General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Pottsy on March 28, 2018, 07:47:21 AM

Title: Easter Road Safety
Post by: Pottsy on March 28, 2018, 07:47:21 AM
To everyone using the roads over the Easter Holiday period please take care and don't become a statistic.
Stick to the speed limit, don't drink and drive, be patient, only overtake when safe to do so, plan breaks if travelling long distances and remember you need to be aware of others on the road. Let's give our emergency services a quiet Easter.

Stay safe and enjoy the weekend.  :D :D :D :D :D
Title: Re: Easter Road Safety
Post by: Foo on March 28, 2018, 08:56:40 AM
A shame that the wanker element won't change and I'm not seeing any indication of it changing and I do 950klms a day in a truck! 😡

Have a good Easter to yourself and ya family.

Hurry up corkhead!

Post by: gronk on March 28, 2018, 09:26:32 PM
It's the time of year that a lot of city drivers, of limited road knowledge, hit the open road and do stupid things.
Post by: Hookie on March 29, 2018, 05:18:41 AM
Heading out now, hopefully beat the swarm. Good luck everyone!
Post by: gronk on March 29, 2018, 05:40:37 AM
Heading out now, hopefully beat the swarm. Good luck everyone!

Ha ha, good luck to you........some of us have to work. I'll head off tomorrow with all the other crazies !!!
Post by: 3rd time lucky on March 29, 2018, 07:43:44 AM
I hate to say this, but the words of the OP should apply 365.25 days per year. Its sad that we have to post reminders of good driving habits only at peak holidays times. All correct, but it would be super awesome if everyone started following and kept following day in day out.
And even sadder is the probability that those people who need to heed the advice the most are least likely to be reading this thread.
Nigel
Post by: Pottsy on March 29, 2018, 07:57:19 AM
I hate to say this, but the words of the OP should apply 365.25 days per year. Its sad that we have to post reminders of good driving habits only at peak holidays times. All correct, but it would be super awesome if everyone started following and kept following day in day out.
And even sadder is the probability that those people who need to heed the advice the most are least likely to be reading this thread.
Nigel

Agree wholeheartedly, having been on the road all my working life, I've seen plenty of close calls, stupidity and some tragic accidents.
Post by: speewa158 on March 29, 2018, 04:52:49 PM
l reckon it safe to say that Easter is the last chance for a good break in good weather till summer . Every man & his dog & cat & budgie & the wholeFamDamily  .
l reckon it a great time to stay home do some chores on the CT  , Then go from there  :cup:
Stay safe out there & have fun  :cheers:
Post by: Foo on March 29, 2018, 05:30:14 PM
l reckon it safe to say that Easter is the last chance for a good break in good weather till summer . Every man & his dog & cat & budgie & the wholeFamDamily  .
l reckon it a great time to stay home do some chores on the CT  , Then go from there  :cup:
Stay safe out there & have fun  :cheers:

You can't talkin about Victoria? It's never good down there, is it?  :o

It's cyclonic here and wet near Bribie Island but I don't bloody care, because I have all the supplies that I need and don't need to associate with the plebs around the place.  :P

Post by: Tim - Stratford on April 01, 2018, 07:10:55 PM
Heard a 'rumour' that a female driver was caught doing 142km/h in the fog this morning near Stratford and this arvo some numpty bloke blew 0.270 in the next town- FFS  ???
Post by: Pottsy on April 01, 2018, 07:19:59 PM
Heard a 'rumour' that a female driver was caught doing 142km/h in the fog this morning near Stratford and this arvo some numpty bloke blew 0.270 in the next town- FFS  ???

Can't help some people. ??? ??? ???
Post by: Bird on April 01, 2018, 07:28:35 PM
more here
https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/queensland/easter-drivers-six-times-over-alcohol-limit-doing-double-speed-limit-police-allege-20180331-p4z78c.html (https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/queensland/easter-drivers-six-times-over-alcohol-limit-doing-double-speed-limit-police-allege-20180331-p4z78c.html)
Post by: #jonesy on April 01, 2018, 09:21:34 PM
https://www.vicpolicenews.com.au/news (https://www.vicpolicenews.com.au/news)
Examples

142 in a 60 zone
114 in aa 40 roadworks
Disqualified bloke towing a boat trailer running in rims
Etc etc

Sadly these extremes  are everyday incidents  and only a “sample” not just occuring over Easter.

Post by: Pete79 on April 01, 2018, 09:54:26 PM
I couldn’t get a photo of the Fiat 500 coming towards me this afternoon, but it was a real winner...
Picture a Fiat 500 with another Fiat 500 on top of it.

There was 2 Jerry cans (that I could see) and a gazebo on the bottom layer, then some rolled up mattresses and chairs on the net layer, then some stuff wrapped in a tarp on the top layer.
All strapped down with some rope....
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 02, 2018, 04:17:51 AM
You been smoking weed again?