General => General Discussion => Topic started by: herbs on June 11, 2017, 08:48:13 AM

Title: camping with our dog and dingoes?
Post by: herbs on June 11, 2017, 08:48:13 AM
Morning all

My family (wife and 2 boys 5yo and 2yo) and i plus our 2 year old Labrador are planning a trip up through the Flinders in to Innamnckia region (cullyamurra water hole) in early august. We have done are research as to where we can and cant have our dog but we are concerned about the presence of dingoes around camp. Our dog is quite well behaved (doesn't bark, generally comes when called etc) but i am worried if she wanders off too far the dingos might have some bad intentions. When seeing another dog she will normally run up to the dog to say hello in a friendly manner but if she does this to a dingo it might turn ugly. She normally comes camping with us and would be sad to see my best mate not come along for the adventure.

Can anyone share any experiences with this situation? She always sleeps inside with us inside the camper trailer at night but may be during the day we have to tie her up?

Thanks everyone for your help

Herbs
Title: Re: camping with our dog and dingoes?
Post by: gronk on June 11, 2017, 09:14:25 AM
Umm, I think you will have to have it on a lead at all times.....common courtesy around any campground !
Post by: achjimmy on June 11, 2017, 09:26:18 AM
Yep lead for both Courtesy and your dogs benefit. Having seen a small dingo absouluty own a pair of large german Shepard guard dogs I'd be cautious.
Post by: Rumpig on June 11, 2017, 09:58:50 AM
Good chance if you let your dog wander off about camp when outback that it could eat it something like a 1080 bait, I'd be keeping it close to you or you might watch it due a slow painful death.
Post by: MDS69 on June 11, 2017, 10:16:18 AM
As all the replies above however in addition aren't these areas within a NP. So no dogs???
Post by: glenm64 on June 11, 2017, 10:47:39 AM
Good chance if you let your dog wander off about camp when outback that it could eat it something like a 1080 bait, I'd be keeping it close to you or you might watch it due a slow painful death.
I have muzzles for 1080 areas.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

Post by: Julian Kaye on June 11, 2017, 10:51:09 AM

Best advice is to leave the dog at home and enjoy the trip.
Post by: GBC on June 11, 2017, 10:54:33 AM
Any dog on a lead is just another meal for a dingo. How are you going to house it at night? If it's left out it will bring them in and then bark all night until they eat it.
Post by: Chris. on June 11, 2017, 12:38:48 PM
My blue heeler comes camping with me. I always stay in campgrounds with other people around, purposely to avoid dingoes. We sleep in a tent, him in the tent with me. I've never seen a dingo or wild dog anywhere near our camp, although I'm sure they've probably been around.
Post by: KingBilly on June 11, 2017, 12:45:50 PM
Any dog on a lead is just another meal for a dingo. How are you going to house it at night? If it's left out it will bring them in and then bark all night until they eat it.

The OP said his dog sleeps inside his CT at night.  Don't people bother to read previous posts before they have to offer their "wisdom".

Also very much doubt a dingo would bother "eating" a domestic dog, at a camp or otherwise.

Post by: KingBilly on June 11, 2017, 12:47:47 PM
I have muzzles for 1080 areas.

Can your dogs get their tongues through their muzzles?  If they can, muzzles will not protect them 100% from 1080.

Post by: KingBilly on June 11, 2017, 12:50:12 PM
Yep lead for both Courtesy and your dogs benefit. Having seen a small dingo absouluty own a pair of large german Shepard guard dogs I'd be cautious.

Natural instinct for the dingo to protect itself if cornered by a pair of larger dogs.  The Shepards were most likely house bound sooks so not hard for the smaller dingo to bluff them.

A dingo is naturally a shy creature, but it will fight to survive.

Post by: KingBilly on June 11, 2017, 12:54:27 PM
Morning all

My family (wife and 2 boys 5yo and 2yo) and i plus our 2 year old Labrador are planning a trip up through the Flinders in to Innamnckia region (cullyamurra water hole) in early august. We have done are research as to where we can and cant have our dog but we are concerned about the presence of dingoes around camp. Our dog is quite well behaved (doesn't bark, generally comes when called etc) but i am worried if she wanders off too far the dingos might have some bad intentions. When seeing another dog she will normally run up to the dog to say hello in a friendly manner but if she does this to a dingo it might turn ugly. She normally comes camping with us and would be sad to see my best mate not come along for the adventure.

Can anyone share any experiences with this situation? She always sleeps inside with us inside the camper trailer at night but may be during the day we have to tie her up?

Thanks everyone for your help

Herbs

Mate, keep the Lab out of NPs, keep it on a lead at all times for its own safety, and if in camp for courtesy to others campers, keep it inside of a night (which you do) and all should be good.

A mate lost his dog when he stopped for a comfort break for the dog.  Picked up a bait on the side of the road in the middle of nowhere.  Remember to keep it on a lead at all times, no where is safe.

Enjoy your trip.

Post by: GBC on June 11, 2017, 12:59:35 PM
The OP said his dog sleeps inside his CT at night.  Don't people bother to read previous posts before they have to offer their "wisdom".

Also very much doubt a dingo would bother "eating" a domestic dog, at a camp or otherwise.

Point taken about sleeping inside, I didn't see that. Dingos are proven cannibals and they happily eat other dingos and domestic dogs.
Post by: KingBilly on June 11, 2017, 01:03:37 PM
Point taken about sleeping inside, I didn't see that. Dingos are proven cannibals and they happily eat other dingos and domestic dogs.

Really?  Don't think you know much about the dingo.

Post by: GBC on June 11, 2017, 01:25:09 PM
Really.

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/www.newscientist.com/article/2097952-dingo-cannibalism-makes-for-a-dog-eat-dog-world-in-australia/amp/ (https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/www.newscientist.com/article/2097952-dingo-cannibalism-makes-for-a-dog-eat-dog-world-in-australia/amp/)

Been watching them cleaning up the dogs and pigs we leave them along the dog fence at Ballandean for years. We also saw a male get on a trailer sailer and rip apart a leashed heeler in coongul creek on Fraser. That wasn't dinner though.

I'm no expert but I know what I've seen.
Post by: KingBilly on June 11, 2017, 01:36:20 PM
Really.

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/www.newscientist.com/article/2097952-dingo-cannibalism-makes-for-a-dog-eat-dog-world-in-australia/amp/ (https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/www.newscientist.com/article/2097952-dingo-cannibalism-makes-for-a-dog-eat-dog-world-in-australia/amp/)

Been watching them cleaning up the dogs and pigs we leave them along the dog fence at Ballandean for years. We also saw a male get on a trailer sailer and rip apart a leashed heeler in coongul creek on Fraser. That wasn't dinner though.

I'm no expert but I know what I've seen.

Now you are just trying to justify your flawed arguement.  Everybody knows dingoes are carrion eaters.  That is how they survive in the harsh Australian environment.  Of course, they will eat another dead animal.  But a dingo is a bit different in that it will eat another dead dingo. Still just another dead animal though, and when you are hungry, they all taste the same.  Again I would humbly suggest that is just a trait they have learnt/developed after thousands of years of trying to survive in harsh conditions on the driest continent on Earth.

As for the healer chained up on Fraser, those dingoes on Fraser have a very tertitorial attitude. I'm guessing here, but I wouldn't be surprised that the healer was a dog (a male) and was in the dingo's territory. If the healer put up some sort of challenge, then I could understand the dingo attacking.  Happens in the dog walking park down the road, no different.

Post by: herbs on June 11, 2017, 01:37:52 PM
Thanks for the input guys

dogs are allowed in Innamincka regional reserve, just not any national parks eg coognie lakes etc.
https://www.environment.sa.gov.au/parks/Find_a_Park/Browse_by_region/flinders-ranges-outback/innamincka-regional-reserve (https://www.environment.sa.gov.au/parks/Find_a_Park/Browse_by_region/flinders-ranges-outback/innamincka-regional-reserve)

baits is something that is good to know about. Where do people get the muzzles from? I realise that they may be still able to lick but it may help.

Whats interesting with my female lab is that even though she is desexed, a lot of male dogs still try and hump her lol. Must be a scent or something?

It sounds like if she comes being tied up is the only option....

Post by: Chris. on June 11, 2017, 01:52:57 PM
I don't do anything different with my heeler when I'm walking him at home or when I'm camping, he is either on a lead or tied up on a cable to the tow bar if I'm cooking etc.

I have always found dingos's very shy. A guy I knew a while ago (who is a #1 dick) was sold a 6wo tan/black pup for $20 by some aboriginal kids in Warakurna & bought it home with him to Adelaide, pretty sure he still has it, from memory he registered it as a kelpie. It was a very shy dog, ended up wrecking half his house.
Post by: corndog on June 11, 2017, 02:01:47 PM
Think my dog doesn't want me to go camping. Just found he has chewed all the wiring under the camper. Good thing he runs faster than me.
Post by: glenm64 on June 11, 2017, 03:11:50 PM
Thanks for the input guys

dogs are allowed in Innamincka regional reserve, just not any national parks eg coognie lakes etc.
https://www.environment.sa.gov.au/parks/Find_a_Park/Browse_by_region/flinders-ranges-outback/innamincka-regional-reserve (https://www.environment.sa.gov.au/parks/Find_a_Park/Browse_by_region/flinders-ranges-outback/innamincka-regional-reserve)

baits is something that is good to know about. Where do people get the muzzles from? I realise that they may be still able to lick but it may help.

Whats interesting with my female lab is that even though she is desexed, a lot of male dogs still try and hump her lol. Must be a scent or something?

It sounds like if she comes being tied up is the only option....
I use a basket type muzzle for my staffy. Not a perfect guarentee against baits but better than nothing. Like in this picture.
Dingoes arent overly aggressive to other dogs. Plenty of stray dogs have ended up running with and mating with dingoes.
My older staffy normally sleeps outside. She is very obedient and doesnt leave the van.
I have a new pup in training. They will both be coming to Cape Leveque this year. I am thinking about a small dome tent for them to sleep in at night. I have seen others do this with their dogs.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170611/6033e5acceec1a674410d74ac8005789.jpg)

Post by: KeithB on June 11, 2017, 04:24:41 PM
If dingoes will attack children, I guess they would also go for an unprotected domestic dog. This from a new article in February 2012:

"New figures on dingo attacks on Fraser Island have been collated by the Queensland Government's Department of Environment and Resource Management (DERM). They will reportedly be provided as evidence at the Azaria Chamberlain inquest.

They show 98 "dangerous dingo attacks" have been recorded since 2002. There were two high-profile attacks before 2002, including a mauling that resulted in the death of nine-year-old Clinton Gage in 2001. In 1997, a five-year-old boy was also badly attacked by two dingoes."

There was also another article in Mackay the previous year where three domestic dogs were attacked by four "dingoes" in their front yard. One pet was carried off before the owner intervened. Maybe the one cautionary note is the tendency these days to call every wild dog a "dingo".
Post by: TonyF8 on June 11, 2017, 04:46:19 PM
Yes 1080 baits can be the demise of the family pet for sure,  now to cut through some of the bs, 1. dingoes don't bark, 2. you can traverse national parks with your dog,  as long as it doesn't leave the vehicle, if necessary, the dog requires a comfort stop,  you will need to bag the waste and dispose of it in an appropriate manner outside the national park,  we have travelled all over tnis big country of ours with the girls and never had a problem. Our dogs are under voice control, but being a lab, they will eat anything, so be very wary of what they consume, 1080 baits can be carried klms from were they were laid by birds. We have done the big lap twice and  Cape York 46 times and as said never had a problem,  I would rather camp near someone who has animals than screaming kids, and for the record, my dogs don't use nappies, the disposable ones you find everywhere,  they dont drink beer and leave the cans or stubbies in a fire or lying around and ive never caught them smoking behind the landcruiser so the don't leave cigarette butts everywhere. Take your dog and enjoy the experience regardless of the nay sayers.
Post by: KingBilly on June 11, 2017, 06:08:59 PM
"New figures on dingo attacks on Fraser Island have been collated by the Queensland Government's Department of Environment and Resource Management (DERM). They will reportedly be provided as evidence at the Azaria Chamberlain inquest.

They show 98 "dangerous dingo attacks" have been recorded since 2002. There were two high-profile attacks before 2002, including a mauling that resulted in the death of nine-year-old Clinton Gage in 2001. In 1997, a five-year-old boy was also badly attacked by two dingoes."

There is a lot more to both of those attacks on children than what was sensationalised in the media.

The true dingo, as on Fraser, is a wild animal.  It will fight to protect its territory just like any wild animal.  On Fraser, repeated, irresponsible human behaviour had caused the normally shy and reclusive dingo to become more and more bold, encroaching into camp grounds looking for handouts. Visitor numbers have increased every year on Fraser putting further pressure on the dingoes.  Visitors generate money for the government and businesses which lobby governments so instead of reducing visitor numbers, the simple solution is to blame the dingo.

There was also another article in Mackay the previous year where three domestic dogs were attacked by four "dingoes" in their front yard. One pet was carried off before the owner intervened. Maybe the one cautionary note is the tendency these days to call every wild dog a "dingo".

Dingoes in inverted comas is correct.  You wouldn't find a dingo in suburbia, nor attacking domestic dogs.

Wow, this has strayed way off topic, sorry

Post by: Rumpig on June 11, 2017, 06:26:03 PM
There is a lot more to both of those attacks on children than what was sensationalised in the media.

my question..."where were the kids parents at the time of the attacks?"...I already know the answer actually.
Post by: vern on June 11, 2017, 06:30:59 PM
Had a dingo sniffing and clawing (only word i could think of) at me whilst i slept  in my swag at Ularu in the campground, didn't realise what it was until i hit my swag and it started growling at me.
So they aren't that shy, i'd be putting your dog in the car or tent, not outside at night.

Post by: GBC on June 12, 2017, 06:09:03 AM
At both Yulara and more so kings canyon resort they are a problem. They nick shoes and any food left out. I had one sniffing my face in a swag on the Coulson line.
Post by: Beachman on June 12, 2017, 08:38:43 AM
Over the years I’ve spent many nights fishing on Fraser and we use to sleep on the ground under a tarp. Seeing we smelt of fish it wasn’t unusual to be woken up during the night by one or two dingo sniffing you. Have to say I was never scared as normally when they realised you woke then stepped back and were very timid animals. 

Then another time I was camping in a tent with my Wife and first time ever I was concerned as I could hear 3 or 4 Dingo’s circling camp and it was obvious they didn’t want us there. Turns out it was breading season so we must have camped next to a Den with pups.

My way of thinking is at the end of the day they are a Dog and all Dogs can turn if provoked or go into survival mode.  If anything your local dog park is probably more dangerous.
Post by: KingBilly on June 12, 2017, 08:47:08 AM
If anything your local dog park is probably more dangerous.

:cup: :cup: :cup:

Post by: gclan on June 12, 2017, 09:26:54 AM
We took our dog with us through the Outback in 2013. There were lots of dingoes at Innaminka, but they were wary of the campers when we were there and stayed at a distance. One of the boys in the swags did have his leather shoe chewed though.
The only place we really noticed them was in the Painted Desert at Arckaringa. They circled around the camp and howled all night, but our dog sleeps inside and was fine. Besides, Wei, the owner's dog, took a liking to our Roxie and stood guard, occasionally pacing around our camper then standing at our door and barking at the dingoes ALL night :-\
You'll be fine. Just do as the others have said and keep your dog on a lead, and let them sleep inside.
Have a great trip!
Post by: Brisbane Puff on June 12, 2017, 11:14:49 PM
It seems that all or rather most comments are directed towards dingos.. Granted they are a wary more then timid breed.. Over the years I have seen the ones on Fraser become more and more unafraid of human interaction. Mainly because all the bloody tourists that do not take heed of constant advice and warnings to the point when there is an incident it always the poor dingo that gets the blame.

However, no one has brought up the question regarding feral dogs.. They don't exhibit the same timid nature as the dingo.. AND they hunt in packs.. Seen some bloody huge ones out western Queensland.. Know of an instance where they entered the house yard on a cattle station to have a go at the station working dogs. A few rounds from a 308 sorted that particular problem. But it is becoming more and more of a problem.. Seems to me that they are the ones that should be taken into account when travelling with your pet..
Post by: toglhot on June 13, 2017, 12:07:16 AM
It always amazes me when people allow their dogs to 'say hello' to my dog all the while saying 'it's ok he's friendly'.   Your dog may well be friendly, have you ever considered my dog may not be.   

Have you ever considered others may not like your friendly dog in their camp saying 'hello'.

Responsible owners keep their dogs on lead all the time so as not to annoy others.  The only time your dog should be off lead is in your backyard or a fenced of dog park.   Not everyone likes dogs.

If you let your dog wander or even leave him outside at night dingoes will eat him, that's what dingos do.
Post by: Rumpig on June 13, 2017, 06:20:09 AM
It always amazes me when people allow their dogs to 'say hello' to my dog all the while saying 'it's ok he's friendly'.   Your dog may well be friendly, have you ever considered my dog may not be.   

Have you ever considered others may not like your friendly dog in their camp saying 'hello'.

Responsible owners keep their dogs on lead all the time so as not to annoy others.  The only time your dog should be off lead is in your backyard or a fenced of dog park.   Not everyone likes dogs.

:cup: whilst I don't mind dogs, I hate having a strangers dog wander into my camp...I have one child that loves animals and another that is Sh!t scared of all animals (no matter how friendly they are), every time someone's "friendly" dog comes into our camp I need to run to her rescue. There are heaps of inconsiderate pet owners out there that let their dogs wander about other peoples camps, all thinking it's ok, my pet is friendly.
Post by: GBC on June 13, 2017, 07:49:35 AM
:cup: whilst I don't mind dogs, I hate having a strangers dog wander into my camp...I have one child that loves animals and another that is Sh!t scared of all animals (no matter how friendly they are), every time someone's "friendly" dog comes into our camp I need them run to her rescue. There are heaps of inconsiderate pet owners out there that let their dogs wander about other peoples camps, all thinking it's ok, my pet is friendly.
Me 3.
My youngest was harassed by an untrained 'friendly' dog and is petrified of them now - I never blame the dog, just the moron owners who don't train them and have no clue. They usually call them fur babies....

As for the notion of dingos being timid - I have watched 3 adult members of my family ashore at Yankee Jack creek on Fraser be subjected to Dingo pack hunting with the classic manoeuvre of one animal behaving playfully in front of them while the other 3 moved into position behind them as they prepared to cut out an adult human in broad daylight. I watched all this from the big boat anchored out front and started yahooing, giving the others a chance to get into the tender and get away.
I have literally camped on the island for 40 years and had thousands of encounters with dingos and every one of them has been the standard - snoop around at night, cadge a fish, dingos are timid type of encounter - until we saw that.
I wasn't going to bother replying to this thread again, but if one person takes a bit more care from reading this then it is worth it.
Post by: Bigfish on June 13, 2017, 11:16:57 AM
Now you are just trying to justify your flawed arguement.  Everybody knows dingoes are carrion eaters.  That is how they survive in the harsh Australian environment.  Of course, they will eat another dead animal.  But a dingo is a bit different in that it will eat another dead dingo. Still just another dead animal though, and when you are hungry, they all taste the same.  Again I would humbly suggest that is just a trait they have learnt/developed after thousands of years of trying to survive in harsh conditions on the driest continent on Earth.

As for the healer chained up on Fraser, those dingoes on Fraser have a very tertitorial attitude. I'm guessing here, but I wouldn't be surprised that the healer was a dog (a male) and was in the dingo's territory. If the healer put up some sort of challenge, then I could understand the dingo attacking.  Happens in the dog walking park down the road, no different.

Had dingo,s attack our small dog (on a lead) in Gove at a local shopping centre. Hurt and cost a bit at the vets. Missus was in charge at the time and luckily there were only 2 of the bastards so she managed to get the dog away by hoisting it up and screaming at the dingos. We were lucky. Next door neighbour had their german shephard killed by dingo,s and they ate its insides!  Know of others that have had their dogs killed by dingo,s and also had their insides eaten. Dingos might be carrion eaters but I have seen them many times stalking roos/wallabies and killing them.  Any dogs , male or female, left roaming dont last long. Few people in the town were also stalked by dingos and had to seek shelter in houses. Coppers put notices in local paper warning of the danger to people and their pets.Cunning as the buggers. They hunt in packs. Dingos too..not wild dogs.
Post by: KingBilly on June 13, 2017, 12:26:10 PM
Had dingo,s attack our small dog (on a lead) in Gove at a local shopping centre. Hurt and cost a bit at the vets. Missus was in charge at the time and luckily there were only 2 of the bastards so she managed to get the dog away by hoisting it up and screaming at the dingos. We were lucky. Next door neighbour had their german shephard killed by dingo,s and they ate its insides!  Know of others that have had their dogs killed by dingo,s and also had their insides eaten. Dingos might be carrion eaters but I have seen them many times stalking roos/wallabies and killing them.  Any dogs , male or female, left roaming dont last long. Few people in the town were also stalked by dingos and had to seek shelter in houses. Coppers put notices in local paper warning of the danger to people and their pets.Cunning as the buggers. They hunt in packs. Dingos too..not wild dogs.

Never once did I infer that dingoes are not hunters.  Of course they hunt!  They also eat carrion.

And you wouldn't find a dingo at a local shopping centre  ;D. You are talking about wild domestic dogs, not dingoes.

Post by: Bigfish on June 13, 2017, 04:46:13 PM
I,ve been around them long enough to know the difference. Actually worked part time at a pure bred dingo  sanctuary in central Vic. many years ago. These were dingos so dont  assume you know everything!! There were plenty of dingos (and still are) in the Arnhem Land area.  It was a shopping centre...I take it you know all about Gove and the environment?  I spent 15 years there travelling to all outstations and know the area well.     Never assume..
Post by: KingBilly on June 13, 2017, 05:47:41 PM
I,ve been around them long enough to know the difference. Actually worked part time at a pure bred dingo  sanctuary in central Vic. many years ago. These were dingos so dont  assume you know everything!! There were plenty of dingos (and still are) in the Arnhem Land area.  It was a shopping centre...I take it you know all about Gove and the environment?  I spent 15 years there travelling to all outstations and know the area well.     Never assume..

Yeah, righto mate, you're the expert  :cup:

Post by: BaseCamp on June 14, 2017, 12:20:04 AM
Well talking about dingos on FI....   

I remember once as a boy in the 1970's; sitting on the bonnet of the series 3 landy in almost total darkness - holding the 6vt dolphin touch; sweeping the dunes looking for the entry to our campsite as dad slowly drove along the beach through the slop...    (It was a different era back then)...

Anyway,  something made me look down into the gloom of the night sand; when just a few feet to the side of the truck I suddenly see a whopping big dingo trotting up beside my dangling legs.....    Wasn't sure what it was thinking;  but it's 'body language' looked predatory to me...  "its tail ain't wagg'n,  dad!!"....

BaseCamp

Post by: Bigfish on June 14, 2017, 04:16:44 AM
Yeah, righto mate, you're the expert  :cup:

Thanks mate...Nice to be recognised every now and again..... :cheers:
Post by: KingBilly on June 14, 2017, 05:54:26 AM
Thanks mate...Nice to be recognised every now and again..... :cheers:

You're welcome mate, there are a few of you on here now which is a bonus to the the forum.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 14, 2017, 06:04:59 AM
bonus to the the forum.

I see your stutter has returned.  ::)
Post by: GBC on June 14, 2017, 06:29:27 AM
You're welcome mate, there are a few of you on here now which is a bonus to the the forum.

No, by my count there's just one less. But it is a bonus.
Post by: KingBilly on June 14, 2017, 11:02:44 AM
No, by my count there's just one less. But it is a bonus.

Another opinion from another expert.  Bonus!  Thank you  :cup:

Post by: Brisbane Puff on June 14, 2017, 08:10:25 PM
Hmmmm.. To get back on track. Another thing I have noticed is the change in feral cats out west.. I mean the ones that are about the size of a Jack Russel.. Cats by nature are a solitary animal, but recently I've seen where they seem to be working in groups to hunt..

Not anywhere near the organisation of a pride of lions using chase and ambush sort of thing, but they seem to be hanging together in groups and taking on larger prey..
Post by: KingBilly on June 14, 2017, 08:34:24 PM
Hmmmm.. To get back on track. Another thing I have noticed is the change in feral cats out west.. I mean the ones that are about the size of a Jack Russel.. Cats by nature are a solitary animal, but recently I've seen where they seem to be working in groups to hunt..

Not anywhere near the organisation of a pride of lions using chase and ambush sort of thing, but they seem to be hanging together in groups and taking on larger prey..

Yep, thanks for bringing this thread "camping with our dog and dingoes" back on track by talking about feral cats.  You should apply for the next moderator's job  :D

Post by: Banjo16 on June 14, 2017, 08:58:25 PM
Personally, don't know much about dingos but the last time I camped near someone with a dog I soon got sick of I pissing on my guy ropes.
Post by: alnjan on June 14, 2017, 09:05:49 PM
Personally, don't know much about dingos but the last time I camped near someone with a dog I soon got sick of I pissing on my guy ropes.

hope that was the dog doing it and not you.   ;D
Post by: Banjo16 on June 14, 2017, 09:11:38 PM
hope that was the dog doing it and not you.   ;D
It's ok if I do it but I normally go further then the tent ropes.
Post by: oldmate on June 15, 2017, 08:10:23 AM
Thanks for resuming normal posting KB. Things just got better around here, and i've realized what myswag has been missing of late.  Thanks :cheers:
Post by: fluids on June 15, 2017, 03:42:52 PM
We returned a week ago from a 3.5 week outback tour. Took dog with us (13yr old X maltese/aust' silky terrier). She's a seasoned camper, but was her first long tour. To Nyngan, Bourke then Wanaaring, Tibooburra, Cameron Corner, Old strezlecki overnighter (with dingoes some distance out from the kamper), Innamincka, Arrabury roadside overnighter, Birdsville, Walkers Crossing, Innamincka, Nocundra, Thargomindah, Cunnamulla, and a few more to home.

No issues with dingoes at Innamincka (3nights then 1night). They were there, but in the town common camp area they kept their distance. Saw one slink by one evening in the shadows en-route to elsewhere. Heard them howling at night occasionally but had no issues anywhere. They all appear to hang out at the tip !!

Dog's not a roamer, but does like a little explore (they all do) so she goes on the lead and I explore with her  ;D Sleeps inside the kamper with us. Don't leave your rubbish bag/s, food scraps, dirty dishes, shoes, boots etc outside at night as that will attract them. I know they had been around the kamper on several nights by the foot prints, but with nothing for them to get into they move on .... dog woke us up one night barking ... settled down again after 5min' ... they'd moved on  ;D

Don't leave your dog on a lead/run unattended ... keep the dog with you at all times and you shouldn't have any issues. If you do have to contain the dog ... In the car with a water bowl and all's good !!

We always keep distance between us and other campers so dog can be off the leash most of the time ... but she's a "on your hip dog" ... if I get up and take 3 steps, she's right behind me. Easiest way to keep an eye on her at night around the campfire is ... she has her own camp chair !! sits around the fire and doesn't wander.

... and if dog needs to go outside at night for a pee/poo ... attach the lead and go with dog !!

We were a bit apprehensive taking her outback but in all honesty it was not a problem ... and IF you be sensible about it shouldn't be a problem.

... besides, how many folks can say they've had a drink with their dog at the Birdsville or Innamincka Hotel ??  :cheers:

Post by: Chris. on June 15, 2017, 03:59:51 PM
besides, how many folks can say they've had a drink with their dog at the Birdsville or Innamincka Hotel ??  :cheers:

Outside or inside the pub :)
Post by: Brodie Tas on June 15, 2017, 04:36:51 PM
Probley a bit of topic but went away on the weekend and I bring my dog on most trips (camp on a few farms so won't take her there) got set up Friday night sitting around the fire my dog on the lead next to me and a dog wonders over so I picked up my staffy and a lady comes over and says its OK my dog is friendly, I said yeah but mine can be protective and don't want to risk it so keep yours away please, all was good until the next morning put the dog on its chain and went to get dress come out and the other dog was running to mine I wasn't quick enough mine latched on to the dog before I could pick mine up, lucky no harm was done but I let the other dog owners have a mouth full. Just annoys me when people can't follow rules, my dog gets along with most dogs just not the fluffy ones
Post by: fluids on June 15, 2017, 04:38:41 PM
Out the front AND in the beer garden  ;D

... living dangerously  :cheers:

Post by: Desert lover on June 15, 2017, 06:09:59 PM
I've pressed the thank you button but just wanted to say "thank you" to Fluids for an informative and interesting post.... we are heading off with our little furry friend in a few weeks so your post was gratefully received!
Title: camping with our dog and dingoes?
Post by: oldmate on June 15, 2017, 06:14:38 PM
I've pressed the thank you button but just wanted to say "thank you" to Fluids for an informative and interesting post.... we are heading off with our little furry friend in a few weeks so your post was gratefully received!
We travel everywhere with ours.   All good when you are a responsible pet owner.  Remember to pack for them also, most important we have a first aid kit that is just for the dogs with various stuff in it. 

Post by: vern on June 15, 2017, 06:25:10 PM
There's a thank you button?

Post by: oldmate on June 15, 2017, 06:27:40 PM
There's a thank you button?

Yes doesn't work in tapatalk but on web browser there is.  Not that I'm an expert

Post by: vern on June 15, 2017, 06:42:31 PM
Yes doesn't work in tapatalk but on web browser there is.  Not that I'm an expert

Hmm odd, works on other forums i am on on tapatalk

Post by: oldmate on June 15, 2017, 07:11:52 PM
Hmm odd, works on other forums i am on on tapatalk

Yeah I don't know. Maybe some plug in that ms admin don't have on or something.  Geez almost sound like an expert.  But I'm not.

Post by: vern on June 15, 2017, 07:14:19 PM
Yeah I don't know. Maybe some plug in that ms admin don't have on or something.  Geez almost sound like an expert.  But I'm not.

I'd like to like your post but unfortunately i can't😉

Post by: Gandalf the White on June 15, 2017, 07:15:32 PM
We travel everywhere with ours.   All good when you are a responsible pet owner.  Remember to pack for them also, most important we have a first aid kit that is just for the dogs with various stuff in it. 

Big Thanks oldmate for this. Never thought of a doggy bag first aid kit. Can you elaborate a bit more for us what items you carry?
Post by: xcvator on June 15, 2017, 07:47:57 PM
Big Thanks oldmate for this. Never thought of a doggy bag first aid kit. Can you elaborate a bit more for us what items you carry?
Packet of lead aspro's  >:D
Post by: oldmate on June 15, 2017, 08:09:08 PM

ill get back to you on that as my wife is the prepper in that sort of thing, but im sure its just dog medical related things, an animal first aid book, wildlife rescue book, tick removing  tools etc.
Post by: GBC on June 15, 2017, 08:13:09 PM
I think it was einasleigh we saw a wedgy sitting on a falcon trying to work out how to open the tin which contained his barking lunch. Owners had walked to the lookout and left pooch inside with the windows
Cracked. It's not just dingos.
Post by: KingBilly on June 15, 2017, 08:59:29 PM
Tears are rolling down my cheeks!  That is so sad.

Post by: Fizzie on June 16, 2017, 08:30:29 AM
At least we've only got "dingoes" (& wedge-tails!) to worry about: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9T9Il_Q3YY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9T9Il_Q3YY) :'(
Post by: Redback on June 16, 2017, 08:54:53 AM
I've only read the first page but really??? we've been camping with our two dogs for over 15yrs now(now have new pups) into the areas mentioned and more, never had an issue with dingoes, or wild dogs, we camped at Big Desert state forest, that place is teaming with Dingoes, we could even hear them running around the camp, our dogs didn't really react that much to them and after about 20mins the dingoes buggared off, as for baits, we just keep the dogs on a lead if where in an area that baits are used, as we do when other campers are around.

Best thing to do is just keep an eye on your dog and never leave them tyed up alone, if we do leave them in the car, it's usually only in the cooler times with the windows cracked, in hotter climates someone stays with them and we take turns looking at what we came to see, simple really.

Post by: lino6 on June 16, 2017, 09:53:42 AM
Looks like Dingos hunt in packs too...
Post by: austastar on June 16, 2017, 11:10:45 AM

At least we've only got "dingoes" (& wedge-tails!) to worry about:

     And marauding possums!

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: Troopy_03 on June 16, 2017, 11:11:07 AM
I'm sure I saw Ernie Dingo at a shopping centre once too...  ;D
Post by: Pete79 on June 16, 2017, 11:19:21 AM
I'm sure I saw Ernie Dingo at a shopping centre once too...  ;D

Impossible. Apparently it could only have been a mongrel....  ;D
Post by: Redback on June 16, 2017, 01:29:58 PM
At least we've only got "dingoes" (& wedge-tails!) to worry about: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9T9Il_Q3YY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9T9Il_Q3YY) :'(

Crocs, white pointer sharks, deadlyest spiders snakes and jellyfish 8) oh yeah and dropbears too ;D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on June 16, 2017, 01:38:34 PM
Drop bears, by far the most dangerous of the lot.

They're the Apex predator.
Post by: KingBilly on June 16, 2017, 02:52:13 PM
Drop bears, by far the most dangerous of the lot.

They're the Apex predator.

Do you also find drop bears at the local IGA?

Post by: GeoffA on June 16, 2017, 04:15:43 PM
...next to the Iced Vo-vo's.....
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on June 16, 2017, 06:19:24 PM
I know they suddenly congregate whenever Tourists turn up.
And Septic Tourists are particularly gullible.
Post by: oldmate on June 16, 2017, 08:03:29 PM
...next to the Iced Vo-vo's.....

and the choc gollywogs

can you even say that anymore???
Post by: Brisbane Puff on June 16, 2017, 08:31:29 PM
Yep, thanks for bringing this thread "camping with our dog and dingoes" back on track by talking about feral cats.  You should apply for the next moderator's job  :D

I'll take that as a compliment.. But actually, been there, done that and worn out the Tee shirt..
Post by: fluids on June 16, 2017, 11:22:42 PM

Thanks mate!

Safe travels  :cheers: