General => General Discussion => Topic started by: xcvator on May 08, 2017, 01:17:26 PM

Title: Between a Rock and a Hard Place
Post by: xcvator on May 08, 2017, 01:17:26 PM
What to do ?
In Mid February I wrecked my right knee ( now need a total knee replacement ) and have been in extreme pain ever since with it  and swallowing a pack of panadol a day. A course of cortisone tablets helped for a week or so, but then back to the pain, this was followed by a guided cortisone injection that took about a week to take hold, that was on the 27/4 . Now I'm still in a fair bit of discomfort/pain and house bound  so what should I do ?

1/ Wait maybe 2 years to get it down on the free list ( yep that's right 2 years )

2/ Wait another 10 months and get it done on my health benefits ($500 p/m + pain killers )

3/ Get it done now, privately if I can find a surgeon that will take private patients ( about $25,000 )

Now we can scrounge up the cash for option 3 but it will knock a huge hole in retirement funds and if any thing goes wrong (ie; an infection ) the cost could balloon out astronomically
cheers Keith :cheers:
Title: Re: Between a Rock and a Hard Place
Post by: Bird on May 08, 2017, 01:28:02 PM
Post by: Roo on May 08, 2017, 01:40:34 PM
Have you already retired?

Post by: db on May 08, 2017, 01:41:06 PM
If you haven't already, can you get a referral to a pain specialist?  They may be able to help you manage the pain better in the short/medium term, allowing you to do option one or two.
Post by: MarkVS on May 08, 2017, 01:44:29 PM
Keith,
Why do you have to wait 10 months under option 2 ? If you have the private Health insurance, you should be able to get it down now ?

MarkVS
Post by: tryagain on May 08, 2017, 01:55:30 PM
2, and see if you can get better pain medication.

Keith,
Why do you have to wait 10 months under option 2 ? If you have the private Health insurance, you should be able to get it down now ?

Waiting period?

Post by: xcvator on May 08, 2017, 02:03:12 PM
Have you already retired?

Yes
Keith,

MarkVS

Waiting period, never had health insurance and at 70 it aint cheap
Post by: Roo on May 08, 2017, 02:09:00 PM
I guess you're gonna hefta wait a few months.
Public system sux the biggie always getting pushed back by more critical (read:paying) cases. and paying for it yourself defeats the porpoise of having health cover. 🐬

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 08, 2017, 02:13:36 PM
Option 2 Keith.
If you can find some one to help you with the pain management.

Should be able to get it done now. 
Thanks to political interference in the past, you won't.
Post by: plusnq on May 08, 2017, 02:47:07 PM
4. Make enquiries at larger regional centres re waiting lists at the public hospitals. Visiting orthopods sometimes have short waiting lists and you may get in quicker through the public system that way. We used to get quite a few patients from Brisbane having hips done in Mount Isa as the waiting list was short. Worth a try.
Post by: Bird on May 08, 2017, 02:51:51 PM
he doesn't need help with the pain management, he has his still going!
Title: Re: Between a Train Wheel and a Hard Place
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 08, 2017, 02:55:21 PM
Amputation would be cheaper.

Go play on the train tracks and the public system will pick up the tab and all done quickly.

No need to thank me, its my job.
Post by: cowwee on May 08, 2017, 03:04:01 PM
What to do ?
In Mid February I wrecked my right knee ( now need a total knee replacement ) and have been in extreme pain ever since with it  and swallowing a pack of panadol a day. A course of cortisone tablets helped for a week or so, but then back to the pain, this was followed by a guided cortisone injection that took about a week to take hold, that was on the 27/4 . Now I'm still in a fair bit of discomfort/pain and house bound  so what should I do ?

1/ Wait maybe 2 years to get it down on the free list ( yep that's right 2 years )

2/ Wait another 10 months and get it done on my health benefits ($500 p/m + pain killers )

3/ Get it done now, privately if I can find a surgeon that will take private patients ( about $25,000 )

Now we can scrounge up the cash for option 3 but it will knock a huge hole in retirement funds and if any thing goes wrong (ie; an infection ) the cost could balloon out astronomically
cheers Keith :cheers:
Keith,
Depending on what damage you have done, there is the option of an injection of Synvisc-One. This will pad out the joint, and works well with OA. It is not Medicare rebatable....
Some GPs will inject it into the knee joint but also a lot of orthopedic surgeons or even sports doctors.
From memory it is about $1000....but may well give you some good relief while you wait the 10 months for health insurance to kick in!
Karl

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Between a Train Wheel and a Hard Place
Post by: UIZ733 on May 08, 2017, 03:18:10 PM
Amputation would be cheaper.

Go play on the train tracks and the public system will pick up the tab and all done quickly.

No need to thank me, its my job.
With friends like this, who needs an enema?  ;D
Post by: tryagain on May 08, 2017, 04:09:55 PM
If going option 2 I would triple check there is absolute certainty that you are eligible after the 12 months, I knew someone who signed up to get an OP after 12 months only then to find out (I'm not sure of the reason) that he had to wait another 12 months.

I'd also maybe give a couple of the surgeons a call to confirm what price it would be privately (including anaesthetists etc) sometimes they will do it a bit cheaper with a little bit of sob story, ie pain is almost unbearable, can probably only just afford it, will wipe out most of what you have but don't know if you can wait for the public system etc. You can then weigh this up against keeping on paying your private health insurance, out of pocket costs etc which will probably be at least half of the $25,000 by the time all is said and done.

How much of a financial hit the difference is, only you can really weigh up, but if it's likely to just be a bit less you leave when your time is up, just spend the extra and enjoy the times it buys you.
Post by: Swannie on May 08, 2017, 04:21:27 PM
Is just pay the cash, you could lose that on the stock market overnight mate.

Or option 4 medicinal wacky tobacy

Health insurance plenty say it's expensive but in instances like the pain your in Keith it's not when you get it sorted quickly

Post by: Bird on May 08, 2017, 04:36:36 PM
If going option 2 I would triple check there is absolute certainty that you are eligible after the 12 months, I knew someone who signed up to get an OP after 12 months only then to find out (I'm not sure of the reason) that he had to wait another 12 months.
yea something like the pre-existing conditions fine print?
Post by: Kangaron on May 08, 2017, 04:37:51 PM
Ring around.
I've never had health insurance either.
Surgeons are no different to anyone else.
They like cash.
Post by: Terry W4 on May 08, 2017, 05:41:34 PM

Pre-existing condition may not be covered.

Post by: Champin on May 08, 2017, 06:33:51 PM
Some people are getting into that surgury tourism I think they call it. They combine a trip to Thailand with a trip to the surgeon. Might be able to score a nice set of boobies of your own to play with too. :laugh:
Post by: Nomad on May 08, 2017, 07:05:04 PM
Some people are getting into that surgury tourism I think they call it. They combine a trip to Thailand with a trip to the surgeon. Might be able to score a nice set of boobies of your own to play with too. :laugh:

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: UIZ733 on May 08, 2017, 07:08:01 PM
I'll pay that!  :cup:
Post by: Rumpig on May 08, 2017, 08:22:20 PM
or pay for the surgery working as a Lady boi when he gets back  ;D
Post by: xcvator on May 08, 2017, 08:46:26 PM
Ya'll supposed to be feeling sorry for me and being helpfull  :'( :'( but you're acting like myswag degenerates, ladyboys and boobies talk just isn't helping my situation I've already got a stiff leg , another 1 is just not going to be helpful at all
 :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: UIZ733 on May 08, 2017, 09:01:45 PM
Ya'll supposed to be feeling sorry for me and being helpfull  :'( :'( but you're acting like myswag degenerates, ladyboys and boobies talk just isn't helping my situation I've already got a stiff leg , another 1 is just not going to be helpful at all
Hope its' the middle one!
Post by: 4runnernomore on May 08, 2017, 09:10:43 PM
In all seriousness I was going to mention try OS but people beat me to the punch.

Vietnam would be another place to research for surgery.

Cheers, Chris  :cheers:
Post by: nab on May 08, 2017, 09:35:27 PM
If you're 70ish I would pay the cash upfront and get it done ASAP. Sitting at home and doing minimal exercise would not be great for your overall health, physically and mentally. Sounds like you're already going bonkers after less than 2 months, imagine doing this for another 10 months, then recovery time. Bugger that...
Post by: edz on May 08, 2017, 11:36:56 PM
Could always go to a university hospital, they might be able to use your surgery for instructional purposes, might get it done for a discounted price .  ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 09, 2017, 04:00:51 AM

So, based on that information, a lady boy with a nice set of boobs gives you a stiffy is what you're saying.

Couldn't make up ya mind on which team to "bat for", so decided to make it a 50/50 each way bet.
Do ya friends know tranny's turn you on...... LMAO....  :D

Post by: mynance on May 09, 2017, 05:56:49 AM
 Dephends what damage has been done, if it was just an arthroscope and clean out it would not be that expensive, and would not be a cure.
I have top hospital cover but still would go overseas, most of the continuing education in orthopaedics is in India.
Thailand facilities are excellent.
Friend of mine ground all his teeth down and had to have them all crowned, $55,000 was the quote in Brisbane
He went to Kuala Lumpur and had it done by the same dentist that comes out here to lecture at the UQ for $5,000.
Did perfect job.

Mynance

Post by: Roo on May 09, 2017, 08:00:22 AM
You have a budget for living expenses. In guessing you're a self funded retiree. Make it a financial decision and work out what it costs to sit about waiting and popping pills as opposed to trimming the budget and pulling some capital forward to get it sorted now. You're 70, I dont know what your general health is like but just be aware of the busses waiting around the corner,  older you get the more busses lining up to knock you over. Get it sorted and get on with retirement with a smile.

Post by: Roo on May 09, 2017, 08:04:57 AM
Dephends what damage has been done, if it was just an arthroscope and clean out it would not be that expensive, and would not be a cure.
I have top hospital cover but still would go overseas, most of the continuing education in orthopaedics is in India.
Thailand facilities are excellent.
Friend of mine ground all his teeth down and had to have them all crowned, $55,000 was the quote in Brisbane
He went to Kuala Lumpur and had it done by the same dentist that comes out here to lecture at the UQ for $5,000.
Did perfect job.

Mynance

Interesting. Kev could go all Maggie Smith and set himself up at The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel for recovery.

Post by: MarkVS on May 09, 2017, 08:45:45 AM
Keith,
As a retiree, and having seen you in pain at the national meet, you need to be making a quality of life decision. This time of your life is all about enjoying yourself to the Max.. And you havent been since Feb.
Some of your options are putting a value on your(and families) quality of life/happiness. You cant do that....

Post by: Julian Kaye on May 09, 2017, 10:42:02 AM

Look, I've just had a total knee replacement 7 weeks ago and I feel for what you are going through. All I can say is that my life was becoming pretty unpleasant because of my old knee and I really had to do something about it. Now understand if you have the operation your life won't get any better quickly, it has taken me the best part of six weeks before I started to feel better about things and it would probably be the same for you but it will get better. The operation is a piece of cake for modern surgeons, it's the rehab that takes the time and effort. That's the easy part, I know you have other issues re cost etc. All I can say is that you really have a clear decision. If your life is becoming miserable with pain and discomfort you owe it to yourself and your family to do something about it ASAP. Life is not about pain and misery, especially as we get older. From what you have said it seems that with a bit of financial sacrifice you can probably make it happen, if you can then do it. What is retirement worth if it is lived in pain and immobility?
      I just wanted to say that you have had some really good and thoughtful responses and you had had some garbage posted as well. Forget about the overseas nonsense. Have a look at the lifestyle in some of these Asian countries. Do you really want to go there and let them cut you open? And let your post be a warning to others, going into retirement and older age without comprehensive private health cover is a very bad thing. People should not place themselves at the mercy of the public health system if they can help it, it's a tough lesson to learn and you have probably learnt the hard way.
   Good luck whatever you decide to do and I hope things turn out well for you.
Post by: xcvator on May 09, 2017, 01:22:30 PM
Well, the bullets been bitten, saw my orthopaedic  surgeon this morning and I can apparently get a half knee replacement instead of a full replacement, much quicker and cheaper to do than a full job, maybe only 3 days in hospital as opposed to 7 to 10 for the full one, but still about $15000  :'(
Booked into the Frankston Private Hospital on the 8/6/17 , I'll give you the gps co-ordinates and Melways reference a bit closer to the time so that you can visit me and bring lots of get well pressies

cheers Keith  :cheers:
Post by: edz on May 09, 2017, 01:29:24 PM
Heres hoping for a pain free / trouble free outcome for you Ex .
Post by: Bird on May 09, 2017, 02:07:23 PM
Quote from: xcvator
Well, the bullets been bitten, saw my orthopaedic  surgeon this morning and I can apparently get a half knee replacement instead of a full replacement

Is it going to give you the best result though?
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 09, 2017, 04:46:15 PM
Good Luck with it Keith, hope the result is better than ok.
Post by: raider on May 09, 2017, 06:46:26 PM
Not too late for a 'Go Fund Me' page.
Post by: xcvator on May 09, 2017, 07:10:27 PM
Is it going to give you the best result though?
How would I know,  ??? this is apparently the "new age" sort of like key hole surgery, you can only be guided  by the surgeon and this guy is the protege of the surgeon that did my left knee 6 years ago  and that's been faultless  :cup:
Post by: Champin on May 09, 2017, 07:23:23 PM
Good luck with it Keith. Hope it all goes well for you.
Post by: Kangaron on May 09, 2017, 08:12:38 PM
Great decision. Let me know as soon as you are mobile and we can give that banker a run.
Post by: tryagain on May 09, 2017, 08:14:47 PM
but still about $15000  :'(

At least this bit checks out now

Post by: Black Diamond on May 09, 2017, 09:15:13 PM
Well, the bullets been bitten, saw my orthopaedic  surgeon this morning and I can apparently get a half knee replacement instead of a full replacement, much quicker and cheaper to do than a full job, maybe only 3 days in hospital as opposed to 7 to 10 for the full one, but still about $15000  :'(
Booked into the Frankston Private Hospital on the 8/6/17 , I'll give you the gps co-ordinates and Melways reference a bit closer to the time so that you can visit me and bring lots of get well pressies

cheers Keith  :cheers:
A stone throw away for Bruce and i ole mate we will bring the beers  :cheers:
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 09, 2017, 09:45:36 PM
And I'll give them a ring and tell 'em all about your special needs liquid diet.
Post by: GeoffA on May 09, 2017, 09:59:53 PM
Good decision Keefy.... :cup: :cup:
Post by: xcvator on May 09, 2017, 10:16:23 PM
Cheers guys and girls for the good wishes and messages , they are much appreciated. Having made the decision I'm feeling much better about it , just counting down the days now

cheers Keith :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: edz on May 09, 2017, 11:02:48 PM
While your going to be under the anasthetic  Ex, get them to bung out a kidney and flog it off to some rich bastard  for ya .. Should wake up to a nice tidy profit  to fund your travels with then ..
Ohh and you do know why they all wear masks and caps in the theater rooms, dont you !! .. " So you cant pick one of them out in a police line up if they something  wrong " . ;D
Post by: LB on May 10, 2017, 05:58:56 AM
Keith thank you for posting this, if nothing more than as a reminder to people that relying on the public health system is a risk. I recently had a knee reconstruction and if I had gone public it would have been a 12 - 18 months wait with pain (knee was quite unstable) and the likely possibility of further damage. I did have to wait 3 months before my surgeon would ok the surgery to let some of the other damage subside but I did rehab during that time and now 7 weeks post surgery I'm hammering along, still a lot of work to do but I can now even handle the wayward coles trolleys which I couldn't do before the op. So after I got the go ahead I was booked in two weeks later.

Private health insurance is expensive but when it comes to quality of life it is so worth it. 
Post by: Bigfish on May 10, 2017, 06:57:13 AM
Keith thank you for posting this, if nothing more than as a reminder to people that relying on the public health system is a risk. I recently had a knee reconstruction and if I had gone public it would have been a 12 - 18 months wait with pain (knee was quite unstable) and the likely possibility of further damage. I did have to wait 3 months before my surgeon would ok the surgery to let some of the other damage subside but I did rehab during that time and now 7 weeks post surgery I'm hammering along, still a lot of work to do but I can now even handle the wayward coles trolleys which I couldn't do before the op. So after I got the go ahead I was booked in two weeks later.

Private health insurance is expensive but when it comes to quality of life it is so worth it.

My sentiments as well.  I reckon you made the right choice Keith.  Hope all goes well.  None of us know when we have to hang up our cue and we should be living our lives to the fullest. I have private insurance and it saved me a fortune with the wives heart issues and 2 operations for myself.  I reckon within the next or 2 I,m gunna be looking at knee surgery...both clicking like buggary!!.

Good luck and keep smilin.