General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Markbell on October 27, 2010, 08:08:56 PM

Title: If money was no object what camper trailer would you buy?
Post by: Markbell on October 27, 2010, 08:08:56 PM
We are all guided by a budget but I am interested in know what camper trailer you would buy if money had nothing to do with it?
Title: Re: If money was no object what camper trailer would you buy?
Post by: HEM19X on October 27, 2010, 08:14:46 PM
The one that best suits MY needs [I could tell you but then I would have to kill you].

Post by: JCAT on October 27, 2010, 08:15:32 PM
Ultimate for me.
Post by: Blue Bravo on October 27, 2010, 08:19:07 PM
I'd go with the CUB Spacematic Offroader with all the options 8)
Post by: Markbell on October 27, 2010, 08:21:34 PM
The one that best suits MY needs [I could tell you but then I would have to kill you].

Ready to be killed!!......just tell me first!

Post by: JCOJ on October 27, 2010, 08:23:18 PM
I want the Gunyah Off Road Caravan by Ozzie Off Road.

One day maybe....
Post by: gronk on October 27, 2010, 08:37:57 PM
Vista !!....low weight, means true off road capable, and size, means can get anywhere a normal CT can !!
Post by: BigJules on October 27, 2010, 08:42:50 PM
I reckon I'd have an Aussie Swag.
Post by: Camping Grant on October 27, 2010, 08:45:55 PM
I reckon I'd have an Aussie Swag.

Post by: cassgazz on October 27, 2010, 08:53:42 PM
Should add a poll to this thread.

Anyway, I'd have an ultimate.
Post by: Bongo on October 27, 2010, 08:55:43 PM
My old Trackabout would do me! :cup:
Post by: MR MAC GU on October 27, 2010, 08:57:39 PM
If money was no object I would buy the one that i will be taking delivery of in about 3 weeks :cup:.

A Kimberley Platinum Extreme. :cheers:
Post by: jk on October 27, 2010, 09:02:45 PM
I've got the one I want  ;D , I just have to pay the bloody thing off now,  :'(
Post by: CRW on October 27, 2010, 09:10:59 PM
I would have a Complete Campsite Kakadu 16 which I have
Post by: Blinky Bill on October 27, 2010, 09:41:41 PM
Oh I reckon I'd go a 3rd hand Kimberley Camper and not give a toss about scratches.  >:D

Then I'd use the money saved by travelling far & wide to see places and meet fellow travellers who enjoy roughing it a bit and having those nifty little 'beer o'clocks'.  :angel:

Cheers & beers - Wayne  :cheers:

Post by: Markbell on October 27, 2010, 10:12:37 PM
Cazzgaz: poll -done!

Good suggestion
Post by: HerGU on October 27, 2010, 10:44:02 PM
Adventure Camper......We made our dreams come true about 18 months ago and have never been happier!
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on October 27, 2010, 11:03:39 PM

If money was no object?  It would have to be an Aussie Swag ... Nah .. already got it .. LOL! 

Post by: cogze on October 27, 2010, 11:40:36 PM
what about the new modcon campers, not a hard or soft floor camper. the bed folds out over the  draw bar, in wet weather your feet stay dry,appears to set up and pull down easily,great for over night or set up for a long stay.a plus in my opinion is that it is as only as long as the camper it self.there seems to be a basic model or if u throw enough moneyat them u will get every thing that opens and shuts
Post by: TOPNDR on October 28, 2010, 12:31:41 AM
Mrs T & I have our dream camper, all paid for too! 8)
Post by: Gunna Do on October 28, 2010, 05:40:37 AM
I think our Camp-o-matic Ranger XTC (albeit a little old now), is meeting our needs pretty well, and handling everything we throw at it with aplomb.

However seeing as the Campo has been left off the Poll, and I'm forced to choose from these lesser brands, I'd probably look seriously at an Ultimate Camper to invest my Gold Lotto winnings in.
Post by: Chris-Vi on October 28, 2010, 06:02:06 AM
We have ours but if we won lotto would buy a new Cape York just to gets the updates.
Post by: darren on October 28, 2010, 06:04:44 AM
I would love a Jayco swan with a hot water system and a 10000w inverter to run all my appliances... Hang on ... did i type that or think it..... Sh*t....
Post by: BradandPeta on October 28, 2010, 06:11:55 AM
Keep our Jumbuck camper, give up work and use it more sounds the most appealing to me then I would have time to do mods too !!!!
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 28, 2010, 06:34:07 AM
I would have about half a dozen campers if money was no object. While I was at it I would have a tow buggy for each. At least then you could take the camper/tow buggy set up which best suited the extended holiday you were taking because with all the money you did not have to go to work. One day ;D ;D

Post by: speewa158 on October 28, 2010, 06:37:12 AM
Unimog tray twin cab
Demountable CT
All the electo wismo gear TV , satphone , gps. uhf , 27meg , Ham rig , Google Computer & Foxtel
Stateroom  with en suite & spa
2 double guests rooms with own showers & toilets
Capt Lounge off the dinning /kitchen area
Home CT cinema for rainy nights
Fold out golf driving range
25M inflatable heated lap pool to work off Master chiefs food
roll up hele pad for the guests that don't like long drives
Huge PDFP ( Per Dug Fire Pit ) always at hand lit
Cool can dispenser (300 cans )
Massarge  chairs by the PDFP
Site sweeping machine to remove  burrs sticks & rocks before set up
Staff of SWMBO hand picked man servants to do the set up & pack up
Unlimited  fuel & service card
There are 1 or 2 other things but  I don't want to be greedy  >:D
Post by: Redback on October 28, 2010, 07:10:30 AM
None of the above, I would get a Cub Spacevan Offroad with all the options.

All those mentioned have bugger all storage.

Post by: Laith on October 28, 2010, 07:18:43 AM
If I didn't have 2 kids I would get a Kimberly LE with all the options.

But since I have 2 kids and go camping for quick weekends away 90% of the time it is the camprite TL8's. 

Maybe if I won the lottery I would have a Kimberly as well as the Camprite.
Post by: darren on October 28, 2010, 07:59:46 AM
Laith
My next camper might be a camprite... (Dont tell Broady)
Post by: Laith on October 28, 2010, 08:08:48 AM
If you get one Darren I will say Camprite next to me on our next myswag trip.
Post by: Redback on October 28, 2010, 09:06:16 AM
If you get one Darren I will say Camprite next to me on our next myswag trip.

I wouldn't, you attract bats ;D
Post by: Alan Loy on October 28, 2010, 09:15:15 AM
I think the forward fold camper is the next big thing but I want something light so something like shaun78 posted http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=8291.0.

Pity noone sells them   :'(
Post by: farmer6 on October 28, 2010, 09:57:06 AM

If money was no object I would buy 20 different camper trailers and 20 different 4wd's and spread them out around Australia. Then I'd buy a jet and fly out to each one to have a look around and fly back to work ( even though I hate flying more than anything else in life).

But I guess if money wasn't an object mayby I wouldn't be working. ???

farmer6
Post by: Laith on October 28, 2010, 10:09:15 AM
I wouldn't, you attract bats ;D

If only that was the only reason not to camp next to me  :-[
Post by: Sharshebelle1 on October 28, 2010, 11:05:25 AM
UEV 490 Conquerer would be where I'd spend my money.
Post by: Markbell on October 28, 2010, 12:48:09 PM
As additional campers are nominated/suggested i am adding them to the poll
Post by: Captain on October 28, 2010, 12:58:08 PM
I have got my dream camper - a Quantum  ;D  Just got to get to use it  :'(  And I had my previous dream camper - a Camprite. Time will tell which is actually the real dream camper  8)

Captain
Post by: Bird on October 28, 2010, 01:12:03 PM
Anything not made by Lifestyle - maybe one of them $2.00 Ebay Shitter upgrades.

Post by: Laith on October 28, 2010, 01:20:13 PM
You added camprite after I had already voted for the available choices.

Not fair.  :'(
Post by: Bushman on October 28, 2010, 01:53:49 PM
What! Kedron not on the list, Oh thats right it's a CARAVAN  >:D

Oh! well since the poll is for campers I'd settle for an Ultimate or Aussie Swag
Post by: seqfisho on October 28, 2010, 02:20:41 PM
I would have to say for a hard floor style camper it would most likely be a T-Van, and for a soft floor style an Adventure because of the storage and design.

But ultimately I would love a Bushtracker or Kedron or Sunland Blue Heeler pulled by a F-350 dually or Izuzu NPR 450 D/Cab 4x4 :cup:
Post by: AKB on October 28, 2010, 03:14:17 PM
If I had no kids Kimberly Karavan - it's very schmich
Post by: Prado BB on October 28, 2010, 03:59:01 PM
I will probably be shot, but.....I would just travel first class and stay in 5 star hotels.  Would be much easier with wifey and 3 kids, I could then relax, eat and drink well....
Post by: speewa158 on October 28, 2010, 04:54:31 PM
PradoBB For your sake dont tell the this CT travel is not 5 star its really MilIIIIIIIoin Star
Post by: D4D on October 28, 2010, 05:00:50 PM
I will probably be shot, but.....I would just travel first class and stay in 5 star hotels.  Would be much easier with wifey and 3 kids, I could then relax, eat and drink well....

Post by: Snow on October 28, 2010, 05:07:48 PM
RV Vista Crossover.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 28, 2010, 05:15:29 PM
Not sure what my answer is to this.  I quiet like the Kimberly's that I have seen and the Camprite.  Don't know much about the others.

If money was no object for me, and I am talking if I had billions.  I would buy a vehicle and camper, then hire a driver and say, "today we are driving to .....(insert place) we will be there at 5pm make sure that the camper is set up, the fire is going and the beer is cold"  Then I would drive along checking out the sites and arrive to my ready set up camp.... :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: TrackTrailerTourer on October 28, 2010, 05:28:41 PM
I would buy the one we have now, Track Trailer T Van. Suits us perfectly for a couple, and will go anywhere my Cruiser will go with ease.
Post by: Pauly on October 28, 2010, 05:38:52 PM
What no Complete campsite in the poll ???

Money is no object, probably a big kick arse 4wd winnie bago :-[. Seriously it will probably be the one im building now just with more accesories on it. If I had to buy one it would be the complete campsite.
Post by: speewa158 on October 28, 2010, 06:03:16 PM
TTT your on to something there . A rock up to the PSCTCS  (Per Set Camper Trailer Camp Site ). BUT would you drive in or just fly in  ( chopper ) to find a coldie waiting for you . The chair set up beside the glowing red PDFP ( Pre Dug Fire Pit )  Your tucker provided by A master cheif  & happy SWMBO . (Tow) Rig ready to go where ever you point it
ARRRRRRRRRRRRRR YES but to dream                ;D
Post by: CRW on October 28, 2010, 06:06:02 PM
What no Complete campsite in the poll ???

Who's responsible
Post by: Bushman on October 28, 2010, 06:13:26 PM
Who's responsible

Look Again  ;)
Post by: briann532 on October 28, 2010, 06:27:52 PM
If money was no object, I would buy one of those cheap ..........No I can't bring myself to even say it..............

It would only be to have the satisfaction of burning it!!!! >:D

Seriously though if money was no object, I would have something custom made. That way it would tick all my boxes.

As far as getting close enough. I had a good look at the Southern Cross canvas campers "road King"
http://www.southerncrosscanvas.com.au/camper-trailers/road-king/
I even debated getting one a few months ago, but was swayed back to the Jayco.

Don't confuse these with the cheaper.... http://www.southern-cross-trailers.com.au/
Which I know nothing about, but its not what I wanted and a lot of people looked at them when I gave the name southern Cross.

Post by: SUPA105 on October 28, 2010, 07:33:55 PM
Conquerer UEV 490.....very noice....in a agricultural sort of way.

Post by: ntpryce on October 28, 2010, 07:35:36 PM
If money was no object, I'd have a holiday shack wherever I wanted, and be dropped off by helicopter.
Post by: TrackTrailerTourer on October 28, 2010, 08:20:34 PM
Someone was reading my mind....................I,m thinking no tvan in the poll either, went back to the poll and it appeared before my eyes. Modern technology is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   :cheers:  :cup:
Post by: rescue1 on October 28, 2010, 08:22:55 PM
If I had unlimited funds then something nice for Eurocopter would be my choice but as the option of heklicopter touring was not given I decided to double the number of carzy people and opted for the T Van as its the closest to what I want that I've found so far.
Post by: BV007 on October 28, 2010, 08:31:37 PM
Ultimate here
Post by: not quite there yet on October 28, 2010, 08:57:50 PM
I voted Aussie Swag.  Then again, I would be happy with most of them.  I think the bigger issue for me would be the vehicle choice.  Maybe I'm just opening another can of worms...
Post by: Bongo on October 29, 2010, 12:09:34 AM
Trackabout! Even though it has been mentioned it is not in the poll!
Post by: speewa158 on October 29, 2010, 05:10:01 AM
You guys can at very Little Expence Dream BIG , I mean REALLY B I G . Have a go its fun  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on October 29, 2010, 07:04:59 AM
every day theres another item added to the poll..

Why not delete the poll and start again without changing it anymore so people can vote properly?
Post by: GU Rich on October 29, 2010, 07:06:31 AM
I agree,

What about Montaintrail?

Post by: Pipeliner on October 29, 2010, 07:47:12 AM
AORC running third behind Kimberley and Ultimate?  That can't be right!

Spoke to Steve Budden of AORC at the Brisbane show last weekend - if you order an Odyssey today you will get it next April/May, if you want a Quantum then delivery is next August.  That, I think, demonstrates their popularity - no, you cynic you, it isn't that they are slow workers!
Post by: toad on October 29, 2010, 07:50:37 AM

Spoke to Steve Budden of AORC at the Brisbane show last weekend - if you order an Odyssey today you will get it next April/May, if you want a Quantum then delivery is next August.  That, I think, demonstrates their popularity - no, you cynic you, it isn't that they are slow workers!
X2  :cup:
Post by: Bird on October 29, 2010, 08:08:03 AM
if you order an Odyssey today you will get it next April/May, if you want a Quantum then delivery is next August.
No matter how good they are, what brand they are, how many goodies they come with - that there would turn me off buying one.
Post by: Paul Mac on October 29, 2010, 08:25:06 AM
How about one of these. New on the market.

http://www.bolwell-rv.com.au/

I ordered one yesterday with all the bells and whistles and hope to have it delivered by the end of March 2011. Can't wait to get away and not have to worry about a wet pack up.

Post by: darren on October 29, 2010, 08:36:28 AM
No matter how good they are, what brand they are, how many goodies they come with - that there would turn me off buying one.

And the colour.........SPEEW...
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 29, 2010, 08:45:16 AM
How about one of these. New on the market.

http://www.bolwell-rv.com.au/

I ordered one yesterday with all the bells and whistles and hope to have it delivered by the end of March 2011. Can't wait to get away and not have to worry about a wet pack up.

They look good, what sort of brass are they fetching?
Post by: Alan Loy on October 29, 2010, 09:21:14 AM
Bolwell Edge $48900 + options
Post by: Bird on October 29, 2010, 09:41:36 AM
Bolwell Edge $48900 + options
(http://theomegasector.com/style_emoticons/default/shock.gif) is that australia $? (http://theomegasector.com/style_emoticons/default/shock.gif)
Post by: Paul Mac on October 29, 2010, 09:42:47 AM
Yes mate
Post by: D4D on October 29, 2010, 09:49:07 AM
That Bolwell looks like a nice rig, how long have they been building them?

My issue with all these fibreglass and foam sandwich caravans is the ability to repair them. From what I have heard if you hole a panel unlike a boat you can't just fibreglass it up you need to replace the panel. Also judging by the number of trucks on the road with busted hoods, fairings etc. I would be concerned about the structural integrity.
Post by: Paul Mac on October 29, 2010, 10:04:39 AM
Valid point mate.

They are constructed from a carbon fibre fiberglass mix so they are almost bullet proof. They have constructed only a few at this stage but will be going into full production over the coming months. The company is focusing on QC and their expertise in manufacturing the truck canbins and sports cars.

I've given them a fairly good going over and trust me when i say....I don't spend my money too easily without a thorough investigation.

The company have been great to work with and extremely accommodating with the development of what I wanted. I think you will see heaps of these on the road in the years to come.

Post by: Captain on October 29, 2010, 11:22:18 AM
The Bovell sounds interesting, so I downloaded their brochure but was very suprised to see its only an on-road van with only graded gravel roads allowed. Does this mean you lose warranty if you go on say the Gibb River Road? Was very suprised at their warranty exclusions as it looks like it could otherwise challenge the established off-road "crossover" van market.

The BOLWELL Edge Caravan is designed
and intended only for the purpose of normal everyday
caravanning including sealed roads and graded gravel roads.
The BOLWELL Edge Caravan is specifically not designed
or intended for rough terrain or off-road terrain that would
for example require an off-road modified 4WD vehicle or
specialist 4WD training or for any other use including but
not limited to, corrugated roads, water crossings, rockcrawling,
sand-dune driving or any other off-road use that
leads to or is likely to lead to an impact to the BOLWELL
Edge Caravan.

Captain
Post by: toad on October 29, 2010, 11:32:56 AM
And the colour.........SPEEW...
Come on Darren, you know you want one!
Post by: PenUltimate Destinations on October 29, 2010, 02:52:06 PM
I reckon a Complete Campsite for me and my situation - look really well made and great creature comforts in a soft floor.

In fact CRW's setup would do me great thanks - with the 200 'cruiser!
Post by: Vince on October 29, 2010, 06:37:02 PM
The one we own now......duz us :D
Post by: Markbell on October 29, 2010, 08:14:56 PM
every day theres another item added to the poll..

Why not delete the poll and start again without changing it anymore so people can vote properly?

Sorry lost, just thought I'd accommodate those that I'd either forgotten or left off or had never heard of before.
Post by: gronk on October 29, 2010, 08:29:12 PM

Simple mathematics....KK pump out 400 CT's a year and probably have twice the workforce....and AORC probably only pump out 100 a year !!!!!

Slow workers ???....maybe , but they are Queenslanders, so you can't blame them for being born there !!! ;D ;D
Post by: areyonga on October 29, 2010, 09:43:28 PM
I have not yet seen my dream setup in one unit, but I have seen the trailer I like best and I have seen the tent I like best but there not together.  I will consider in future looking at buying separate components.  Maybe we need to to look at the dream tent and the dream trailer.

Wil
Post by: cewilson on October 30, 2010, 12:34:22 PM
Conqueror for me - love the set-up.

One day when the kids have grown up and left home hopefully.
Post by: KiwiAngler on October 30, 2010, 05:37:49 PM

Conqueror UEV 490 would be my choice    - and I have :-)

http://www.conqueroraustralia.com.au/index.php?option=com_content&view=section&layout=blog&id=6&Itemid=27
Post by: shaun78 on November 01, 2010, 06:53:41 AM
Build Your own. Not real hard to do. Can customise it and is a lot cheaper.
Post by: buff on November 01, 2010, 07:21:18 AM
I voted Ultimate.....and we are in Moruya waiting for the factory to open so we can finally pick ours up....WOOHOO!!!
cheers,
buff
Post by: Pebble on November 01, 2010, 08:55:24 AM
If money was no object I reckon for us it would probably have to be a custom built one...or at least a modified one. Our ideas at the moment are to have some kind of small 4x4 trailer for storage and shelter but not for sleeping. Perhaps it would be more practical to just buy a camper, always liked the funcionality of those T-Vans but I don't think I'm completely convinced in the design.
Post by: Darcy7 on November 01, 2010, 09:10:50 AM
I must say I like the look of the Conquerors so they get my vote here but if money was really no object, I would probably go to an off road caravan or something in between. 

A fully decked out Kedron would do it for me but I'd have to sell the house to get it...!

For now, the Lifestyle is doing the trick.

Post by: kiva on November 01, 2010, 10:40:54 AM
Ultimate! LOL
Post by: Sharshebelle1 on November 01, 2010, 11:45:00 AM

http://www.conqueroraustralia.com.au/index.php?option=com_content&view=section&layout=blog&id=6&Itemid=27

You lucky, lucky person,  once the kids have moved on,  I'll be joining you. ;D
Post by: BV007 on November 01, 2010, 07:26:48 PM
I voted Ultimate.....and we are in Moruya waiting for the factory to open so we can finally pick ours up....WOOHOO!!!
cheers,
buff

I wish it was the 10th of January...........I'd be waiting for them to open too.
Post by: Darcy7 on November 01, 2010, 07:41:45 PM

What's one of those suckers worth...?
Post by: KiwiAngler on November 01, 2010, 08:25:51 PM
What's one of those suckers worth...?

with all the bells and whistles and I do mean all the bells and whistles - $58,000
Post by: Darcy7 on November 02, 2010, 09:32:52 PM
Ok.        $58,000.                     Hmmmmmm...................let me think about that for a minute.

...................... ???

I hear crows.....

Yep....definitely crows.
Post by: sellit99 on November 03, 2010, 11:58:19 AM
Easy...Ultimate with the lot please!!
Post by: DANBRI on November 03, 2010, 12:01:41 PM
A KEDRON whopper massive thing.

Then have a ball taking it where it's not meant to go - video it and sell the DVDs to cover my repair costs...  8)
Post by: cruisindub on November 03, 2010, 12:19:59 PM
If money was no object......

Unicat !!!
Maximog trailer and probably Maximog tow vehicle. http://www.unicat.net/en/pics/Maximog-Trailer-2.html  http://www.unicat.net/en/pics/Maximog-2.html

Or, definitely one of these; 
http://www.unicat.net/en/pics/EX70HDM-MBActros6x6-2.html

Or one of these dual cabs.
http://www.unicat.net/en/pics/TC59family-2.html
or
http://www.unicat.net/en/pics/TC55comfortplus-2.html

Surely Will keep the missus happy with her comforts.
Post by: dalealford on November 03, 2010, 02:10:48 PM
hmmm,  sell the Rodeo and get a fully kitted 76 series cruiser.
With a new tug I could then keep the Exodus for then 'camping'   and get a Kedron or a Bushtracker for when SWMBO wants comfort,  excape from the flies and an inside toilet and shower

Of course as money is no object I also get a new house out of the deal,  as the current one has nowhere to fit said large caravan  :)

Post by: Benduro on November 03, 2010, 02:12:23 PM
To be completely honest, I'd buy the exact same camper as I have (Heaslip). ;D
I'm yet to see a camper that betters it in terms of liveability...
It's got terrific storage in the trailer with the roll out boxes and these can be packed/unpacked without the need to set up.
The kitchen is fantastic and again the storage excellent as we can fit all our cooking gear, plates, cups, utensils, dishwashing/cleaning products, gladwrap etc in the side pull-out arrangement.
Trailer is simple, well engineered and durable.
Camper isn't overly heavy and it does everything we need... What more could you ask for??? Other than Solar options and perhaps a storage box/boot perhaps.

We love it!!!
Post by: LoveMyCruiser on November 03, 2010, 02:33:38 PM
Honestly I think we would still build our own custom camper, we would have everything we want/need and nothing extra.
Post by: sako on November 03, 2010, 09:08:36 PM
I wish it was the 10th of January...........I'd be waiting for them to open too.

10th of november for me! :cheers:
this last week is really dragging on
Post by: jclures on November 03, 2010, 09:19:55 PM
If money was no object I would still build it myself, but I would build it different to what I have now, just not sure how different.
Post by: Cloud Basher on November 07, 2010, 04:33:53 PM
Like Speewa said you guys need to think bigger.  Stop thinking like poor people!!!!!  A $50-60,000 camper is not a money no object solution to our camping needs!!!!!!
For me it would be the following:

My own B-Double with driver.
First trailer would be home on wheels, slide out sides, jason recliners, spa, king sized beds, queen sized beds, ensuite, separate bathroom for the kids etc etc
The rear would have
Large 4WD
Smaller 4WD
UEV490
Camprite
Helicopter
Motorbikes
Speed boat
Fishing boat
Armoury

As well there would also be an ocean going motor yacht following us around the coastline as my beckon call.

I also have my own aircraft to meet the b-double where ever I tell it to be.  Then I simply drive out my 4WD and choice of camper trailers or take the helicopter to scout the are to find the campsites etc.  Camp and explore the area for as long as I like and when I get bored tell the b-double to meet me where ever the next stop is.  Oh yeah I will need two drivers and they can also have their helo/pilots licences so I can call them up when ever and where ever and they deliver my wanted mode of transport to wherever I want it.

My base would be a house soemwhere in the hinterland of SE QLD with about 1000+ acres of bush with my own 4WD tracks, airfield and on a river with access to the ocean for my ocean going yacht and enough straight part for my seaplane to land as well.

The above is with about 5 minutes thought so I am sure sitting around the campfire with no money, dreaming of no boundaries, with numerous heart starters and other campers we could refine the above into THE ULTIMATE camping/living/exploring arrangement this country has ever seen!

Oh yeah - no TV (well not except for the cricket!!!!)

Now could we please add in my suggestion above to the poll for "money no object camper trailer setups"  I reckon it would get a few votes...

Oh yeah I voted for UEV490, but that would only cover about 10% of my camper trailer needs.  The above covers 50%.  The rest can be covered by Master Card...

CB
Post by: briann532 on November 07, 2010, 05:09:50 PM
Hey cloudbasher..............

Have you been talking to my wife???

Post by: Monty94 on November 07, 2010, 05:24:33 PM
Cloud Basher  I'll raise my hand and volunteer to drive the B-Double...........
Post by: Joff on November 07, 2010, 05:45:58 PM
None of that lot. How boring  ???

Stretch the cruiser into a ute, build a custom camper straight on the chassis then stick it in a container and send it to south america. When I'm done driving around the world I'd have a bus custom built as 'home', stick the cruiser in a fat arse trailer behind it along with my R1150GS and while away my days doing more laps of the island.

Oh, and if the cruiser is too tired after driving all over the world, I might get me a 4dr Jeep Rubicon and turn it into a 2up desert rat  :cheers: 
Post by: Cloud Basher on November 07, 2010, 06:46:36 PM
Joff
I'll remember that as you pull up next to me and ask for a relaxing afternoon and ale in the spa watching the sunset over the bungle bungles!!! Bwahahahahahaha

Brian,
Not sure... Was she the woman with the...

CB
Post by: speewa158 on November 08, 2010, 06:19:01 AM
Now you blokes are starting to get the hang of $ no object . THINK BIG ER
Cloud Basher that 1000 Ha bush block with the river link to the sea , dont you mean  the trench you had dug to the inland mariner for your fleet . Also you could have staff locvated around the country /world at call  , they cuold arrive set up & leave just as you arrive . Chairs set by the fire & coldies in Myswag cooler opened & waiting .  :cheers:
Post by: Pete the Pirate on November 08, 2010, 08:10:13 AM
While I ticked Aussie Swag on the poll.......I don't think I'd change from my Kanga. Now had it for 5 years and travelled around 30000km with it in tow and never had an issue except when I inadvertently packed it up with a 'borer' insect trapped in the canvas.  Little bugger tried to chew it's way out and left me with 4 or 5 small holes to fix. But overall I've found the Kanga to be quality gear all round, comfortable, great to tow, reliable, easy to set up and pack away and it meets our needs in every respect.

Post by: danbo81 on November 08, 2010, 08:19:16 PM
I'd have to go Ultimate or complete campsite see who could win me over
Post by: Aussie Spirit on November 08, 2010, 08:30:34 PM
Which one would I go for: I would have to go for the Ultimate for me.
Post by: crackacoldie on November 08, 2010, 09:24:59 PM
I'd still gt the Challenge Cape Yorke Extreme offroad, but would also  have had a closer loo at the complete campsite kakadu 16.
Post by: Pebble on November 14, 2010, 05:06:06 PM
Ok got my vote in, we just went to the 4x4 and camping show in Perth, took a real liking to the Ultimate, so better start saving ey?
Post by: D4D on November 14, 2010, 07:26:26 PM
OK I just found one, maybe not strictly a camper trailer :)
http://www.sunlandcaravans.com.au/blueheeler-home.html

(http://www.sunlandcaravans.com.au/assets/galleries/36/1blue_heeler_shower_toilet_001.jpg)
Post by: Barry G on November 14, 2010, 08:03:03 PM
Vista !!....low weight, means true off road capable, and size, means can get anywhere a normal CT can !!
IMO these are the 2 key criteria.  

"Less is more" ... which probably rules out the Vista, I guess!
Post by: deepop on November 21, 2010, 12:49:39 PM
I voted the Camprite.

I like the sleeping off the ground set up (something SWMBO wants for the kids as well as the important people).   Can do it in this with three kids.

I also like the manoeuverability and versatility of the size and weight of a camper trailer.

Happy to live and cook outside.
Post by: Captain on November 21, 2010, 01:02:01 PM
What a great choice with the Camprite  8)

Captain
Post by: Nobby on November 21, 2010, 05:44:07 PM
For me it would be what I've got - a Pacific Aluminium Camper. Sleep inside in comfort and live and cook outside. No canvas getting wet, looks half descent and tows like a dream. Nobby
Post by: Yoda42 on November 21, 2010, 07:13:14 PM
Aussie Swag - bring on March and it will be ours, all ours! (oh and the bank :'( )

Seeing we are going from an Oztent, we wanted a hard floor. The Aussie Swag we reckon has the best kitchen set up around - we saw too many that would have the fridge in the way of the prep area or on the other side of it, which didn't provide a logical "flow". Weren't keen on the Ultimate, with what we thought was wasted space under the bed bit even for shortarses and the internal kitchen. We were VERY tempted with the Conqueror 490. Tvan we thought wouldn't have enough ventilation for the tropics, and they don't recommend a 60L fridge on the drawbar.

So we reckon the Aussie Swag is da bomb :cup:

Mrs Yoda
Post by: Barry G on November 21, 2010, 10:59:50 PM
Strong and light and I don't need heaps of room, so the Tvan would probably get my vote.  II really like their suspension!  8)
Post by: gronk on November 22, 2010, 08:55:02 AM
Strong and light and I don't need heaps of room, so the Tvan would probably get my vote.  II really like their suspension!  8)

Interesting that people think the T van, Ultimate etc are light ??

And everyone thinks the KK are heavy ??

Well.....they are all heavy.... tare weight for all of them starts approx 850KG and goes up to approx 1100KG with all their goodies....

Even some of the soft floors are now getting up to the same weight as the hard floors..

As an example of weights.. T van 850 to 990
                                     Ultimate 850
                                     KK 990 to 1100
                                     AORC 1000 to 1100
                                     Aussie Swag 1100 to 1200
                                     Vista 1100

These are all tare weights and can increase a lot depending on what size water tanks etc they each have ..
Post by: kiva on November 22, 2010, 09:04:15 AM
                                     Ultimate 850
                                     KK 990 to 1100
                                     AORC 1000 to 1100
                                     Aussie Swag 1100 to 1200
                                     Vista 1100

These are all tare weights and can increase a lot depending on what size water tanks etc they each have ..

For Ultimate, it depends on the model. Ours has a tare of 700kg (with a max of 1200) stamped on the plate.
Post by: DANBRI on November 22, 2010, 09:09:51 AM
I don't get the ultimate. Cooking inside just doesn't seem to work for us. They're a nice unit but when we had a Jayco (I don't mean to compare - simply the principle of inside cooking) it either left a smell in the camper of whatever you cooked in it or, it just seemed to defeat the purpose of going camping. IE; cooking in the outdoors etc.

I'd still have one, but I wouldn't use the kitchen for anything other than boiling water for coffee.

I am surprised by the results of the poll. I thought KK would kill it, everyone seems to want one of them.

I'd take the Tvan if I was forced to drop 50k on a camper.
Post by: toad on November 22, 2010, 09:16:02 AM
I don't get the ultimate. Cooking inside just doesn't seem to work for us. They're a nice unit but when we had a Jayco (I don't mean to compare - simply the principle of inside cooking) it either left a smell in the camper of whatever you cooked in it or, it just seemed to defeat the purpose of going camping. IE; cooking in the outdoors etc.

The very reason we crossed the Ultimate off our short list.
Post by: kiva on November 22, 2010, 09:18:29 AM
We cook outside most of the time even though there is an inside kitchen. On occasion, it has been very convenient to cook inside when the weather is crap or there are too many flies. Just having the option is sometimes useful.
Post by: DANBRI on November 22, 2010, 09:28:23 AM
We cook outside most of the time even though there is an inside kitchen. On occasion, it has been very convenient to cook inside when the weather is crap or there are too many flies. Just having the option is sometimes useful.

Yes I agree.
Post by: blackstump on November 22, 2010, 09:47:22 AM
I would buy Arnem Land from our indiginous friends and cruise around there in my ""Bush Tucker Man Land Rover and matching trailer"".

Failing that....i'de wait for jk to sell me his Cape York

Post by: Blinky Bill on November 22, 2010, 09:59:49 AM
When we first spotted the Ultimate we were very excited. Like most things in life you eventually realise that nothing is perfect.

Cooking inside is okay wet weather or when there are flies and mozzies but then for those times you can always use a portable gas stove. For us outdoor cooking is the attraction.

We prefer the hard floor design for quick & easy set-up and speedy pack-up when breaking camp. It works for us.

Everything is a compromise. I think the trick is to find what works best for you.

Cheers & happy trails - Wayne
Post by: Beachbums on November 22, 2010, 10:50:52 AM

Interesting that people think the T van, Ultimate etc are light ??

And everyone thinks the KK are heavy ??

Well.....they are all heavy.... tare weight for all of them starts approx 850KG and goes up to approx 1100KG with all their goodies....

Even some of the soft floors are now getting up to the same weight as the hard floors..

Ultimate 850
                                     KK 990 to 1100
                                     AORC 1000 to 1100
                                     Aussie Swag 1100 to 1200
                                     Vista 1100

Hi Gronk,
                On the paperwok and the compliance plate our Ulty has a tare of 750 kg and an aggregate of 1200 kg although I haven't had it over a weighbridge.

Re the inside kitchen comments, Jan and I seldom use it except for making coffee or a bit of toast under the grill. We don't like the smell of cooking that seems to hang around in the canvas either. We tend to use the Cobb oven or the Baby Q outside. Added to this is one of the small disposable butane single hotplates that we take in ute for brewups while we're out during the day.

I guess it really depends on how much you cook. We  are usually "Cereal and yoghurt" types at breakfast and lunch we lean towards sambos, so we usually only end up cooking dinner each night.

The option of being able to cook inside has been handy a few times when we've been in sandfly or mozzie country though.

It's really for courses and whatever works for you is the right choice.

Cheers, Wayne
Post by: gronk on November 22, 2010, 11:16:35 AM
Sorry to the Ultimate blokes, but I was only going on what they state on their website....and if its anything like some of the other manufacturers...the tare is usually higher than what they state..

Best bet is to go over a weighbridge and get a real figure....you may be shocked !!
Post by: Campa on November 22, 2010, 12:24:20 PM
An Aussie Swag would do us nicely  ;D
Post by: Beachbums on November 22, 2010, 12:41:43 PM
Sorry to the Ultimate blokes, but I was only going on what they state on their website....and if its anything like some of the other manufacturers...the tare is usually higher than what they state..

Best bet is to go over a weighbridge and get a real figure....you may be shocked !!

No probs Gronk, I think like most things they have gotten "fatter" over the years. (ours is a 2002 model) I see the newer ones have Granite benchtops! Well, imitation ones anyway  :D

Cheers, Wayne
Post by: JCOJ on November 22, 2010, 04:38:37 PM
Regarding the Ultimate - I think they look awesome when I see one on the road but I think they are very tall.

Also we prefer sheets with a quilt over sleeping bags - can the bed in the Ultimate be left made up when packing up?
Post by: Paul Mac on November 22, 2010, 04:54:02 PM
Unfortunately not. That's one of the jobs to do when you pack up and set up I'm afraid.

8)
Post by: kiva on November 22, 2010, 05:16:29 PM
Also we prefer sheets with a quilt over sleeping bags - can the bed in the Ultimate be left made up when packing up?

No, the bed is composed of three mattresses. These stack on the couch when the camper is closed/folded up. When the camper is opened up, the mattresses are placed side by side (either vertically or horizontally - its a square bed base) and this takes only a moment. We leave fitted sheets on our mattresses so that once they are placed on the bed base, a quilt/doona and pillows (and toddlers) can be thrown on top and the bed is made. The whole exercise can easily be done in under a minute.
Post by: Pebble on November 22, 2010, 07:52:52 PM
Yes if you wanted to look at the ultimate in a critical way I would say:
I'm paying $40k for a camper trailer where in I still have to make my bed like I would in any plain old tent! I mean isn't one point of a camper the fact that you can leave your bed made up?
I'm buying it because I CAN sit and cook inside it but then I'm planning on sitting and cooking outside anyway!

But you know it's a bit like not having enough money to buy something, the 10c that can be the difference of being able to buy that loaf of bread or not. Normally 10c isn't a big deal, until that day when you're exactly that amount short and the shop keeper won't sell you the bread (nope that wouldn't happen where I live, the shop owners are super nice lol).
I guess that's the same with the Ultimate, it's not perfect for everyone, but the little things can make a big difference in the long run, in a good way like the little leg that holds the lid up so you can go around the other side and tuck the canvas in, or in a not so good way like having to make the bed each time could be an annoying issue for some people.

And yes i vote for a doona, unless the next sleeping bags I buy have a warmer cotton like material rather than that cold and noisy nylony stuff, and when joined together they let too much draft in as well! Next time I will be taking a doona!
Post by: darren on November 22, 2010, 07:57:33 PM
Pebbles. On a side note. Go to a hiking shop and get a silk liner for your sleeping bag. Sea to Summit make some. It stops the issue you say but because its silk, it's slippery and you don't end up tied in knots inside your sleeping bag. It also keeps them clean.
Post by: kiva on November 22, 2010, 08:16:36 PM
I mean isn't one point of a camper the fact that you can leave your bed made up?

Well, we came from bush walking to a camper; so the idea of keeping a made up bed never occurred to us. It might also be that since we have young children, we have to construct their sleeping area (portacots) regardless so we didn't think it was strange to "construct" our sleeping area.

I'm buying it because I CAN sit and cook inside it but then I'm planning on sitting and cooking outside anyway!

Its nice to have options  :D

The reality is that all camper trailers are a compromise in some way or another. You just have to be happy with the set of compromises that you have and make the best of it (or you keep modifying it until you are happy  ;D )
Post by: Flemo on November 22, 2010, 08:45:20 PM
No Trackabout on the poll so wont vote from me.
On another note I know a bloke that just bought one of these for about 6k. I told him it would end in tears and the "10" breaks" would break, any thoughts.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300494232893&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&autorefresh=true
Post by: Campa on November 23, 2010, 12:03:26 PM
ha ha, you can always tell it's a quality product when the translation is not correct :D

Funny looking Dingo too!
Post by: briann532 on November 23, 2010, 07:26:30 PM
ha ha, you can always tell it's a quality product when the translation is not correct :D

Funny looking Dingo too!

OK "IF" money was no object, I'd buy one of these........

Just to burn it!!!! >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Pebble on November 23, 2010, 07:57:51 PM
Pebbles. On a side note. Go to a hiking shop and get a silk liner for your sleeping bag. Sea to Summit make some. It stops the issue you say but because its silk, it's slippery and you don't end up tied in knots inside your sleeping bag. It also keeps them clean.

I think we had these but problem is they weren't a double and I also like to stretch out sometimes, like sticking a foot out of the bottom of the sleeping bag if it's hot for example. I'm pretty sure one of the silk liners is now cut in half and serves as a dirty laundry bag! In saying that we do have cotton ones for the kids somewhere as well :-[ but their sleeping bags don't have the nylon lining like ours, and besides they're supposedly washable (synthetic obviously).
On even more of a side note my Husband is also the type who would probably think it was the end of the world should we sleep in separate sleeping bags or swags or something lol. ;D
Post by: sol on May 24, 2012, 04:32:42 PM
   A Vista. Got one and its awesome
Post by: Isuzumu on May 24, 2012, 04:49:03 PM
If money was no object I would have a Jayco 18' Outback towed by a new VW Toureg for the softer stuff, but keep our Jimboomba for the real rough stuff towed by our ever reliable MU  ;D
Post by: gutters on May 24, 2012, 08:16:00 PM
If money were no issue and we didn't have the rug rats tagging only I would get one of these

http://www.earthcruiser.com.au/ (http://www.earthcruiser.com.au/)

Whilst the kids are still with us I'd stick with our Modcon Quattro but would have to get a nice new tow rig which would be a fully decked out 76 series cruiser :cup:
Post by: Redcherokee on May 25, 2012, 10:02:32 AM
If money was no object I'd buy more than one.  Have them sit in the huge garage, so I could take whatever suited my mood.

A Travelander tray back would definitely be in there.  Perfect for those trips when you don't really want to be towing.

A Modcon forward fold, like the look of these for a camper trailer.

A Vista RV, still easy to tow but almost no canvas in the wet.

An offroad van - maybe an 18' Bushtracker.   For when I am feeling my age.

A jolly big fancy home away from home van for taking somewhere and living out of for months - whilst doing shorter trips with one of the others.

A Winnie.  Noooo.  Don't think I could do that....

Post by: Smoko on May 25, 2012, 12:49:01 PM
If money were no object I would still have my Trackabout but with more money I would not have to work so I could use the Trackie every day if I wanted to

Smoko
Post by: LUXUS on May 25, 2012, 03:47:16 PM
I would have a KK like I do, maybe with a few more features and bigger tow rig.

And because I've got all the money in the world, I would tow it everywhere down all the toughest tracks in Australia and really tested it out with worrying about scratching or dinging it, beause in a couple of years I's just up grade it and I wouldn't care about resale.

But dont have all the money in the world, so I will probably cry the first tiome I scratch or ding it......Because it just cost me all my money I had in this world.
Post by: bussoboy on May 25, 2012, 04:07:50 PM
for my mind it would be an Aussie Swag......but no matter how rich i get my darling bride will always get her way and she would like a complete campsite
Post by: gec on May 25, 2012, 04:36:41 PM
If money was no object, I would love to get a Mountain Trail "Evolution" :cup:, but it is so I will have to stick with my Down Under Camper, Its good and tough, and paid for ;D.  No vote from me as they are not on the list.

http://www.mountaintrailcampers.com.au/ (http://www.mountaintrailcampers.com.au/)

http://www.downundercampers.com.au/index.htm (http://www.downundercampers.com.au/index.htm)
Title: If money was no object what camper trailer would you buy?
Post by: Fun Police on May 25, 2012, 05:07:53 PM
I'd still probably go with the Great Aussie, however, I'd probably fill up the walkway with bottles of 18yo single malt!!
Post by: Markbell on May 25, 2012, 07:51:41 PM
Poll updated to include trackabout & mountain trail.

Any others needing to be added let me know
Post by: nuozzie on May 25, 2012, 08:08:48 PM
For me it's  Johnno's ct
Post by: madmax on May 27, 2012, 08:13:18 PM
Ultimate for me - one on order now :)
Post by: jenont on May 28, 2012, 09:07:26 AM
I think you need to add the Jimboomba Excalaber to that list mate........with all the fruit including stero, tv and dvd, air bag suspension etc etc it is definately up there with the other big names!
Post by: Ropes on May 28, 2012, 09:41:10 AM
I think you need to add the Jimboomba Excalaber to that list mate........with all the fruit including stero, tv and dvd, air bag suspension etc etc it is definately up there with the other big names!

Even the Jimboomba Explorer Staircase would be enough fruit for me  8)
Post by: Disco4Guy on May 28, 2012, 09:43:37 AM
If money was not object, I'd consider this baby...

http://www.smh.com.au/executive-style/luxury/jewel-of-the-sky-boeing-delivers-biggest-747-to-secret-vip-buyer-20120301-1u43i.html (http://www.smh.com.au/executive-style/luxury/jewel-of-the-sky-boeing-delivers-biggest-747-to-secret-vip-buyer-20120301-1u43i.html)

Well, IT IS OFF ROAD :-)
Post by: clarky on June 02, 2012, 12:14:18 AM
Not on the list, but a Cameron Converter for me. All Aussie made, and nearly puts itself up! Can leve the kids roomon and take it off when they're gone...or prefore to sleep in their own tent.
Post by: fuji on June 02, 2012, 09:10:20 PM
Poll updated to include trackabout & mountain trail.

Any others needing to be added let me know

Modcon?
Customline?
Post by: Jenko67 on June 03, 2012, 07:45:09 AM
What about Jayco and Coromal...... ??? ;D........ I wouldn't be spending it on a camper..... I am happy with what I have but I would upgrade to a jayco expanda......
Post by: ian_baker58 on June 03, 2012, 09:11:58 AM
It's an Ulti....
After much research, talking to owners (rather than salesmen) of various options, and of course reading this forum!
  8)
Post by: fuji on June 03, 2012, 11:20:41 AM
An Aussie Swag, Complete Campsite, AORC, Customline, Trackabout, VistaRV and the list goes on. Which one shall I choose at the Leisurefest? Do I spend 45k for an AS or 30k for a decked out TA? Hmmmmmm ???
Wayne
Post by: JU5T1N on June 03, 2012, 01:59:02 PM
Hey guys,
I think this would of been more informative for all if it was in a 2 part vote (if possible).

1. Camper choice
2. Number in family

Those that do have more then 2 people camping could benefit from the results also.