General => General Discussion => Topic started by: timmyh80 on February 02, 2017, 10:30:19 PM

Title: Calling an Ambulance to bush location
Post by: timmyh80 on February 02, 2017, 10:30:19 PM
Just some thoughts and reflections on an experience today.

If you need to call an ambulance to a remote location, make sure you know the GPS location you are in.

We were up at the Pinnacles fire tower today when a member of our group had a fall. The lady who answered the phone did not comprehend there really wasn't a "closest town", there was no "street adress", even her attempt of "where does your mail get delivered to" didn't help her find us.

When she finally did work it out with GPS location, still wanted to send a normal Ambulance to site. Did not seem to understand that it is not that simple in the high country.

The supervisor that took over call listened and understood a lot better and dispatched an Helimed.

Don't be afraid to push for what you need if you ever have the unfortunate experience and need to call for help.

All is ok with our injured party member. Taken to hospital to get checked out though.

Sent from my SM-G360G using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Calling an Ambulance to bush location
Post by: BaseCamp on February 02, 2017, 10:37:27 PM
While we are on this topic...   someone once told me that in an emergency -  there is a number you can dial from your mobile - (when there is no cell coverage) ... that may hook you up to a satellite? - is that right?  ... and what is that emergency number. ....  thx

Post by: cassgazz on February 02, 2017, 10:40:57 PM
I believe that the number is 112. It is meant to work even when there is no mobile phone reception.
Post by: BaseCamp on February 02, 2017, 10:48:00 PM
Ok thanks for the info....

Post by: GrantR on February 02, 2017, 10:56:33 PM
You still need some mobile reception, just might not be your service provider. E.g an Optus customer without coverage will connect via a telstra tower. You won't be able to start communicating via sat from a cell phone
Post by: tashem on February 02, 2017, 11:38:44 PM
There is an app (of course)  called emergency+ that let's you get your GPS location for this very occasion..  It does other stuff as well but it's promoted for the GPS feature. It's available in Google play store and I imagine also in apple  .. It's a white plus sign on red background
Post by: timmyh80 on February 03, 2017, 12:23:42 AM
There is also an app called latitude longitude that will give you the information you need.

The important thing is knowing how to get it, and more than one person in a group needs to know.

You can dial 000 from any mobile even if it has no sim card and it will work. My son did it the other day from an old phone we allowed him to use to play games on.

Post by: GeoffA on February 03, 2017, 05:20:59 AM
There is an app (of course)  called emergency+ that let's you get your GPS location for this very occasion..  It does other stuff as well but it's promoted for the GPS feature. It's available in Google play store and I imagine also in apple  .. It's a white plus sign on red background

Thanks tash. It looks very handy.
Post by: macca on February 03, 2017, 05:48:22 AM
Pressing and holding a finger on your location in google maps will give you your lat and long position

Post by: oldmate on February 03, 2017, 06:03:22 AM
Pressing and holding a finger on your location in google maps will give you your lat and long position

Handy too know. But also you can get it from your hema or hema app

Post by: timmyh80 on February 03, 2017, 06:52:13 AM

Thanks Macca. I thought that there would have to be a way of getting it from Google maps, just couldn't work it out in the bush yesterday.

Post by: Daawl01 on February 03, 2017, 07:04:13 AM

My vote goes for the emergency+ App & yes available in iTunes.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170202/bb232e6cfef8ad6d8fab2ae837b097db.jpg)

What the app looks on the inside. If it can give you a street address it will, otherwise just lat long.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170202/5bf0fdc70f29bc523e2f2b08f32d8408.jpg)

Post by: doc evil on February 03, 2017, 07:11:50 AM
also another unknown bit of information, in rural areas, the property number is the distance from the start of that road.

eg, 11476 lostmyshoes road is 11476 meters for the start of that road.

Well I do know that it is implemented in WA, dunno about other states
Post by: Daawl01 on February 03, 2017, 07:17:17 AM
also another unknown bit of information, in rural areas, the property number is the distance from the start of that road.

Unfortunately here in NSW it was up to councils to implement, most have, some haven't, also it is used/measures a little differently here.
For example 9L is 900meters on the left, 97L is 9.7km on the left

Post by: KingBilly on February 03, 2017, 07:35:55 AM

Same in Qld

Post by: Paddler Ed on February 03, 2017, 08:05:34 AM
Website I found over on expedition portal called findmesar.com works nicely, no need for an app, just runs online (fine with a connection...) scroll through the coordinates' options to get lat and long.
Post by: achjimmy on February 03, 2017, 08:09:35 AM
Website I found over on expedition portal called findmesar.com works nicely, no need for an app, just runs online (fine with a connection...) scroll through the coordinates' options to get lat and long.

Probs with that is it requires data. The emergency app above uses phones gps for location then calls through what ever reception is available Telstra, vodka or Optus. About the best you'll get through the cell network.
Post by: LC on February 03, 2017, 08:10:33 AM
The other option if you regularly go places with limited or no mobile reception is a PLB (epirb) or one of the many variants. Less than $300 - activate it and help comes to you. Works almost anywhere in the world.
Post by: #jonesy on February 03, 2017, 08:46:53 AM

Vic is every 10 metres. So number 220 is 2200 metres or 2.2 km from east to west and from south to north. Google maps isn't too accurate giving the rural address. My parents are at 220 and google shows they owns the first 2.2 km. Even though there are at least other properties (without houses)

Even with the street numbering my old man bitches and moans about it. Any emergency service will come from the west so he thinks they will have to drive past his house to get to the start of the road and then come back again, the first part is almost a goat track.
Post by: WilSurf on February 03, 2017, 10:45:23 AM
A few years ago a group of our 4wd club went to Israelite Bay.
One of them was bitten by a snake and the emergency was called in by Satphone.
Even though the SES supposed to be in the known of bush emergencies, the lady had no idea where Israelite Bay in NSW was.
That's correct, it is in WA as told by our club.
She was the same: postcode, address etc.
No idea that there is anything outside the city it seemed.
It took a long time before they arranged for an ambulance to go that way.
Mind you: a normal ambo. And you guessed it, it was bogged.
So the patient was loaded in the car and raced over the tracks towards Esperance.
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 03, 2017, 11:32:50 AM
You still need some mobile reception, just might not be your service provider. E.g an Optus customer without coverage will connect via a telstra tower. You won't be able to start communicating via sat from a cell phone

This is important to remember. Many people are still under the impression that if you have no reception, your phone will communicate via satellite, when using 112. It doesn't, as Grant stated, you still need to have reception from at least one provider, and your phone will use roaming to connect to whichever provider has service in the area. If there is no phone coverage at all, you won't be able to call, or use the emergency app for that matter.

It's worth having a look at this page for info: http://www.triplezero.gov.au/Pages/Usingotheremergencynumbers.aspx (http://www.triplezero.gov.au/Pages/Usingotheremergencynumbers.aspx)
Post by: Titfish on February 03, 2017, 11:39:20 AM
I think I mght have seen this somewhere on here before. I can't remember who posted it or if, indeed I first saw it somewhere else. Have a look. I thought it was an interesting concept and may be of use in these type of situations
http://what3words.com (http://what3words.com)

Ken
Post by: macca on February 03, 2017, 11:45:15 AM
The other option if you regularly go places with limited or no mobile reception is a PLB (epirb) or one of the many variants. Less than $300 - activate it and help comes to you. Works almost anywhere in the world.
Just remember tho, that activating a PLB instigates a full AMSAR (or whatever they call themselves now) emergency in Canberra and from my experience  in my old yachtie days they get a bit upset if its not a "life in eminent  danger" emergency. Not saying that the OP's situation wasnt

Title: Calling an Ambulance to bush location
Post by: Pete79 on February 03, 2017, 11:49:21 AM
Vic is every 10 metres. So number 220 is 2200 metres or 2.2 km from east to west and from south to north. Google maps isn't too accurate giving the rural address. My parents are at 220 and google shows they owns the first 2.2 km. Even though there are at least other properties (without houses)

Even with the street numbering my old man bitches and moans about it. Any emergency service will come from the west so he thinks they will have to drive past his house to get to the start of the road and then come back again, the first part is almost a goat track.

My understanding is that this is a national standard. Our place in QLD is number 99 and the driveway is exactly 990m from the start of the road.
If NSW councils are choosing not to follow this standard, then it's just another example of their arrogance....  :-*

Even though the SES supposed to be in the known of bush emergencies, the lady had no idea where Israelite Bay in NSW was.
So the patient was loaded in the car and raced over the tracks towards Esperance.

I had written a very similar story, but deleted it.
On a 4wding trip we had come across a vehicle that had left the road and rolled a good 100m or more down a very steep paddock. A motorbike rider was first at the scene and had called the ambos. The road was a loop circuit, started as a well formed gravel road from the east before turning into a proper 4wd track further west, then linking back onto the main road. The exact location was given (which was on the normal road), but the ambos insisted they had to come from the west and their 4wd vehicle wasn't available.

And another was at work many years ago, we had someone squashed by a (slow moving) locomotive, the ambulance station was about 5km away from the incident, the call center was 100km away and the operator dispatched an ambulance to a location with a similar name, only it was 200km in the wrong direction. The person was removed from the scene by his work mates and taken to the ambulance station in the back of a work ute.

If it's not a house in a well signed street call center operators often struggle.
Usually the local emergency services know the rural areas and how to get there, it's the centralized call centers in metro areas staffed by numpties that cause the problems.
Post by: EagleBoy on February 03, 2017, 12:02:52 PM
My understanding is that this is a national standard. Our place in QLD is number 99 and the driveway is exactly 990m from the start of the road.
If NSW councils are choosing not to follow this standard, then it's just another example of their arrogance....  :-*

I'm in NSW and it is the same, I am number 70 and 700m down the road.
Post by: BaseCamp on February 03, 2017, 01:42:39 PM
Regarding emergency call centres going pear-shaped... I had a police incident at my home 2 years ago in inner Brisbane, (a Break & Enter) -

Called 000 from my mobile, quoted my home address - which was 168 xxxx Rd...   and after an agonizing wait and a cop no show, I get a call from the police...??    "Where are you"??         >:D

The police were at my business at 147 xxx Rd - (same road, same suburb)... ???

The mobile phone was registered to my business at 147 xxx road - and the dispatcher took it upon themselves to send the police to that (very similar sounding but wrong) address...

I had no landline at home, so had to use a mobile - plus just through the broken louvers at the front stairs; could be seen a bloodbath - where the crim had gashed himself - trying to gain entry..

:police:
Post by: Pete79 on February 03, 2017, 02:21:59 PM
And on the variety of apps available.
I use EWN a lot for weather events, but they also have good help functions.
You can register contact details for 2 people (family or friends) that might be able to help in a emergency. It's just a click of a button and the app sends them your location by text and/or email.

The app also has your location and direct numbers for SES or Police. It shows your location on the screen while you call the emergency services so you can give your position.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170203/a9d1badfecc59665cd31d1df89b5b2ce.png)
Post by: two up on February 03, 2017, 03:19:00 PM
My vote goes for the emergency+ App & yes available in iTunes.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170202/bb232e6cfef8ad6d8fab2ae837b097db.jpg)

What the app looks on the inside. If it can give you a street address it will, otherwise just lat long.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170202/5bf0fdc70f29bc523e2f2b08f32d8408.jpg)

This app also sends the data that you see on the screen to the emergency services in nsw, eg lat and long as well as address. You will be asked to confirm the info to help weed aout false calls.
Post by: briann532 on February 03, 2017, 06:40:11 PM
Just wondering if you have no phone service, how does the app work?
Does it run off GPS or does it only work with service?

I'm heading to our property on the weekend for some camping (and working - damn tree across the track >:()
I'll head down to the river and give it a go.

We also always keep an EPIRB handy just in case. Cheap insurance.

(Anyone want to come chop a tree up??? >:D)
Cheers all
Post by: Patr80l on February 03, 2017, 06:43:08 PM
I believe that the number is 112. It is meant to work even when there is no mobile phone reception.
How do these BS urban myths get started?   This misinformation is dangerous.
What is true...

It's been discussed on other threads here, but to labour a point: the cheapest "works anywhere" emergency communication system is a second hand Iridium sat phone ($6-800 on eBay) with a Telstra post-paid GSM SIM.   Emergency calls are free, other calls are expensive but there are no ongoing costs. A sat phone plan is not required.   

Post by: Isuzumu on February 03, 2017, 06:55:18 PM

Maybe this is where our HF radio is better in an emergency as we can get in contact  with RFDS on their emergency  frequency, which we are licensed  to have in our radios. If for some reason we can not contact them we can get one of our members to do it by contacting them on another frequency.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on February 03, 2017, 07:24:29 PM
Just purchased a 9505 Iridium phone, charger, 2 Li batteries, external vehicle antenna, and pelican case off Ebay.
$620.00.

There were others for less, obviously not as many extras, if any.
Also as per another thread, I believe the Telstra Mobile SIM will work in this phone.
Obviously not cheap Call costs, but if it gets help when needed, that's what its for.
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 03, 2017, 07:48:38 PM
Just wondering if you have no phone service, how does the app work?
Does it run off GPS or does it only work with service?

I'm heading to our property on the weekend for some camping (and working - damn tree across the track >:()
I'll head down to the river and give it a go.

We also always keep an EPIRB handy just in case. Cheap insurance.

(Anyone want to come chop a tree up??? >:D)
Cheers all

If you have no phone service from any provider, it won't work. If a provider other than yours has service, auto roaming will allow your phone to contact the emergency number. The GPS part of it will work irrespective of you having service, because it uses your phone's GPS receiver to get information, it just can't do anything with it ie can't relay the information.
Post by: Patr80l on February 03, 2017, 07:50:09 PM
Just purchased a 9505 Iridium phone, charger, 2 Li batteries, external vehicle antenna, and pelican case off Ebay.
$620.00.

There were others for less, obviously not as many extras, if any.
Also as per another thread, I believe the Telstra Mobile SIM will work in this phone.
Obviously not cheap Call costs, but if it gets help when needed, that's what its for.

Yep, Telstra post paid with International Roaming activated.   Calls are $2 per 30sec both incoming and outgoing.   (That might be a trap as your call to 000 is free but if the emergency services call you back its $4/min.).   

You will also need to get an adapter so your mobile's nano SIM will fit into the SIM slot on the Iridium.   ($1 on eBay or $10 at a shopping centre kiosk).
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4-In-1-Pack-Nano-To-Micro-Standard-SIM-Card-Adapter-For-Samsung-HTC-LG-iPhone-/172220107012?hash=item28191e4904:g:ufAAAOSwZVlXmLrM (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4-In-1-Pack-Nano-To-Micro-Standard-SIM-Card-Adapter-For-Samsung-HTC-LG-iPhone-/172220107012?hash=item28191e4904:g:ufAAAOSwZVlXmLrM)
Post by: WilSurf on February 03, 2017, 07:59:01 PM
I am still working on it to get a HF radio.

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on February 12, 2017, 10:11:30 AM
Have found an Oct. 2013 Document from Telstra.

Explaining charges and use of the Iridium phones.

https://www.telstra.com.au/content/dam/tcom/personal/mobile-phones/pdf/mobilesat.pdf (https://www.telstra.com.au/content/dam/tcom/personal/mobile-phones/pdf/mobilesat.pdf)

It also states that a GSM phone SIM card with International Roaming activated will work in the Iridium phones.
With the phone service you can get calling No. display.  Although some phones 9500 & 9505 Do not support this feature.

Hope this helps.
Post by: GBC on February 12, 2017, 12:11:40 PM
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/road-id/id569352341

Another app for the safety conscious types.

Often our personal info is hidden behind a pin number in our phones. This app was created originally for cyclists who traditionally don't carry wallets with I.D., but is useful for anybody. You create a Lock screen photo with blood types, emergency contacts etc so that any first responder can get your emergency particulars when they hit any button.
It also has gps crumb trailing, alert when immobile, time before alerting others settings etc that can be set depending on how dodgy the activity is that you are up to.
Post by: Patr80l on February 12, 2017, 06:49:56 PM
Have found an Oct. 2013 Document from Telstra.

Explaining charges and use of the Iridium phones.

https://www.telstra.com.au/content/dam/tcom/personal/mobile-phones/pdf/mobilesat.pdf (https://www.telstra.com.au/content/dam/tcom/personal/mobile-phones/pdf/mobilesat.pdf)

It also states that a GSM phone SIM card with International Roaming activated will work in the Iridium phones.
With the phone service you can get calling No. display.  Although some phones 9500 & 9505 Do not support this feature.

Hope this helps.

That document is still current, with respect to call costs for GSM in TMS.

...and you can ignore Section 7.7 which says you can only use the "GSM in TMS" service within the areas covered by the GSM network.  I think thats only put there for licensing/ACMA reasons.   It works anywhere.   I've used mine within and outside of areas covered by the GSM network.  It would be kinda pointless switching the GSM SIM into the Iridium if it only worked in areas with GSM reception.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on February 12, 2017, 07:10:17 PM
That document is still current, with respect to call costs for GSM in TMS.

It works anywhere.   I've used mine within and outside of areas covered by the GSM network.  It would be kinda pointless switching the GSM SIM into the Iridium if it only worked in areas with GSM reception.

If it only worked in a GSM area, it seems you wouldn't need the Sat Phone.
As you say Patr80l kinda pointless.
Cost is definitely not as low as a GSM Mobile phone, $2.00 per 30 Sec. for use of a Sattelite both to and from, makes it almost a last resort.
Post by: Patr80l on February 13, 2017, 04:48:36 PM
Cost is definitely not as low as a GSM Mobile phone, $2.00 per 30 Sec. for use of a Sattelite both to and from, makes it almost a last resort.
Yep, it's expensive but for emergencies and maybe a couple of calls on a once a year trip it's still much cheaper than a 24 month plan.
Post by: GeoffA on February 13, 2017, 05:01:38 PM

Rob, in an emergency do we really care about a few $$ for a phone call?

You wouldn't use them for chatting about the weather or the latest episode of Home and Away......

:cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on February 13, 2017, 05:45:14 PM
Course not.
Post by: macca on February 13, 2017, 06:33:30 PM

You wouldn't use them for chatting about the weather or the latest episode of Home and Away......

:cheers: :cheers:

My missus would😋

Post by: Jillsy on February 13, 2017, 10:22:56 PM
Folks,

Just thought I would add my 2 cents in here as I am one of the "numpties" (as you nicely put it) that work in an Operations Centre for the Ambulance Service - I will have been there 10 years in July.

Yes, if you are in a remote location, knowing your GPS coordinates BEFORE ringing 000 is very helpful.  Not only are they handy for the "road" ambulance but are also great for us to pass onto the rescue helicopter (aka Air Ambulance or MediVac etc).  GPS coordinates are not always required though.  If you are on a gazetted road and know a nearby Rural Property Number or Creek Crossing etc this information will allow us to find you as well.

Unfortunately we have to answer EVERY call with "Ambulance, what is the town or suburb of the emergency?" which I know sounds as handy as "bits" on a bull when you are in the middle of nowhere. After that question is asked, just clearly state that you are not in a town or suburb but that you are in the locality of "The Pinnacles" (or wherever you are) and that you travelled on such and such road/track to get there.  Advise them you also have your GPS coordinates ready to give them as well.  If you are somewhere that requires a 4WD, tell them that during the call. 

Not everyone has travelled, worked or lived outside of Metro areas and so therefore some people have very little understanding of what lies beyond the concrete they are surrounded by. During their training they are instructed on call scenarios for various locations.  Like in all jobs though -  some people are fantastic at it, others not so fantastic.  If you do experience some challenges when conveying information to an emergency service, please don't be afraid to provide feedback via the designated means (you can usually do it via the website) so that extra training can be given to that staff member (or so they can be performance managed i.e get spoken to by a Supervisor etc). 

Couldn't agree more that you need to "push for what you need".  After all, you are the one that is on scene and therefore has a clear picture of what has happened.  Just don't forget to remain calm and answer all of the questions the EMD (Emergency Medical Dispatcher) has for you so that he/she can get a glimpse of that picture (as all he/she has to go on is the information you are providing) and then dispatch the most appropriate resource/resources to you.

Not all delays in an emergency service finding a scene are the fault of the emergency service responding. If you do live "out of town" and have a rural property number, make sure that the number (and the peg it's on) isn't obscured by long grass or shrubs etc.  Keep the area around it maintained. Even if you live "in town" make sure your house number is clearly visible and maintained ie no numbers have peeled off etc.  Use the gazetted name for your road, not the "local" name.  If you call at night, turn on every light you have in the place to make it clearly visible to the officer/s in the vehicle driving as fast as they can to render assistance.  If your residence isn't visible from the road, tell the Operator that.  If your driveway is steep, tell the operator that.  If they have to go through three gates, over 2 cattle grids and then take the right fork in the road, tell the operator that.  Paint the picture for them as all they have to go on is the information you tell them.  They don't have a crystal ball and they aren't mind readers, nor have they travelled every single road in this great country of ours.  Even if you know your local Paramedics, Police Officers, Firies etc, it may not be them that are sent to you as, after all, they get annual leave/sick leave/family leave too and someone not normally from that area might be filling in for them.

The below app is the one recommended by all Emergency Services (Police, Fire, Ambulance and SES) across Australia.

I am happy to answer any questions anyone has regarding calling for an Ambulance.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on February 13, 2017, 11:28:06 PM
Thanks JILLSY, you would have to be one of the more enlightened ones.
10 yrs., you only get 5 for murder nowadays!

Cheers,  :cup:
Post by: macca on February 14, 2017, 05:59:12 AM
Great write up Jillsy, I imagine it would be a very difficult job at times trying to decipher information from someone that is panicking.  I had a situation a few years ago where one of the young blokes working for me tried to end it all by jumping in front of a train and i was on the phone to 000 for forty minutes, the job they did was amazing not only keeping me calm but offering life saving advice. You guys do a great job under difficult circumstances

Post by: Jillsy on February 14, 2017, 06:29:29 AM
Thanks JILLSY, you would have to be one of the more enlightened ones.
10 yrs., you only get 5 for murder nowadays!

Cheers,  :cup:

I am lucky that I was raised on a cattle station in far SWQLD (Nappa Merrie Station which is on Coopers Creek) and so already have knowledge of the difficulties encountered when accessing remote areas.
Post by: Jillsy on February 14, 2017, 06:41:28 AM
Great write up Jillsy, I imagine it would be a very difficult job at times trying to decipher information from someone that is panicking.  I had a situation a few years ago where one of the young blokes working for me tried to end it all by jumping in front of a train and i was on the phone to 000 for forty minutes, the job they did was amazing not only keeping me calm but offering life saving advice. You guys do a great job under difficult circumstances

Thank Macca.

In a shift (12 hours) the calls I answer are many and varied. Everyone's definition of an emergency is different. Different people react in different ways too - whether they be the patient, the caller or a bystander.

Our biggest challenge is "tourists" who don't know where they are but still expect us to be able to find them ASAP. Another is people who think that us "asking all these questions" is delaying the ambulance - most don't understand that there are two different roles in the Operations Centre - the Call Taker (who obviously takes the calls) and the Dispatcher (who sends the Ambulance) so the Ambulance is generally getting sorted within 90 seconds of you calling for help.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on February 14, 2017, 06:58:53 AM
Hi All, I have been doing full first aid courses now for years and the same stuff is said 112 will work anywhere, My question is why are they still saying this, if it does not, I carry my boat EPirb in my 4wd when away on trips up north or anywhere I have it registered to my 5m tinny and my 4wd, Craig
Post by: doc evil on February 14, 2017, 07:23:48 AM
No 2 son was camped up on the Murray watching the southern 80 on the weekend. Unfortunately, he was first on scene to the fatal boat roll. His partner called the emergency services and apparently this part of the river is a well known camp spot, which is all that was required however (she still told them exactly where), it still took 40 odd min for the emergency personnel to arrive.
As a side note, my boy was in army cadets for many years and his training came to the fore but as sad as it is, his injuries were just too severe.  :'( :'(
Post by: Spada on February 14, 2017, 08:06:51 AM

The below app is the one recommended by all Emergency Services (Police, Fire, Ambulance and SES) across Australia.

Thanks for the insight Jillsy.

As I'm doing a 3500km ride this week-end, I got all conscientious and loaded the app as a back-up to the SPOT Tracker that I usually have with me. Turns out it thinks I'm at a location 5.3 km from where I actually am ???

Maybe I need to reset my phone ?
Post by: Tim - Stratford on February 14, 2017, 08:41:08 AM
The Southern 80 was a tragic event but it highlights response times even in Victoria. There are plenty of spots around my patch that police/ambos/firies can be 3hrs+ if air assets can't get there due to weather etc.

Tim
Post by: Pete79 on February 14, 2017, 08:43:21 AM
Folks,

Just thought I would add my 2 cents in here as I am one of the "numpties" (as you nicely put it) that work in an Operations Centre for the Ambulance Service - I will have been there 10 years in July.

Great write up there Jillsy. Apologies if my words offended.

Fortunately I have only needed to call 000 on three occasions (2 for ambos, 1 for police), unfortunately all three of those occasions where answered by operators that where very polite and trying to be helpful, but clearly had no idea.

The worst one was the police.

Now I have been an active member of surf life saving for over 20 years. I've competed in countless rescue competitions and almost as many drills and practice mass rescues. I would hope that my communication skills had been somewhat refined in all of those years.
But I have to be honest and say I did give up trying to explain to the operator were the people where that had abandoned their car on the highway. I guessing the police eventually found them about 2km south of were they where searching. But after about 45minutes of clearly describing the area, naming side roads and creeks as I crossed them, I did give up.
Post by: macca on February 14, 2017, 09:52:06 AM
Thank Macca.

In a shift (12 hours) the calls I answer are many and varied. Everyone's definition of an emergency is different. Different people react in different ways too - whether they be the patient, the caller or a bystander.

Our biggest challenge is "tourists" who don't know where they are but still expect us to be able to find them ASAP. Another is people who think that us "asking all these questions" is delaying the ambulance - most don't understand that there are two different roles in the Operations Centre - the Call Taker (who obviously takes the calls) and the Dispatcher (who sends the Ambulance) so the Ambulance is generally getting sorted within 90 seconds of you calling for help.
Yeah, as this guy was running on and off the train lines and on the move it took quite a while for the coppers to catch up with us but as i found out 000 had dispatched three police cars, two ambulance and had stopped the trains running (during peak hour too) all while talking to me on the phone. Never forget the operators words as we were standing less than six inches from a couple of trains wizzing by " .. if he's going to do it dont let him take you with him"

Post by: Bird on February 14, 2017, 09:54:19 AM
Quote from: macca
if he's going to do it dont let him take you with him"

http://www.phespirit.info/derekandclive/live_13.htm (http://www.phespirit.info/derekandclive/live_13.htm)  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Jillsy on February 14, 2017, 10:31:17 AM
it still took 40 odd min for the emergency personnel to arrive.

Whilst this is unfortunate, the delay in arriving on scene may not be the fault of the emergency personnel.  For example, let's say there is a vehicle rollover 15km West of Barcaldine (Western QLD) on the Landsborough Highway and the ambulance is dispatched and has arrived on scene and is dealing with a critical patient.  Meanwhile, another 000 is received for someone who is on a station 25km East of Barcaldine and has a compound fracture to the the leg and broken collar bone after falling off a horse.  The dilemma here is that, due to government funding & statistics etc there is only one Ambulance officer on shift at any one time at some of the regional stations and so if the "local Ambo" is on a job and can't leave their current patient, the next closest Ambulance is dispatched.  The next closest in this instance would be Aramac and that is still at 92km away from the scene.

I'm not saying that this is what happened with the boating incident, I am just saying that it's possible the "local crew" were already on an emergency in the opposite direction...
Post by: Jillsy on February 14, 2017, 10:35:19 AM
Turns out it thinks I'm at a location 5.3 km from where I actually am ???

Maybe I need to reset my phone ?

Try re-calibrating the GPS function on your phone...
Post by: Jillsy on February 14, 2017, 10:37:39 AM
Great write up there Jillsy. Apologies if my words offended.

Fortunately I have only needed to call 000 on three occasions (2 for ambos, 1 for police), unfortunately all three of those occasions where answered by operators that where very polite and trying to be helpful, but clearly had no idea.

This is why it is SO important to follow up after the event and report any difficulties you experienced so that these people can receive additional training or performance management. 
Post by: macca on February 14, 2017, 10:38:12 AM
http://www.phespirit.info/derekandclive/live_13.htm (http://www.phespirit.info/derekandclive/live_13.htm)  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Did say it was a few years ago, you know, when your still young enough to think you can save the world. I am a bit more callous these days, you must be rubbing off on me 😉

Post by: Bird on February 14, 2017, 11:06:06 AM
Quote from: macca
Did say it was a few years ago, you know, when your still young enough to think you can save the world. I am a bit more callous these days, you must be rubbing off on me 😉
Love my Derek and Clive :D
Post by: Patr80l on February 14, 2017, 01:42:43 PM
I deleted the Emergency App after a couple of embarrassing pocket dials.    :-[
Post by: McGirr on February 14, 2017, 02:49:34 PM
The app works well.

Post by: Spada on February 14, 2017, 03:21:25 PM
Try re-calibrating the GPS function on your phone...

just another example of why they shoulnt give smart phones to dumb bastards...............

Done as suggested, and works a treat now.

hangs head in shame and retreats to corner :-[
Post by: Jillsy on February 14, 2017, 03:28:58 PM
just another example of why they shoulnt give smart phones to dumb bastards...............

Done as suggested, and works a treat now.

hangs head in shame and retreats to corner :-[

Glad it works and glad you tested it in a non-emergency situation - maybe it's a good lesson for everyone else to do the same  ;D
Post by: Rocky and Bullwinkle on February 14, 2017, 05:22:24 PM
Hi All, I have been doing full first aid courses now for years and the same stuff is said 112 will work anywhere, My question is why are they still saying this, if it does not, I carry my boat EPirb in my 4wd when away on trips up north or anywhere I have it registered to my 5m tinny and my 4wd, Craig

I live in the high country in Victoria  with Telstra as my provider lots of dead spots for reception even on main roads so 112 won't work if you have no phone reception. If you are in a remote spot they need as much information as possible, the first thing the Amb crew will do is look at the map to work out where you are, then do they need a 4WD will it be a wilderness response do they need to get suitably qualified paramedics because it might be a walk in can we get HEMS is it day or night. Will they need to liaise will Police do they need VicPol SAR and SES. It all takes time. Forget your 15 min response. Some of these jobs can take up to 12 hours plus from start to finish.

Post by: timmyh80 on February 16, 2017, 07:10:22 AM
Thanks Jillsy for your insights. We all have to remember the people who answer the phone are actually trying to help us. Every bit of information we can give them helps them to do it better.

And we need to remain calm! Hard to do in an emergency situation but we need to try.

We should be thankful for people like Jillsy who take our calls. They must hear of horrific instances day after day. They do play an important role in getting help to us in times of need.

While we don't need to for a H&S committee and develop a risk assessment for everything we plan to undertake, it is good to be generally prepared. 1st aid kit/ training, details of trip left with someone at home, recovery gear, knowing weather forcast, extra water/ food, emergency comms, and, after this trip, how to find GPS location quickly are things on my list.

Post by: jr on February 18, 2017, 07:32:29 AM
If in remote location,If you can get the person back to a main road or somewhere help can get there
Tell services where your headed, likely you will get a long way back to hospital before the ambulence meets you
Remote areas dont have much resorces. Youre likely to be waiting a long time. Consider this when planning or undertaking more remote travel or risky activities.
Post by: Jillsy on February 18, 2017, 11:02:59 AM
If in remote location,If you can get the person back to a main road or somewhere help can get there
Tell services where your headed, likely you will get a long way back to hospital before the ambulence meets you.

Absolutely. However, please don't move the patient if doing so will exacerbate their injuries. For example - if someone has the potential to have spinal injuries, moving them could cause irreversible and life altering damage.
Post by: Paddler Ed on February 19, 2017, 06:44:41 AM
The app works well.

Best of all its available for Windows Phone as well... Which is better than the NSW gov't can manage with some of their apps..
Post by: jr on February 19, 2017, 02:57:32 PM
Absolutely. However, please don't move the patient if doing so will exacerbate their injuries. For example - if someone has the potential to have spinal injuries, moving them could cause irreversible and life altering damage.

For sure
Often wondered of the risk of moving someone  vs waiting say 12 hrs for help,
they arent going to stay still for much more than an hour or so.
Post by: Jillsy on February 19, 2017, 08:06:01 PM
For sure
Often wondered of the risk of moving someone  vs waiting say 12 hrs for help,
they arent going to stay still for much more than an hour or so.

Is definately a case by case thing, if in doubt...ask the Emergency Medical Dispatcher and they will put you through to someone who can offer advice regarding what would be best ie stay or go...
Post by: DeLuxHiLux on February 19, 2017, 09:47:29 PM
Is definately a case by case thing, if in doubt...ask the Emergency Medical Dispatcher and they will put you through to someone who can offer advice regarding what would be best ie stay or go...

I like how you call them by their MPDS name...... we always just called ourseles "calltakers", but then, i never did like AMPDS much