Author Topic: Help needed re Buying a Nissan patrol 2002 Model  (Read 9138 times)

Offline albyback1

• Never too busy to go camping
Re: Help needed re Buying a Nissan patrol 2002 Model
« Reply #25 on: June 02, 2011, 01:31:26 PM »
I cant fault Nissan's warrantee.    At about 50,000km I had a motor blow up for a different problem (faulty oil pressure sender; it leaked oil through the sender and didn't detect the drop in oil pressure :o)

Motor was replaced with a minimum of fuss.   

:cup: I think it all comes down to the dealership/mechanical work shop and their specific relationship with Nissan Australia.

Its nice to hear a good story now and again...

Every where I go I bring pleasure. Sometimes it's when I arrive... but usually its when I leave!

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #26 on: June 02, 2011, 02:39:06 PM »
Squalo,

Agreed 100% mate, I have a 2005 GU patrol and its awesome, bought with about 70k on it, now have 140k on it never a prob, service every 5k, which is the smart thing to do.

I also have a novated lease, and it works great, so much so that i'm renewing my lease in Feb next year for a new CRD Patrol.

Sorry for high jacking the original theme to the thread, but all valuable info.

PS: Trolls are taking over the world    ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #27 on: June 02, 2011, 03:07:50 PM »
Just cause you've got the gauges, doesn't mean its been looked after.... from what I can gather most don't know how hot to keep the thing from getting..

I only recently found out its 550 Celsius... and if I push mine hard up a hill it happily goes up to 600 plus!
As a Nissan patrol owner.. this is my first and only 3ltr patrol.. and its running through an auto box... and frankly, I hate it!... I'm forever worried its going to become a problem. There is absolutely no confidence in the truck as I drive it. My heart is in my throat every time I do something a little bit difficult with it.

I paid $40,000 for it last year, did 34,746kms and including lease payments of $1,300 per month its cost me a bomb!!!

My lease deduction is $945 per fortnight to run it, service, rego, insurance etc.... Its cost me well over $3,400.00 over and above the salary sacrifice amount!!!!

In other words, to do 34,746 kms its cost me $27,970.00 - thats just running costs not including extra fruit ive fitted!

I aint getting bang for my buck..... and I have a fear I'm gonna get an extra bang for my buck at any time!

the 3 litre motor is a worry to say the least... even if it doesn't blow whilst you own it, the fact it can at any time is the unpleasant aspect to the driving experience.

AND Nissan are **** when it comes to any warranty issue.

i realise you don't expect a warranty with your 2002 model, it still hurts to be supporting a marque that has little to no respect for the consumer!

I simply cant wait to off load my patrol and get back into a more reliable vehicle!

jeeez, i feel better getting that off my chest!! ;D

That seems a bit low, most EGT gauge alarms are set to 720C and from what I have been told, 750C is the limit you should avoid.

My TD5 Disco normally sits around the 550 to 620c mark if I'm towing and it's under load or climbing hills and sits around the 450c to 500c at cruising speed, I don't think 550c is very high at all and I reckon most standard turbo diesels sit around this temp.

When not towing it sits around the 350c to 450c and rarely goes above 550c.

« Reply #28 on: June 02, 2011, 04:00:15 PM »
Hi Barry,

I have also been told that 550 is the limit post turbo and have my car tuned accordingly. Under load mine only gets to 550 and that it's. It could be you are measuring pre turbo and thus a higher temp. Additionally different tuners like different temps but most I have spoken to have advised the 550 post turbo temp as a limit to keep things safe in the engine department. Maybe it's different on different diesel engines to ?

Towing
Cruise = 250-275
Load = 500-550

Offline buildermidwife

« Reply #29 on: June 02, 2011, 04:01:50 PM »
Thanks all those giving information on this topic .I have just cleaned maf with csr maf cleaner .
The instructions on the spray can say to do this every oil change .
The more information I find out about  my 3L patrol , the more I feel confident about it .
We have owned the patrol and so far we have had no problems .
 04 model 95000 km .
Cheers Paul
04 dx 3.0 patrol Goldstream Explorer st

Offline Squalo

• "Two Wheels Good"
« Reply #30 on: June 02, 2011, 04:36:08 PM »
Yep, stay on top of the maintenance and keep that MAF clean, and there is no more chance of your ZD30 going bang than any other modern diesel. For ultimate peace of mind just do the NADS mods as detailed in the Akniss Document (see Reply #14 by GGPatrol).

Given normal/medium offroad use, you won't break a diff, cv or gearbox, and even if you get serious, so long as you don't allow a lifted wheel to touch down under power your cvs are still safe as houses.

TD42 is simply awesome but a stock TD42 isn't much different to a stock ZD30 for normal use. Regular heavy towing, TD42 all the way, if you can get hold of one without a second mortgage :)
2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

« Reply #31 on: June 02, 2011, 05:20:22 PM »
Hi Barry,

I have also been told that 550 is the limit post turbo and have my car tuned accordingly. Under load mine only gets to 550 and that it's. It could be you are measuring pre turbo and thus a higher temp. Additionally different tuners like different temps but most I have spoken to have advised the 550 post turbo temp as a limit to keep things safe in the engine department. Maybe it's different on different diesel engines to ?

Towing
Cruise = 250-275
Load = 500-550

OK that makes sense now, yep mine is pre-turbo ;D