Author Topic: Star Vision Campers  (Read 34796 times)

Offline 02-SR5

Re: Star Vision Campers
« Reply #25 on: January 16, 2013, 06:05:50 AM »
I have been down this road before.

Glossy adverts, cool adverts and a price to good to be true. I don't want to say don't buy imported, but I would like to provide some advice,

DO NOT buy sight unseen. See it in person, and I don't mean the the demo model. Look at the one you actually purchase from the dealer.

Ask about back up warranty, are they in the same city as you. I have found if you purchase interstate, it is difficult to get service. This is why I purchased my new camper locally.

Hope this helps.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #26 on: January 16, 2013, 06:35:01 AM »
The tent appears to take up if not all, the majority of the trailer area. Where do you actually get to put stuff. And are you really going to use a little dining/sitting area inside a trailer..................the idea of it all sort of defeats the purpose of having a ct with storage to take your gear.

Offline Kapitaal

« Reply #27 on: January 16, 2013, 11:12:38 AM »
Hey evo,

Thanks for the checklist - here's my repsonses

is quick set up important? - Yes, lots of weekend trips planned. 
does it have to go everywhere (off-road) - Preferably, not extreme but long days of corrugations and steep downhills a must
do you need one or more beds made up inside? - Yes
do you have children? - Yes
If so how many? 2 under 9
do you require a full kitchen, or will a tap and a portable bbq suffice? Yes, swmbo wants a good kitchen, I'm happy with the one I built for camping
do you plan on staying "off the grid" so require self sufficient power? Yes - couple of days at least
is there enough room for you in a typical style hard floor? Not sure, never used one but they look small and good ones are exy
do you need the extra room of a soft floor? Probably
how much "stuff" will you take with you? All of it ;D
what is the weight limit of your tow vehicle? 2500kgs
how long will you expect it to last? 5 Years
what is your comfortable budget? 8K
Not all "chinese" camper trailers can be insured, can the one you are looking at? Don't know
what power requirements will you need? (lights, sockets, water, tv etc etc) - Lights, Fridge
how much storage room do you have at home for a trailer? Purpose built carport complete
how often will you use it? 6-8 trips per year
and finally my favourite, does it have to be new? Not necessarily - also looking at local 2nd hand but supply is limited

So what's the verdict guys??????

« Reply #28 on: January 16, 2013, 11:20:34 AM »
I would keep my eyes on the classifieds, a great second hand Tambo just popped up, and yes I am a little biased but know quailty when it appears

Offline bussoboy

• Wanting to travel before all the roads are sealed
« Reply #29 on: January 16, 2013, 11:42:43 AM »
  is there enough room for you in a typical style hard floor? Not sure, never used one but they look small and good ones are exy

i know its way off your budget but my hard floor camper has just as much room as one of those GIC style campers if i set up my 2nd annex
2011 GXL 200 Series & 2017 Kokoda Endure 111

« Reply #30 on: January 16, 2013, 11:45:31 AM »
Quote from: Kapitaal
So what's the verdict guys??????
I think most have said steer clear.
But I don't think that's the answer you want to hear.. so just tell us what you want to hear and save a lot of time.

Theres so many better trailers for that money in the trader section it aint funny.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2013, 11:47:48 AM by Lost »

Offline Kapitaal

« Reply #31 on: January 16, 2013, 12:03:12 PM »
I think most have said steer clear.
But I don't think that's the answer you want to hear.. so just tell us what you want to hear and save a lot of time.

Theres so many better trailers for that money in the trader section it aint funny.

Answered that a few posts ago and said i'll be steering clear.  This was a response to the checklist evo posted.  If this is a waste of your time, read another thread.

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #32 on: January 16, 2013, 12:31:05 PM »
Where abouts are you mate?

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline Kapitaal

« Reply #33 on: January 16, 2013, 12:35:41 PM »
ACT - willing to travel to South Coast and Syd for a good 2nd hand model.  I'm checking through the classifieds section now so will hopefully find something aussie made and budget friendly.

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #34 on: January 16, 2013, 12:44:44 PM »
Ok, so I'll try and help out a bit here, Im only in wodonga, so not too far away.

*Seeing as you have two children,
*SWMBO, likes a little luxury
*Set up time is important,
*Off road is important,
*you have a good towing rating,
*I may have a suggestion.

Check your pm  ;D

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #35 on: January 17, 2013, 10:27:17 AM »

Offline rustyman

« Reply #36 on: August 02, 2013, 07:39:45 PM »
I have had one since Feb and have done the Daintree and Creb tracks with no problems. I found a couple of little problems and changed a few things around, like the bed at one end is now lengthways instead of sleeping side by side. This was an easy thing to do. I have another storage box on the front and have moved the gas bottle holder, useless, and merry can holder, will not fit a jerry can. In the slide not kitchen I cut the top out and fitted a storage draw with a hinged top.

The welding is all good and strong and it tows beautiful behind my Ranger. They did sent me the wrong annex top but they replaced it quickly.

In wet weather it stands up well but we did have a tarp over the top. No leaks at all.

For the money they are good value but like everything you will want to make changes to suit yourself. We are currently at Karumba and the trip over was a breeze compared to some of the more expensive so called best on the market we saw broken on the way over.

Offline les Moodley

« Reply #37 on: February 03, 2014, 12:57:53 PM »
Hi Guys
Does anyone in Brisbane own a camper trailer purchased from Star vision that I can look at

les

Offline avotrol

« Reply #38 on: October 25, 2014, 09:10:15 AM »
A mate just bought a Star Vision forward folding CT from bhl direct in Melbourne (his first CT) for under 9K off flea bay. Towed it home to Sydney and was very happy with its on road manners (he does a lot of towing with his work so is "towing aware"). He asked me to have a look and give a verdict  >:D.

Yes there are a few things that need attention to make it "Cape York" ready and general camping friendly, such as welding the bolted drawbar to chassis, stabilizer legs and handbrake assembly are vulnerable to damage on creek crossings, front mud flaps, redo mesh on stone guard with shadeclothe, better battery / electrics, replace cheap looking water hoses, redo the storage cupboards / seats (too low), put a latch on the slide out kitchen to keep it in position when opened, and so on. Most of the mods are minor things and certainly would not stop you from using it straight away (which my mate will shortly be doing).

Having been at the shows and looked hard at similar style / design "locally made" CT's that are double the price or more  ::), there are also lots of things on these CT's that I would modify before taking it to places like Cape York etc.

So with the Star Vision, my mate is starting with a base CT that's in the style he really wanted (forward fold) and was around half the price of most others. With a bit of modifying (who doesn't do that anyway  ;D) and strengthening here and there (a days welding  8)) I reckon he's going to end up with a great trailer at a great price.

As far as the other designs that bhl sell I cant say, but overall if I was looking for my mates trailer then I would have been more than happy to buy the one he did, do the mods and hit the tracks, knowing I have exactly what I want without having a third mortgage to do it.

:cheers: avo

GU Patrol with home away from home.
The following users thanked this post: denidoug, Hairs

« Reply #39 on: July 05, 2015, 07:19:31 AM »
G'day avo,
Just wondering how your mate is going with his camper.

Offline avotrol

« Reply #40 on: July 05, 2015, 04:39:23 PM »
Hi Hairs,

Was just talking with him about it the other day.

They (just him and the missus) have been using it a bit in the last six months or so and are very happy  ;D, mainly caravan parks etc with the longest stay being a week. They have had a few people chat to them when set up and everyone has been impressed with what they got for the money they spent.

So far its just been all on road stuff but they are gearing up to come to Cape York next year with my family and some other friends. At the moment we are building up their Navara and once that's done, then the CT mods will begin  >:D

« Reply #41 on: July 05, 2015, 05:03:21 PM »
Hey avo ,
Cheers for getting back to me so quickly.
I guess it's a matter of knowing what you are paying for and being prepared to change things to suite your own needs and budget.
The reason I asked is we are looking at down sizing from our Swan, the kids are moving into Swags and tents.
And the coin that these are, makes it a possibility to setup and travel a little lighter.

Jon
« Last Edit: July 05, 2015, 05:07:19 PM by Hairs »
The following users thanked this post: denidoug

Offline avotrol

« Reply #42 on: July 05, 2015, 05:30:53 PM »
Hairs,

Just one thing to consider with these CT's is that the seats are very low due to how the canvas packs up. If you are outside all the time then that's ok, but if planning to spend a lot of time sitting inside you might want to make up a seat extension piece (from plywood etc) that lifts the seat cushion height so your knees are not hitting your chin!

Not sure about other brands of forward folders seating heights but from photos it looks like a few of them are the same vertically challenged.

« Reply #43 on: July 05, 2015, 05:40:57 PM »
Cheers mate,
Thank you for the heads up.  :cheers:
We've been looking at a couple of these type of designed campers, forward folding.  ;D
We do tend to spend a lot of time outside of our camper now under the annex roof without walls.

Offline avotrol

« Reply #44 on: July 11, 2015, 07:06:53 PM »
Spending time outside is the best  ;D but sometimes (rain, bad flies  >:() its good to go inside.

All the best with your search!