General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Pat Williams on February 07, 2018, 03:24:47 PM
G'day MySwaggers,
I work for for 4WD Touring Australia mag and we're currently compiling an issue on Cape York travel. In the past we've run quite a few stories contributed by MySwag forum members, so just checking in to see if anyone has done a trip up to the Cape and has some good photos that they'd like to turn into a story for the mag.
We would be looking for around 15+ good photos and around 1000 words for the story. Doesn't matter if you haven't had work published before, we just need some solid photos and an interesting story or angle for the words. Stories are paid for after the mag goes to print and is on sale.
Drop me a line at pat@4wdtouring.com.au if you've done a trip to the Cape and would like to see your pics in print.
Cheers! :cheers:
Pat Williams
pat@4wdtouring.com.au
Mate, just cut and paste from the thousands of other stories all the mags have done already.
Take some photos with your product sponsors in the frame in front of the views the cape offers.
Rip up the tracks for that one perfect shot, and you'll have another cape York story for publish.
Mate, just cut and paste from the thousands of other stories all the mags have done already.
Take some photos with your product sponsors in the frame in front of the views the cape offers.
Rip up the tracks for that one perfect shot, and you'll have another cape York story for publish.
About right...10 scenic shots to 15 pages of advertising bullShit.. and expert advice from tossers.
I have written 3 articles for the magazine for the myswag trips. Photos taken by members on the trip. I dont write bullShite and hopefully not classified as a tosser ;D
Give it a try and join the tosser club.... ;D
(https://media.tenor.com/images/c06b48a329dadcce6c9f3de50814c28b/tenor.gif)
I have written 3 articles for the magazine for the myswag trips. Photos taken by members on the trip. I dont write bullShite and hopefully not classified as a tosser ;D
Of course your a tosser.
Just a tosser who can write ;D ;D ;D
Pat,
I realise that you are looking for original magazine copy from a personal viewpoint, a fact that seems to escaped some of the intellectual giants who have posted on this thread.
One of these days someone is going to invent a hat with brains in it. When they do I will buy a Shitload and pass them out.
Don't lose heart.
Keith (retired magazine publisher)
Pat,
I realise that you are looking for original magazine copy from a personal viewpoint, a fact that seems to escaped some of the intellectual giants who have posted on this thread.
One of these days someone is going to invent a hat with brains in it. When they do I will buy a Shitload and pass them out.
Don't lose heart.
Keith (retired magazine publisher)
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Give it a try and join the tosser club.... ;D
Yeah but things have changed s lot on here in the last few years Mark.
Welcome to the forum Pat I'm sure there is still a few swaggers on here that would like to see their stories published, good luck with it
Hi Pat, My Pm and Email is sent I would love to do a story for your mag, Craig
Yeah but things have changed s lot on here in the last few years Mark.
Welcome to the forum Pat I'm sure there is still a few swaggers on here that would like to see their stories published, good luck with it
What has changed. People still write up trip reports, why not get famous and submit the report in a magazine. ;D
... cause you can read em free on a forum or blog without eleventy billion ads. :)
FWIW, my best mate writes for ADB Magazine and has since the 80's when we were racing...
He gets paid fairly well for his 'Nose' gig, and the bonus is the contacts in the industry he has for test bits for his bikes :( and an invite to write an article on a bike event where he won a brand new KTM 500 :'( Lucky prick.
... cause you can read em free on a forum or blog without eleventy billion ads. :)
FWIW, my best mate writes for ADB Magazine and has since the 80's when we were racing...
He gets paid fairly well for his 'Nose' gig, and the bonus is the contacts in the industry he has for test bits for his bikes :( and an invite to write an article on a bike event where he won a brand new KTM 500 :'( Lucky prick.
All they are asking is if any one wants to contribute a story not buy the magazine. If you dont like the publication dont buy it, no one really cares :-*
true... less and less people are caring about magazines, sign of the times I guess
I was referring to the warm welcome Pat was receiving
I knew that ;D
Magazines are still relevant and any trip to a newsagent will tell you that they are still popular. Canny publishers design their magazines to be read during two trips to the dunny.
I don't buy them like I once did but still love a mag or 2 when I'm set up in camp and screen free.
^^^
me too - good mag and a couple of brittney spears 😀
TC
I don't buy them like I once did but still love a mag or 2 when I'm set up in camp and screen free.
x2. Alway grab a couple of mags before a trip for some non-screen reading. Carlyle's mag is first choice & then probably Pat in the Hat. Top notch photography in both.
While the Cape may seem like its been done to death, not everyone does the Cape the same way. There are places along the way not everyone visits.
It's about finding that unique angle. Everybody's seen shots of people trying to bend their cars in Gunshot. Boring. Look for something different.
I've had a few of my own stories published over the years.
I figure if someone wants to pay me for a story & pics, which often covers all or most of the cost of the trip, then I'm in ;D
As mentioned below, if you don't like them, don't buy them. Magazines are not dead yet.
4wd Touring Australia still values good writing and photography.
Been a while since I've written, but Pat's always been great to deal with, so if you want to have a crack at writing, give it a go & drop him a line.
Thanks for the replies fellas, and for those that dropped me an email. Great to see plenty of interest.
Sorry I'm new to the site and just realised that I'd been receiving some PMs here on the site too, so will get back to every one on those right away.
4WD mags might not be for everyone these days, but if you're familiar with our mag you'd hopefully see that we like to provide a place for those with a passion for travel, photography or words to get published. And we try not to drown out the good content with an overload of ads. Looks like we'll be running a couple of unique pieces on Cape York in our May issue from MySwag forum members, and we're always interested in seeing content ideas from anyone who's got some great material they'd like to see published.
Cheers!
Pat
Thanks Pat for posting this opportunity on here, and glad there's been a lot of interest. :)
It'll be great to see the magazine when it comes out!
Magazines aren't dead. And 4WD/camping related mags are some of the only ones I buy. Granted, I don't buy them anywhere near as much as I once did, but I get a lot more joy out of reading a magazine than aimlessly trawling Google results to find a few blogs I actually want to read that I may not already be familiar with!
I, 2nd what Trinity said, and a big thanks to Myswag for being Ausy wide forum and attract the attention of mags like 4wdtouring that Pat work for, I am so grateful Pat wants to look at some of my old Cape photos and let me submit an article to see if its good enough, As I have been a scribe for a local brissy fishing mag for around 14years lucky they are not fussy, But I have tired for years to get some of my articles into glossy mags it just does not happen unless you know some who works for them or you meet the editor some where, Thanks to Pat and Myswag, Craig
many of those glossy mags have a set format you need to follow to submit your article in for...I was approached years ago to do articles for a 4wd mag after they had seen a few trip reports I'd done on their forum, I just couldn't bring myself to write a trip report in the same sterile way all their articles are done....it was all about set info on the area, they don't want to hear about your actual adventures. Not saying that is how it is with the mag this thread is about by the way, just suggesting maybe why other mags brushed you.
Yes you are right RP, I will find out how they want it I suppose, I only write one way as like it happened If thats not good enough well so be it. But over the years I have sent in a lot of photos and stories to different fishing and 4wd Mags , Just to have them say my photos were not good enough the story were lame, But its been a few years now scene I sent in an article, I just have to keep chipping away this time mite be different, If not I have been there and was going there anyway and my mob and I had a great time, I still write for BnB that is fun and my photos have not got to be great, And I can say what the misses lets me say as she edits my stories for me, Craig
many of those glossy mags have a set format you need to follow to submit your article in for...I was approached years ago to do articles for a 4wd mag after they had seen a few trip reports I'd done on their forum, I just couldn't bring myself to write a trip report in the same sterile way all their articles are done....it was all about set info on the area, they don't want to hear about your actual adventures. Not saying that is how it is with the mag this thread is about by the way, just suggesting maybe why other mags brushed you.
when i was with that mag to Mal- i got sent the new format and it was bloody near impossible to follow and they just got too hard to work for, and lets not talk about the pay rate and getting sent cheques in the mail still.
At least with Pat and Carlisle they do email back with 14 days- the more unique the destination the better - pay ?....mmmm covers the beer
when i was with that mag to Mal- i got sent the new format and it was bloody near impossible to follow and they just got too hard to work for, and lets not talk about the pay rate and getting sent cheques in the mail still.
At least with Pat and Carlisle they do email back with 14 days- the more unique the destination the better - pay ?....mmmm covers the beer
yeah a mate that did a few stories for that other mag, was always complaining about trying to get paid for the stuff he'd submitted and had printed...seems like a common complaint.
Here is the story I did for the mag back in 2014.
Sorry about the ads.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180214/2ead29d5b8ace3b772f1d99e8894deaa.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180214/231e433b9ec6bd93fe4f5fba956d3041.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180214/3d6a948b1160a27f6315406b5840e990.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180214/00cf185ba8b16dc46488de28b135939d.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180214/c216997ffcf6d56f0dc511a5ab65d722.jpg)
nice read Mark
yeah a mate that did a few stories for that other mag, was always complaining about trying to get paid for the stuff he'd submitted and had printed...seems like a common complaint.
i pulled the pin after they owed for 12 months and near 7k
Great Story and photos MG01, A friend of the family had a gold mine out around Maytown years ago, Craig
I had a cartoonist, regrettably now passed away, who did three strips for me every month for our trade magazine. On the bottom of his invoice he had printed in Latin (with an English translation): "Pay the workman before his sweat is dry". He also added a copyright notice.
Another motoring journalist mate, also now passed away, noted in all submissions that he owned the copyright and would allow a single use of the piece after he was paid. Copyright laws are very strict and I think allow damages for each copy of the piece which breaches the copyright.
I have always insisted that freelance contributors assign the copyright and always paid them before publication. Publishers who don't pay their contributors, or pay very late, have no place in the industry.
I wouldnt necessarily agree...last few news agents ive been into have more and more empty shelves where mags used to sit. News agents seem to be more about lotto products stationary and gift ideas....but off topic.
I think the future of printed media is grim.i believe newspapers mags etc will go the way of the video hire store within the next 10 years. Nobody i know under the age of 50 buys newspapers any more. It will become more electronic subscription based. But please please please LESS advertising. Its the modern thing and its shoved in your face 24/7.
I think the OP is looking for an original / different slant on the stereotypical Cape trip report. I would be interested to read about that (on my PC mind you😁). Ive read quite a few and they all have the same photos and storylines...may as well just reprint one from 5 years ago. Mags r brilliant at doing that anyway already.
I am a fisherman and I love crabbing and hunting so my story will be about were I have been in the last 36 years of looking around the Cape for a feed and my 4wd just gets me to them great places, with some tracks are wilder than others I do not go to brake gear I go to get there and back and have a great time, Craig
my 4wd just gets me to them great places, with some tracks are wilder than others I do not go to brake gear I go to get there and back and have a great time, Craig
You're spot on Craig, when I first started working and driving on the cape in the mid sixties, particularly when going across to Iron Range airstrip or Morton Telegraph Station, once you got north of the Archer, you always had to do some roadwork, particularly on the Iron Range/ Portland Roads section. The intention in those days was to leave the track in a more roadworthy state than you found it!
Hi bkim, They are great photos of yours, Yes would of been some wild roads up there after the wet season them days, that red scrub country on the Road to Portland Roads was so slippery I have camped beside my 4wd overnight till next day to let it dry out so I could get out of the table drain, The bitumen around the Portland roads would of still been there from the war when you were working up there, There is so much more to the Cape than just driving the OTL. Craig
Hi Craig,
Those photos were taken in 67, when we moved an old wartime building across iron Range airstrip from the opposite end of the strip, closing the airport runway for the day, we relocated the building to it's present site near the terminal and built new toilet blocks and workshops as well as renovating the terminal and building. Used to take about three hours in the truck (one way) to get to Portland Roads to unload our supplies off the Maluka (the coastal trader in the photo at Portland Roads jetty) used to come fortnightly on a sunday about midday.
Most of the wartime bitumen road from the airport to the jetty was almost untrafficable and the bridges had mostly collapsed which required a bit of work to open up the creek crossings if you were the first vehicle in after the wet.
Unreel Bkim, Thanks for sharing your memory's of a the Cape, Craig