Author Topic: Bugger - Blew the Transfer and rear right Axle  (Read 4431 times)

Bugger - Blew the Transfer and rear right Axle
« on: October 09, 2014, 11:53:04 PM »
After all these years - with all the stuff we have done it's bloody annoying to blow up the transfer case and rear right CV and Axle doing nothing but travelling on our way to holidays. Bugger  >:(

Oh well, off to the wreckers we go, sh1t nothing in Broome so off to find-a-part I go. Can get both for 1K from Melbourne which is good and have the means to change myself so that's OK but still - bit of a sh1t.

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
Re: Bugger - Blew the Transfer and rear right Axle
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2014, 03:50:06 AM »
Your not having much luck lately are you ? Lol

« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2014, 07:10:21 AM »
Doh. How will the knee go?

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2014, 07:58:32 AM »
Bummer mate. Hope you get it back on the road now

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2014, 10:01:29 AM »
Hey Steve.  If there's anything I can do to help with the parts in Melbourne, let me know.

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2014, 05:06:23 PM »
i know how you feel with the holiday thing...many years ago we left Brisbane headed for Canarvon Gorge and only made it to Toowoomba before the rear diff decided it's bearings had reached the end of their lifespan (the diff always had a bit of a whine about it for years). I tried getting the vehicle repaired in Toowoomba through a mechanic i knew there but he couldn't get the parts needed or get anyone help us out, so we ended up leaving the camper trailer at his workplace in town and drove back to Brisbane to have the vehicle repaired. I would have put money on the diff locking up on the run home with the noise it was making, but amazingly it made it back to Slacks Creek and i dropped the vehicle off at Diff Lapping who i'd called from Toowoomba. By 3.00 p.m that arvo they had the diff apart and gave me a quote on repairs, by 10.00 a.m the next morning we were on our way to Carnarvon Gorge once again, just a touch lighter in the old hip pocket...lol.
Hope you get the vehicle fixed soon without to much drama

« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2014, 01:04:28 PM »
So all done after not having time or being able to if you have seen my other post regards my leg.

Bloody hell 2014 can F off quick smart >:(

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2014, 01:59:57 PM »
It can only get better.! :cheers:

BHG

« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2014, 02:37:39 PM »
It can only get better.! :cheers:

BHG

Ha Ha, you reckon  :cheers:

Offline baldheadedgit

« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2014, 02:49:10 PM »
Yep.! ...................................... well fingers crossed anyway.... ;D......

So how is the leg doing.?

« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2015, 10:08:37 AM »
"After all these years..."   Ummmm.....?

According to dazzler, et al none of this would have happened if you'd been carrying spare trailer bearings/hubs and perhaps a fan belt too  ;)

Nothing to learn here Suzuki owners, move along  ;D
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2015, 05:34:14 PM »
"After all these years..."   Ummmm.....?

According to dazzler, et al none of this would have happened if you'd been carrying spare trailer bearings/hubs and perhaps a fan belt too  ;)

Nothing to learn here Suzuki owners, move along  ;D

So who are the et al?

Would love to know who else pointed out your questionable advice based upon negligible experience. Perhaps you could give us fifteen pages on where Steve went wrong?

BTW, happy new year.

« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2015, 06:01:38 PM »
Steve Have you tried lmlachs Wreckers  Ph 1300465224  in Melb  ther keep my fleet running  :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2015, 09:28:24 PM »
"So who are the et al?"

Those like you who reckon carrying trailer bearings and hubs and fan belts can ward off evil spirits  ;D

Like the man said it's always bloody annoying being stranded on the road and we do our best with preparation and maintenance but there's always the unexpected and machines and electronics aren't perfect.

For most camping trips help is always near at hand and fairly manageable when trouble strikes, but for serious bush bashing none of us could ever carry enough spares or tools, which is why you don't go it alone on such occasions.

Furthermore it's the trials and tribulations that make life interesting and make us appreciate the good times even more, so HNY and bring it on  :cheers:

There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.