Author Topic: Take care when driving on the Peninsular Development Road!!!!!  (Read 2174 times)

Offline becboo

• take nothing but pics leave nothing but footprints
Every day I travel to Scherger RAAF Base from Weipa for work.  A distance of about 40k's

At least once a week someone passes me on a corner!!  The majority of the time it is travellers!! 
Yesterday it scared the crap out of me as there was a 4wd bus coming the other direction.

Passing on a corner is not very bright but to do it on a dirt road where the speed limit is 80k which i was doing is not thinking!!   >:(

And travelling on the PDR without your headlights on  ??? 

Please Please Please  When travelling on the PDR turn your lights on, have a reasonable distance between yourself and the car in front, do the speed limit, and don't overtake on corners.

I have seen too many bad accidents on this road due to speed.

It makes me wonder if they want to go home alive at all,  I know I do!!!

Aussie Swag Camper towed by an awesome 100 series with goodies!!

Education & Intelligence accomplish nothing without action....

Re: Take care when driving on the Peninsular Development Road!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2012, 07:57:26 AM »
G'day Becboo,

Good warning/reminder to all.

Glad you're posting of near misses and not incidents......... no doubt your reminder might just save someone finding themselves in a whole world of hurt.

good stuff!! :cheers:

Offline Draggin

« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2012, 09:44:43 AM »
I'm with you Becboo - stay safe and vigilant out there mate.

I'm sick of people coming around corners towards me on my side of the road It's really simple, if you feel you have to cross the centre of the road - WAKE UP , you are going too fast.

Just delete " PDR" and the warning will be relevant on just about every road and track.
"Beneath the radiant Southern Cross"

Offline ant_schomacker

« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2012, 12:54:14 PM »
Definitely not just a problem on the PDR!  I don't know how many times I've been called out to someone who has come unstuck doing something similarly stupid.  Travel safe people, getting there  30 - 60 minutes earlier is not that important!

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2012, 05:08:07 PM »
I met someone coming out of a bend in the middle of the road last year, near Cockle Ck, southern Tassie.  It cost the insurance Co $35k, and had the Cruiser & Camper off the road for close to two months.   :'(

But they're both all better now.   ;D
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

Offline rodw

« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2012, 09:49:59 PM »
Timely, years ago friends of mine met head on on dirt roads near Charleville. 2 dead, the only survivor was not found for 5 days.

« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2012, 06:03:25 AM »
Good advice.
Head on into one of these on the PDR would ruin your day.

« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2012, 07:56:51 AM »
A few years ago we were travelling back from Weipa in a 4 car/CT convoy when some Numb Nut went past us at well over 100 ks...a check of their licence plate showed - KATTER

Maybe he is a god, he sure drive like one!!!