Author Topic: Hi all  (Read 3603 times)

Offline sands77

« on: July 07, 2012, 06:03:52 PM »
Hi everyone name is Peter.  Heard about the site through a mate.   Camper trailer owner for 3 years camping at every opportunity.  Castaway soft floor  camper with 80 series Landcruiser.  Looking at doing a few modifications to the camper and thought i would ask the experts.  ;D
Have a Arb 60 ltr fridge set up full time in draws of Landcruiser and my sub battery has just died.  Any thoughts of best battery to replace it with i have a 225 trojan in the camper and runs all the trailer lights etc sweet but don't want the draw off it in the heat of summer with the fridge.  Want to just run the fridge off the second battery in 4wd when camping but have heard that a agm deep cycle is quite unstable around the heat of the motor shortening its life considerably.  Any thoughts?

Re: Hi all
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2012, 06:09:46 PM »
Welcome to myswag Peter, you have jumped straight into the deep end and will probably end up with 64000 opinions :)

I'd go something like an AmpTech, cheap, reliable, proper deep cycle.
http://www.supercharge.com.au/products_special_deep.php

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2012, 06:27:49 PM »
G'day Peter,

Gotta love an 80, Swing on by What 4wd / Awd do you drive? and chalk up another one for the Cruisers  ;D
We love our 80, there is plenty of great info in My 4WD section that will help with all kind of stuff.
Hope find what your looking for and enjoy your time here.

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2012, 06:34:15 PM »
Welcome to mywag peter & family
I got a amptec  no probs so far with it

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2012, 06:55:08 PM »
Welcome Peter, enjoy the forum,,.. i can not advise you regarding your question, but there will plenty of opinions..... where are you from mate....

Offline sands77

« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2012, 07:12:09 PM »
Hi Jenko.
From Brissy mate.

« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2012, 07:33:36 PM »
Thanks Peter, good to see another member from Brisbane.... cheers. Scott

« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2012, 08:37:06 PM »
Hi Peter and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2012, 09:32:14 PM »
G'day Peter and welcome.
Lots of help here. Nice setup you have there mate.

« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2012, 05:02:34 PM »
Welcome to the world of CT info!
Wayne

Offline Smoko

« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2012, 05:53:15 PM »
Welcome Peter heaps of advise around here

Smoko
2009 Vacation Camper 2015 Triton

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2012, 12:33:22 AM »
Hi Peter
Welcome to what has to be the best CT site around, friendly, informative and fun.

« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2012, 02:45:23 PM »
G'day & Welcome Peter.

I agree with D4D, these are terrific. I rang for a price and got an even sharper deal when I fronted up. Can't fault the value.
Welcome to myswag Peter, you have jumped straight into the deep end and will probably end up with 64000 opinions :)

I'd go something like an AmpTech, cheap, reliable, proper deep cycle.
http://www.supercharge.com.au/products_special_deep.php

« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2012, 08:09:56 AM »
Welcome  to the forum Peter, heaps of info available in the electrical section on batteries, I will probably fit one of D4d's suggestion for my next battery

Offline 1HDT

« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2012, 09:44:55 AM »
Hi Peter and welcome to My Swag.

A great forum with heaps of like minded people.

1HDT