General => General Discussion => Topic started by: tracker on January 04, 2017, 03:22:41 AM

Title: RAIN IN MACKAY
Post by: tracker on January 04, 2017, 03:22:41 AM

According to BOM we have received aprox. 138mm since 9.00 am yesterday..... :cup:....but the poor cane growers are still whinging.. :'(

Cheers Tracker
Title: Re: RAIN IN MACKAY
Post by: ScarpsD40 on January 04, 2017, 05:41:41 AM

According to BOM we have received aprox. 138mm since 9.00 am yesterday..... :cup:....but the poor cane growers are still whinging.. :'(

Cheers Tracker
Good rain cleanses the soul, and tops up the reservoirs needed by the breweries to make beer and whisky
Post by: tracker on January 04, 2017, 07:31:19 AM
Good rain cleanses the soul, and tops up the reservoirs needed by the breweries to make beer and whisky

Couldn't agree more Scarps.........Rainfall is now....155mm

Post by: paceman on January 04, 2017, 07:33:29 AM

Cheers Tracker

As the son of one of those whinging cane farmers, all I can say is that you would be whinging too if you had to leave thousands of dollars of crop in the paddock.

Not all farmers whine about the rain.  Mine certainly doesn't.
Post by: Pete79 on January 04, 2017, 08:27:03 AM
Lol!
I grew up with a whole bunch of cane farmers sons.
Plant a crop on a flood plane, then complain when it goes under water....

It's too wet. :( It's too dry. :( It's too hot. :( It's too cold. :( Every season is terrible. :(
Still managed to buy brand new V8 cruisers, SS commodore utes and massive reef boats though.

I've been watching the radar in your area, and a bit further west. Looks like there's been some good falls up there. You can bet everyone up in Brownsville will be wishing you send some of that rain their way. Sounds like they're in a bit of strife with their water supply at the moment.
Post by: Bird on January 04, 2017, 08:44:38 AM
Quote from: tracker
...is now 155mm
Whachoo complaininbout... standard morning in Melbourne
Post by: paceman on January 04, 2017, 10:35:05 AM
Still managed to buy brand new V8 cruisers, SS commodore utes and massive reef boats though.

plenty that didn't/couldn't too...

the rain is very welcome at my place and plenty of farmer's properties around the district, i can assure you...

Post by: tracker on January 04, 2017, 11:28:38 AM
As the son of one of those whinging cane farmers, all I can say is that you would be whinging too if you had to leave thousands of dollars of crop in the paddock.

Not all farmers whine about the rain.  Mine certainly doesn't.

Paul Schembri is not a good speaker for the growers..... He is the aim of my rant.... He's a shocker.
Post by: paceman on January 04, 2017, 11:50:38 AM
   Paul Schembri is not a good speaker for the growers..... He is the aim of my rant.... He's a shocker.

no argument there...
Post by: Moggy on January 04, 2017, 12:14:47 PM
Thats interesting. I have no connection to the industry or the man himself but have found him to be an articulate communicator & thought his ire on the news last night was directed purely at the mills & having a brother who does work in one of them can confirm that the mills have not kept up required maintenance for a few years now, hence the growers disdain not necessarily the weather.

Post by: tracker on January 04, 2017, 01:47:14 PM
Thats interesting. I have no connection to the industry or the man himself but have found him to be an articulate communicator & thought his ire on the news last night was directed purely at the mills & having a brother who does work in one of them can confirm that the mills have not kept up required maintenance for a few years now, hence the growers disdain not necessarily the weather.

                 Did not indicate he wasn't an articulate speaker.....i never pinpointed the news report of which you  speak......i simply expressed my opinion that he was not a good speaker for the growers..... :-*
Post by: Moggy on January 04, 2017, 02:11:56 PM
                 Did not indicate he wasn't an articulate speaker.....i never pinpointed the news report of which you  speak......i simply expressed my opinion that he was not a good speaker for the growers..... :-*
Which sorta says you think he doesn't articulate the "growers" message.
You threw his name in there after quoting pacemans post about "whinging growers", so thought you may have been referring to him on last nights news 😉

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

Post by: tracker on January 04, 2017, 02:37:52 PM
Which sorta says you think he doesn't articulate the "growers" message.
You threw his name in there after quoting pacemans post about "whinging growers", so thought you may have been referring to him on last nights news 😉

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

No mate....never saw the news last night..... :'(
Post by: Moggy on March 27, 2017, 10:54:21 AM
Cyclone preparation Mackay style
1.secure loose items in yard.
2. Prepare evacuation kit.
3. Stock up on fuel for genny
4. Secure windward windows.
5. Stock up water & food
6. Check on neighbours.

7. Take a 6 pack up to the beach & watch this baby blow.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170327/55492ab7930cb393d3e38501bd900273.jpg)

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on March 27, 2017, 11:09:59 AM
looks interesting.
https://www.windytv.com/?-19.384,150.145,8 (https://www.windytv.com/?-19.384,150.145,8)
Post by: Bigfish on March 27, 2017, 11:31:07 AM
Mackays lucky.  They will just get a bit of wind and rain..Ayr to Proserpine are gunna take a belting.  Big looking bastard for sure.
Post by: Bigfish on March 27, 2017, 12:09:42 PM
mmmmm   Just had another look at the path.  Mackay might not be so lucky.  Hope your all prepared. Cat 4 can do some serious damage. Been through a few and I just hope people are not too complacent. Good luck to allin its path and stay safe.
Post by: tracker on March 27, 2017, 12:10:33 PM
Mackays lucky.  They will just get a bit of wind and rain..Ayr to Proserpine are gunna take a belting.  Big looking bastard for sure.

Wish i was as sure as you are........ Not looking real good.

Post by: Moggy on March 27, 2017, 12:25:55 PM
US naval website has it bearing towards cape hillsborough, if correct, we're in deep Shit
Post by: tracker on March 27, 2017, 01:18:54 PM
US naval website has it bearing towards cape hillsborough, if correct, we're in deep Shit

Might be a long night..... 
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 27, 2017, 01:20:40 PM
Good luck everyone
Post by: paceman on March 27, 2017, 02:07:45 PM

link?

last update i saw (7am this morning) was still up north-ish:

(http://www.usno.navy.mil/NOOC/nmfc-ph/RSS/jtwc/warnings/sh1317.gif)

next update due at 270900Z (7pm tonight)

have only seen cape hillsborough mentioned in the update as the southern extent of the very destructive core warning area...

latest tracking map has it crossing right over bowen, as at 2pm:

http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDQ65002.shtml (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDQ65002.shtml)
Post by: Moggy on March 27, 2017, 02:18:34 PM
Its more to do with with the "bearing" or movement was indicated at 250 deg which is more south-southwest
Post by: Bird on March 27, 2017, 02:19:31 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Good luck everyone

wat he said.
Post by: lincolnland on March 27, 2017, 02:21:04 PM
Stay safe y'all and batton down the hatches.
Post by: Symon on March 27, 2017, 02:35:11 PM

Looks like much the same path as Ului back in 2010.  If that is the case Mackay will get the rain, but be spared the really strong winds.
Post by: paceman on March 27, 2017, 02:39:24 PM
Looks like much the same path as Ului back in 2010.  If that is the case Mackay will get the rain, but be spared the really strong winds.

the latest BOM map has it slightly starting it's westerly movement track (at 1pm) towards the coast...

so, hopefully you are correct... :)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on March 27, 2017, 03:39:26 PM
Stay safe y'all and batton down the hatches.

Stay safe, from me too..
Post by: MattNQ on March 27, 2017, 03:56:27 PM
Good luck down there. Stay safe.

Looks like we will end up getting barely a stiff breeze up here
While the wind I can live without, the rain would have been good - we are now heading into a dry season with a dam at 18% capacity.
Post by: KingBilly on March 27, 2017, 04:10:32 PM
Stay safe everybody.  Been through a couple of cyclones and they are not fun.

Post by: Spada on March 27, 2017, 04:18:53 PM
I've seen the business end of a couple when I lived in FNQ............hope it crosses somewhere away from the towns.

No doubt we're about to be bombarded with TV reporters standing in the wind and rain........... to tell us it's windy and rainy  ???

as usual, when the authorities are advising everyone to leave town, the d.head tv stations will be flying all their Brisbane reporters into the areas being told to evacuate ??????

Post by: Bird on March 27, 2017, 04:46:42 PM
Quote from: Spada
No doubt we're about to be bombarded with TV reporters standing in the wind and rain........... to tell us it's windy and rainy  ???

as usual, when the authorities are advising everyone to leave town, the d.head tv stations will be flying all their Brisbane reporters into the areas being told to evacuate ??????
they started last night on tele "FIRST AT WHOGIVES A ****" style....
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 27, 2017, 04:57:55 PM

I always watch the reports, can sit through hours of it.
I want to be watching when a bolt of lightning zaps one of 'em
Post by: Bad Scott on March 27, 2017, 05:02:44 PM
batten down the hatches guys. and stay safe
Post by: tracker on March 27, 2017, 05:09:15 PM

Got the son and daughter in law and 4 kids moving in with us to night ....there in a suspect area.....

Hope this B**ch nicks off real quick....and goes back to Dallas....... >:D >:D >:D

Post by: Hoyks on March 27, 2017, 05:11:18 PM

At least there will be seats on the planes for people to leave ;D.

The TV was on in the smoko room and some tool surf weatherman was standing there with his orange raincoat on, reporting on the incoming storm.

Sun was out and not much wind to speak of, but he was ready for it!
Post by: Bird on March 27, 2017, 05:50:02 PM
Wont someone please think of the price of bananas.... :(
Post by: tracker on March 27, 2017, 05:53:22 PM
Wont someone please think of the price of bananas.... :(

Sry. Bird...It's a pound of sugar and a ton of coal around here  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Title: RAIN IN MACKAY
Post by: Pete79 on March 27, 2017, 06:32:35 PM
I've seen the business end of a couple when I lived in FNQ............hope it crosses somewhere away from the towns.

The best one was when Fifi Box was doing the weather on Sunrise. The idiots sent her in to report on the floods in Ingham.
Well it flooded and the twat couldn't get out of town for about a week. Every morning it was something like "here I am reporting from Nonna Russo's house - again - the road is still flooded and I'm still stuck here."
T.V. Gold.... :)

Stay safe everyone up there.
Post by: Spada on March 27, 2017, 07:25:48 PM
Breaking news......Koshi and the sunrise crew will be live from the red zone tomorrow..............

Good Grief, could it get any worse  >:(

Post by: Moggy on March 27, 2017, 07:33:59 PM
Fk as if the cyclone isn't bad enough, we'll have put up with headline chasing dipShits

Post by: Bird on March 27, 2017, 08:04:00 PM
Breaking news......Koshi and the sunrise crew will be live from the red zone tomorrow..............

Good Grief, could it get any worse  >:(
**** it would be nice for a tree to fall on them
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on March 27, 2017, 08:10:07 PM
**** it would be nice for a tree to fall on them

Then we'd have to put up with them being hailed as martyrs.
Not an appealing thought.
Post by: Nomad on March 27, 2017, 08:41:30 PM
Looks like Airlie is where its going to hit to me...........Probably be a few wet backpackers tonight and tomorrow  >:D
Post by: Moggy on March 27, 2017, 08:46:15 PM
They've all left, shipped them off to Cairns apparently

Post by: Pete79 on March 27, 2017, 08:54:08 PM
Looking at the tracking map I would have said it's following the dredge line straight into Abbot Point.
Now the Brownies (as in opposite to Greenies ;) ) will have no worries ripping up the reef. They can just follow Debbie's path of destruction. ;D
Post by: Bill on March 27, 2017, 08:56:27 PM
Stay safe people...
Post by: Rumpig on March 27, 2017, 09:33:00 PM
Talk on weather forum saying it could possibly go Cat 5 yet, hope not for those in it's path.
Post by: edz on March 27, 2017, 09:49:52 PM
Cat 4 / 5 storm and yet the live read out tracker thingo is only showing  winds at 48 kts and in places 2.6 m seas close to the coast and 4.8 m seas out wide .Something is screwy with this weather site .
https://www.windytv.com/?-18.188,150.491,6 (https://www.windytv.com/?-18.188,150.491,6)
Post by: MattNQ on March 27, 2017, 09:52:59 PM
Looking at the tracking map I would have said it's following the dredge line straight into Abbot Point.
Now the Brownies (as in opposite to Greenies ;) ) will have no worries ripping up the reef. They can just follow Debbie's path of destruction. ;D

Damn Indians. I heard Adani organised the cyclone ......
Post by: Pete79 on March 27, 2017, 09:56:03 PM
Cat 4 / 5 storm and yet the live read out tracker thingo is only showing  winds at 48 kts and in places 2.6 m seas close to the coast and 4.8 m seas out wide .Something is screwy with this weather site .
https://www.windytv.com/?-18.188,150.491,6 (https://www.windytv.com/?-18.188,150.491,6)
Yes, it's good for nice pretty colours and swurly lines. But perhaps it's not so good when it's the real serious stuff.

That site/app is pretty cool for general day to day weather and forecasting possible rainfall and average winds.
These more complex events show the limitations of these types of weather apps.

Best to stick with the BOM, check the actual (official) local observations and satellite images when it's kinda life and death type weather.
Post by: edz on March 27, 2017, 10:17:25 PM
Yep Pete, just thought if they are going to have the display, you would at least have it showing things a bit more accurately though . Have even seen it up on the emergency center headquarters  big screens in a few of the live updates ..
Hope everyone makes it through ok .. everything is crossed and thinking of you all .
Post by: DrewXT on March 27, 2017, 10:46:00 PM
Hang in there everyone...

From a purely selfish perspective, I hope it's pissed off by the weekend, as we're meant to be going across to Fraser on Saturday morning...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: Pete79 on March 27, 2017, 10:48:52 PM
James Cook Uni have set up some wind speed recording towers at various locations between Ayr and Proserpine, they're sharing the data at roughly 10 minute intervals.
https://www.jcu.edu.au/cyclone-testing-station/swirlnet (https://www.jcu.edu.au/cyclone-testing-station/swirlnet)
South Bowen has already registered a gust over 180km/hr.

Damn Indians. I heard Adani organised the cyclone ......

Probably not the best time to get too political.  :angel:
But I think it would truly be karma at it's greatest if mother nature goes and wrecks the coal miners stuff before the coal miners go and wreck mother nature....
Besides, it was the Indians that helped introduce us all to Karma anyway...  ;D

Looking at the extended radar loop it's been tracking almost straight west for a while now; http://www.theweatherchaser.com/radar-loop/IDR241-bowen (http://www.theweatherchaser.com/radar-loop/IDR241-bowen)
If it stays on this coarse for much longer my money is going to be on the eye crossing around Bowen or Abbot Point.

Personally, I'd rather not see any major destruction from this, but it is part of life in the tropics, and I'm wishing it away from the populated areas. Much better to see a coal terminal blown away then people's houses flattened, tourist resorts destroyed  and farmers crops wrecked.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on March 28, 2017, 02:59:06 AM
The Adani mob.
Is that anything like the Microsoft help desk people that call you up, tell you how your doing things wrong, and they're the only people who can fix it?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 28, 2017, 03:37:14 AM
Tracker is normally on line around this time, so i'm assuming they've lost power or net connection.

Hope everyone comes through with little or no damage etc
Post by: broncos11 on March 28, 2017, 03:43:21 AM
Still power but 100kph plus now in Mackay. They're now saying winds could stay well into tomorrow as Deb is moving so slowly. Feeling for people around Whitsunday's right now.
Post by: tracker on March 28, 2017, 04:13:51 AM
    Feeling a tad nervous here..... we have a 6 mtr tide here today  with tidal serge it will be nasty.

Post by: sol on March 28, 2017, 05:28:13 AM
Hey mate, how's it going?
I've been talking to my son and he's like you. He's done all he can and now it's just sit and wait.

Post by: tracker on March 28, 2017, 05:30:58 AM
Hey mate, how's it going?
I've been talking to my son and he's like you. He's done all he can and now it's just sit and wait.

Yep mate.......about 100 klm an hour...might miss the destructive section...hopfully.......
Post by: sol on March 28, 2017, 05:53:24 AM
Hope so!!!! Stay safe mate

Post by: Pete79 on March 28, 2017, 06:03:13 AM
James Cook Uni have set up some wind speed recording towers at various locations between Ayr and Proserpine, they're sharing the data at roughly 10 minute intervals.
https://www.jcu.edu.au/cyclone-testing-station/swirlnet (https://www.jcu.edu.au/cyclone-testing-station/swirlnet)
South Bowen has already registered a gust over 180km/h.
I was too tired last night and was reading the graphs wrong. There was a gust of 50km/h last night from the east (180 degrees).

The peak gust recorded so far from the JCU sites was 75km/h from the one south of Bowen.
Post by: Rumpig on March 28, 2017, 06:08:50 AM
Watching some of the channel 9 muppets this morning try and beat up the damage caused over night  is almost laughable. Whilst I get this is very serious, geez I wish they would report the news and not try and talk it up as much as possible. One bird in Airlie Beach was showing a "big tree" that had come down and was completely blocking the road, FFS I could have grabbed that BRANCH and dragged it off the road on my own. Stay safe all, gunna be a long day for ya's
Post by: Spada on March 28, 2017, 06:25:43 AM
Stay safe all, gunna be a long day for ya's

Ditto that, watching it with concern from afar...............but nothing can describe actually being there.

Biggest problem I think is that it is so slow moving, which means it will park its arse and blow like buggery for an extended period of time. The torrential rain will make the ground up that way bit damp, so the trees will have a hard time hanging on. When they fall onto buildings, that creates a break in the structural barrier for the wind to get in,and you just get an escalating scale of debris and destruction the longer it blows.

small bonus with it moving so slow is that it will now miss the high tide and negate the tidal surge problem a little bit, flip side of the coin is that the longer it sits over warm water, the more energy it can build. Hence the reason there is an outside chance of it building to Cat5.
Post by: Isuzumu on March 28, 2017, 06:26:26 AM
From the BOM site: 0457 Hamilton Island 102 kts highest gust so far.
Post by: Fathom on March 28, 2017, 06:27:39 AM
Stay safe if your up there.

Hope you all come through unscathed.
Post by: Moggy on March 28, 2017, 06:59:24 AM

Ditto that, watching it with concern from afar...............but nothing can describe actually being there.

Biggest problem I think is that it is so slow moving, which means it will park its arse and blow like buggery for an extended period of time. The torrential rain will make the ground up that way bit damp, so the trees will have a hard time hanging on. When they fall onto buildings, that creates a break in the structural barrier for the wind to get in,and you just get an escalating scale of debris and destruction the longer it blows.

small bonus with it moving so slow is that it will now miss the high tide and negate the tidal surge problem a little bit, flip side of the coin is that the longer it sits over warm water, the more energy it can build. Hence the reason there is an outside chance of it building to Cat5.

Not here in Mack town, due to cross at 10am, (according latest advice) with peak tide of 5.9 at 11am 😕

And I'm 150m from the beach
Post by: Bad Scott on March 28, 2017, 07:01:45 AM

And I'm 150m from the beach
windsurfing, with some serious "air time"  ;D
Post by: Bird on March 28, 2017, 07:02:28 AM
Quote from: DrewXT
From a purely selfish perspective, I hope it's pissed off by the weekend, as we're meant to be going across to Fraser on Saturday morning...

Whats plan B?

and there must be more media there than humans...

https://youtu.be/OxNl3RJ0Cgo (https://youtu.be/OxNl3RJ0Cgo)

http://satview.bom.gov.au/ (http://satview.bom.gov.au/)
Post by: Moggy on March 28, 2017, 07:11:42 AM
It's right now that glad I installed the genny switch to switchboard when did Reno's 5 yrs ago. Least I get a coffee

Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 28, 2017, 07:18:07 AM
Stay safe up there guys and gals, the 200km/h gusts have just about hit Hamilton Island by the looks. Bunker down and be safe

Post by: paceman on March 28, 2017, 07:21:51 AM
looks like a crossing between ayr and midge point at about 11am...

starting to really gust here at shoal point...
Post by: Spada on March 28, 2017, 07:26:26 AM
reports of 8m wave recorded off Hay Point ?
Post by: tracker on March 28, 2017, 07:59:37 AM
reports of 8m wave recorded off Hay Point ?

That would nearly take Moggy out........ :o :o :o :o :o
Post by: KingBilly on March 28, 2017, 08:55:04 AM
looks like a crossing between ayr and midge point at about 11am...

starting to really gust here at shoal point...

Shoal Point hey.  Used to live right on top of the point years ago.  Weathered a terrifying cyclone there.  Thought the high set house was going to be lifted up and dumped in the ocean.  Good luck and stay safe.

Post by: paceman on March 28, 2017, 09:07:48 AM
Shoal Point hey.  Used to live right on top of the point years ago.  Weathered a terrifying cyclone there.  Thought the high set house was going to be lifted up and dumped in the ocean.  Good luck and stay safe.

thanks, mate... we are back a bit from the point, so not as exposed... 
Post by: Steffo1 on March 28, 2017, 09:27:44 AM
Just heard from Broncos11. He's OK & just sitting & waiting.
Good Luck you mob in the area.

Post by: Bird on March 28, 2017, 09:34:43 AM
I reckon the waiting would be almost mind blowing...
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 28, 2017, 09:39:11 AM

That's for sure Bird, let alone the noise

232km/h at Hamilton Airport. Hang on up there

Post by: Bird on March 28, 2017, 09:43:18 AM
That's for sure Bird, let alone the noise

232km/h at Hamilton Airport. Hang on up there

https://www.windytv.com/?-19.539,147.305,6 (https://www.windytv.com/?-19.539,147.305,6)
Post by: Moggy on March 28, 2017, 09:49:02 AM
You're fkn right there, I'm going stir crazy & its not even 10 o'clock.
Thinkin of going for a walk upto the beach to get som pics.
Post by: Bird on March 28, 2017, 10:03:56 AM
Quote from: Moggy
Thinkin of going for a walk upto the beach to get som pics.

see if you can get one of Koshi being hit by a tree
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on March 28, 2017, 10:17:53 AM
Looking at the weather map, Mackay must be really under the hammer about now.
Hope they come out the other side of this ok.
Post by: lincolnland on March 28, 2017, 10:29:34 AM
see if you can get one of Koshi being hit by a tree
thats a dumb thing to post.
Post by: KingBilly on March 28, 2017, 10:52:35 AM
Post by: Bird on March 28, 2017, 10:55:08 AM
Quote from: lincolnland
thats a dumb thing to post.

true... make it a building roof
They have no reason to be in town reporting "LIVE FROM STORM CENTRAL" but to report misery... **** em.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-03-28/cyclone-debbie--space-stations-capture-incredible-images/8392232 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-03-28/cyclone-debbie--space-stations-capture-incredible-images/8392232)
Post by: lincolnland on March 28, 2017, 11:03:47 AM
i agree to an extent but theyre doing their job like it or not. you should never wish harm on anyone else. just a really stupid thing to post. those reporters and film crews have families kids and loved ones. who the F are you to wish harm on them. you may not agree with their career and where it takes them but why wish intentional harm on another person doing their job?
Post by: Moggy on March 28, 2017, 11:13:29 AM
He's only here for the headlines or perhaps he wants a logie for journalism
The news networks have people here, why does Koch & Co have to be here as well??????

Post by: lincolnland on March 28, 2017, 11:21:11 AM
its news. simple. they send their anchor on the big jobs. regardless if its a local shop keeper or a backpacker or a big dollar tv anchor, there is never a need to wish harm on them. comments such as a tree or a roof hitting them. seriously is that helpful or any way to conduct yourself? wishing for or hoping for harm on someone else is so far from cool..
Post by: Moggy on March 28, 2017, 11:32:49 AM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170328/9f29e2281bd1ab48cde3538d0c2eb0e2.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170328/267a3cad6b8efe2f2f3d8b40e5c893d0.jpg)

So much for the storm surge, didn't even make the rock wall.
This is at high tide & about 2m below the wall

Post by: Bird on March 28, 2017, 11:34:59 AM
Quote from: Moggy
He's only here for the headlines or perhaps he wants a logie for journalism
The news networks have people here, why does Koch & Co have to be here as well??????

They cant do it from the studio in Melbourne. The technology isnt there yet to show the storm and damage live while they are on the air...

These pricks just putting others at risk who are ensuring these arsehats are 'safe'..
Post by: Bird on March 28, 2017, 11:53:00 AM
from twatter...

It's a competition between news networks on who can get their reporter into the most dangerous spot.
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C79-YZ8VsAAsPQm.jpg)
Post by: lincolnland on March 28, 2017, 11:57:23 AM
I agree. Im watching live. Mr red rain jacket shouldnt be out in that sh1t. Hes a dumb a55 too. Not required,not necessary and attempted shock journalism. Cheers
Post by: prodigyrf on March 28, 2017, 12:24:40 PM
Some of us lived before 24/7 news, the moi generation and the Twitterati-
https://thisisaustralia.com.au/Said-Hanrahan (https://thisisaustralia.com.au/Said-Hanrahan)
Even schoolgirls worked it out a century ago-
http://www.dorotheamackellar.com.au/archive/mycountry.htm (http://www.dorotheamackellar.com.au/archive/mycountry.htm)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 28, 2017, 01:56:25 PM
I'd be happy just to see a decent lightning strike hit Kockie on the noggin. doesn't have to kill him, just zap the idiot on the head and maybe set fire to his pubic hair. (None on his head)
Post by: Bird on March 28, 2017, 02:10:07 PM
I'd be happy just to see a decent lightning strike hit Kockie on the noggin. doesn't have to kill him, just zap the idiot on the head and maybe set fire to his pubic hair. (None on his head)
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/a9/5f/7e/a95f7e1c7d25fb00934e9ac0b387bfcf.jpg)
Post by: Bigfish on March 28, 2017, 02:59:44 PM
from twatter...

It's a competition between news networks on who can get their reporter into the most dangerous spot.
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C79-YZ8VsAAsPQm.jpg)

This bloke is just a f wit.  Trying to show off what a big man he is standing in a cyclone. Dickhead. He seriously needs a piece of palm or timber to hit him live on tv....would be a lesson for all..including the brain dead morons who were playing cricket. Funny that channel 2 didnt go into heroics and bullShit to present the news. 
Post by: edz on March 28, 2017, 03:39:01 PM
Had to smile at reporters talking up the great efforts and preparations to protect property against  the storm,camera  cuts to show  a series of  2m x 2m shop front panels of glass with a single X of 25mm painters masking tape [ As if that magic masking tape will hold the glass together if hit with objects hurled by 160 > 200 Kph + winds  ;D ]..
 Then goes on to say about the king tides and 2 m to 3 m storm surge and 4 m plus waves being driven by 200 kph winds and the camera cuts to a strip of builders plastic being held down by a single row of sandbags across a double doorway .[ Yep thats going to stop the surge inundating the shops ] .
Now I understand people need to feel as though they have done all they can to protect their stuff and good on them for that ...  But they also need to be a bit realistic too .
Heres hoping no got hurt today .
Post by: bully on March 28, 2017, 04:58:25 PM
Yeah Koshie will be walking around tomorrow talking to people who have lost everything and saying "so how  do you feel". He did it after Yasi. Tool.
Post by: lincolnland on March 28, 2017, 05:32:18 PM
This bloke is just a f wit.  Trying to show off what a big man he is standing in a cyclone. Dickhead. He seriously needs a piece of palm or timber to hit him live on tv....would be a lesson for all..including the brain dead morons who were playing cricket. Funny that channel 2 didnt go into heroics and bullShit to present the news.
oh&s worksafe or whoever the appropriate authority is should throw the book at this tard and his boss. asking to be hit by debris. its the same as traffic reporters standing in the middle of freeway reserves reporting on peak traffic at peak time with traffic flying by at 100 +. seems normal safety rules for workers goes out the window in journalism.
Post by: Pete79 on March 28, 2017, 05:39:35 PM
Had to smile at reporters talking up the great efforts and preparations to protect property against  the storm,camera  cuts to show  a series of  2m x 2m shop front panels of glass with a single X of 25mm painters masking tape [ As if that magic masking tape will hold the glass together if hit with objects hurled by 160 > 200 Kph + winds  ;D ]..
Don't know about a single cross of painters tape, but masking tape does work.
It's not for the debris, but the pressure from the gusts.
My parents house is on the beach, pretty much the whole front wall is glass (sliding doors and windows), these have survived over 40 years of cyclones with just a cross or 2 of masking tape. :)

I can finally return the favor with a YouTube clip for you. ;)

Skip to the 2 minute mark.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=X4AyiXIfm-8 (https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=X4AyiXIfm-8)
Post by: Fizzie on March 28, 2017, 07:11:50 PM
Watching the news before - OK, correction there :-[ - TV was on with the muted news showing :D

Headline across bottom of screen

"Airlie Beach reeling before Cyclone Debbie"

"Being pounded by hurricane force winds" ::)

Umm, maybe they could be cyclonic winds ???
Post by: Fizzie on March 28, 2017, 07:13:05 PM
PS Please stay safe everybody :cup:
Post by: Steffo1 on March 28, 2017, 07:16:40 PM
Watching the news before - OK, correction there :-[ - TV was on with the muted news showing :D

Headline across bottom of screen

"Airlie Beach reeling before Cyclone Debbie"

"Being pounded by hurricane force winds" ::)

Umm, maybe they could be cyclonic winds ???

No, the term "Hurricane" is the correct term with regard to the Beaufort Scale of wind speed.
Post by: Moggy on March 28, 2017, 07:27:26 PM
One thing  for certain you can't beat a Honda motor/generator. I have a 5.8kva & wouldn't have been used in 3 yrs, plus had old fuel in it, 1 pull & it started no problems, been running most of day & hasn't missed a beat.
Also happy that I put a genny switch in switchboard with Reno's a few years back

Post by: Steffo1 on March 28, 2017, 07:31:54 PM
One thing  for certain you can't beat a Honda motor/generator. I have a 5.8kva & wouldn't have been used in 3 yrs, plus had old fuel in it, 1 pull & it started no problems, been running most of day & hasn't missed a beat.
Also happy that I put a genny switch in switchboard with Reno's a few years back

You might want to have a chat to Broncos11 as He & I were discussing this setup for him this arvo. I have the board setup here and it's the ducks nuts. I have a 6 kva so you're well powered. Can't have too much hey.
Good to know you're ok too.
Post by: prodigyrf on March 28, 2017, 07:34:56 PM
The tropical cyclone capital of Australia is Onslow and despite all the hype about extreme weather increasing not so in Onslow but it has had some doozies-
http://www.bom.gov.au/cyclone/history/wa/onslow.shtml (http://www.bom.gov.au/cyclone/history/wa/onslow.shtml)
Just that it doesn't get much press with its small population over the years but bear it in mind with the camping

Post by: Rumpig on March 28, 2017, 07:43:51 PM
What's with channel 9 calling this a 1 in 100 year event?   Some basic research would show cyclone Ada hit the same area as a Cat 4 in 1970. Think I recall our state premier saying the same thing last night also.
Post by: rags on March 28, 2017, 07:47:59 PM
I read today how a Bowen local embarrassed ch7 live on air. When asked about the weather he responded with something along the line of 'well Debbie has a bit of a reputation of being a wild girl and now she is here to give Bowen  a blow job'
Post by: speewa158 on March 28, 2017, 07:51:48 PM
clamp a camera to a hopefully fixed object & bugger off to safety. lf it gets slammed then show the last 15 sec of film over & over. DONT  STAND IN HARMS WAY   EVER  :'(
Post by: prodigyrf on March 28, 2017, 08:09:33 PM
What's with channel 9 calling this a 1 in 100 year event?   

Dunno. They're up themselves and haven't been around that long?
"Mainstream television was launched on 16 September 1956 in Sydney, NSW with Nine Network station TCN-9-Sydney. The new medium was introduced by Bruce Gyngell with the words 'Good evening, and welcome to television'," and it's been downhill ever since  ;D
Post by: Rumpig on March 28, 2017, 09:08:31 PM
I read today how a Bowen local embarrassed ch7 live on air. When asked about the weather he responded with something along the line of 'well Debbie has a bit of a reputation of being a wild girl and now she is here to give Bowen  a blow job'
heard that on the radio today, Paul Burt was doing the interview https://au.be.yahoo.com/lifestyle/real-life/a/34823604/channel-seven-lives-cyclone-debbie-coverage-interrupted-by-aussie-larrikin-s-gaffe-yahoo7-be/
Post by: Squalo on March 29, 2017, 12:07:04 AM
No, the term "Hurricane" is the correct term with regard to the Beaufort Scale of wind speed.

That's true. Confusing however because we call it a cyclone in the southern hemisphere, and elsewhere it's called a hurricane or typhoon.
Post by: edz on March 29, 2017, 01:09:14 AM
[/quote ].
Reckon it was that blokes way of telling that clown to get out of his face with the mic and camera . Probably had few sherberts under his belt  too  ;D ;D
Post by: oldmate on March 29, 2017, 09:17:12 AM
Paul burts a wanker.

Post by: Symon on March 29, 2017, 09:20:32 AM
You might want to have a chat to Broncos11 as He & I were discussing this setup for him this arvo. I have the board setup here and it's the ducks nuts. I have a 6 kva so you're well powered. Can't have too much hey.
Good to know you're ok too.

When I was living in Mackay I did the same thing.  Came in very handy, especially when Ului went over.
Post by: paceman on March 29, 2017, 09:30:05 AM
When I was living in Mackay I did the same thing.  Came in very handy, especially when Ului went over.

yea, i've got the plug set up in the meter box, but no generator... :)

any sort of generator be OK, size not withstanding?
Post by: Bird on March 29, 2017, 10:07:18 AM
Hopin everyone came out of the big blowy alright... Thats 2 Debbies that I know that have blown hard.

Good to see Koshi and the others driving around in hire cars today showing all the damage "LIVE", cause .. I dont know really

The Bureau of Meteorology has just released some staggering information about the rainfall that fell during Cyclone Debbie.

In the 24 hours to 9am on Wednesday, Clarke Range, west of Mackay, recorded 646 millimetres - the highest in the cyclone-hit region.

Many areas recorded more than 200 millimetres in the same period, the bureau said.
Post by: Moggy on March 29, 2017, 10:48:33 AM

Hopin everyone came out of the big blowy alright... Thats 2 Debbies that I know that have blown hard.

Good to see Koshi and the others driving around in hire cars today showing all the damage "LIVE", cause .. I dont know really

I got the impression he was disappointed there wasn't any widespread devastation. Had to talk up a couple of fallen trees, stripped palms & a Shitty awning of the front of a house, plus some busted fibro on an old Shit box humpy

Post by: weeds on March 29, 2017, 11:26:24 AM
Kosh looked like a dill yesterday around 7am when I turned on the tv.....they were struggling to find things to talk about...but they were live from 4am (when the rest of aus was sleeping

Post by: Bigfish on March 29, 2017, 11:50:30 AM

I,ve had mates connect2kva hondas with no problems just to keep their fridges going and a light or 2.  I had a 5 kva yammie on mine.
Post by: Bigfish on March 29, 2017, 11:52:48 AM
There should be some sort of enquiry as to the behaviour of the morons passing themselves off as reporters/news correspondants.   If bullShit was music these dolts would all be orchestras.   
Post by: broncos11 on March 29, 2017, 11:59:40 AM
Pioneer looks like it is about to bust banks with a 8.5m high in about 30 minutes. Some places in catchment area such as Finch Hatton, Eungella have had a 1000ml in 48 hours!!!!!
Might be a Barra or two coming down the Pioneer over next few days. Kinchant is at 115%
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 29, 2017, 12:08:54 PM
I wonder if the Workplace Health and Safety folks have a take on putting reporters out in the wind and rain with crap blowing around 'em.

Lets face it, a sheet of corro in a 220klm wind it gunna remove a head and place it down the street a bit.

Kockies lips would still be moving I reckon.
Post by: Symon on March 29, 2017, 12:20:36 PM

Yep, most small units would be fine.
Post by: paceman on March 29, 2017, 12:26:02 PM
Yep, most small units would be fine.

i was more thinking whether it needed to be a pure sine wave type?
Post by: Steffo1 on March 29, 2017, 12:36:06 PM
i was more thinking whether it needed to be a pure sine wave type?
My BIL just got an 9kva  :o through his son, who's a sparky, & the lad was saying it had an AVR ?? (I think that was the term. Automatic Voltage Regulator or similar?)
Lad also said he could whack one on mine but, really, I can go a day or three without the tele or 'puter.
Post by: Bird on March 29, 2017, 12:49:42 PM
Kosh looked like a dill yesterday around 7am when I turned on the tv.....they were struggling to find things to talk about...but they were live from 4am (when the rest of aus was sleeping
that was his whole show... actually thats normal Mon-Friday...
Post by: noel_w on March 29, 2017, 02:49:46 PM

Lad also said he could whack one on mine but, really, I can go a day or three without the tele or 'puter.

But beer is another story  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 29, 2017, 05:22:59 PM
I was just checking the Mackay radar, it looks like the rain/storm is coming back out again straight back over you guys,

I think we're due to cop some rain from it tomorrow too.
Post by: broncos11 on March 29, 2017, 08:26:19 PM

Okay now we have torrential rain and thunderstorms with lightening for the last few hours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Going to be interesting at high tide 12:00pm tonight and tomorrow
Post by: noel_w on March 29, 2017, 11:14:13 PM
Okay now we have torrential rain and thunderstorms with lightening for the last few hours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Going to be interesting at high tide 12:00pm tonight and tomorrow
Gonna need a bigger boat....  What's that you said Noah?
Hope you are all safe up there guys.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 30, 2017, 05:03:14 AM
We're getting some solid rains bursts here this morning.

Time to fit the mowers with a snorkel and flippers me thinks.
Post by: Bird on March 30, 2017, 10:02:09 AM
We're getting some solid rains bursts here this morning.

Time to fit the mowers with a snorkel and flippers me thinks.
(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/hLNHsBtIsl8/hqdefault.jpg)
Post by: JRABS on March 30, 2017, 05:04:36 PM
Well we have just had power come back on for the first time since Monday night. It's good to hear the silence!.
Like others, I had a changeover switch fitted a few years ago when I was working out bush and its one of the best investments I've made.
Luckily, I just got my genset going last week after a fair while of poor and no running so it's had a great workout now.
Bit of water around last night kept us busy but nothing too serious.
It's going to be busy at work for a while though, some of our CCTV footage of the ocean swells were full on!
Post by: JRABS on March 30, 2017, 05:13:01 PM
Forgot to say a big thanks to the people from Ergon and associated contractors, they were really only able to get started today and I have heard of a lot of areas getting power back.
Post by: Moggy on March 30, 2017, 06:51:56 PM
Jabs you're one of the lucky ones, I'm still running the genny, which is ok but when the neighbours either side have power you really ask WTF.
BIL works for ergon down south & did a check & could be another 7 days before reconnect.
Just as well we didn't take a direct hit from Debbie, we'd be waiting till Xmas. 🙁🙁

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on March 30, 2017, 08:26:15 PM
 :D
Post by: JRABS on March 30, 2017, 09:28:59 PM
Hi Moggy,
I wouldn't say I am very knowledgeable in power lines or electrical things in general but if your neighbors either side have power maybe its a pole fuse or the connection on the house itself. I have had one of these go on me before. Either way it is still an Ergon fix but they may not know there's a problem there anymore. ???
Post by: Rumpig on March 30, 2017, 09:52:26 PM
Jabs you're one of the lucky ones, I'm still running the genny, which is ok but when the neighbours either side have power you really ask WTF.
BIL works for ergon down south & did a check & could be another 7 days before reconnect.
Just as well we didn't take a direct hit from Debbie, we'd be waiting till Xmas. 🙁🙁

sucks at times being on different networks then your neighbours...have had several occasions where our neighbours have power but we don't. After the flood in Brisbane a few years ago, our neighbour had no power 2 days more then after we got ours back.
Post by: stabicraft on March 31, 2017, 07:25:32 AM
Ill be heading to Goonyella, via Mackay on Monday.

Do you think Ill have any problems getting there?
Post by: Moggy on March 31, 2017, 07:33:20 AM
Roads should be open, but if you have farcebook check the abc tropical north pages, pretty sure they post updates or have a link

Post by: paceman on March 31, 2017, 07:35:35 AM
Ill be heading to Goonyella, via Mackay on Monday.

Do you think Ill have any problems getting there?

this may also help:

https://qldtraffic.qld.gov.au/

https://live.racq.com.au/2017/03/tc-debbie-latest-road-closures/

Post by: stabicraft on March 31, 2017, 07:59:14 AM
Thanks Guys.

Ill have a look.

Post by: tracker on March 31, 2017, 04:59:59 PM

You reap what you sow.
Post by: Fox67 on March 31, 2017, 08:30:29 PM
Mate in Mackay had to fly to Brisbane then a flight back to Moranbah to get to work, can't access mines from Mackay by road apparently.
Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 31, 2017, 08:31:46 PM

You reap what you sow.
Please tell me your house hasn't flooded again?

Footnote:
Now some they do and some they don't
And some you just can't tell
And some they will and some they won't
With some it's just as well
Post by: MattNQ on April 01, 2017, 07:14:19 AM
Mate in Mackay had to fly to Brisbane then a flight back to Moranbah to get to work, can't access mines from Mackay by road apparently.
Sarina range and Eton range have serious landslides.
There was an aerial video getting around FB.  Can't find it now of course.

sent from Earth via tapatalk

Post by: Bird on April 01, 2017, 11:50:53 AM
I think I heard on radio that there are looters going round...

vigilante justice time I say..
Post by: Foo on April 01, 2017, 03:51:22 PM
Sarina range and Eton range have serious landslides.
There was an aerial video getting around FB.  Can't find it now of course.

This is what ya lookin for.  ;D

Heli-Central

https://www.facebook.com/HeliCentral/photos/pcb.1368464936545931/1368454723213619/?type=3&theater (https://www.facebook.com/HeliCentral/photos/pcb.1368464936545931/1368454723213619/?type=3&theater)

Post by: MattNQ on April 01, 2017, 05:39:11 PM
This is what ya lookin for.  ;D

Heli-Central

https://www.facebook.com/HeliCentral/photos/pcb.1368464936545931/1368454723213619/?type=3&theater (https://www.facebook.com/HeliCentral/photos/pcb.1368464936545931/1368454723213619/?type=3&theater)

That's the one. Thanks for that.

The road sure needs a bit of work.

Post by: Fizzie on April 02, 2017, 07:57:14 AM
Is that the main Highway ??? :o
Post by: speewa158 on April 02, 2017, 08:36:24 AM
Used to be  " A  Road "   . that's going to put a few hours on the trip
Post by: JRABS on April 02, 2017, 09:13:56 AM
Its not the main road, it used to be part of the highway when it went inland but will still affect a lot of people.
Looks like highway 1 will be cut at Rocky for a while soon but.
Post by: Fizzie on April 03, 2017, 10:13:28 AM
Just heard from friends who live at Hydeaway Bay, where Debbie crossed the coast - the eye actually went over them!

Wind broke their front door dead-lock! :o

No other damage to their place, apart from gardens, but at least one house lost it's roof.

Currently running on 2 gennies as power is still out & eta for repair is the 10th! :'(