General => General Discussion => Topic started by: scrapsD40 on December 24, 2016, 09:54:23 PM

Title: Sooooooo, Xmas 2016, what did Santa bring you?
Post by: scrapsD40 on December 24, 2016, 09:54:23 PM
I got time with my Dad among other things still to come.
Title: Re: Sooooooo, Xmas 2016, what did Santa bring you?
Post by: richo9923 on December 24, 2016, 11:02:35 PM
Nightshift.... Merry Christmas everyone, and if your unlucky enough to be working like myself hope you can make the most of it,
Post by: kizza1 on December 24, 2016, 11:50:26 PM
My oldies got me a fiskars x25 axe. Im stoked. Now I don't have to clear the campsite before I chop wood due to the head of my $20special wanting to fly off the handle. ;D
Post by: Mad Hueys on December 25, 2016, 12:00:49 AM
Floating along down in Bass Strait,   Hopefully there will be something left when I get home in 2017 :)

Post by: D4D on December 25, 2016, 04:22:30 AM
So far only an early morning wake up call to start/light the Weber Kettle for the 8 hour slow cooked brisket...
Post by: Rumpig on December 25, 2016, 05:30:36 AM
A storm cell (just a few rumbles and one bit of lightning seen), and some heavy showers so far this morning....thanks for waking me up early with that lot santa
Post by: raider on December 25, 2016, 06:20:30 AM
So far ,only a headache from last nights little effort. >:D  . Nevermind , cameras on charge , coffee in hand and I'll start getting ready for these roasts. Have a good day everyone.
Post by: ATC on December 25, 2016, 06:20:56 AM
We did xmas last night (thats Tradition for her family), daughter was over, but a monstor thunder storm rolled in, downpour was so intense 2 of the gutters overflowed and all the crap from the pavement washed into and blocked a drain...

Oh and the dog was so scared it crapped at the front door.

But daughter got great marks in the HSC, and a uni offer, dinner was good, and the then lightning didn't blow anything up this time, and the daughter was out in the rain as we tried to unblock the drains.

Merry Xmas

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk
Post by: D4D on December 25, 2016, 06:23:30 AM
A couple of thoughtful presents from my wife and son. I did buy a new car and new bike this year, which are my birthday and Christmas presents for a while :)

Now to find a quiet spot to read, fat chance of that today :cheers:

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/preso.jpg)
Post by: edz on December 25, 2016, 07:30:33 AM
So far about 4 hours sleep, a very excited  kid bouncing of the walls at 6 am and a lounge room floor with a pile of shredded Christmas rapping and a mine field of what looks like half the contents a shopping center .
Ohh and a couple of dvd's  and a box of malteasers and a cold beer by 7 am .
Post by: petrolburner on December 25, 2016, 07:53:56 AM
Sounds like my house!!
We did get a little more than four hours sleep but we know all about shredded paper everywhere!!

Santa bought me a set of snowpeak pegs and hammer.
Post by: Bill on December 25, 2016, 08:02:29 AM
We do small gifts to each other for Christmas and then 1 bigger gift for the two of us after Christmas.
She got a new microphone and stand.
I got a new vintage type razor thingy, and new earplugs :-)
Our big pressie will be the joocoola ( however it's spelled) hot water system for the camper trailer.
Post by: prodigyrf on December 25, 2016, 08:20:56 AM
Was helping the lad on Wed put the finishing touches on his reno ready for the first Xmas lunch at their place when I felt a ticklish throat in the arvo. By around 8 that evening the throat was on fire, my head was lifting off, racking cough, raging temp and aching all over. Wisely the missus has been sleeping in another room and she hasn't caught the mongrel thing yet, but with the DIL 6 months pregnant, guess who's spending Xmas at home alone  :'(

Post by: DrewXT on December 25, 2016, 08:25:53 AM
Number One Son decided 6:20 was wake up time, thankfully his twin sister decided 7:00 was more civilised... They fared pretty well, I scored the Lego VW Campervan, the missus got a new Fitbit Charge 2 and head torch...

Spent most of last night building this at my sister's place for her kids, with my engineer brother in-law "helping"...

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161224/87bf9851bb97e0dbd95c5f88581f4374.jpg)

Weber Kettle is finally, given the wind kept blowing the fire lighters out, and don't have blow torch handy, now to go change the wheels on the 4WD to go away tomorrow 

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: D4D on December 25, 2016, 08:32:37 AM
Weber Kettle is finally, given the wind kept blowing the fire lighters out, and don't have blow torch handy

Ours went out, I opened the bottom vent, missus didn't check and 're-opened' it >:( Lucky I checked it...
Post by: GeoffA on December 25, 2016, 08:38:01 AM
I got time with my Dad....

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Kay's mum and dad are staying with us for a few days.

....other things still to come.

We have to wait for daughter and her hubby to arrive for dinner tonight....

Hope everyone has a relaxing day. I know we will.

:cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Foo on December 25, 2016, 08:43:48 AM
I got a ride in on the road bike, does that count?  ;D

Post by: D4D on December 25, 2016, 08:48:20 AM

I was trying to squeeze in a sneaky ride this morning but didn't manage it. Might get out this arvo when everyone has gone, if it's not stupid hot by then.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 25, 2016, 08:49:16 AM

'

I got a ride in on the wife, does that count?  ;D
Post by: D4D on December 25, 2016, 08:50:07 AM

Was that her present to you, or your present to her ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 25, 2016, 08:50:35 AM
I was trying to squeeze in a sneaky ride this morning but didn't manage it. Might get out this arvo when everyone has gone, if it's not stupid hot by then.

I might try for that myself..... but not on a bike.  >:D
Post by: Foo on December 25, 2016, 08:51:07 AM
'

Only if you were pedalling!  ;D

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 25, 2016, 08:51:48 AM
Was that her present to you, or your present to her ;D

"Joint Present".....we both have to be stoned to put up with each other.
Post by: Paddler Ed on December 25, 2016, 09:24:49 AM
A couple of thoughtful presents from my wife and son. I did buy a new car and new bike this year, which are my birthday and Christmas presents for a while :)

Now to find a quiet spot to read, fat chance of that today :cheers:

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/preso.jpg)

We have a couple of copies of the Danny MacAskill book.. a friends puppy had a good chew of it before the wife had chance to read it, and as I was in charge of the dog I got in trouble for it and had to buy a new copy...
Post by: broncos11 on December 25, 2016, 12:51:28 PM
Okay

I scored big time this year.

Wireless foot pedal to go with the hand held remote for my 80lb Xi5
Waterproof/floating binoculars
Sarah swag
And maybe not fishing related but still pretty cool a wireless soundbar and subwoofer
 :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: broncos11 on December 25, 2016, 01:00:46 PM
Here we go
Post by: 6knights on December 25, 2016, 01:58:51 PM
Great swags there broncos11 , I have the same one set up in my yard atm only in the quean size, it wasn't realy a christmas present but as I have only had it a few days  I class it as my present to myself....... now only have to wait for a couple of weeks before we hit the shores of Tassie for a 14 day break.

Other presents included chocolates , shaving cream , a camping mag and a leaf rake.

Hope you all enjoy the rest of the day
Post by: speewa158 on December 25, 2016, 03:59:04 PM
l was presented with 2 huge gift wrapped boxes , inside is an instant photo gallery of on trips ' Mstree had gone through our trip pics , picked the best 32  & had them blown up & framed .   Now to hang them on the walls ,,,, we need more walls  :cup:
                        Absolutely Stunning  .    Something we can always enjoy together  :cheers:
Post by: peter01 on December 25, 2016, 04:08:35 PM
l was presented with 2 huge gift wrapped boxes , inside is an instant photo gallery of on trips ' Mstree had gone through our trip pics , picked the best 32  & had them blown up & framed .   Now to hang them on the walls ,,,, we need more walls  :cup:
                        Absolutely Stunning  .    Something we can always enjoy together  :cheers:

brilliant gift, Jamie
Post by: GeoffA on December 25, 2016, 04:11:00 PM
Doggies DVD pack.
Who woulda guessed?..... ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: prodigyrf on December 25, 2016, 04:13:25 PM
Been a texting Xmas for buggy old dad but I did get a pic of the beaming niece with her first baked ham to cheer me up.
Must be some reruns of Scrooge on the telly. Bah humbug!
Post by: speewa158 on December 25, 2016, 04:23:03 PM

brilliant gift, Jamie
Brilliant Woman       :-*                         :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on December 25, 2016, 04:33:04 PM
Brilliant Woman       :-*                         :cheers:

Yup... :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on December 25, 2016, 04:41:14 PM
... ,,,, we need more walls........

How could you possibly need more walls??
Post by: BaseCamp on December 25, 2016, 05:46:35 PM
Hard choking this lot down (http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161225/5edacade5634589e123857cd66fa8b03.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161225/a3fbdb112d830ed46918673151b85925.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161225/0d6eca6099348ba0fc7b692627b5ac86.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161225/3c0ce9fb40ec081bd2450e2a74134fd6.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161225/a3a825892329390e78a30fe49c5744dc.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161225/9213ee933bb463f3801ccc980b7f0c10.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161225/216fcfe4b579f87a4796be65a51b3851.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161225/fc247146b0b6b498f450a1393a90e40f.jpg)
Can't beat Alaskan Sea Crab ...  (where's the stomach pump)....

Post by: aussie9 on December 25, 2016, 05:56:10 PM
Missus bought me a metal detector. I've never had any interest in detecting but it looks like a good reason to go bush again.
Best present was from oldest daughter. 
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161225/add02094d279e0f6d6b51069cd287325.jpg)
She knows my favourite food. About 5 slices of toast she reckons

Post by: StrvnMrvn on December 25, 2016, 06:21:39 PM
15 laps in a V8 Supercar

and a new house!
Post by: D4D on December 25, 2016, 06:27:03 PM
Hard choking this lot down

Looks like a good Greek Christmas, for 10 people ;D
Post by: Foo on December 25, 2016, 07:17:40 PM
Snagged my first Iplod, a 10yr old McWilliams Grand Tawny Port and a set of crystal beer glasses.  :cheers:

Post by: BaseCamp on December 25, 2016, 07:56:53 PM
Looks like a good Greek Christmas, for 10 people ;D

Yeah...  LOL....     these were pretty cute too....(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161225/f897078520f2e676fe4772e83a435f89.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161225/a984c48a8647d970f2af7823ad530a79.jpg)

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 26, 2016, 03:18:50 AM
Thanks to some good advice from Glenm64 in W.A. and the fact we had a "brand new/10 year old" or more, MP3 in the cupboard.........

WE managed to get Elvis coming through the speakers of the Caddy yesterday.  :cup:
Post by: Throbbinhood on December 26, 2016, 06:40:40 AM
Missus and I got ourselves a 50L fridge to plonk in the camper, and a set of 250w solar panels to power it. Ripper!
Post by: mickyd t31 on December 26, 2016, 06:48:39 AM
Wireless fridge thermometer and a set of Allen Keys.
Wifey gave me a this canvas world map print mounted on a cork board.
Now we can pin our travels so far.
Post by: Fizzie on December 26, 2016, 07:18:56 AM
and a new house!

Posted Strvy, or just moved house?
Post by: edz on December 26, 2016, 07:28:52 AM
^^^   Mustered out  ??? ^^^  ;D
Post by: StrvnMrvn on December 26, 2016, 07:46:31 AM
Posted Strvy, or just moved house?

Yeah I'm posted up to Townsville next year, but my mate who is a broker told me that the people we put an offer in for a house up there were happy to take it!
Post by: Fizzie on December 26, 2016, 08:10:00 AM
OK! (as long as you're happy about the posting)

Now you're going to have to find new spots to go camping - I'm pretty sure there's 1 or 2 Swaggers up that way who can make some suggestions!  :D
Post by: prodigyrf on December 26, 2016, 09:03:48 AM
Well the only Xmas I'd been too crook to attend so with the kids grown up you get to thinking about how it's really all about fun for kids and the funny times. Like the time we're both excited over giving our first born his first bike for Xmas. He's growing fast and demolished the poly push trike he scoots around on and is clearly interested in older kids pushys so off to the bike shop and pick one out and I have to smuggle it home and assemble it with trainer wheels and keep it out of sight for the big day.

We've left out the milk and bikkies for Santa and the water bowl for the reindeer which mum and dad will judiciously make look like they've been consumed and with junior sound asleep the bike is proudly leaning up against the fireplace by the tree and the presents carefully in groups. Mum and dad are dripping with anticipation off to bed ready to spring up at the first sign of junior stirring in the morning and sharing in the moment of his first bike. So we're both following excitedly behind him as he enters the lounge and walks straight over to the Xmas tree and presents and sits down alongside the bike and begins opening the presents as mum guides him which ones are for him. No that's all there is for you dear. Finishes opening them all up and promptly grabs some innocuous trinket and waddles off to play with it in his bedroom.

Huh! Complete tunnel vision and never even noticed the bike right beside him and we're left standing there like spare pricks at a wedding  ??? 
Post by: Foo on December 26, 2016, 10:13:17 AM
^^^  :o Hahahahaha  :cup:

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on December 26, 2016, 02:42:02 PM
It's more fun for the parents when kids are little.

When they get a bit older and start with thanks Mum & Dad and forget about Santa, it not so much fun.
Still a giggle some times, but better when they're little.
Post by: Rumpig on December 26, 2016, 02:46:39 PM
Santa didn't really bring me anything at all, we got over buying presents for adults years ago....it's just the kids who get presents.
Post by: whitey001 on December 26, 2016, 04:11:30 PM
We bought our camper as a Christmas present to us.  I also bought a compressor, gauge, gear bag, LED lights, 18V Circular saw, new hitch tongue.  Didn't open most of it until Christmas morning.............Oh, and I also got some tickets to the basketball.

Al.
Post by: DaveR on December 27, 2016, 05:51:57 AM
03:50 my twins were up at it, 17 hours later I was trying to get the lil" @#$%ers to bed.
Great day it was, my pressie, was 1/3rd full rain water tanks.    :cup:
 :cheers: Everyone, hope the day was good.
Post by: DrewXT on December 27, 2016, 07:56:31 AM
03:50 my twins were up at it, 17 hours later I was trying to get the lil" @#$%ers to bed.
Great day it was, my pressie, was 1/3rd full rain water tanks.    :cup:
 :cheers: Everyone, hope the day was good.
Our twins held out until after 7, as we have a 7 o'clock rule...

That being said, they went to sleep about 9 I think

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: Garfish on December 27, 2016, 07:58:47 AM
I got a watch to replace the one I lost earlier in the year.   Just after opening it get a text message from my sister of my old watch. Now I have 2.

Woke to my youngest standing over me at 4:45 letting me know Santa brought her three presents...  Tried to get her back to sleep but no luck...
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on December 27, 2016, 08:10:01 AM

You didn't get the phenergan dose right, did you!
Post by: DaveR on December 27, 2016, 08:14:29 AM
Na, guilty of assuming the 22:30 hrs arrival home night before would see me over the line for easy morning.
Dreaming.....
Post by: duggie on December 27, 2016, 08:28:33 AM
He brung me a new coffee machine,  ;D

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Myswag/IMG_0002.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Myswag/IMG_0002.jpg.html)
Post by: GeoffA on December 27, 2016, 08:43:18 AM

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Myswag/IMG_0002.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Myswag/IMG_0002.jpg.html)

:cup: :cup:

....but he should have got you a decent cup to go with it duggie.... :P :P
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on December 27, 2016, 09:01:35 AM

Your ingredients are going to last half as long with a mug that size.
Post by: Swannie on December 27, 2016, 09:21:46 AM

Got the same machine love  my Jura

Post by: Fizzie on December 27, 2016, 10:54:16 AM

So you going to mount that in the CT?  :D
Post by: duggie on December 27, 2016, 11:43:15 AM

Have not checked out how much power it draws , me thinks I would need a couple of extra batteries and a bigger inverter . :'( :'(
Post by: Swannie on December 27, 2016, 11:54:03 AM
Goes great in the hard walled camper

Post by: GanG on December 29, 2016, 11:00:49 AM
We picked up our first hard wall hard floor camper trailer for the wife and my xmas gift ....... :cup:
Post by: Coolblue80 on December 29, 2016, 12:26:59 PM
New motorcross goggles and a Ziggy Triple Grill. Had to get a Ziggy instead of the Weber as my boy is named Ziggy.