Author Topic: Dreaming of a lap of Oz !!!  (Read 18640 times)

Re: Dreaming of a lap of Oz !!!
« Reply #50 on: January 21, 2011, 03:47:50 AM »
I have worked out of a 2man pup tent for 3 1/2 hears no fridge just an esky . your going to have fun however you do it so go for it . learn to use things to your advantage .

Offline whitey1

• Mr and Mrs Whiteys Great Oz Trek
« Reply #51 on: January 21, 2011, 08:52:44 AM »
Working out of a 2 man tent with esky, thats doing it basic!

Toyota Prado D4D towing an custom built off road caravan
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mr-Mrs-Whiteys-Great-Oz-Trek/23574764645

Offline ddr

« Reply #52 on: January 21, 2011, 02:10:15 PM »
This thread makes me sad.  I have enough payed time available for 6+months travel(LSL + Other leave), I have the setup for that kind of trip & have the trip planned.

One thing I don't have is permission, the Mrs just doesn't want to go for that long, Ive been negotiated down to 2 months & she isn't 100% on that either.  Apparently I have to wait to retire, but I recon ill be dead before then. :'(

Seems everyone from strangers to the Kids Principal say to go, its a fantastic journey for them.  Oh well, maybe on my next life.

morgansmall

« Reply #53 on: January 21, 2011, 03:03:25 PM »
After my mum died 6 months before my step-dad was due to retire, kyboshing his plans for them so spend a lot of their time travelling, my wife and I have decided, at 42, that we should do the trip we've always wanted to while we're physically able to enjoy it.  We're v lucky - renting, in jobs we are both bored in and no debt, with a bit of an inheritance coming this year which will basically be a deposit on a house when we've finished our 12 months.  This means we can budget out of our savings, and we intend to work for some of the trip.  We'll also have no roots, which is scary, but a terrific opportunity as we could potentially end up anywhere at the end of it ???...

I've spent a long time thinking of all the potential things we're going to need to budget for and going with the $1k a week general concensus we're going to be able to hit the road on 1 March next year.   :cheers:

A few of the things that we need to budget for that aren't obvious daily expenses, but we still need to have $ in the bank to pay are:

Storage of our possessions for 12 months;
Insurances - house contents (in storage), camper trailer, car, income protection, private medical insurance;
Normal servicing and rego of the car & trailer;
Use of a post redirection service;
Slush fund for repairs.

We want to be very comfortable on the trip and we've written down and priced every possible thing we can think of that we need to buy to prepare for the trip - right down to the porta potty. (Of course that won't be everything but it's better than taking a potshot at the cost - we were surprised at how much we have to get!!)

Funny enough everybody we've mentioned it to has said it's a brilliant idea.  We reckon 90% of them don't think we'll do it.

We can't wait until the day we wave goodbye to them out of the car window :P

« Reply #54 on: January 21, 2011, 06:55:44 PM »
The best thing that you can show all is dust     ,     as you make a mile or kill a meter   . As you chouies . Get out there & stop dreaming  DO It  :cheers:

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #55 on: January 21, 2011, 09:31:53 PM »
I agree with Speewa.  Just get out there and do it.

Jamie, PM sent.
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

« Reply #56 on: October 12, 2015, 12:01:15 PM »
What we did for 09-10;
Sold the family home and bought a smaller place with tenant.
Enrolled the brats in Distance Ed. She was NSW year 8 and he was NSW year 5 in 09.
We travelled in a "where we felt like direction" but roughly counter clockwise.

We did no work for the first 9 months because we weren't looking to leave our kids in the tent while we went off to work (that idea is great, but it doesn't suit everyone and everyones circumstances). Our plan was to see and experience as much as we could with the kids at an age where they will remember it forever.

Travelling like that resulted in an average spend of $992 per week. Food and household stuff is the highest cost followed by fuel OR accomodation. What we found was that when you are on the move you camp free or at least very cheap but your fuel bill is higher. When you hit town after a week or so in the bush/desert etc you will then spend a few days or a week in a van park doing the washing, schoolwork, maintenance, shopping etc. Your fuel bill is low but the accomodation is high.

We stopped in Perth for 6 months and did some work. We put the kids in regular school. They made new friends and so did we. The basic idea of the intermission was to wait out the hot weather so we could come back east across the middle in the winter, which is what we did through June, July and August this year.

There is no doubt that 18 months on the road is the best thing we have ever done. Sonja and I always knew we would end up being grey nomads in later life but now we know it will suit us. We just keep throwing fertiliser on the kids feet in the hope that they grow up faster.

Since being back and getting back into the real world, we have both had days where we wonder if it was all just a dream, but then something happens to remind us of the adventure and we smile..

And, just for the record; none of the issues you are all wrestling with end up being that much of a big deal. In fact I have a hard time now trying to remember what I was worried about back in 08.. Believe me when I say I did worry, but I can't remember what about now or even why  :cup:

Good Luck, and don't be that bloke that gets to the end only to wish he'd just had the guts :cheers:

Some stuff you might see

Intermission Thead

Canning Thread

Simpson Thread

It's not all beer and skittles though
Bad stuff happens too thread  :cheers:
theres also this one.