General => General Discussion => Topic started by: b1 on August 11, 2017, 08:06:37 PM

Title: Middle age adventure or foolish foley ?
Post by: b1 on August 11, 2017, 08:06:37 PM
I got a call from a mate in Sydney Wednesday nite that went something like this...

Mate: hey wanna look at a car with me this weekend

Me: Sure

Mate: it's in Adelaide

Me: Ahhhhhh

Mate: I'll pay your airfare with my frequent flyer points

Me: You sure you wanna do that

Mate: Yep, I'll book one way, if it's all good, we'll drive it home

Me: Riiiiiiiiight, so how far is that ?

Mate: It's only 1400km or 14 hours drive on Google Maps

Me: Well that's okay, so We'll be back Sunday night, work Monday, yeah ?

Mate: Yep

Me: if it's a no go, what then?

Mate: we fly back Sunday

Me: Sounds like a plan, I'm in......

10 minutes later, phone rings again....

Mate: Flights booked fly out 8am Saturday, seller is picking us up from the airport.

Me: Cool, were set. Want me to bring anything?

Mate: Nup, hand luggage only.

Me: Riiiiiight

Mate: I've booked a checked bag each. Mines got 21kg worth of spares in it, yours has got 16kg of spares and tools

Me: WHAT THE ..... what is it ?

Mate:.........a classic.........

Me: Reeeeeeally.......

Mate: a Phoenix Blue 1974 Mazda Bongo Van

Me: WTF

Mate: What can possibly go wrong  ;D

If you see 2 blokes by the side of the road somewhere between Mildura and Hay, wave as you p155 yourself laughing
Title: Re: Middle age adventure or foolish foley ?
Post by: b1 on August 11, 2017, 08:09:44 PM
Post by: speewa158 on August 11, 2017, 08:16:49 PM
l have a 1994 Mitzy  5 door Express Van   ,   The Concubine Harvester .
Ready to Rock & Roll down the road to Eternity of Fame  ,, any offer over the purchase price of 3 Blocks of   VB  can/will  be   accepted   :-* :-*
l await your reply ,,,,,,,,,, in thirstiness                          :cheers:
Post by: 6knights on August 11, 2017, 08:21:47 PM
Definitely an adventure. Sounds like one of those events in life that you never forget, Have a great time
Post by: b1 on August 11, 2017, 08:26:22 PM
l have a 1994 Mitzy  5 door Express Van   ,   The Concubine Harvester .
Ready to Rock & Roll down the road to Eternity of Fame  ,, any offer over the purchase price of 3 Blocks of   VB  can/will  be   accepted   :-* :-*
l await your reply ,,,,,,,,,, in thirstiness                          :cheers:
That might be cheaper than a rental to get home. Does it have a tow bar  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on August 11, 2017, 08:36:14 PM
That might be cheaper than a rental to get home. Does it have a tow bar  ;D ;D ;D
       Yep on the back beside the 7 pin flat plug    ,                    :cup:
Post by: Swannie on August 11, 2017, 09:51:02 PM
Sounds like something out of Priscilla queen of the desert
Post by: edz on August 12, 2017, 12:30:21 AM
Better take a traditional mobile phone with you to make a  call in case you break down .. Wouldnt be much modern  mobile phone coverage out there .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Kf_RYVt2XQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Kf_RYVt2XQ)   
Remember to use the mirrors to signal search planes, smoke is hard to see from the air / distance  ;D ;D
Post by: Rumpig on August 12, 2017, 12:34:19 AM
Sounds like a great weekends adventure to me  8)
Post by: b1 on August 12, 2017, 06:06:13 AM
With the recent arrests in Sydney I wonder whether our bags will make it to Adelaide and we end up in the slammer
Post by: Bill on August 12, 2017, 06:39:44 AM
Defiantly  fun trip...
Post by: raider on August 12, 2017, 07:59:10 AM
With the recent arrests in Sydney I wonder whether our bags will make it to Adelaide and we end up in the slammer

With that stuff...... just don't start anything. ;D
Post by: Foo on August 12, 2017, 08:29:49 AM
Are we there yet?  ;D But seriously, driving a Bongo Van 1400klms, WTF!  :o

Post by: Fizzie on August 12, 2017, 08:46:56 AM
In 14 hours, then getting up to go to work Monday morning ???

Hope you've both got a few days rec. leave up your sleeves >:D
Post by: JusyApples on August 12, 2017, 09:43:56 AM
Good luck doing it in 14hrs with that thing
Post by: tryagain on August 12, 2017, 10:30:08 AM
Sounds like fun, sure there is a reasonable risk it will all go pear shape, but that's what makes it more of an adventure.

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/semaphore-south/cars-vans-utes/1974-mazda-bongo-f1000/1155706472 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/semaphore-south/cars-vans-utes/1974-mazda-bongo-f1000/1155706472)

Engine runs but needs some tlc

And when this is one of the pictures

(https://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MzAwWDQwMA==/z/zmQAAOSwGrFZgajx/$_20.JPG)

Ups the level if adventure. I think this is a good time to have a high level of roadside assistance.

Post by: moeite on August 12, 2017, 11:05:00 AM

Mate: What can possibly go wrong  ;D

And that ranks right up there with "How hard can it be?"

Sounds like an adventure that perhaps should be approached with GREAT trepidation....
Post by: Bigfish on August 12, 2017, 11:16:33 AM

You should be right....nothing resembling a meat mincer in there!!
Post by: edz on August 12, 2017, 11:44:23 AM
Sooo is he going the the Chook Cooka Bongo https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdcAXgu0xB0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdcAXgu0xB0) or is he going the rat rodded mid mounted V8 monster style https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxR_iJIWFxQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxR_iJIWFxQ)   ;D ;D
Post by: b1 on August 12, 2017, 02:42:39 PM
First stop $300 worth of insurance
Post by: b1 on August 12, 2017, 02:48:08 PM
Pick a number between 0 and 1500 to see how far we get ;D
Post by: tryagain on August 12, 2017, 03:12:17 PM

Are we talking about to an issue that needs repair, or an insurmountable issue?  I think you will at least make the border  ;D
Post by: Troopy_03 on August 12, 2017, 03:23:42 PM
375Km

Love to have seen the look on the baggage scanners face when that lot went through the Xray machine  ;D  :cheers:
Post by: Chesapeake on August 12, 2017, 04:14:16 PM
"There's 106 miles to Chicago, We've got a tank of gas,half a pack of cigarettes,it's dark out ,and we're wearing sunglasses". Could make a movie about this trip.
Post by: MDS69 on August 12, 2017, 05:03:18 PM
I love it. There is a Facebook group I am in and a few of us have a soft spot for the Bongo. There is a white one around the corner from my work in Rydalmere used as a daily.
Post by: geopaj on August 12, 2017, 05:06:26 PM
I love the seller's choice of numberplate (SIK-074)... clearly an optimist! [in SA if you use an "S" or "R" series numberplate you can choose your own rego for much less that private plates]
Post by: b1 on August 12, 2017, 05:07:43 PM
Well if you took 25, 29, 31 or 38 your a winner.

Overheating, replaced various bits of hose and reconnected heater circuit. Still overheating

Backed off timing slightly seems better. Recheck at Gawler. Next option remove radiator and replace water pump
Post by: GeoffA on August 12, 2017, 05:11:58 PM
Dud sender?
Post by: b1 on August 12, 2017, 06:32:45 PM
All good last hour.

Time for the sunset shot awwwwwww
Post by: speewa158 on August 12, 2017, 06:34:45 PM
All good last hour.

Time for the sunset shot awwwwwww
ls that the End of Day  or has the Bongo died  ??? ???
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 12, 2017, 06:40:45 PM
Or is he trying to call the RACSA and block out the laughter from the photographer?
Post by: speewa158 on August 12, 2017, 06:50:26 PM
Mick at Wolf Creek might be handy to help for roadside service  :'( :'( :cheers:
Post by: Bad Scott on August 12, 2017, 06:58:45 PM
This is a pissa. Gotta keep us all posted. I'm going for 1350kms  ;D ;D :cup: :cheers:
Post by: b1 on August 12, 2017, 07:05:36 PM
Aiming 4 Mildura tonight 220k away. That's about 3.5hrs at Bongo speed. Will reasses at Renmark which is about half way from current location  :'(
Post by: speewa158 on August 12, 2017, 07:22:38 PM
Aiming 4 Mildura tonight 220k away. That's about 3.5hrs at Bongo speed. Will reasses at Renmark which is about half way from current location  :'(

lt might be a long night ,, if its insured for theft do put $50 on the dash to help things along a bit  :cheers:
Post by: tryagain on August 12, 2017, 08:18:07 PM

So about 60km/h then, that would take the 14hr hrs of driving and turn it into about 24hrs... You should probably push onto Mildura.
Post by: b1 on August 12, 2017, 08:40:06 PM
Stopped for a coffee. It's about 8° an Bongo seals as well as Turnbulls cabinet or the Sharks defensive line.

Go to take off, no tail lights. 12v to switch but nothing at lights.

Found a round red torch, some duct tape and cable ties to the bumper.....

Post by: Paddler Ed on August 12, 2017, 09:04:11 PM
Think we're all watching this with interest...

We had a 1992 Mazda E2000 van that was no rocket ship until we rebuilt the engine - the ability to cruise at 100kmh was a revelation... and the steering ensured we didn't go much faster....
Post by: JPH on August 12, 2017, 09:17:53 PM
This gold! Keep the updates coming and I hope you make the border at some stage tonight!
Post by: b1 on August 12, 2017, 10:53:38 PM
Farnarkling around with parking lights took up quite a bit of time, so we pushed (80km/h) to try and make up time and overheated.

Bit behind the required run rate we've stopped at Renmark for the nite. SIK074 has covered about 280km today, 1200 to go tomorrow.

Aside from the roadside repairs needed going like a train.....sort of

Front drivers and rear passenger shocks are stuffed so we get a nice little pogo thing happening

the clutch slips going up hill witch shouldn't be a problem if we get to the Hay plains, but after that could be interesting.

Time for some intoxicating liquor whilst contemplating if we should change the water pump tonight
Post by: Axl on August 12, 2017, 10:59:00 PM
Absolutely loving this thread thanks for the laugh, cant wait to see what happens tomorrow.

Good luck with the trip not that I think you will need it, keep us updated.
Post by: edz on August 13, 2017, 12:29:36 AM
The clutch slips going up hill witch shouldn't be a problem if we get to the Hay plains, but after that could be interesting.

Time for some intoxicating liquor whilst contemplating if we should change the water pump tonight

Bit late or might be early enough for you RE: The water pump, You could  just carefully screw a small bolt into the shaft weep hole with a heap of sealant [ thats if its the pump shaft seal thats leaking ] Would save time doing a remove of old rusty bolts that might snap and cause more troubles ..
RE: The over heating,  Wonder if it has a thermostat fitted ? Could be stuck almost shut or some gumbies remove them altogether  but forget to fit a restrictor plate in to slow the water flow, so it gets enough  time to be cooled by the radiator .
RE: The Hay plains what direction does the wind blow from at this time of year, Tail wind your laughing, Head wind you better get out and start pushing  ;D ;D
Post by: b1 on August 13, 2017, 01:13:12 AM
Why when you drop your shifter in the engine bay in the motel carp ark does it sound like a shotgun ? And when you take the skin off your knuckles not an utterance?

New water pump in, time for bed
Post by: edz on August 13, 2017, 01:27:44 AM
DONT  forget to bleed air from the donks cooling system from the highest point above the cylinder head .. Reason being the radiator is low down and they can get an air lock that can result in a blown head .. Has happened to many a car Ford Falcons in particular .
Post by: Foo on August 13, 2017, 06:15:26 AM
I would have set fire to it on the side of the road by now.  ;D :angel:

Post by: NewieCamper on August 13, 2017, 06:30:44 AM
It great. Just like an episode of Roadkill from YouTube minus the video. (Unless you are editing after you get home)
Post by: b1 on August 13, 2017, 07:13:58 AM
On the road again.
Post by: Fizzie on August 13, 2017, 07:19:30 AM
On the road again.

Walking alongside to reduce the weight ??? >:D
Post by: speewa158 on August 13, 2017, 07:31:10 AM
Walking alongside to reduce the weight ??? >:D
Ready to push it more like             >:D                           :cheers:
       Can you tell us again just WHY  you are doing this in the 1st place  ???
Post by: tryagain on August 13, 2017, 07:40:38 AM
Can you tell us again just WHY  you are doing this in the 1st place  ???

Probably because it's more interesting than staying at home doing the same thing as most other weekend's.

So has the water pump made a difference to cooling and therefore max speed?
Post by: speewa158 on August 13, 2017, 07:43:35 AM
l don't think they will get booked for speeding , more like loitering with intent to drive .

Why is some peoples Soooo cruel ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: Rumpig on August 13, 2017, 08:45:32 AM
Probably because it's more interesting than staying at home doing the same thing as most other weekend's.

yep...still sounds better then sitting on the lounge watching telly to me. Some of the best times we had on Endevour car rallies i used to do, was repairing broken down vehicles in the middle of nowhere. I won't pretend to have been of much  help mechanically, but a half dozen guys on the side of the road giving moral support (whilst enjoying a bevvy or 2) to the few guys who knew what they were doing was great fun.
Post by: b1 on August 13, 2017, 09:16:16 AM

So has the water pump made a difference to cooling and therefore max speed?
Just made it to Mildura, no SIKness to overcome  ;D
Post by: b1 on August 13, 2017, 09:21:53 AM
l don't think they will get booked for speeding , more like loitering with intent to drive .

We are not the slowest thing on the road, but haven't passed anything with an internal combustion engine  ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on August 13, 2017, 11:47:15 AM
Is that a "Sports" mirror I see? ;D ;D ;D
Loving the doco! Thanks, Alby.
Post by: tryagain on August 13, 2017, 12:15:50 PM
Just made it to Mildura, no SIKness to overcome  ;D

Looks like you are making better speed then. Might make work after all.
Post by: b1 on August 13, 2017, 03:55:03 PM
Came to a steaming holt under a shady old gum tree outside Old Balranald Gaol

Poor old Bongo suffering motion SIKness with a terrible fever.

After refilling coolant, running like a dog. Each of the leads off and cylinder 2 doing nothing, but has spark.

Plugs out compression test, all around 110-120 except 2 that's at 20psi

Rocker cover off exhaust valve not closing, hence compression.

No feeler gauges and staff at servo's we call don't know what they are....

Adjust so very slight play, reassemble and hit the road.

Formulating new plan. Try and get to Wagga and hope to meet a recovery team or catch the midnight XPT that gets to Sydney at 6am. Recover SIK0 with car trailer next weekend
Post by: speewa158 on August 13, 2017, 05:40:36 PM
Quick Go Back Somebody is Trying To Break in Already ,,,,,look at the pic  " Dodgy Boys at Work  >:( >:( >:( >:(                      :cheers:
Post by: D4D on August 13, 2017, 05:44:32 PM
How many klms did you travel in the end?
Post by: speewa158 on August 13, 2017, 05:47:28 PM
Me thinks ,,,,,,,,, Not Enough      :cheers: ,,but a dam good try  :cup:
Post by: b1 on August 13, 2017, 06:25:29 PM
Well we made it to Hay - about half way - and have to admit defeat, but feeling strangely satisfied with the weekends outing.

Thunderbird 2 leaves  Sydney tomorrow morning to pick us up and SIKO the Bongo. We will head for Wagga and see how far we get before being intercepted.

It was as much the adventure we hoped it would be, if not quite living up to our ambitious hopes. Enjoyed all the comments from fellow swaggers  ;D

Now. Anyone want to go to Longreach next weekend to pick up a .....  ;D ;D  ;D
Post by: Bigfish on August 13, 2017, 06:36:24 PM
Plenty of us who have sat around doing bugger all for the last few days.  Your adventure is something we all need. On the spur of the moment adventures is something we all should try every now and again. Good onyas!!
Post by: Paddler Ed on August 13, 2017, 07:06:07 PM
This is looking more and more like an event that we may end up replicating at somepoint...

Wife has decided she wants something interesting and old to tinker with (and that's not me) so we keep looking at the usual suspects... I don't think going to the Uralla Dust Up helped - in fact we ended up looking for things there and then and an older ute is now the front runner in this plan...
Post by: speewa158 on August 13, 2017, 07:43:20 PM

Dunderbird 2 leaves  Sydney tomorrow morning to pick us up and SIKO the Bongo          :cheers:

. Enjoyed all the comments from fellow swaggers  ;D

Now. Anyone want to go to Longreach next weekend to pick up a .....  ;D ;D  ;D
[/quote]
 You supply the  :cheers: & fly me there   " lm in  "   Thanks     :cup:
Post by: MDS69 on August 13, 2017, 09:07:11 PM

Might get booked for littering.
Post by: edz on August 13, 2017, 10:48:55 PM
As I said earlier what way is the wind blowing, Borrow a few poles and sheets and set sail ..
In all reality though remove the push rods to the the lowest comp cylinders / pull the plugs out and drive her on two cylinders ..
We had a run till they blow engine test competition BBQ at the wreckers I used to work at years ago . Holden 6 . Ford 6 .  Mazda 1200 .Nissan 1200 . All dropped conrods and siezed,  Bare the little Mazda ..
She dropped a rod clunked and banged went back up on three cylinders till it dropped a second rod out the block, same thing revs built back up and kept on going till it ran out of fuel, Couldnt restart it as the starter had been smashed off the block .
Post by: Bad Scott on August 14, 2017, 05:35:35 AM
Trip report time  ;D
So what was the km traveled? Fuel consumption? Time on the road? Time modifying bongo?  :cheers:
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 14, 2017, 01:22:04 PM
What a great way to spend the weekend, are we there yet

Post by: b1 on August 14, 2017, 02:11:44 PM
The final inglorious moment between Narranderra and Wagga Wagga.

Thunderbird 2 now heading home. SIKO gets to pass another car - going backwards  ;D
Post by: b1 on August 14, 2017, 02:34:28 PM
Final distance covered under its own steam ;D 880km, just over 500km short.

Average speed whilst trying to proceed around 40 km/h

Fuel consumption 10lt/100 and coolant/water consumption probably around half that !

Time spent " maintaining/repairing probably 12 hours. 2 of which were changing water pump at motel and another 2 hours getting compression back to cylinder 2 at Balranald
Post by: Bird on August 14, 2017, 02:38:29 PM
What a great way to spend the weekend, are we there yet

**** yea! sounds like a blast that stories will be told from for many generations :D

Hmmm where can we do a road trip to like this...
4 dayer to Camerons Corner - Return
Get there, take photo and come back
Post by: b1 on August 14, 2017, 04:05:08 PM
The prequel to this adventure.

http://www.ozmazda.com/board/index.php/topic/18654-mazda-bongo-f1000-restoration-project/ (http://www.ozmazda.com/board/index.php/topic/18654-mazda-bongo-f1000-restoration-project/)

They end up doing the  Birdsville Track from Sydney in Bongos, with a couple of support vehicles
Post by: BaseCamp on August 14, 2017, 04:36:26 PM
Great adventure mate.....    I can see why the seller picked you guys up from the airport - (make sure youse didn't get away till he got the dosh $$)....

Post by: 03GV on August 14, 2017, 09:43:32 PM
Sounds like an adventure! I used to see that bongo locally.
Post by: flying.deck on August 15, 2017, 01:17:14 PM
Sounds like an adventure! I used to see that bongo locally.

Bongo finds new home in Sydney. Thanks b1 u r a tops co-pilot

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170815/c5af40857e302e9beca870b4e8358b0d.jpg)

Post by: b1 on August 15, 2017, 01:40:44 PM
You my friend are certifiable ! And that makes me.....

I suggest we invest a thoroughly modern classic like an '87 Celica and do a sensible and safe drive to Perth on the October long weekend
Post by: speewa158 on August 15, 2017, 05:37:27 PM
l knew a few blokes that did buy a Hillman Minx for a few hundred . They proceeded to drive it to it around for 1 month , then  to Perth sold it for train tickets back to Melb . They also had  :cheers:$ for the trip home  :cup:
Post by: raider on August 15, 2017, 07:43:14 PM
l knew a few blokes that did buy a Hillman Minx for a few hundred . They proceeded to drive it to it around for 1 month , then sold it for train tickets back to Melb . They also had  :cheers:$ for the trip home  :cup:
One of my mates bought a Hillman Hunter wagon that we used to cruise around in. He took it down to Rosebud one christmas and we used to go down the back beaches and would end up doing doughies in the carparks while bystanders would be pi$$ing themselves laughing. After he got home it seized somehow and they reckon they put oil in it, pulled the plugs out and he towed it around the block a few times with his XB Interceptor and it freed up and all good again. I will post a photo once I find the photo album hidden in our junk room.
Post by: speewa158 on August 15, 2017, 08:31:34 PM
Oil Rings are really over rated  :-*                             :cheers:
Post by: Troopy_03 on August 16, 2017, 08:49:34 AM
Back around 1987 I bought an old 1970 Cortina 1600 auto, for $350.00 with about 11 months rego. I broke an exhaust manifold once, rally driving it down a quarry, so a quick trip to the local unfenced dump, and picked up a better manifold, plus another full exhaust system. I used to regularly pick up bits and pieces off the old wrecks at the dump, to improve mine, until one day someone started nosing around my Corty for bits. I used to keep a closer eye on it after that. When the auto started sounding a it rough, I picked up a full manual gearbox, and all the bits and pieces, clutch etc to convert mine to manual, but the auto never died, so I never did the conversion. It sounded like too big a job anyway. For about 3 years I drove it to work and back every day, and it would sit on 100kph no worries. Drove it everywhere, and never babied it in the slightest. Scrub bashing, mud rallying. Taught my young bloke to drive in it when he was 14. (mrs wasn't too pleased about that) Edit: actually considering he was born in July 76, he must have been a bit younger  ;D

When I got posted away, I decided to sell it, and chucked $350.00 on it expecting to get knocked down to at least $200. But I ended up selling it for the $350, and threw in about another half a car of spares, including the full manual system. But it only had about 3 months of rego on it at the time. The bloke who bought it was going to put it in demo derbies, or stock car races or something.

That thing was bulletproof.

Back in the early '80's, I had an even older (1968?) one in Malaysia, but it was a Pommy one, 1600, manual, and in fairly good condition. The wiring shorted out somewhere near the tail lights one day, and melted all the way to the front (over the door arches), taking out a stack of other wiring under the dash, when it started to burn. Ended up rewiring almost the complete car. But that car was a beast too, and took us all around different areas of Malaysia including a short (one week) foray into Thailand.
Post by: b1 on August 16, 2017, 12:34:52 PM
Love it. Maybe we need a new thread  "tell us about you adventures...." but speewa would probably fill it up  ;D

In 1983 I had a Morris Major Elite. It was  POS I bought for $200 and we had a lot of fun in it. I can't remember why, but the aforementioned mate removed the muffler it was LOUD ! We painted with acrylic house paint it what would be described today as a graffiti attack - we were ahead of our time  ;D
Post by: KingBilly on August 16, 2017, 01:00:36 PM
First car for $400 was a Hillman Super Minx painted by me with the Hoover vacuum cleaner which had a spray gun attachment.  I had extras my mates only dreamed of, disc brakes, heater, radio  ;D ;D ;D. Total chic mobile, not  >:(

Post by: shanegtr on August 16, 2017, 01:48:16 PM
I'd love to have a mate give me a call for this sort of adventure - I'd be in without a second thought. But knowing my mates I'd get a quick f*** off response if I asked them to join me on a trip like this.
Post by: Bird on August 16, 2017, 01:49:14 PM
Quote from: shanegtr
I'd love to have a mate give me a call for this sort of adventure
Post by: b1 on August 16, 2017, 01:49:45 PM
Maybe the new thread should be Sh!tboxe5 I have owned.

Here's the Morrie
Post by: b1 on August 16, 2017, 02:03:31 PM
Most photos in the trip report are of my mate (Flying Deck). He has had a Bongo afflication for a long time. This was my 21st over 30 years ago. Bongos haven't improved with age IMHO but my mate has ;D
Post by: Bird on August 16, 2017, 02:05:47 PM
One of the local boys had a Stout.. took it out the harbour in one of those long lost summers in the 80's..
we had fun
(http://www.gupatrol.com/crapola/milktruck/stout.jpg)

(http://www.gupatrol.com/crapola/milktruck/stout2.jpg)

(http://www.gupatrol.com/crapola/milktruck/stout3.jpg)
Post by: b1 on August 16, 2017, 02:26:03 PM
One of the local boys had a Stout.. took it out the harbour in one of those long lost summers in the 80's..
we had fun
(http://www.gupatrol.com/crapola/milktruck/stout.jpg)

(http://www.gupatrol.com/crapola/milktruck/stout2.jpg)

(http://www.gupatrol.com/crapola/milktruck/stout3.jpg)

Is that boat harbor when there used to be sand dunes ?
Post by: Troopy_03 on August 16, 2017, 03:40:51 PM
Most photos in the trip report are of my mate (Flying Deck). He has had a Bongo afflication for a long time. This was my 21st over 30 years ago. Bongos haven't improved with age IMHO but my mate has ;D

Hey, is that Bazza Mackenzie?  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on August 16, 2017, 08:13:13 PM
Uhhhhh that's Barrington   to you  :cheers:
Post by: flying.deck on August 16, 2017, 08:38:06 PM

Correction - that was MY 21st. And thanks for the ?back-handed? compliment.

Post by: Bird on August 16, 2017, 10:03:41 PM
Is that boat harbor when there used to be sand dunes ?
Correct.... twas my backyard for 40 odd years..
My olds have some picture slides of the dunes when they moved out there in the 60's... the dunes were mammoth.. bigger than these
(http://nnimgt-a.akamaihd.net/transform/v1/crop/frm/m9vLL79wG9rkYqcLgNT6gJ/e269c048-740a-416d-86e7-584799755b5d.jpg/r9_218_3616_2256_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg)
Post by: Fizzie on August 17, 2017, 09:17:03 AM
Here's the Morrie

Good to see you got dressed up or the photo! :D >:D
Post by: flying.deck on August 19, 2017, 02:51:29 PM
Bongo finds new home in Sydney. Thanks b1 u r a tops co-pilot

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170815/c5af40857e302e9beca870b4e8358b0d.jpg)

Post mortem begins. That green stuff just keeps escaping!

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170819/a8f2bb9e02d3dbc873ff37aca421f38f.png)

Post by: Bird on August 19, 2017, 02:57:52 PM
replace the donk.. go with the custom 6 Rotor rotary :D
(http://speedhunters-wp-production.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/4ROTARY_5776.jpg)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3t3VcEIB-Q (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3t3VcEIB-Q)
Post by: b1 on August 19, 2017, 03:39:41 PM
Post mortem begins. That green stuff just keeps escaping!

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170819/a8f2bb9e02d3dbc873ff37aca421f38f.png)

More heater hose ?
Post by: speewa158 on August 20, 2017, 07:32:57 AM
ls way to find out what it is ,,, taste it  >:D >:D >:D >:D :cheers:
Post by: NewieCamper on August 20, 2017, 08:41:33 AM
It's probably bug guts. The speeds they were travelling I wouldn't be surprised if the bug splatter got everywhere.  ;D
Post by: flying.deck on August 20, 2017, 12:32:08 PM
More heater hose ?
Looks like the water pump base gasket which come pre-installed.

SIK0 not starting :( electrical problem I think.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170820/6b3b62a98436fc2fa135ad09c23e2760.jpg)

Replaced dodgy throttle cable. Will do rad flush if I can get SIK0 running.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 20, 2017, 01:35:33 PM
It's probably bug guts. The speeds they were travelling I wouldn't be surprised if the bug splatter got everywhere.  ;D
At the speed the car traveled the bugs could have landed had a rest and then jumped off again.  Unless they were Kamikaze grasshoppers.
Post by: Fizzie on August 20, 2017, 01:48:10 PM

Yep, the tail gate must be covered due to all the bugs catching up to them :D >:D
Post by: Bird on August 20, 2017, 03:27:08 PM
At the speed the car traveled the bugs could have landed had a rest and then jumped off again.  Unless they were Kamikaze grasshoppers.
https://www.flyfishingoutfitters.net/the-mystery-of-the-suicidal-grasshopper/ (https://www.flyfishingoutfitters.net/the-mystery-of-the-suicidal-grasshopper/)
Post by: flying.deck on August 30, 2017, 05:00:04 PM
Looks like the water pump base gasket which come pre-installed.

SIK0 not starting :( electrical problem I think.

Replaced dodgy throttle cable. Will do rad flush if I can get SIK0 running.

So not starting because runout of gas!

Green stuff now fully contained. Had to flatten the radiator's cap sealing surface and tighten clearance on cap locking tabs to hold the hot pressure. You learn something every day.  Removed inlet manifold to clear water galleries that feed temp sensor - the temp gauge now works. Rad flush and  short test run - at night so didn't want to get stuck too far from home - pushing along at 70-80 and no overheating!  Will adjust all valves and timing then do a longer endurance run on Saturday but I think SIK0 is cured.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170830/d8e563134d4c4b1f2280b8cad0a6f355.jpg)

Post by: edz on August 30, 2017, 05:51:05 PM
Funny that, you tinker and toil with everything pulling this and that apart cursing etc  then the Ahahhhhh moment hits you like a brick .
"  Wonder if its out of juice " Haha just love playing with older machines that have character .. You can stick this electronic mumbo jumbo with a million sensors to have a Hic up ...
Good stuff, it seems SIKO  might be cured .
Post by: MDS69 on August 30, 2017, 06:57:25 PM

pushing along at 70-80 and no overheating!  Will adjust all valves and timing then do a longer endurance run on Saturday but I think SIK0 is cured.

Was that 70-80 metres per hour
Post by: speewa158 on August 30, 2017, 07:35:09 PM
                                                           >:D
Post by: bmwfreak on August 30, 2017, 07:56:54 PM
So not starting because runout of gas!

Green stuff now fully contained. Had to flatten the radiator's cap sealing surface and tighten clearance on cap locking tabs to hold the hot pressure. You learn something every day.  Removed inlet manifold to clear water galleries that feed temp sensor - the temp gauge now works. Rad flush and  short test run - at night so didn't want to get stuck too far from home - pushing along at 70-80 and no overheating!  Will adjust all valves and timing then do a longer endurance run on Saturday but I think SIK0 is cured.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170830/d8e563134d4c4b1f2280b8cad0a6f355.jpg)

Must be a HOT machine, with twin carbs  >:D
Post by: Foo on August 31, 2017, 03:26:36 AM
Wait till you hear the lumpy cam grind at idle!  :angel:

Post by: raider on September 16, 2017, 09:37:37 AM
One of my mates bought a Hillman Hunter wagon that we used to cruise around in. He took it down to Rosebud one christmas and we used to go down the back beaches and would end up doing doughies in the carparks while bystanders would be pi$$ing themselves laughing. After he got home it seized somehow and they reckon they put oil in it, pulled the plugs out and he towed it around the block a few times with his XB Interceptor and it freed up and all good again. I will post a photo once I find the photo album hidden in our junk room.

I forgot about the pic.(https://i.imgur.com/MNWXxg4.jpg)
Post by: edz on September 16, 2017, 10:09:37 AM
In the tone of Jerremy Clarksons voice  " Some might say that sort of behaviour is pure madness / sheer lunacy / anti social  and downright dangerous "   ..................................................................................... " But all we know is, It was hilarious  fun and " ............................................" We all survived / the sky didnt fall / the world didnt end  and we all got the hell out of there as fast as we could with smiles a mile wide, before Mr Plod showed up " ..   ;D ;D

Disclaimer : Some may or may not approve of this sort of behaviour and should only be done in controlled environments by proffesional stunt drivers . :angel:
Post by: Bad Scott on September 16, 2017, 11:08:31 AM
In the tone of Jerremy Clarksons voice  " Some might say that sort of behaviour is pure madness / sheer lunacy / anti social  and downright dangerous "   ..................................................................................... " But all we know is, It was hilarious  fun and " ............................................" We all survived / the sky didnt fall / the world didnt end  and we all got the hell out of there as fast as we could with smiles a mile wide, before Mr Plod showed up " ..   ;D ;D

Disclaimer : Some may or may not approve of this sort of behaviour and should only be done in controlled environments by proffesional stunt drivers . :angel:
We must've been the "lucky ones". You just can't do the "fun things" like that anymore. Phone cameras, internet, 10mins later, ticket/court. But we can still try  :D ;D ;D :cup:
Post by: edz on September 16, 2017, 12:33:45 PM
My forte wasnt so much,  circle work as Raider and his mates are showing in the pic, but the odd flat out rally thrash day or night along sandy / dirt coastal and cane field tracks or tracks along side certain sections of highway around here in distant past years, I have been known for . Loved my Escort rally car and the raucous deep throated growl of the twin side draughts at full revs .
Post by: raider on September 16, 2017, 07:58:18 PM
My forte wasnt so much,  circle work as Raider and his mates are showing in the pic, but the odd flat out rally thrash day or night along sandy / dirt coastal and cane field tracks or tracks along side certain sections of highway around here in distant past years, I have been known for . Loved my Escort rally car and the raucous deep throated growl of the twin side draughts at full revs .
Yeah, I shuddered when I found that photo again. Could've been bad in so many ways.  As for the rallying, I had a 180B with twin webers and 240K running gear and we raced a MK1 Cortina with a 2 litre and one weber. Used to go up to Amphlett road in Cockatoo at night and go crazy, sitting sideways at speed around the corners. Can't find a good rally car pic but below are the 180B when we were spectating at the Alpine Rally.
Middle photo is my mate's XB Interceptor, another mate's XR with a 289 I think and another mate's XA replica which went very hard. Bottom photo is the XB Interceptor blokes next car, a genuine XA GT and I think he then went to a twin cam Escort.
Last photo is one that got away- a boat I bought that had crashed at the Southern 80 with a 265 E38 motor with the triple carbs. I remember checking the engine numbers and it was genuine but I didn't realise the rarity back then and sold the boat for about $2400 to get married or help buy a house or something. It was called Hemi-roid and was very fast but I couldn't get the cav plate setup right. It had a triangular 116 litre fuel tank at the front, probably to keep the nose down. I reckon the bloke threw the boat away and kept the motor.;D
(https://i.imgur.com/R794TGK.jpg)
(https://i.imgur.com/rX1Ww4T.jpg)
Post by: edz on September 16, 2017, 11:55:24 PM
One  thing that I realy miss these days, Is the cars we used to see driving around ... Its so rare to see a Falcon XR=T-W-, cortina mazda Rx2-3-4 -929,  HQ-X-Z etc etc these days .. I get a WOW  look at that reaction,  When and If I see a rough stocky survivor at the shops car park.
Post by: Pete79 on September 17, 2017, 07:50:10 AM
One  thing that I realy miss these days, Is the cars we used to see driving around ... Its so rare to see a Falcon XR=T-W-, cortina mazda Rx2-3-4 -929,  HQ-X-Z etc etc these days .. I get a WOW  look at that reaction,  When and If I see a rough stocky survivor at the shops car park.
I saw a HZ ute in Adelaide on Friday and thought exactly the same thing.

And that photo with the guy hanging out of the widows in the wagon reminded me how lucky we where in our teenage years.
A lot of my mates lived out on farms and had some pretty cool headland bombs; escorts, kingswoods, even a moke ;)
One mate had a 253 HQ sedan with welded doors and no windows, it did a great General Lee impersonation. :)
I remember one afternoon after a pretty big day fishing and drinking down at the river, we where racing through the paddocks with me and another mate sitting on the boot with our legs through the back window and hanging on to the roof as we drifted through the cane fields.
I clearly remember the moment of realization as it hit me that what I was doing was probably the most stupid thing I'd ever done. And like most teenage boys growing up in the country, I had done a lot of stupid things....