General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Chesapeake on August 05, 2017, 06:32:40 PM
I am sure there are a lot of blokes on here in the metal fabrication business and others that do it for fun.After a bit of advice.I'm in the market for a plasma cutter that will cut up to 13mm,or 1/2" plate.Have pretty much narrowed it down to a Bossweld x40 PFC.Has anyone here owned a Bossweld brand plasma or have first hand experience on one ? Open to any suggestions of other makes that are 240 volt, around the $1000 - $1500 mark that you think may be worth a look. The model I am looking at is a reasonably new model so not sure how many of them are around. Anybody own anything similar? Cheers,Luke.
Interested in seeing the answers on this - I have looked at Plasma cutters a few times, but the cheaper ones -which I believe are touch start and therefore not as flexible?
Be careful of the cheaper Brand ones. I bought a single phase one for the maintenance bloke at work and it was drawing 35amps through a 15amp plug ( Sparky checked that as it kept tripping rcd)
Upgraded to the 3 phase model and it works ok. Magnum is the brand. Around $1500
I use the 2014 model of this one.
I have cut heaps with it without any problems.
I found it needed really dry air so besides the air drier in my line I also installed one on the machine.
It's also aig welder but I'm not game to try that yet.
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/271576075074 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/271576075074)
NEW Mishto Plasma Cutter 40A DC IGBT Inverter Welder Portable Gas/Air Welding
G'day all, Just as an update regards the Plasma, ended up with a Unimig Razorcut 45 after the supplier could not deliver the Bossweld . Yet to crank it up and see how it performs ,allegedly will cut to 16mm cleanly. Job for later this arvo , or the morning. Cheers Luke.