Author Topic: Swag Camper Trailers, Rocklea Brisbane. (Walkthrough model)  (Read 13926 times)

Offline campertrailer

Hi Guys and Gals,
Just wanting to know if anyone has had anything to do with Swag Camper Trailers at Rocklea in Brisbane.
In particular, I am looking at the Cruiser model which looks pretty good for the price.
http://www.swagcampertrailers.com.au/camper-trailers/the-cruiser-off-road
Has anyone got one of these?
Interested to know what people think about these if anyone knows someone with one, or any walkthrough model for that matter.

Re: Swag Camper Trailers, Rocklea Brisbane. (Walkthrough model)
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2013, 03:37:45 PM »
Firstly welcome to the forum.  If you go to the myswag home page and then search from there you will find heaps of info.  I have no experience with the Swag Camper but looking at their website they appear to be an imported trailer and tent.  Plenty of importers selling a similar CT.  Lots and lots of happy campers on here using imported trailers and/or tents.  Just be aware of what you are buying and if it suits your needs and does what you want, that is all that matters.  Suggest you go to their showroom and have a look.  Good luck.

Offline campertrailer

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2013, 04:47:15 PM »
Thanks KB,
I will be shopping around and attending some camping shows to compare them all.
This one did strike me as one that has a lot for the price i.e. independent suspension.
It has the extra room for storage with the walkthrough compartment and is rated at 1500kg.
Interested to here if anyone has one.

Offline campertrailer

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2013, 06:43:37 PM »
Here's a few pictures for anyone who is interested.
If you have one, please let me know what you think.

« Last Edit: May 11, 2013, 07:00:43 PM by campertrailer »

Offline campertrailer

« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2013, 06:52:06 PM »
They have a 130L internal water tank.
Does anyone know where it is installed?
From the pictures, it is obvious that it is not underneath the trailer.

« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2013, 07:05:06 AM »
I bought a Swag C/T from them when they were in Acacia Ridge about three years ago. I dealt with Jim who was very helpful and their service was great. Their trailers are Aussie made and there tent tops are made in China and appear to be good quality. I have no complaints with either my trailer or tent top so can recommend them as a company to deal with.
I would suggest that you personally inspect the C/t yourself or take someone with you to their factory who has a good knowledge of camper trailers and make your decision after that. Their prices still seem to be competative.
Good luck with your choice whatever it ends up being. :D

Offline GROB

« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2013, 08:09:17 PM »
All i can say is  please inspect the trailer for rust ,have seen unfinished trailers in shipping racks out in there yard in the rain and yes where rusty ,from the racking would say they are imports
2010 d22 navara & jimboomba explorer

Offline Apples69

« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2013, 06:36:24 PM »
Afternoon
I'm currently looking at the swag cruiser and been to the outlet at Rocklea
The water tank is internal and you cannot lift the bed up and store like a normal trailer
The kitchen locks onto the three drawers and slides back to the tank so does the fridge compartment
The storage is in the walk up area and the side compartments as well as under the trailer cover sitting on the bed
Going back down to RNA show in June to look at the other like trailers however they appear to be substantially dearer than this walk up
Apples
2011Trackabout Safari and 2016 Prado

Offline campertrailer

« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2013, 10:32:31 AM »
Thanks Apples,
How much room is there in the actual box trailer area?
I imagine that there is not much room as there is a set of draws in the walk through area which would also consume some of space. The rest of the room would have to be consumed by the water tank, kitchen and draws. Anyone have any photos?
I have also discovered that the trailer sides are not particularly high. I don't think you would fit a 40L engel in the fridge slide. (only about 420mm high. My engel is about 520mm).

Offline Apples69

« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2013, 07:25:57 PM »
Hey Campertrailer

Only the fridge slide is what you can fit in the trailer under the bed. The area between the bed and trailer is 520mm and I have been sent the fridge measurements but are on the work email however will post in the morning. Slick machine but storage is my main concern.
2011Trackabout Safari and 2016 Prado

Offline 3lt_troll

« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2013, 09:20:25 AM »
I have similar experience as Robbo

great crew to deal with very up front as to where everything comes from

when I bought mine 2+ years ago the trailers were built by economy trailers in the same neck of the woods

all I have done to mine was rust proof underneath and some LED strip lighting and we were away

I am actually heading over today to check out the Cruiser as an upgrade from my outback

will let you know what I think

Ben

Offline meandclan

« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2013, 03:17:48 PM »
I bought a Swag C/T from them when they were in Acacia Ridge about three years ago. I dealt with Jim who was very helpful and their service was great. Their trailers are Aussie made and there tent tops are made in China and appear to be good quality.
For the price are the trailers aussie made? Surely Swag would display the  Australian Made Trailer logo wouldnt they, Unless they build with imported steel, Or is the Swag Camper  range a mix of cheap chinese models and also more expensive  but quality Australian builds? From other sites an Australian made walkthru with imported tent is minimum $13-14k

I  study what is advertised and then try to read between the lines, its why I was shocked to find that Market Direct MDC were fully imported Trailers from china.. WTH??? Assembling here isn't manufacturing in my book, so reality often turns out to be the opposite of the positive or negative spin written in forums.

I gotta use my own eyes & mind as well because a trailer should last 20+ years... and the tent 10 at least I reckon. so could you give me a heads up? Are all the Swag Camper Trailers really made in Australia meaning the Drawbar is welded in with the ribs under the box to make it unbreakable.. or is the DBar shipped unattached and welded on later? Thanks Kev

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2013, 03:28:22 PM »
There are some good quality imported campers.

If some of these companies didn't exist, a lot of us wouldn't own a camper trailer.

There are a lot people that cannot afford 15k plus for what is basically a canvas tent on a 5x7 box trailer.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2013, 03:35:31 PM »
I was there last week to pick up a 9' tent. Yes they were honest, upfront and good to deal with. I'm happy with the tent.

I personally wouldn't touch one of those trailers, even at half their price. I would VERY much doubt they're built in Aus.

Shane.

Offline meandclan

« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2013, 02:19:13 PM »
I would VERY much doubt they're built in Aus.

Shane.
cool mate thanks honesty of origin is all i ask, so I can weigh up the pros and cons... I personally don't buy food like peanuts or milk products made in china,  well that's if I know it was grown there. Some write in forums that Chinese products are made exactly to Aussie standards and regulations... that isnt my experience and I don't want to take chances with my family's safety when on the road with a heavy loaded steel trailer and a big tent packed on top. Kev

Offline Winchester

« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2013, 09:48:04 PM »
I think you will find the trailers are built locally and the tents are imported. I own one and love it. I am going over to the factory this week and I will ask the question again of where the trailers are built. That way there is no geussing or assuming that the trailers are imported.

Doing some mods to mine at the moment and will post some pics as soon as I can work out how to do that. Is photo bucket my only option?

Offline meandclan

« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2013, 01:17:34 PM »
I think you will find the trailers are built locally and the tents are imported. I own one and love it. I am going over to the factory this week and I will ask the question again of where the trailers are built. That way there is no geussing or assuming that the trailers are imported.
maybe some Swag Camper models are imported and some arent?? so perhaps its only the walkthrus that are imported? I guess if legit australian tralier it will have the Australian made kangaroo logo.

I noticed on lifestyle campers website  how to tell the difference in their models is in what the spec sheets say or don't say ...Lifestyle write "Australian manufactured Trailer" on an  expensive model's specifications PDF... the cheaper imported model (that looks similar to a swag) has those important aussie made words missing from the specs.... aaarrrggghhh

Offline campertrailer

« Reply #17 on: June 25, 2013, 07:50:30 PM »
You will probably find that the trailers and tents are imported and the trailers are assembled and painted on site.
Its the only way you can do it for the price.

Offline meandclan

« Reply #18 on: July 12, 2013, 04:05:28 PM »
Yes full imported Camper and Trailer I was over that way a week ago and pulled into reginald st to park, the roller door was up and i saw the trailers all stacjked on top of each other.. I was gobsmacked as I honestly thought they had Aussie trailers. Oh well thats my confusion, I should have realised that if manufacturing here theyd have that Aussie made kangaroo everywhere in the advertising.

Buggar I was thinking of waiting longer to  save up for a walkthru but the affordable ones are all chinese... a salesman asked me why Id want a trailer with an attachable drawbar but I didnt know what he meant at the time.. and how important a full weld is to getting a long life.

(i cant find the foto i took, but will add later... as they say  :worthles::cheers: