General => General Discussion => Topic started by: xcvator on May 12, 2017, 10:02:56 AM
Well here's a bit of VERY quiet whiteanting going on by the local councils in the GT >:(
I'm not usually into petitions etc , BUT this is a step too far by short sighted dickheads that are relying on "computer modeling" to get this area "Heritage Listing" which will mean no prospecting, camping ,fire wood , fires etc. You'll be able to walk in and take a photo and walk out >:( >:( >:( >:(
So please have a look at this link and sign the petition, it's YOUR country
https://www.change.org/p/danielle-green-parliament-vic-gov-au-don-t-lock-up-the-victorian-bush?recruiter=42648433&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=copylink (https://www.change.org/p/danielle-green-parliament-vic-gov-au-don-t-lock-up-the-victorian-bush?recruiter=42648433&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=copylink)
The other issue is once they start getting the ball rolling... your ****ed
Yep, that's right, we've got to stop it now, sign the petition please
Yep and its starting to happen along the Vic side of the Murray river too
Done Keith
:cup: :cup:
Signed.
Signed.
:cup: :cup:
Petition signed :cheers:
I don't usually do this sort of stuff, but this is something I believe is worthy.
Signed.
I did too.
Thanks guys, please keep it going, tell all your camping, fossicking and detorist friends
cheers Keith :cheers: :cheers:
Done
done too
Done!
done
done
Signed
Not for me, living in the area I have my reasons, and support the heritage listing
No problem there from me, we are in a democracy
Signed
Signed.
I have just read the report. Am i missing somethink, sounds like a good thing? that is how the report sounds anyway. As one lady has said previously; Please explain ???. Kevin
Signed
Heritage Listing means you cannot use it for fossicking, 4wding, or camping, as I understand it.
Or fishing, shooting or even collecting fallen firewood, let alone dropping trees ??? :'(
Done
Done with a donation as the really old folks and handicapped need access to the great outdoors too
And this is the main man behind it, note that he has ONLY ACCADEMIC qualifications, not real life
https://federation.edu.au/faculties-and-schools/faculty-of-education-and-arts/staff-profiles/fellows/chris-meddows-taylor
I don't see how miners, who, in those days, probably degraded the land they were working & mining, can be put into the same category as these sites!
Unless I'm missing something here. ???
https://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_World_Heritage_Sites_in_Australia
Signed btw
I don't see how miners, who, in those days, probably degraded the land they were working & mining, can be put into the same category as these sites!
Unless I'm missing something here. ???
https://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_World_Heritage_Sites_in_Australia
In the same vein though, Ironbridge Gorge in the UK (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_World_Heritage_Sites_in_the_United_Kingdom_and_the_British_Overseas_Territories#List_of_sites) is a world heritage site... so it's a funny one.
It's in the same vein as NED KELLY.
How does a stand over man, Bushranger, Murderer, qualify to be a National Hero.
Signed
Signed!
Our elected representatives need to understand just because they may not enjoy the pursuits that are currently able to be undertaken in these areas, does not mean that;
1. They have the right to close them
2. That their opinion is that of the people
3. The area may only be utilised by a minority of the population of Australia, but minority groups should not be discounted or discriminated against!
Signed
We are having a similar issue with elected representatives wanting to narrow Beach rd at Mordialloc for the Baytrail.
It will save 0.15 hectares of scrub.
Just dumb.
To be listed as a World Heritage Site, isn't there a requirement that 'the Site' is maintained in the condition that made it a Heritage item.
That means we'd have to clear fell a hell of a lot of it and build lots and lots of little shanty and tent towns all over the place. Right?
Well Mother Nature won't sit still for that one will she.
Theres talk of it in Noosa to. The boffins who want it want to extend it from Fraser south to the bottom of the Noosa Shire.
We are already a biosphere, which no one really understands already.
In my meetings with Council they reckon we don't stand a chance for an environmental listing but potentially a cultural listing.
Personally I don't want another layer of bureaucracy over us.......and I will happily drive any of the people judging the application up and down the beach showing them just how degraded the area is and how non pristine it is once you get up in the sand dunes.........
And this is the main man behind it, note that he has ONLY ACCADEMIC qualifications, not real life
https://federation.edu.au/faculties-and-schools/faculty-of-education-and-arts/staff-profiles/fellows/chris-meddows-taylor
"Capabilities and experience which Chris offers includes being a highly experienced executive, change leader and consultant with key interests and strong capability in public administration and machinery of government,"
Another effing taxeating nanny-stater. As soon as you hear 'change' you know it's another damn restless lefty wanting to tell you what to do and exactly how you're gunna do it.
"Capabilities and experience which Chris offers includes being a highly experienced executive, change leader and consultant with key interests and strong capability in public administration and machinery of government,"
Another effing taxeating nanny-stater. As soon as you hear 'change' you know it's another damn restless lefty wanting to tell you what to do and exactly how you're gunna do it.
These are exactly the same qualifications to be a wanker.... :angel:
signed
Translation = Con Man with lots of experience at fooling people.
I hope you don't take this the wrong way, because I'm not having a go at you, but can you illuminate the reasons why it is a good thing? From reading the article, and having only limited familiarity with the area, I don't understand what they are trying to preserve. Is it particular remains of historical settlements and mining? If so why don't they just put in measures to protect the particular sites?
To me, and probably to a lot of others, it is difficult to understand why they just decide to close off such a large swag of land to "preserve the heritage" of the area. If you have information that supports the heritage listing bid, that us non-locals aren't privy to, it would give people something to think about before blindly signing petitions.
AS yet, I haven't signed the petition, due to lack of fully understanding the situation.
Here is a bit of an update on what's happening, cut and pasted from a prospecting forum.
The Central Goldfield Branch has just secured Mr. Tim Miller who is employed at the Office of "Jaala Pulford MP
Member of the Legislative Council for the Western Victorian Region.
Minister for Agriculture, and Regional Development and the
Deputy Leader of the Legislative Council."
Mr Miller will be at our Branch meeting next Wednesday night the 17th. to explain what is really happening with this proposed World Heritage Park thing for the Golden Triangle. Anyone who would like to hear what Mr miller has to say or ask questions is more than welcome to join our meeting. So here is your chance to hopefully get to the bottom of this. "Oh by the way, Mr Tim Miller lives and works in Ballarat and is also a gold prospector. So he has our interests at heart. The PMAV Central Goldfield Branch meets at the Maryborough Highland Society In High St. Tea at 6pm and meeting at 7.30pm. All welcome.
And this
It now looks like that we may also have Louise Staley MP for the seat of Rippon at our Wednesday night meeting. Rippon covers a big area of the Triangle.
Also Olly Oleszek, PMAV President will also be there at the meeting.
PatricK the meeting will be held at the Maryborough Highland Society in High St just near Toyota and the Shell service station. 7.30 meeting on Wednesday night.
We need as many prospectors and other bush uses there as possible to show our strength
So if you're from the Maryborough area I would urge you to go please
cheers Keith :cheers:
Link is to an update on change.org
Apparently the Local Councillor has modified his standing on this.
https://www.change.org/p/danielle-green-parliament-vic-gov-au-don-t-lock-up-the-victorian-bush/u/20275118?utm_medium=email&utm_source=71517&utm_campaign=petition_up (https://www.change.org/p/danielle-green-parliament-vic-gov-au-don-t-lock-up-the-victorian-bush/u/20275118?utm_medium=email&utm_source=71517&utm_campaign=petition_up)
how do you tell a politician is lying?? its mouth is open.
Link is to an update on change.org
"1. In no way is there any proposal for the establishment of some new park or reserve which would exclude activities. Any sites considered as part of the process, which is referred to as a serial listing, would be the most special of the structures and buildings across the region already listed on the Victorian Heritage Register and/or the National Heritage List."
Good then there's no need to change anything, any new process or facilitated serial listing by stealth once you get your big foot in the back door as you 'propose'.
Piss off back to your local Council duties and concentrate on keeping rate rises down in the budget for the benefit of ratepayers.
I hope you don't take this the wrong way, because I'm not having a go at you, but can you illuminate the reasons why it is a good thing? From reading the article, and having only limited familiarity with the area, I don't understand what they are trying to preserve. Is it particular remains of historical settlements and mining? If so why don't they just put in measures to protect the particular sites?
To me, and probably to a lot of others, it is difficult to understand why they just decide to close off such a large swag of land to "preserve the heritage" of the area. If you have information that supports the heritage listing bid, that us non-locals aren't privy to, it would give people something to think about before blindly signing petitions.
AS yet, I haven't signed the petition, due to lack of fully understanding the situation.
I'm feeling exactly the same mate.
"1. In no way is there any proposal for the establishment of some new park or reserve which would exclude activities. Any sites considered as part of the process, which is referred to as a serial listing, would be the most special of the structures and buildings across the region already listed on the Victorian Heritage Register and/or the National Heritage List."
And it sounds like that is exactly what they are doing...
It sounds like they are seeking to protect specific sites, kind of like the huts in the high country?
Like Troopy_03, I have limited knowledge of this specific area (read none), but from my long distance perspective it's probably not such a bad thing if there are historic site preserved and maintained for us tourists to drive around and have a look at.
I understand everyone's right to protest and if once all of the facts have been released it is true that they want to lockup a huge parcel of land and stop all access then you'll have my support too.
Please keep us updated after the meeting has been held and the discussion has officially started between all parties.
I'll refrain from shouting from the sidelines until I know what the actual proposal includes.
"And it sounds like that is exactly what they are doing..."
No it sounds very much like they want some overarching Legislative powers while mouthing consultative platitudes so as not to frighten the horses and once they have that power they can march ahead with ever more 'serial listings' with no objections. After all you've already been 'consulted' initially and all your concerns have been addressed.
You need to brush up on Legislative Law and the Regulations tacked on to them and it's the latter that carry the sting in the tail without having to go back to Parliament for any public scrutiny. Just post the Regulatory changes empowered by the overarching Parliamentary Law in the Govt Gazette and bobsyeruncle.
It sounds like they are seeking to protect specific sites, kind of like the huts in the high country?
Hmmmmmmmmm, so these specific are not protect yet?
but they have stood the test of time to date?
and only now they need protecting?
Are these sites being trashed or neglected?
In SA we share the The Border Track with VIC. The track is closed for a small period of time for volunteers to clean and repair track. No H/L required here thanks we some times have common sense over here 8)
More News
http://www.maryboroughadvertiser.com.au/2017/05/18908/ (http://www.maryboroughadvertiser.com.au/2017/05/18908/)
Gee some people are slow to catch on ;D
This proposal has been around since 1996 that I know of, and supported by all Goldfield Local Government areas since then, as well as both Liberal & Labour State Governments.
http://www.bendigoadvertiser.com.au/story/662327/treasure-hunt-goldfields-set-for-world-heritage/ (http://www.bendigoadvertiser.com.au/story/662327/treasure-hunt-goldfields-set-for-world-heritage/)
That's right Allan, but peoples attitude to trusting bureaucrats and governments has changed a lot since then, what may have had a chance to be slid past the general populance in 1996 is now much more likely to be questioned and examined, such as this case
cheers Keith :cheers:
but peoples attitude to trusting bureaucrats and governments has changed a lot since then,
Mine hasnt changed one bit since 1996. They were dodgy back then too! Thats when I resigned from the Vic Public Service - I nearly became a bearocat ;D
Gee some people are slow to catch on ;D
This proposal has been around since 1996 that I know of, and supported by all Goldfield Local Government areas since then, as well as both Liberal & Labour State Governments.
http://www.bendigoadvertiser.com.au/story/662327/treasure-hunt-goldfields-set-for-world-heritage/ (http://www.bendigoadvertiser.com.au/story/662327/treasure-hunt-goldfields-set-for-world-heritage/)
'University of Melbourne Associate Professor Alan Mayne said the idea for a World Heritage listing had developed through research on the Castlemaine Diggings National Park.
"All the work on the history and heritage of the area suggested . . . a need for more recognition and protection for the areas," he said.
Assoc. Prof. Mayne, also the director of the university's cultural heritage unit, said while the national heritage-listed Castlemaine Diggings would be the focus, other sites would be used to strengthen the application.
They could include the Bendigo Town Hall, the Bendigo Pottery, the Maryborough railway station, parts of Maldon and the Eureka Stockade Gardens in Ballarat.'
And they could include a whole lot more once we get the initial Legislation and Regulations hunkered down and here in our ivory towers we've been busy working on that for your own good deplorables :-*
Mine hasnt changed one bit since 1996. They were dodgy back then too!
Long before 1996!
Here is an update on the PMAV meeting held at Marborough last night, this has been cut and pasted from the Prospecting Australia website
PMAV Central Goldfields Branch
Special Meeting held on 17th May 2017
At Maryborough Highland Society Clubrooms
Opening
The President opened the meeting at 7.30pm.
Bill declared that there would be no Central Goldfields Branch meeting tonight because of time restraints but would instead go straight to the main topics of the night. He then welcomed Mr Tim Miller (from the office of Jaala Pulford MP for Regional Development), Louise Staley (MP for Ripon) and Olly Oleszek ( PMAV President).
The World Heritage push by Councils.
Tim Miller
Tim presented an outline of why he believes the "World Heritage" push by Councils has been grossly distorted by statements from Councils and media reports that have led to a widespread misunderstanding of what the real situation is. He stated the reported $68,000,000 wildly incorrect and would be more like $22,000,000. He also stated that the reported 25000 sq kilometre’s was not a blanket cover but only related to the area of land under the control of the combined councils. Tim answered many questions from the floor and was adamant that the only sites that could be included are ones that are already under existing Victorian Heritage listings such as the Castlemaine diggings but mainly historic buildings. He went on to stress that at this stage the "World Heritage" push is only a proposal and that there will have to be extensive community consultations (including with the PMAV)before they can go ahead, and this process could take 2 to 3 years. Tim also laid out a fact sheet which had already been doing the rounds on Facebook and Internet Forums which clearly puts a whole new perspective on the matter and should alleviate all concerns.
Bill then stated that with all the information it’s clear that all prospectors can rest easy as there is no change to the present situation, ie we can detect as normal including respecting all the existing heritage sites as we have always done, he then went on to thank Tim for his attendance to which everyone gave applause.
New State or National Parks
The PMAV Victorian President Olly Oleszek
Olly pointed out that new State or National Park listings were being proposed (allegedly by the Greens) such as the Great Forest National Park in the Central highlands which would close off 355000 hectares in the hope of attracting thousands of tourists and thereby generating millions of dollars which seems to be a familiar theme these days. Also proposed is a National or StatePark for The Golden Triangle/Western Vic which would total 120,000 hectares, and he went on to say that an obscure survey in Canada is the basis of the $68,000,000 touted in the World Heritage statements. Many millions of dollars will be lost if forests are closed says Olly as there is evidence that State Parks drive people away with an example being the closure of the Eldorado C/van Park due to lack of prospectors following new restrictions. He restated that the new proposed State Parks will cover a huge area and he will soon be calling for everyone to send Emails to Politicians as they don’t like this effective way of getting a message across.
At this point Louise Staley (MP for Ripon) gave her backing to the idea of sending Emails and also of being very vocal pointing out that the Greens are very vocal and we have to be the same. She also likes the idea of having one big rally on Parliament steps as another effective way to get the message across.
Olly then finished by saying that we are expected to accept other cultures but our culture is gold mining and they will destroy it if they can.
All guests were thanked for attending and a report/news item will be in the Maryborough Advertiser newspaper on Friday May 19thMeeting Ended 8.38pm
Our Bigger problem now is these proposed State or National Park for the Golden Triangle via the Central west Forest Investigation.
Here is a report from our PMAV President Olly Oleszek who was at our meeting last night.
I attended the Pmav central branch last night we had Louise Staley member for Rippon and Tim Miller advisor to Jaala Pulford member for Western Victoria, the main topic of discussion was the Proposed World Heritage listing of the Golden Triangle. Tim Miller told us that a lot of the hysteria regarding this listing was due to media misinformation that gave the idea that the whole of the goldfields was to be listed. He gave us assurances that the listings would only be site specific ie the Castlemaine diggings, the Maryborough railway station etc, this did take a bit of anger out of the meeting but the Pmav will be monitoring any further developments and taking the appropriate action as required. I spoke on a much more pressing issue and that is the Central West Forest Investigation, there are initially 3 areas under investigation the Pyrenees Ranges State Forest, Wellsford State Forest and entire Wombat State Forest which could become State Parks or National Parks and we would be excluded from these, if these parks are lost to us the Greens have another 7 areas on their wish list Dunolly-waanyarra, Kingower, Bealiba, Moliagul, Harvest Home, Timor and Fryers Range. As you can see this would virtually wipe out prospecting in the Golden Triangle add to this the Proposed Great Forest National Park and Victoria would be a non prospecting state and we are being supported whole heartedly by Louise Staley. More information will be posted and a plan to contact your local politicians both upper and lower house will be formulated
Olly Oleszek
President
end quote
So it would appear that the world heritage listing is probably not going to happen BUT the state park and national park listing is very likely to happen if we don't yell and scream.
If you like to do any gold detecting/panning/fossicking looking for gemstones the areas left to do it in Victoria will be almost non-existant and your dog will have to be left at home too
cheers Keith