General => General Discussion => Topic started by: AndrewT on April 09, 2017, 09:44:47 AM
Hey All. Wanting to get a 4wd again...had two patrols in the past and now have the need for a dual cab (wifes business) and also for towing the offroad camper amd soft 4wding.
Considering all the options although my mechanic has put me off the 2.5 Navaras (common issues).
Ranger, Triton, DMax etc...Leaning towards Triton now...wanted a Ranger but hard to find a nice one with good ks in price range.
Would like to keep it to under or around 25k...less than 100000kms. Prefer models like the GLXR..XLT etc
Any advice
increase your budget if possible and aim for an xls ranger. The other brands you mentioned dont compare to the ranger!
So would have to move up to a PX...dont really want to increase budget an extra 10k..
$25k and 100k kms suggests Triton or D40. Base model Dmax or Colorado might fit.
I have a mn triton and has never let me down at 230000ks and still going strong, before this I had a GU patrol and done a lot 4wding in it and was surprised how the triton holds up compare to it in the bush, also found that at the time had the most room in the back seat for a dual cab,
I am biased, but VW Amarok would fit the bill
Also has largest interior / best rear seating of all mentioned
Largest tray space, only style side you can fit a full size pallet
Don't let the engine size / KWs put you off. It gets power to the ground way better than most
Test drive one you will be surprised
The do required a heavier foot to deliver all the power, only diesel I know of the redlined 6-6500 rpm
You can pick up a 2012-3 with around 100,000 Kim's for around $20-25,000
Don't let the engine size / KWs put you off. It gets power to the ground way better than most
The do required a heavier foot to deliver all the power, only diesel I know of the redlined 6-6500 rpm
Yeah they are a nice car to all wheel drive to? My mate had one for a while and loved it, he reckon for everyday driving it was the best ute he had (buys a new ute every 6 months) but when it came to towing he has a big boat and found the ranger/BT 50 just had that bit more grunt for going up hills where the amrock was working a bit harder,
I have a Triton GLXR (MN), and she goes great. Practically floats on the soft stuff.
Triton (mid or high spec) or Amarok, the only two with full time four wheel drive which is a god send when towing in adverse conditions, and indeed on many other occasions. Also amongst the cheapest.
I dont want to offend the Triton owners.
BUT
I sold mine as soon as it was out of warranty.
Worst car I have ever owned and that expensive for servicing even my accountant passed comment on it.
The cost of warranty repairs was nearly $25k on a car that was 6 years old with 185000ks on it.
Minimal off road, minimal towing, fully serviced and one owner.
MINE WAS A 2010 MN GLXR 2.5 TD manual.
These engines have inherent problem with the blocks and head gaskets letting go amongst a large list of other problems.
Apparently the new model the MQ isnt much more reliable.
Just my experience and a fair few others.
I would take the Triton off your shopping list.
Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk
BUT
Worst car I have ever owned and that expensive for servicing even my accountant passed comment on it.
The cost of warranty repairs was nearly $25k on a car that was 6 years old with 185000ks on it.
Minimal off road, minimal towing, fully serviced and one owner.
MINE WAS A 2010 MN GLXR 2.5 TD manual.
These engines have inherent problem with the blocks and head gaskets letting go amongst a large list of other problems.
Apparently the new model the MQ isnt much more reliable.
Just my experience and a fair few others.
I would take the Triton off your shopping list.
How do warranty repairs cost the owner, warranty repairs are typically undertaken by the manufacturer at nil cost to the owner during warranty period.
I also own an Amarok and think they are pretty good ... but I don't think you can get an auto dual-cab 4x4 amarok with less than 100k kms for under $25k. Can't see any on carsales.
Maybe a manual but in my opinion the auto in the amarok is one of the real drawcards.
I didnt say the warranty repairs were a cost to me.
I would hate for someone to buy one second hand Triton and be up for that sort of expense.
So back to the OP question, I would not go near a Triton they are a heap of 5h!t.
But to your comment about it not costing the owner for warranty repairs.
Have you ever had a vehicle that you use for business off the road for 4 months ???
Put a price on that !!!
I also own an Amarok and think they are pretty good ... but I don't think you can get an auto dual-cab 4x4 amarok with less than 100k kms for under $25k. Can't see any on carsales.
Maybe a manual but in my opinion the auto in the amarok is one of the real drawcards.
I'm a die hard manual fan because of the low range in 6 speed manual over the 8 speed auto without
But saying that if he can boost the $25k by 13k
VW are doing brand new for $38k and last email they sent me said free auto with unlimited Kona warranty
I've got a 2012 MN GLXR Triton and just clocked over 100000k and appart from a gearbox syncro which was fixed under warranty promptly by Mitsubishi it has been a great 4wd and tow vehicle towing my 17ft expanda and also my 17ft starcraft.
I'd eat 2 minute noodles for a couple months and keep saving a bit more.
As the owner of a 2.5TD auto rated to tow 3t, I wouldn't touch anything under 3 litres.
I would look at the 3L D-Max (my preferred) or the 3.2 Ranger.
There was a reason Toyota and Nissan had there long stroke six cylinder engines.
You just can't beat cubes for towing.
The 3.0 dmax is going to live the longest. It would be my pick of any of them at that price and you'll buy a lot more car than a Toyota second hand. The rest are not what I would look at second hand.
Dmax have a great rep. Mate of mine just bought a second hand one, hes thinks its a good unit.
I'd take Ronnie's negative comments regarding the Triton with a grain of salt, or two.
Whilst he's obviously had a bad run with his MN, there are plenty of people who have had very good experiences. One of my business partners has one, and it has had a couple of minor issues, but has generally been reliable. A mate also has one, and he has had no problems at all. They aren't unusually expensive to service (my accountant actually drives one btw).
As for the off the cuff assertion that "Apparently the new model the MQ isnt much more reliable.'', that is just nonsense. I'm on the 'newtriton' forum, and the MQ has been shown to be extremely reliable. It's also worth noting it is a completely different vehicle compared to the MN. Engine and transmission are different for starters.
What I would suggest, if you can stretch a few grand over the $25k you might get into an MQ, which would be a much better vehicle than the MN.
As said above, you can get a lemon with any vehicle. I've got a BT50 with just over 130,000kms and it's been great. I know of other horror stories with BT50's, not common.
A couple of guys I know also have Tritons and love them, with no issues. If you can stretch the budget, you can get something like this
https://www.carsales.com.au/demo/details/Mitsubishi-Triton-2016/OAG-AD-14124212/?Cr=2 (https://www.carsales.com.au/demo/details/Mitsubishi-Triton-2016/OAG-AD-14124212/?Cr=2)
If you can find an MQ Triton, the low range ratio is much better than MN.
DMax also pretty bulletproof.
Whatever, I would try and stretch to something with a bit of warranty left.
My current work ute is a 2014 MN triton GLXR Warrior.
At the time of purchase nothing came close to the Triton for value for money; Auto box, rear locker, leather interior, electric drivers seat, kickass stereo, sat nav, alloys, etc.
As far as utes go the Triton is pretty comfy. It's mostly just highway stuff for me, but some of my work runs are up to 4,000km round trips - cruise control on, seat tweaked to just the right position and stereo pumping flat out, makes it pretty easy eat up the K's.
But and this is a big but for me, I HATE the Triton's rear end.
Waaaaaaaaaaaaay too much overhang. And the useless rear step makes the tow bar too low to the ground.
For a highway cruiser they're fine, but anything harder then a gravel road sees the Triton dragging its arse around like a dog with worms.
No mechanical issues so far with my Trion, though the fuel economy is much worse then I was expecting.
It could be the auto box or just the modern environmental stuff, but with 1 person an empty tray and cruise control on, I still struggle to get under 14L/100km.
I previously had a manual 2007 Hilux Dualcab for 4 years and loved it.
On the same work run I consistently got over 700km to 65L (~9L/100km) out of the Hilux.
No fancy features in the Hilux though, vinyl all round and a really, really crappy stereo. But at least it was easy to blast the sand and dog hair out of it..... ;D
Thanks all. Still looking at DMax, Triton and Ranger. With the DMax would the older one (pre 2011) still be as tough as everyone says
Hey Merts you so you are calling me a liar and its not something I take lightly.
I ask the moderators to address this post.
I gave the OP my opinion about Tritons which is what the OP asked for, the OP didn't ask for your opinion of my views.
I have been a member on NewTriton for 8 years and there a plenty of horror stories like mine.
Older DMax is still pretty reliable, smaller cabin and less ground clearance/wheel travel for offroad work, if that matters.
Hey Merts you so you are calling me a liar and its not something I take lightly.
I gave the OP my opinion about Tritons which is what the OP asked for, the OP didn't ask for your opinion of my views.
I have been a member on NewTriton for 8 years and there a plenty of horror stories like mine.
You might want to re-read what I said.
I didn't say, or even imply you were lying. I simply made the point that whilst you had a bad run with your particular vehicle, plenty of people have had a good run.
Thanks all. Still looking at DMax, Triton and Ranger. With the DMax would the older one (pre 2011) still be as tough as everyone says
Yep. Same engine, less tune. Good gearbox. The manual got more power than the auto and the cab chassis models had a stretched wheelbase so they carry weight excellently. You can include the 3.0 Colorado in the last model as well as they were all Isuzu. We had a few in the fleet and if we could go back in time we'd have bought them all. I have a px ranger 3.2 and we have a single amarok that a particular manager insisted on - buy a new one or leave them alone would be my advice - they need love and attention or they cost big coin. They don't call VW's Hitler's revenge for nothing, they are nice cars for the first few years though, like all vw, just don't buy a second hand one. The ford is built by ford - mine's been fine, others not so fine - say no more. The 3.0 ranger/bt 50 is turning into a long lived thing as well and you'll get a flash model in your budget. If you aren't a diesel snob a v6 hilux would be a sleeper at that money too.
I reckon you're better just narrowing down your choice to 2 or 3 vehicles that you like, that fit's in your budget. Take each one for a test drive and pick out the one that you think drives the best and suits your needs. Once you think you've narrowed it down to one vehicle, make sure there's a dealer of that brand close to your home so servicing (if you so choose) can be done simply and also giving you the availability to order OE parts if needed. Then google the particular vehicle model to find out 'potential' issues with that vehicle. Understand the common issues, and the fixes, work out what it will cost to address them when you first get hold of the car - if you think it will give you peace of mind.
At this point, if you're still keen on the vehicle, buy it.
I understand why people do it, but asking others for their personal opinion on a range of vehicles is always going to end with a myriad of opinions and responses. I'm not sure in the end it really helps the decision making process, or actually makes it harder.
Good luck with whatever you choose.
I reckon you're better just narrowing down your choice to 2 or 3 vehicles that you like, that fit's in your budget. Take each one for a test drive and pick out the one that you think drives the best and suits your needs. Once you think you've narrowed it down to one vehicle, make sure there's a dealer of that brand close to your home so servicing (if you so choose) can be done simply and also giving you the availability to order OE parts if needed. Then google the particular vehicle model to find out 'potential' issues with that vehicle. Understand the common issues, and the fixes, work out what it will cost to address them when you first get hold of the car - if you think it will give you peace of mind.
great advice.
I would seriously consider the BT-50 same engine as the ranger but better value for your dollar.
We recently purchased a 2017 BT-50 GT, checked out the Ranger Wildtrak but couldn't see where the 13k price difference in the quotes was going and I really wanted full leather seats (due to dogs) which the Wildtrak doesn't have. The Ford saleman's was also very average. Can't fault the Mazda service.
Second the BT50. My XTR is just under 2 years old with 85thou on her and little issues, cant say my foot is light either...
I preferred the Ranger as well, however the 11k price difference paid for the ARB fruit being bullbar, OME lift, snorkel, Acsent canopy, roof tray and Kaymar rear carrier. The not so appealing front end is fixed with a bullbar
You might want to re-read what I said.
I didn't say, or even imply you were lying. I simply made the point that whilst you had a bad run with your particular vehicle, plenty of people have had a good run.
I would be one of them, had a great run out of the MN GLXR, only selling it and getting an MQ GLS because its my business car and there is no more depreciation left, well not much, so may as well get a new one as give the money to the tax man. Absolutely would not be able to own something that didn't have full time 4WD, but that is just me.
I've got an 08/09 D-Max (the first model). Ticked over 90,000 this morning.
Other than regular servicing, done nothing to it. Nothing's needed attention, nada ! Still on original brakes & shocks (to be changed this service).
Does 8.5-9.0L/100km average. Better on a trip.
Same 3.0L engine as current. Little truck. Not a luxo dual cab toynisformazrok .... ;D
0.02c
Yeh liking the DMax..seen this one on carsales but not in the flesh: Check out this Isuzu D-MAX.
https://www.carsales.com.au/dealer/details/Isuzu-D-MAX-2011/OAG-AD-14496917
Not sure about the weird aftermarket decals in it...i always get suss that the dealer is hiding something on the body
If you want power - Ranger/ BT50, Reliability - Dmax, Build Quality - Hilux, Value for money - Triton.
As easy as that :)
I understand why people do it, but asking others for their personal opinion on a range of vehicles is always going to end with a myriad of opinions and responses. I'm not sure in the end it really helps the decision making process, or actually makes it harder.
Good luck with whatever you choose.
Agree.
When I purchased mid last year I had a bit smaller budget and ended up with a D40 Navara. For the money the hilux was too old/high kms and all the others were too small. I saw the horror stories about them, but made my decision with the stories in mind, also knowing there are heaps of them on the road meaning they aren't all duds. The two major problems seem to be poor clutch and timing chain. The clutch is not an issue if you get an auto (and its a wear part anyway) and AFAIK somewhere in the last couple of years they fixed the timing chain problem. Mine is a manual, but with lo wish kms and no towbar felt it was low risk. I'm still tossing up replacing the timing chain with a dual row one, and probably will if i start towing with it regularly.
I see we have some delicate little petals posting these days.
Pete79 points out about the Triton- "And the useless rear step makes the tow bar too low to the ground."
Just be aware MN Tritons have 2 different model towbars to account for the difference in fitting height with and without the rear step as the lad discovered when he was given the rear step from a mate getting a tray and no go without the other towbar.
As for the reliability of Triton motors they did have a batch of badly machined blocks/heads but the experience of one young bloke I know he took his Triton in for a normal warranty service with no probs and the Dealer told him Mitsi were putting in a new motor because it was on their list of cars in the problem run. You can't ask more than that and travelling from Bega to Adelaide recently it was very clear the country boys were big fans of Tritons and their bang for buck and bad news travels fast with workhorses. That's the trouble with the net and product review sites. We're happy with a product and we're not jumping on websites to tell everyone about it.
Not up Qld way are you?
https://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Mitsubishi-Triton-2015/SSE-AD-4650664/?Cr=1 (https://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Mitsubishi-Triton-2015/SSE-AD-4650664/?Cr=1)
Stick a Provent 200 kit from Western Filters and an electronic EGR delete from Chiptuning and forget the DPF dramas.
Or NSW and auto- https://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Mitsubishi-Triton-2015/SSE-AD-4634249/?Cr=102 (https://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Mitsubishi-Triton-2015/SSE-AD-4634249/?Cr=102)
When I was looking around at low km 2015 MN Tritons first (before spotting a great deal on a Challenger in Ballarat) I didn't restrict myself to my backyard but was prepared to ship a good deal via the online car movers (was looking at one advertised in Cairns that would cost $850 to ship to Adelaide). You're talking cars still under formal warranty and you can always ring the local Dealer for the lowdown on it or even cold call a local mech shop to pay them to look it over for any hidden traps. You just have to think outside your own backyard and remember isolated sellers have problems with broad buyer access and the extra hassle for you can swing a good deal overall.
As an owner of an Old shape 2011 Dmax 120000ks , I wouldn't take as gospel their bulletproof reliability. Sure the engine seems good but it's the rest of it I worry about. Build quality seems lacking and there are a lot of squeaks, rattles and clunks where there shouldn't be. Plastic and weak interior falling apart, electric problems ie windows, and consumables like brakes, shockies and springs, belts etc seems to be a bit weak.
Off-road I am constantly worrying if it is going to break, it just doesn't feel strong when giving it some and have to really it give it to it to go anywhere. My Other 4wd is a GU patrol and its solid and goes everywhere with ease its probably not fair to compare the 2 side by side off-road.
When time comes for another dual cab I will be looking at others.
It is good on fuel and as a daily runabout it's good enough.
BUT
Worst car I have ever owned
I agree, I had an MN Triton, easily the worst, gutless, most uncomfortable car I have ever owned. There was a reason why Mitsubishi were almost giving them away. Buy a Ranger, a mate has one (XLS) & its awesome.
I had an MN Triton and towed a 1 ton trade trailer daily, motorbike trailer on weekends and call trailer the other times. It wasn't 4wd though but did everything pretty well. I hated the engine though, that dead spot off of idle or when putting the foot down was dangerous but you learned to drive around it most of the time. I was past 110,000 km when she caught fire and went to the wreckers in the sky. Had to have the loom replaced under warranty and a few little things.
Now have a 2015 Dmax 4wd from new. Hands down heaps better car. Not finished as nice as my mitsy but the mitsy was to of the range and Dmax just the SX. I'm towing an Expanda now and it does it well but the average fuel used goes from 8's to around 14 litres/100 km. The only recurring problem on dmax forums is the new shape doing cv's. I don't do serious 4wding so I hope to be all right. About 12 grand cheaper than the ranger too
Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
hi
like most said get dmax i bought 2012 new put 100,00 km on it never put spanner on it apart servicing
great 4wd give hilux run for money strong motor easy get parts 8) 8)
happy easter
whats this site come too if you don't like what some one has said , send them private email
don't go running mods like little kid grow up i been member on here long time , most people on here for fun and friendly advice
its good site lets not reck it sling off at each other 8)
Hi All. Quick update. No purchase yet but have my eye on a nice DMax...2009 LSU with 84k. Can get for possibly 20k. I do find the Ranger drives MUCH better though...but I am looking at another 5 or so k for a decent Ranger. Is the Ranger that much more refined than the DMax? Seemed to be to me
Having driven all the utes mentioned at work, except the new Hilux, I find the Ranger is the most refined and car like to drive. Reliability seems about the same across the board. I cannot say anything about long term reliability or living with them long term, as we flip them every 3 years.
Looking in the private car park at work, the Ranger is by far the most popular ute.
Thanks all. I saw a cracker of a Ranger yesterday so put a deposit on her. Should pick her up Wednesday
tell us about the ranger? im a member of newranger.net so can certainly point u in the direction of must dos and look fors. dont forget the annual ranger meetup is on may 5-7 2017 at horseshoe bend victoria. cheers
Thanks all. I saw a cracker of a Ranger yesterday so put a deposit on her. Should pick her up Wednesday
Congratulations!
I've been following this with interest, not that I'm in the market for a vehicle but a friend of mine purchased a Dmax 18 months ago & I was looking for issues she should be aware of as she does a lot of camper trailering around Oz.
I do wonder if these dual cab motors will still be spinning around with high k's on them.
My '97 2.5 litre tdi Disco1 has 420,000+ klm & my '93 'cruiser 1hz 300,000+ & both original (1hz has after market turbo)
It's a 2010 XLT. White, 109k. ARB bullbar, ARB canopy, Snorkel, Roof Console. Very tidy condition throughout. More kms than I was initially hoping for but easily the best I'd seen in my budget.
Only thing I'm concerned about which i have read is the early tining belt failure (this will be due in 10k) and the egr issues with overheating
Is the a pj or px?
PK
Ok cool! You're most welcome to join us at the ranger meetup
Few piccys...im not numberplate precious but as i dont own the vehicle yet I blanked it out(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170423/8131f765432defa34fe96f6579030ab2.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170423/5e8be798a8938ec210069cde5bb24d76.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170423/8c7481c18124dde8906e812cc009562a.jpg)
Ok cool! You're most welcome to join us at the ranger meetup
Be a good drive all the way from WA! !
many members in wa. form a convoy!
pick me up on way out perth i be like dog busy wag my tail ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Great find there mate. We have one and it's been bulletproof for 3 years. Get the timing belt done asap. They commonly go before 120k that the book says. They aren't that expensive as they are easy to access. Otherwise a great ute. Auto or Man?
Manual mate. Have you done anything with the egr or cooling system?
Nothing really. Cleaned the sensor in the egr once. Only other advice I'd give is be careful towing in 5th. We have a 1.6t camper we tow and had no issues but I'm straight out of 5th the first sign of loading up the drive train with a hill etc. Done a heap of 4wding and towing. All good. We are just running 15in Sunraysia style steelies with 31in tyres. Standard suspension with airbags. I would upgrade the rear springs rather than airbags if I did it again.
Just as a btw
Anyone interested in new over secondhand
Be has a good deal on right now
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170506/a74b2d78066a077ab6a7c6cb42e6b56a.jpg)
With free 8 speed auto
Only thing I'm concerned about which i have read is the early tining belt failure (this will be due in 10k) and the egr issues with overheating
others things to worry about aswell, my mates old man just had a new short motor put in under warranty, did a main bearing in it...not uncommon from reports starting to come out now.
I wonder if that's related to the oil change problem and somewhere along the line there's no oil pressure for a short time until it's noticed and looked into and addressed? You could easily imagine a few mech shops early on not wanting to tell the owner about it if it happened when they were servicing it but eventually the problem manifests itself like that premature main bearing failure.
he's got no idea what went wrong....he was saying just last night he has a mate with the exact same vehicle that's been doing the same travels he has (grey nomad towing a van all over Australia) had no problems at all....it's all pot luck I guess.