Author Topic: Help - The 3D model program I've seen you use  (Read 3764 times)

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
Help - The 3D model program I've seen you use
« on: July 25, 2014, 01:57:39 PM »
G'day sorry I've been away for a while, been big changes and life has got quite busy, moved towns, bought a house, started up a new business etc.

I have seen a few people post up pics of them designing trailers/campers using a program that's cheap or free to use, for the life of me I can't remember the name of it or find any posts that point to the name of it.  I may have not searched the right stuff.

Cheers in advanced.
Sticko
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

Re: Help - The 3D model program I've seen you use
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2014, 01:58:57 PM »
I would imagine it would be Google Sketch-Up.

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2014, 02:03:43 PM »
I would imagine it would be Google Sketch-Up.
Cheers mate.  With a name like that I should of remembered it.
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2014, 02:08:21 PM »
Oz, Youtube has video tutorials to help with using it too...

« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2014, 02:46:20 PM »
There are also some really good training videos on the Sketch-Up page, probably the same ones on youtube.

« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2014, 03:00:14 PM »
3D Studio Max or Autocad is probably a little more advanced than google, depends how far you need to get into your designs.

Offline Jasman

« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2014, 06:58:21 PM »
Nice work Danny, there's some work in those!
« Last Edit: July 25, 2014, 07:00:22 PM by Jasman »

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2014, 09:16:05 PM »
Welcome back Oz!
Google sketch isn't too bad, heaps of models to download.
Where are you now?

How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2014, 07:54:35 AM »
I haven't used cad since high school but now I'm doing a bit of fabrication work for the business so I need to get back into it so I can screw up on the cheap with the program instead of screwing up on the job wasting materials.  I will eventually buy a quality CAD program but the funds don't allow this for now.

I've been asked to do a canopy for a tray back cruiser with draws, cupboards, doors and all sorts of things.  I've been given a few sketches of what he wants.  Just need to model it up and make sure everything will work/fit.

By the way, you know the saying if you do something you enjoy for a job it's not a job, well that's what the new business is.  Getting back to what I love, fabrication, engineering, metal work.  Just a bummer I still have to cart black Shit to found the start up.  But that's a completely different topic.

Cheers and Beers
Sticko

« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2014, 08:17:16 AM »
Might have to gie this a run , looks like fun  :cup:

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2014, 11:19:39 AM »

Nice work Danny, there's some work in those!

That is top notch, i love the reflection of the gas bottles.

How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2014, 11:56:35 AM »
That is top notch, i love the reflection of the gas bottles.

My crappy trailer renders are laughable compared to the program's true abilities. Many years ago I used to spend waaaay too much of my spare time making cars and race tracks for PC games ;)