Author Topic: Rear springs in a dual cab for daily driver & towing a Jayco  (Read 2590 times)

Offline Jasman

Hey, just considering a new Ranger/BT-50 and looking at fitting a 2" lift but puzzled about what springs to put in the back as I'm getting some different feedback.  It would appear that you get three main options from the after market, something along the lines of:

1. <350kg
2. 350-500
3. 500+

It's my daily driver so I think I can safely rule out the 500kg as I value my kidneys but what should I pick from options 1 or 2 considering that I tow a Jayco Hawk Outback (lets assume 200kg tow ball weight)?  Just wondering what others have spec'd in their rigs? and how the choice has been to live with?

I'd be very interested to hearing from anyone towing a Jayco with a lifted dual cab and hear their experience, in particular how it all sits when their heading off the track for a week or more with all the families gear?  Some pictures would be fantastic.

I've been spoilt by my Grand Cherokee with QuardaLift (self levelling air suspension) so this is all a bit new to me.

Jason.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2014, 02:56:50 PM by Jasman »

Re: Rear springs in a dual cab for daily driver & towing a Jayco
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2014, 03:57:02 PM »
Im towing a goldstream with 150kg ball weight behind my 2013 Dmax i went with Old Man Emu Springs that are 0-350kg ELO22R i think is the number.

Without the camper the vehicle sits a little ass high then becomes level when the camper is attached. I went this way as the rear tub only has a single drawer with some bikes beside it and i only tow the camper occasionaly

So far am not complaining

Offline hainess

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2014, 04:22:48 PM »
Hi Jason.

I have a 15 year old Triton dual cab.Work truck towing the work trailer and also the boat and camper.Not at the same time though. ;D
3 years ago I put a 1600 by 1200 toolbox permanently in the tray.
And a 100 liter water tank and 4 pole holders under the tray.
I spent some time going thru the options of a spring upgrade and lift.
Efs,Arb, Ironman,Emu, would they give me the ride plus weight handling I was looking for???

A mate put me onto a blacksmith here in Capalaba.He also does suspension. For racing vehicles and comp trucks.
Lifts them, lowers them,fixes the backyard sh!t jobs.

Wound up the front torsion bars to a height I was happy with, 2 inch or so lift, then put a trolley jack under the rear diff and lifted the rear to a height HE was happy with. He did some measuring then lowered the jack a little and said that would be the ride height with a full load and 150kg on the ball.

2 hours later and $400 lighter the springs are reset with an extra leaf.
With no weight and not towing the ride is firm. I can feel bumps thru my butt. But that is very rare.
I'm always towing something.
Towing the camper or boat the spotties aren't scaring the  possums any more.
The ride is perfect with the weight on.

What I'm trying to say is find a local who knows what they are doing before forking out a lot of money on the web experts.
You may be surprised.

Rod

« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2014, 05:35:04 PM »
Go the 0-350kg and use WDH wherever possible.

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2014, 08:35:21 PM »
I have 0-300kg Tough Dog rear springs in my BT.

Yes it does drop a bit with the Expanda on but I'm not to worried.

Day to day its as comfortable as a leaf spring car can be, I also run foam cell shocks all round. The ute is always empty day to day.

Hooked up at Thompson River Jundah QLD

« Last Edit: June 20, 2014, 08:39:23 PM by cruza driver »
2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

Offline Jasman

« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2014, 09:19:28 PM »
Thanks guys, sounds like the <350kg is the way to go.

Cruza driver, thanks for the pic, that is exactly what I was chasing.  I imagine the hawk is a little lighter than the Expanda but I wouldn't be surprised if we end up with an Expanda one of these days so good to know they're upto the task.

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2014, 10:21:50 PM »
No worries Jasman we had a Hawk OB before the Expanda too

Here is a thread  to our Expanda, not every trip is there but its been a great van

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=10099.0
2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2014, 03:44:29 PM »
I have a canopy on my Nav as well as drawers inside and an extended fuel tank.
First springs i put in were 0-350 and seemed ok.
I have since put in 350-500 springs.
They are not as stiff as I  expected them to be when not towing and are perfect when towing.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2014, 07:04:58 AM by Bill »
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2014, 06:33:34 PM »
I have a canopy on my Nav as well as drawers inside, extended fuel tank and canopy.
First springs i put in were 0-350 and seemed ok.
I have since put in 350-500 springs.
They are not as stiff as I  expected them to be when not towing and are perfect when towing.

That all makes sense Bill.  Good to see you got the right setup.   :D

Offline Metters

« Reply #9 on: June 21, 2014, 08:46:11 PM »
Jason
Check the towing specifications for the Ranger and see if a WDH is recommended for ball weights above a certain figure.  This could have a major affect on what type of springs you use. 

A WDH is a lever that lifts the end of the chassis and transfers weight forward to the front wheels.  Springs don't transfer weight, they just make it sit up a little higher leaving the same weight on the axle.  The big problem that can come from this, particularly if you start loading up the rear tub, is you can have too much weight behind the axle.  This bounces up and down on uneven surfaces generating forces well above the static weight and rocks the car on the rear axle like a see saw as it tries to lift the front.  The result, as countless people have found out, is a bent or cracked chassis.

Dual cabs are notorious for this because it is so easy to overload the rear end and have too little weight in the cabin yet everything appears to be ok because the car is still under its maximum weight.

Your Jeep is not the same as a cab/chassis ute.  The ute chassis does not get any support down the back from the cabin bolted onto the front and the tow ball is usually at least 1200 mm back behind the axle.  That is a long lever to be pushing the rear end down so you have to be careful how much weight you put out near the end of it.

If the manufacturer says to use a WDH then you must do it or risk damage.  You can't fix the problem with springs..