Author Topic: Best way to have a shipping container relocated?  (Read 4628 times)

Offline terravista

Best way to have a shipping container relocated?
« on: January 09, 2016, 06:07:25 PM »
We have a daughter relocating to the Rockhampton area, and have all her gear in a 20' container.
It needs to go from Waterford West (near Beenleigh) to Marmor, 50km south of Rockhampton but it does not matter if it takes a month or two.
Trucking door to door sounds easier, as either rail or ship it would require two additional bits of trucking.
Anyone have experience or knowledge in container moving, or can anyone recommend companies who do?
I could weld a set of wheels on it and drag it behind the Monterey, but don't know how to fit electric brakes to make it legal. I am pretty sure the 6 tonne weight would be fine.
Ian.

Offline Mitch92

Re: Best way to have a shipping container relocated?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2016, 06:15:05 PM »
Try mobs like gormans removals. They have a depot in rocky and brissie (home base is rocky) Obviously still extra trucking but you never know?

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2016, 07:23:07 PM »
Fitzroy Towing used to do a run from Rocky to Brisbane weekly. Give them a call and see if they are coming back with an empty spot. I've got to ask though.............why Marmor?
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

Offline Mitch92

« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2016, 08:41:47 PM »
. I've got to ask though.............why Marmor?
Cheers, Mike.

Haha I was thinking it, just didn't want to say it

Offline terravista

« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2016, 09:53:00 PM »
Fitzroy Towing used to do a run from Rocky to Brisbane weekly. Give them a call and see if they are coming back with an empty spot. I've got to ask though.............why Marmor?
Cheers, Mike.

Why not Marmor???? What don't we know???
Seems not too bad. 146 acres, two houses about 500 metres apart, in-ground pool, 5 dams, 2 bores, windmill, farm ute, sulky, 5 bay steel shed and five other outbuildings, shed full of tools, grove of mango trees (4). Bruce highway frontage so no getting flooded in. Bus service to Rocky. Fully fenced into large paddocks and a horse round yard and arena.
All for less then $450k.
I suppose the list of good deserves some bad. Hot weather, potential for dams full of crocs if too much flooding occurs, town has one small servo and little else.
Explosives factory just up the road so plenty of bang juice in case of zombie apocalypse.

« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2016, 02:30:27 PM »
I drop into Marmor rom time to time.......for work.

Offline terravista

« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2016, 09:14:43 AM »
If anyone reads this looking for answers for a similar query, Fitzroy Towing are $990.
Gormans Removals are slow to answer but they could be on their Chrissie holidays.
Web enquiries had some response but Aurizon don't do it, and Australian Container Removals are booked out for 6 months.
Loadshift are an online brokerage who lists the jobs and interested truckies give quotes.
So far (overnight) there have been four responses and they have varied from $700 to $1500.
Definitely worth shopping around.

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2016, 12:46:17 PM »
Crazy prices, down here an import sideloader delivery is around $400 and that includes wharf collection.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2016, 01:17:13 PM »
Get a removalist and sell the container.

Offline Moggy

« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2016, 02:41:22 PM »
Crazy prices, down here an import sideloader delivery is around $400 and that includes wharf collection.
Welcome to Queensland

Beautiful one day

Dear as phuch everyday ????

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2016, 02:44:17 PM »
Swag mail it..

If Tom Toastie can go overseas, a shipping container can go north.

« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2016, 02:49:05 PM »
Any local tilt tray operators that are a bit quiet and wouldnt mind picking up a bit of work .

« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2016, 02:55:17 PM »
how far do they deliver at that price? These people are doing a 600 - 700klm move

Offline terravista

« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2016, 03:30:13 PM »
how far do they deliver at that price? These people are doing a 600 - 700klm move

Exactly. Based on out trip a couple of weeks ago, it is 645km.
I did get a price from a tilt tray guy quoting $60/hour, and working on 10 hours each way and a motel for a night night it was going to be $1300 plus GST. For some stupid reason he wouldn't do one way only.

As for selling the container later.......nup. This will be half of my future workshop. The other half will be our furniture removal in a year or so when we move and start sponging off our daughter for a change.
A bit of cut&paste and i have a secure combination workshop and sauna.

« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2016, 03:37:16 PM »
Quote from: terravista
Exactly. Based on out trip a couple of weeks ago, it is 645km.
I did get a price from a tilt tray guy quoting $60/hour, and working on 10 hours each way and a motel for a night night it was going to be $1300 plus GST. For some stupid reason he wouldn't do one way only.
cause if he cant get a back load, it costs him...
went thru similar with a mate with a truck to move to Melbourne... wanted stupid $$ for it... it was dirt cheap with proper removalists.

Offline terravista

« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2016, 03:52:02 PM »
cause if he cant get a back load, it costs him...
went thru similar with a mate with a truck to move to Melbourne... wanted stupid $$ for it... it was dirt cheap with proper removalists.

I have mixed feelings about someone not getting a backload.
The guy that delivered the container originally charged an hourly rate, but had no backload to get home. But I guess this time his home is 10 hours away unless he converts the trip into a paid holiday.
As for removalists, we received higher quotes than the total $2700 for the container and moving, and all we would have left over is a bunch of cardboard boxes.