General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on April 06, 2018, 05:25:26 PM
New regulations put heat on small RV manufacturers, says Track Trailer boss
As many as two thirds of existing Australian caravan and camper trailer manufacturers may not survive beyond 2019 under new accountability regulations set to be rolled out from mid this year.
Track Trailer chief Gerard Waldron has some bold if somewhat dire predictions
That’s the prediction of Track Trailer CEO Gerard Waldron, who says the cost and pressure of complying with new ‘Provider’ regulations will drive smaller manufacturers out of business or lead to them being ‘swallowed’ by larger players.
His gloomy predictions come on top of recent news that several long-standing Australian manufacturers have either failed, or are struggling in the current tough market conditions
Ballina-based innovation leader Kimberley Kampers went into voluntary administration on December 7 last year, with company director Bruce Loxton resigning 11 days later. The company has now entered into an agreement to pay employees’ wages and superannuation in full, however unsecured creditors will only get six cents back in every dollar owed by March 31.
Australian premium hard-floor camper icon, Queensland’s Aussie Swag, announced earlier this year that it was closing its doors after 32 years, apparently another victim of cheaper imported campers that have flooded the local market in recent years.
Then, in early March, Atco-Pickering Metal Industries announced that it was putting its former WA-based Pioneer Campers business on the market, despite winning recent awards for its Mitchell hard-shell Tvan lookalike, with CEO, Hymie Jechilevsky citing “increasingly challenging market conditions”.
https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/editorial/details/australian-manufacturers-must-unite-or-die-111866/ (https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/editorial/details/australian-manufacturers-must-unite-or-die-111866/)
Interesting read. 1. Thing I'd like to pull out of it is
“The major change that this will bring is that RV ‘Providers’ such as importers and their dealers will now primarily be responsible to ensure that the products they sell are ‘Fit for purpose’, rather than the manufacturer.”
This is 1 area that'll benifit the public. In short if you have a problem you know where to go, know you have rights etc. This hopefully stops the "Oh sorry right bla bla ring this No. And best if luck.
The low end market has defenitly shaken up the high end market, and with good reason too. People are pay big $$$ ( me included ) on products that being Aussie made should have been miles ahead of the cheap imports. In reality for price etc im starting to think not...
So a shake up would be good. The rubbish will be put in the spot light just as much as the good stuff will shine throu
The chinese imports have improved hugely over the last number of years, think hyundai 30 years ago and now. The imported campers will do 80-90% of the aussie tracks same as most 4wds. the other 10-20% of tracks are the realm of the high end aussie campers and highly modified 4wds. The build q
Sorry hit send by mistake, The build quality of the imported stuff has improved and also the accessories or inclusion list has improved. wasn't such a long time ago that camper trailers were a trailer with a tent on the top, now they have as many accessories as you might have at home lighting 240v power, hot water, dedicated kitchens with large fridges, i always will support aussie manufacturing but dollar wise the aussie offerings really are not competitive on most levels.
I am very happy to see the increased accountability for imported campers being enforced, it may drive up prices a bit and improve the quality and give the aussie made ones a more even playing field
just my 2c worth
A lot of the time, everyone bangs on about high Aussie wages spelling the death knell of manufacturers but in reality, if you were making a good quality camper and making a profit out of every sale, unless you were having a big loss in sales, then no amount of foreign makers should worry you.
Good point in case of KK.......apart from the messy divorce and problems we may never know, they made a good product that should have survived any foreign influx !
But the price of these hybrids is insane compared to what you get for your money with a high end caravan. You can't tell me it costs more to build an offroad hybrid of 14ft compared to a 22ft fancy van ??
The chinese imports have improved hugely over the last number of years, think hyundai 30 years ago and now. The imported campers will do 80-90% of the aussie tracks same as most 4wds. the other 10-20% of tracks are the realm of the high end aussie campers and highly modified 4wds. The build q
Korean cars are still light years ahead of the Chinese stuff though. I agree about the campers though I'm glad I have an Aussie camper and modified car that can get through those 10-20% of tracks that the others can't heheheh keeps the crowds out.
In regards to KK though pretty sure they are still trading just under new ownership which may have ruffled a few feathers in their dealer network with the agreement with SEQ campers ceasing.
Imports are here to stay. That’s a fact.
The issue is the caravan industry, being self regulated, has created their own issues with the biggest problem being after sales service. No manufactuer abides by the consumer law, in fact, even the Govt does not abide by their own law.
To be told that you must expect issues when you buy an brand new Australian Caravan / Camper and then you have to hope the manufacturer does not screw you over with their warranty and then denies you your rights under consumer law.
We all complain about imports and say buy Australian but we all deserve the after sales service we expect no matter who the manufacturer is, import or not.
Hopefully the new regulations will improve the industry and weed out the bad manufacturers. Import or not.
When I was in the retail industry I gave better after sales service on a $99 DVD player than what is being offered on a $100k product.
But the price of these hybrids is insane compared to what you get for your money with a high end caravan.
x googleplex
You can't tell me it costs more to build an offroad hybrid of 14ft compared to a 22ft fancy van ??
But high end caravan doesn't sound as trendy as 'hybrid'
I don’t get some of these Aussie built campers like KK or Complete Campsite for eg that cost more than a brand new Ranger, Colorado, Hilux etc. When you break down one of these utes into, engineering, tooling, R&D etc then imagine the cost of spare parts like a transmission, brake booster, power window module etc I don’t see the value of the trailer which also has nowhere near the warranty of a motor vehicle. Yes that same analogy goes for my Jayco.
hi
Comes down to economies and greed . If ALL the parts did not cost as much prices would be cheaper .
When I enquired about exterior silicon at the factory the national parts manager responded we import container loads all the time of parts and silicon of course . Same as Used by the parent company in the USA .
Products in Ozzy are to expensive .
Why would I pay more for a camper or even close to a ute price !!! New ute would win every time !!
[quote
Why would I pay more for a camper or even close to a ute price !!! New ute would win every time !!
[/quote]
Only trouble is you can't fit a qeen size bed ,kitchen, etc etc in a ute.
And like a ute, you just have to pay the price if you want a 1/2decent one...
hi
Comes down to economies and greed . If ALL the parts did not cost as much prices would be cheaper .
When I enquired about exterior silicon at the factory the national parts manager responded we import container loads all the time of parts and silicon of course . Same as Used by the parent company in the USA .
Products in Ozzy are to expensive .
Not that I am disagreeing with you but we don't live in 1 room shacks and get paid a bowl of rice a day here.
Exactly...and that is why our manufacturing business will not survive.
While ever we can produce a better product and people are prepared to pay for it.....it will survive.
What's happening now in China with cheaper products is already changing as the chinese workers are doing what every developing nation does.....expect higher wages.....which is why some chinese companies are already shifting to cheaper countries...Bangladesh, Sri Lanka etc..
I remember having discussions on this 15 years ago. It's all happening.
It seems everyone want to earn 120k plus but then spends as little as possible on eBay etc and the money goes offshore..human nature I guess.
I've said many times - how often do you see a thread asking what people think of this item and its an ebay link.
**** I'd like to earn 120k :'(
The topic seems to have gone off track ;D
lol...Its all about being accountable. I,d love to see all ozzies driving holdens, using only oz steel and wood, all companies based in oz, bunnings to collapse and supercheap to disappear...wont happen...too much profit to be made by buying cheap chinese stuff and flogging it off at exorbitant prices. Imagine how its gunna be in 20 years!! Every product made should be backed by a suitable warranty. Surely an agreement can be made between manufacturer and seller. If not...dont sell the bloody thing...simples.
Even if you only go by this forum, some sellers have not been accountable for what they sell and IMHO they should be.
BUT we need a level playing field, if these regs are not then they need to be fixed. (one should consider the source of the article)
Compliance issues are an expensive and sometimes impossible minefield for small businesses to deal with. Campertrailer manufacturers are not alone in this. I have a lot of simpathy having come from the 2nd most regulated industry (education)
Some good points raised , keep in mind ‘ imported Campers ‘ are no longer “Cheap “ they are tens of thousands of dollars , and yes they have improved , better inclusions in the last couple of years .
Some consumers care , most don’t , they want to get away , with a flash looking trailer .
Not interested in doing any hard off road touring and often expect that the trailer won’t really “do it “
The reality is most just go to a caravan park , maybe to the Flinders Ranges or the Cape . These are not hard core off road tourers.
The market has changed , the consumers are better informed , like it or not - imports will continue to improve .
But the price will continue to rise , in line with what the market will bear .
Over the next couple of years , the older Patrols,80 series and early Discos will all die of natural causes , the new dual cabs and smarty pants euro trash will become vehicle of choice - 8sp no dual range small capacity turbo diesels .
Not having a go , but the market is changing . The manufacturers will only stem the tide for a short while . As a nation we want high wages ( lifestyle ) definitely want brand name purchases for the lowest price . Thus manufacturers both here and overseas will either find smarter ways to deliver this Wishlist , or cut out the good bits - low weight , well made , cheap ......
Choose two .
lol...Its all about being accountable. I,d love to see all ozzies driving holdens, using only oz steel and wood, all companies based in oz, bunnings to collapse and supercheap to disappear...wont happen...too much profit to be made by buying cheap chinese stuff and flogging it off at exorbitant prices. Imagine how its gunna be in 20 years!! Every product made should be backed by a suitable warranty. Surely an agreement can be made between manufacturer and seller. If not...dont sell the bloody thing...simples.
What a load of rubbish. Make your mind up as to what you want.
Drive Holdens (overseas owned), use only oz steel and wood (owned by foreign controlled companies)
BUT
Bunnings to collapse and Super Cheap to disappear (both hugely successful Aussie companies, employing Aussies, paying Aussie tax, contributing to local economies, etc. etc).
“Every product should be backed by a suitable warranty”. Both Bunnings and Super Cheap would have to have the easiest and most flexible warranty policies of any companies I have ever dealt with. Never, ever, have I had to argue over a return or warranty issue.
Just gotta love the uneducated, redneck comments!
I have a lot of simpathy having come from the 2nd most regulated industry (education)
This is meant as tongue in cheek......but it's obvious you weren't an english teacher !! ;D ;D
What a load of rubbish. Make your mind up as to what you want.
Drive Holdens (overseas owned), use only oz steel and wood (owned by foreign controlled companies)
BUT
Bunnings to collapse and Super Cheap to disappear (both hugely successful Aussie companies, employing Aussies, paying Aussie tax, contributing to local economies, etc. etc).
“Every product should be backed by a suitable warranty”. Both Bunnings and Super Cheap would have to have the easiest and most flexible warranty policies of any companies I have ever dealt with. Never, ever, have I had to argue over a return or warranty issue.
Just gotta love the uneducated, redneck comments!
I take offence at being called a redneck but obviously , going from your previous posts and peoples reaction to them you dont mind being a dickhead. I was inferring that it would be great if we all used/owned Australian made/produced products..We used to import very few cars, steel was locally produced, wood for housing was Aus grown and milled locally in all states. Bunnings and supercheap are full of chinese products that are way over priced and Bunnings actually have many manufacturers working for them in china, not many Aus products on the shelves. No more local hardware stores as a result. Their warranties might be good but their prices are ridiculous. Its no wonder e-bay is going gang busters.
I am truely humbled that you have taken such a keen interest in my previous comments on here.
Oh, and let me get you a tissue for the offence I caused you.
The reality is most just go to a caravan park , maybe to the Flinders Ranges or the Cape . These are not hard core off road tourers.
I think 99% have always done that. I'm trying to think where there are any hard core places that you would take a camper to ?? Maybe 100m down a side track to a creek or something.
Hard core offroad is really some of the long inland "roads" with endless corrugations that test out the structural integrity of the camper ( or van ).......something which will test out the strength of the chassis and suspension.
I think 99% have always done that. I'm trying to think where there are any hard core places that you would take a camper to ?? Maybe 100m down a side track to a creek or something.
Hard core offroad is really some of the long inland "roads" with endless corrugations that test out the structural integrity of the camper ( or van ).......something which will test out the strength of the chassis and suspension.
Agreed I've seen a couple of destroyed imports on severely corrugated roads, although I think some of them are more a result of owner error with tyre pressures etc. I've never had tighten anything on the kk after long correlated drives just drop the pressures a bit and don't try and break any speed records. There's a few tracks we have done in the vic high country with the camper on that I wouldn't be too keen on doing with an import to.
Yup , that’s the ones , loooooong off-road touring .
Mostly done by KK ,Cub,complete campsite - and the ones that have closed in the last couple of months , Aussie Swag and Pioneer .
Now those customers will either choose a patriot on a roof or trailer or a Swag , maybe go to a Hybrid
The list is a bit longer than that, eg. you can still buy Outback Sturts :laugh:
Yes , your right , and they are fantastic !
Go any where , well made , well supported - would recomend happily to anyone looking for a great trailer .
I first wanted one in 1994 ,it took me a while to get one ... and still have one - I’m finding it hard to upgrade as their isn’t anything that really grabs me .
I like the Pioneer Mitchell - no longer made .
TVan are super ( a mate just bought one mark 5 ) but a large investment , I would have to go away a lot to justify the purchase .
It’s a tough market , both for the manufacturers and potential purchasers. Highly competitive and exceptionally crowded
Australia is still riding on the mining boom - even though the boom has just about ended, the currency hasn't quite stopped riding that wave.
In the early 1990's (https://www.ofx.com/en-au/forex-news/historical-exchange-rates/) the Aussie $ was in the low to mid 70's against the US$, mid 90's it was sitting in the mid to high 70's, and late 90's it was the high 50's to low 60's. At those rates, importing would be pretty expensive.
Pre 9/11 and the Aussie was in the low 50's to the US$, after that it started to rise quite steadily.... mid 2000's it was mid 70's, pre GFC it was in the 90's, and then took a bit of a drop (0.96 to 0.65 in 4 months!). By the start of 2010 it was back up to 0.91, and has stayed at that sort of level through the mining boom of the next few years (with a spike to parity, starting in late 2010 and all through 2011 and a chunk of 2012) Starting to drop in 2013 it's been gradual all through to now and is settling at around the 0.78 mark.
Now why is that important? The Chinese Yuan (Rimbini) is a pegged currency (https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2016-12-29/china-reduces-dollar-weighting-in-currency-basket-adds-11-more) that is kept artificially low against the US$, and therefore Chinese imports are priced in US$ first...
If the Aussie $ makes American stores look cheap, then imports are going to be cheap - if American stores look expensive, then Chinese imports are going to be expensive...
As soon as the dollar drops to the lower side of 70, even into the high 60's, watch the imports get close to the domestically made things before the price point makes quality drop a bit... but it might not be the quality of the manufacture, it'll be the accessories that come (or don't) with it. I've seen it happen with mountain bikes over the years, you get a good year sometimes depending on the currency, and other years they might not be as well specc'd without a 10% price rise, and a move to the next price point.
Australia is still riding on the mining boom - even though the boom has just about ended, the currency hasn't quite stopped riding that wave.
[
That boom ended in approx 2014, but mining is on the up and up at the moment and maybe not another boom yet, but don't discount it..
The construction boom may have ended, but the amount of minerals leaving the country hasn't exactly slowed.
Yes, mining is up a bit, but it might be to less of an extent. Ag exports are also growing though, so there are some interesting competing interests there.
However, as long as that is the case, then the chances of any manufacturing building up speed is minimal...
Some regulation in the industry would be a good thing. You only have to walk through any camping and 4WD show to see that the market is flooded with dozens of brands - high end local manufacturers, cheap imports, backyard manufacturers and everything in between.
When researching campers last year it became painfully obvious that the Achilles heel of most manufacturers, even prominent high end ones, was their inability to properly service and support their product nationwide. That was the main factor in us deciding on a local manufacturer instead of a high profile east coast one.
As with any product, when the price is in five figures, and sometimes closer to six, consumers expect it to come with a certain level of service. For the most part that’s not the case in the camper market, and that represents a huge risk to what, for many people, will be the third or even second most expensive item they will ever own.
if i was after a camper today i reckon it would be a second hand Outback Sturt or another old-school Aussie product. Nothing flash, built to do a job, seems to be unbreakable, and i think they are still built to the same design today. Mine is almost 20 years old and I could have bought sixteen of them for what my mate paid for his hybrid. I hope companies like this will be able to carry on, and they deserve to, but i think the definition of a camper has changed a lot over the last 20 years. And I can still get service, spares (like decals, nothing has broken) and advice from the manufacturer.
Yes , your right , and they are fantastic !
Go any where , well made , well supported - would recomend happily to anyone looking for a great trailer .
I first wanted one in 1994 ,it took me a while to get one ... and still have one - I’m finding it hard to upgrade as their isn’t anything that really grabs me .
I like the Pioneer Mitchell - no longer made .
TVan are super ( a mate just bought one mark 5 ) but a large investment , I would have to go away a lot to justify the purchase .
It’s a tough market , both for the manufacturers and potential purchasers. Highly competitive and exceptionally crowded
We moved from an Outback to a Tvan. It was the setup/packup time that induced the move.
I'd like one of these if they werent so ****in heavy
https://www.trakmaster.com.au/ (https://www.trakmaster.com.au/)
(https://editorial.pxcrush.net/caravancampingsales/general/editorial/ge4841980340222325129.jpg)
I'd prefer a caravan over a hybrid anyday. BUT
The likes of the Gibson, Kimberly from trakmaster, 16ft bushtracker and the likes, all have a hercules heal. And this is where i personally think hybrids come into play which i agree are way alot of $$$.
That hercules heal in most "caravan is it width.
1. There overall width and then the wheel track.
Most are give take 2.2m/ 2.4m wide and travel on a much wider foot print then most 4wd..pain in t butt in tight stuff and worse bulldust and sand..
This alone puts them off my radar (at the present), couldn't afford a hybrid so ended up with a hardfloor camper. Untill the wife had enough anyway.
Joe.
I'd prefer a caravan over a hybrid anyday. BUT
The likes of the Gibson, Kimberly from trakmaster, 16ft bushtracker and the likes, all have a hercules heal. And this is where i personally think hybrids come into play which i agree are way alot of $$$.
That hercules heal in most "caravan is it width.
1. There overall width and then the wheel track.
Most are give take 2.2m/ 2.4m wide and travel on a much wider foot print then most 4wd..pain in t butt in tight stuff and worse bulldust and sand..
This alone puts them off my radar (at the present), couldn't afford a hybrid so ended up with a hardfloor camper. Untill the wife had enough anyway.
Joe.
Bingo. For me to buy even a pop up camper I would have to give up where I go camping. I get the rearfold through there - just (1800mm wide). I'm happy to stick with a camper/hybrid and also happy that there's no vanners following me. If anyone wants to meet up on some 'hard' track they take their camper and they don't think my import will survive, I'd be happy to oblige. It's already done plenty.