Author Topic: Swannie's McHitch Auto Coupler ( For the Lazy Camper) video of hitching up  (Read 7783 times)

Hi Guys, I know there are a few threads on this new auto hitch already and happy for the mods to combine if the wish. I am hoping to use this thread to keep an update in its performance, and how it goes on the front  of a very popular camper the Jayco Swan.
It arrived within 2 business days of ordering form Joe and his service is first class, It was packaged well in the box with instructions and everything was wrapped in bubble wrap. Initial thoughts was that it appears to be fairly heavy and well made the length looks to be about 100mm longer than a standard ball hitch.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2014, 12:17:53 PM by swannie »

Re: Swannie's McHitch Auto Coupler ( For the Lazy Camper)
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2014, 07:13:09 PM »
Mc Burger  :cup: :cheers:

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2014, 07:16:14 PM »
McFlash :cup:

« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2014, 07:22:34 PM »
Why not just pull a ringfeeder off a truck  ???     ;D ;D

« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2014, 07:35:48 PM »
......and how it goes on the back of a very popular camper the Jayco Swan...

McWhy would you put a McHitch on the back of a McSwan??.....McRoadTrain perhaps??.....

« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2014, 07:57:54 PM »
Fixed sir

« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2014, 07:58:25 PM »
McWhy would you put a McHitch on the back of a McSwan??.....McRoadTrain perhaps??.....
;D ;D

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2014, 08:13:06 PM »
How tight is it in the McUni? Will it get McFosters flop?

Sorry guys, I missed the McTheme.... ;D
« Last Edit: October 28, 2014, 08:18:11 PM by lino6 »
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2014, 08:14:40 PM »
What sort of Mcdollars do these retail for McGreg?  :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2014, 08:19:20 PM »
How tight is it in the McUni? Will it get McFosters flop?

Sorry guys, I missed the McTheme.... ;D
Hey mate, they appear plenty tight and from all accounts no issues have been raised yet, you can tighten them

« Reply #10 on: October 28, 2014, 08:23:07 PM »
What sort of Mcdollars do these retail for McGreg?  :cheers:

Mate $420 delivered, it included a set of bolts with nylocks, handbrake, and a lock which acts as a secondary lock when being used and a theft deterrent when not hitched up

Very similar price to the VC D035v2

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2014, 08:23:59 PM »
Hey mate, they appear plenty tight and from all accounts no issues have been raised yet, you can tighten them

Thanks Swannie. I'm going to have to make the next Myswag trip you take the Swan on so I can have a look! I'm over the Chinese poly block thing on our camper and would like to have a look at other options.

Be watching this thread to see what ya reckon too  :D
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2014, 08:25:58 PM »
Thanks Swannie. I'm going to have to make the next Myswag trip you take the Swan on so I can have a look! I'm over the Chinese poly block thing on our camper and would like to have a look at other options.

Be watching this thread to see what ya reckon too  :D

No worries mate, if you ever passing my way just give me a call & pop in.

« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2014, 08:26:50 PM »
Love my standard McHitch.  Look forward to seeing what you think of this new model

« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2014, 09:26:25 PM »
Mate $420 delivered, it included a set of bolts with nylocks, handbrake, and a lock which acts as a secondary lock when being used and a theft deterrent when not hitched up

Very similar price to the VC D035v2

C'mon Greg, get your priorities right, that coulda been a lot of beer  >:D ;D ;D :cheers:

« Reply #15 on: October 29, 2014, 11:18:47 AM »
So got up early & installed this morning as I will be travelling until Friday and we are heading away. simple job except for one of the existing bolts that I ended up cutting off, handbrake needed a little adjustment but all in all about half hour to do. I have also some video of it hitching up which I'll upload shortly

« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2014, 11:19:38 AM »
more pics

« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2014, 11:20:47 AM »
Nice job.  But very phallic  :angel:
« Last Edit: October 29, 2014, 11:34:18 AM by KingBilly »

« Last Edit: October 29, 2014, 12:16:31 PM by swannie »

« Reply #19 on: October 29, 2014, 11:30:12 AM »
That 'probe' looks like it needs some McProtection ;)

« Reply #20 on: October 29, 2014, 11:33:44 AM »
video of hitching and unhitching

Where?

And will I have to delete my history after watching it  :D

« Reply #21 on: October 29, 2014, 11:35:08 AM »
Where?

And will I have to delete my history after watching it  :D

I got no idea how to upload it!! Any help appreciated

Re: Swannie's McHitch Auto Coupler ( For the Lazy Camper) video of hitching up
« Reply #23 on: November 03, 2014, 08:57:12 PM »
So back from a 500k round trip and the auto mchitch worked flawlessly. A couple of observations the car dropped 10mm less in the rear ( maybe something to do with the uni joint being back about 100mm from towbar. There was absolutely no noise while towing including going over speed humps etc. The hitching and unhitching was effortless & I would highly recommend if anyone was considering a new hitch