Author Topic: The Sandman is back! (Sort of...)  (Read 13488 times)

Re: The Sandman is back! (Sort of...)
« Reply #25 on: March 28, 2015, 05:59:25 AM »
Slapping stickers on a car and calling it a Sandman, is exactly what GMH did in the 70's.

Same with Drifter and Sundowner.

Yeah I know, but when you say Holden Sandman to someone, they instantly think panel van.  Not rep-mobile...

Back in NZ in the 70's the old man and his mate had a business.  One of the delivery vans was a then new 6cyl, 3 on the tree XB Panel Van called 'Supervan'.  Burnt orange paint, custom round bubble windows, the body head to toe in blue flame decals, a big Supervan decal above the windscreen, the back decked out in champagne coloured shag pile and still rolling on skinny tyres and hubcaps!  Apparently the Supervan kit was a dealer option.

Big thumbs up on the XF van cruiser 91. :D   I've had 2 of them over the years.  First was an ex divvy van.  Factory column auto with bucket seats and no centre console, a cigarette lighter, but no ashtray and a switch under the dash that let you turn the dash lights on without the headlights.  Had SVO style paint, XC Cobra Bathurst Globes and dumped really low.
The 2nd van I went the opposite way.  15" interceptors, 205/75 AT tyres and a 1.5" suspension lift.  I went a quite a few 'camping' trips with an ex girlfriend in that one. >:D

« Reply #26 on: March 28, 2015, 06:03:06 AM »
That's no a Root Ute its a Station Wagon Wanner Be        :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( Just where would you put the chandelier & disco ball     ???    ???    ???

You forgot the fluffy shag pile!  ;D

« Reply #27 on: March 28, 2015, 06:33:14 AM »
They  " Forgot it " luckily some of us can remember the embers we lit in said wagons  . >:D        :cheers:

« Reply #28 on: March 28, 2015, 06:50:27 AM »
didn't they try to re introduce the sandman a few tears back maybe even 10 years back, and as a panel van ?
 I personally preferred the "Drifter" panel van

« Reply #29 on: August 27, 2015, 10:39:22 AM »
It's certainly ugly, but hey, it's a Commodore, it'll never be a 'something'  ;D

And didn't these things sell like hot cakes  ;D

Well done GMH. Best marketing plan ever...........  ::)

« Reply #30 on: August 27, 2015, 11:33:25 AM »
And didn't these things sell like hot cakes  ;D

Well done GMH. Best marketing plan ever...........  ::)

Did they sell ANY ??  Did they actually offer it in the end ?

« Reply #31 on: August 27, 2015, 11:37:52 AM »
Did they sell ANY ??  Did they actually offer it in the end ?

Yeah there's a couple down the road from me at the dealers. I recon there'll be a fair few Utes and vans sold off soon with some sporty options on them and a different model code on the VIN. Reckon there'll be a heap of removed ugly orange vinyl decals in the bin too ;D

Offline denidoug

« Reply #32 on: August 27, 2015, 06:07:27 PM »
Bring them back I say
You could have one of these
Or maybe not
Or

« Reply #33 on: August 27, 2015, 06:23:35 PM »

Yes please!

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Offline listo

« Reply #34 on: August 27, 2015, 06:50:08 PM »
^^ my thoughts exactly, that looks awesome!

« Reply #35 on: August 27, 2015, 06:51:43 PM »

My FIL's, well now my BILS.
My BIL and his cousin dropped the engine back into it for the FIL's funeral.

The current motor is an older group A motor.
The original motor is in a Bedford truck.

The FIL bought it secondhand in 74.

« Reply #36 on: August 27, 2015, 06:57:55 PM »
Sorry to hear of the passing of the FIL Nomad .... Question ... that bar under the steering colum is that part of a hand control set up for a driver with dissabilities ?

« Reply #37 on: August 27, 2015, 07:14:41 PM »
Well spotted edz. He was a paraplegic. Broke his back racing trail bikes. So the ute was set up for him.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-03-18/paralympian-ashley-adams-killed-in-quad-bike-accident-in-qld/6329220

The following users thanked this post: edz

Offline dales133

« Reply #38 on: August 27, 2015, 07:19:49 PM »
How dare they call that abomonation a sandman

« Reply #39 on: August 27, 2015, 09:50:43 PM »
A bit off low flying lol

https://www.facebook.com/HoldenPickers/videos/736093323166521/

« Reply #40 on: August 27, 2015, 11:12:15 PM »
He was a paraplegic. Broke his back racing trail bikes. So the ute was set up for him.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-03-18/paralympian-ashley-adams-killed-in-quad-bike-accident-in-qld/6329220

A nice  write up honouring him  too .. thank you ..
Classic vid of the Q on the beach, They rusted quick enough without running through the surf to help speed it up . ;D
« Last Edit: August 27, 2015, 11:18:03 PM by edz »