PM »
Hey, that's a cool step Symon. are they available locally?
Never seen them before and one would be handy in the CT

You can get these from the big green shed, bcf or Freddie's fishing n camping store.

I got mine from the last option.

Offline dales133

« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2015, 02:47:15 PM »
They had them at rays yesterday too.
My dwarf needs one to get in the landcrusier

Offline scblack

« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2015, 03:06:28 PM »

i have a white one of these, but it broke. Cracked from the handle to the centre of it. Great bit of kit other than that.

Maybe be careful what weight is plonked on it.
VW Amarok Highline 2016
Jayco Swan Outback 2015

A man must believe in something.
I believe I'll have another beer.

« Reply #14 on: December 28, 2015, 03:20:56 PM »
Yes be carefull if you are on the heavy side, the one we got and paid a premium for [ being a bit of plastic ]...  lasted two days into our trip before breaking  [ didnt like my weight on it ] .
 Ended up cutting down one of our  milk crates  with a hacksaw blade to the correct step height  and zip tied a trimmed down  rear footwell car mat to the top of  it .Could still use it to put stuff in it to and from the camping trip . lasted over five years till I pulled the camper apart .

« Reply #15 on: December 28, 2015, 03:44:58 PM »
You can get these from the big green shed, bcf or Freddie's fishing n camping store.

I got mine from the last option.

Thanks Strvy

Cheers  :cheers:

« Reply #16 on: December 28, 2015, 03:47:12 PM »
Cheers, I thought you were taking the mickey with the step but that could come in handy when setting up the camper/loading roofrack etc. My wife usually uses the side steps to get onto the tyre to tie things up top (she like to go verge collection shopping).

The Pajero has side steps but still finds it awkward, maybe just not doing her job properly (she doesn't read this forum haha).

« Reply #17 on: December 28, 2015, 03:48:05 PM »
They had them at rays yesterday too.
My dwarf needs one to get in the landcrusier

You're a brave boy Dales, if ya missus reads MySwag your shares are gunna go down real quick. ;D ;D
The following users thanked this post: Bobsan

Offline dales133

« Reply #18 on: December 28, 2015, 04:32:42 PM »
Lol
Thats alright ,a mate of mine used to call his vertically challenged wife the love stump.
He coped a couple of smacks around the head getting caught too
« Last Edit: December 28, 2015, 04:35:23 PM by dales133 »

Offline dales133

« Reply #19 on: December 28, 2015, 04:38:01 PM »
Bunnings from time to time have a good little alloy one for 20 bucks too

« Reply #20 on: December 28, 2015, 06:39:07 PM »
Bunnings from time to time have a good little alloy one for 20 bucks too

Yep, that might be the better way to go if it folds down as flat as this plastic one.
Storage for it is the key issue for me.

Cheers  :cheers:

Offline dales133

« Reply #21 on: December 28, 2015, 07:20:08 PM »
It folds but not quite as flat.
I use one for work because often you only need that little bit more reach and its better than dragging a ladder home.
When i dont need it it kicks around home... her indoors uses it as much as i do

Offline slave

« Reply #22 on: December 29, 2015, 11:30:29 AM »
W had one of these but it soon got retired after DH saw me slip on it when it was wet.  DH didntnt fancu me slipping and breaking anything while traveling for 3 months, It probably wouldnt have taken his weight for long either. We got an aluminum one that had non slip on the step.

i have a white one of these, but it broke. Cracked from the handle to the centre of it. Great bit of kit other than that.

Maybe be careful what weight is plonked on it.
2003 Holden Ute
1996 Cub Camper

Online Moggy

« Reply #23 on: December 29, 2015, 12:07:51 PM »
Buy her some 6" pumps.
Kill 2 birds with 1 stone ????????????

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence