General => General Discussion => Topic started by: ronmac on November 08, 2020, 12:11:58 PM
What 18v cordless drill is more suited for tent pegs and wind down legs on trailers. So many different types it's bloody confusing. cheers Ron.
Gday mate.
I bought this great bit of kit recently.
Used it on a few jobs.Cant fault the power of the unit and will no doubt be suitable with the job you wish to use it for.
Very happy with mine,cheers.
https://www.bunnings.com.au/ryobi-18v-one-1-5ah-5-0ah-hammer-drill-kit_p0087752 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/ryobi-18v-one-1-5ah-5-0ah-hammer-drill-kit_p0087752)
Impact driver is what i use. I have ryobi 18v and Panasonic 14.4v. Ryobi is fine for non industrial use.
I've also gone Ryobi for my household & garden tools (& the drill also gets used on van legs ;D) because of teh range of things that one battery will fit.
I’d give another vote for Ryobi for a ‘home handyman’ (and the Bunnings/Ryobi warrenty is hard too beat too).
This kit is normally $160, but they drop their prices in this range to match ALDI offers when they have them, at the moment, for $99 you won't get close to this value wise. The batteries in this kit aren't big but they also regularly have the 4ah for $39 when ALDI is selling theirs if you want some bigger ones later on.
https://www.bunnings.com.au/ozito-pxc-brushless-hammer-drill-kit_p6290591 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/ozito-pxc-brushless-hammer-drill-kit_p6290591)
They also have the brushless driver skin, which is usually 99 but just 39 at the moment, they have taken it off their website likely due to low stock so might be hard to find. Honestly at full price these are still great value, at these prices if you can find stock, nothing comes close.
https://pricehipster.com/product/uN3fswod5T3OW8XMdm9vCA~HJ1Ki6pa~au (https://pricehipster.com/product/uN3fswod5T3OW8XMdm9vCA~HJ1Ki6pa~au)
Just for pegs in ground and putting 2 legs down?? cheapest you can find.
+1...
i have converted to the peg drilling crowd, so i just take my old makita 10.8v cordless kit with me now...
plenty of 'ugga duggas' for the job of drilling in pegs...
What 18v cordless drill is more suited for tent pegs and wind down legs on trailers. So many different types it's bloody confusing. cheers Ron.
Mate, given some of the places we have been, whatever you choose make sure it has a "hammer" feature... some places are sooo hard!
Thanks to all, Never really needed to go this way until I stuffed my back up. cheers Ron.
Mate, given some of the places we have been, whatever you choose make sure it has a "hammer" feature... some places are sooo hard!
Yep, I think from memory it was Copley in Flinders, I went through 12 pegs before I got anything to work with hammer and peg style :'(
If possibly will be this hard take a long tungsten tip bit with you and drill a pilot hole first.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
If you can find a tradie nearby who has an old 12 volt makita or similar.
They are useless ones the batteries die.
Grab it and wire a lead and alligator clips to it.
Works a treat.
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/maylands/power-tools/dewalt-12v-drill-skin/1258697199 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/maylands/power-tools/dewalt-12v-drill-skin/1258697199)
or buy one on gumtree
https://www.bunnings.com.au/ozito-pxc-18v-10mm-compact-drill-driver-kit_p0049052 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/ozito-pxc-18v-10mm-compact-drill-driver-kit_p0049052)
i have converted to the peg drilling crowd, so i just take my old makita 10.8v cordless kit with me now..
My 82 year old mum converted me. She's been using a drill and pegs she got from Aldi for winding the legs of her caravan and pinning the awning down.