General => General Discussion => Topic started by: tracker on December 19, 2016, 04:10:55 PM

Title: Tool Kit
Post by: tracker on December 19, 2016, 04:10:55 PM
Anybody had much to do with this kit......Does it seem ok for off road emergency fix ups ?

4WDSupacentre.com.au
Sponsored ยท
YOU DON'T WANT TO MISS THIS - LAUNCH PRICE ABSOLUTELY SMASHED! Our NEW Bush Mechanic Tool Kit is only $79 today!
Get ready for any repairs you need on the tracks & order yours for this insanely low price in time for Chirssy > www.goo.gl/S9UY2x (http://www.goo.gl/S9UY2x)
This is the kit you need in the back of your rig when you tackle the tracks this Summer and includes:...
See More

Play   
-0:03
Mute
Additional Visual SettingsEnter Watch And ScrollEnter Fullscreen

Title: Re: Tool Kit
Post by: sparkieqld on December 20, 2016, 06:35:16 AM
How many people are going to think cheap rubbish tools will actually work??
Post by: paceman on December 20, 2016, 06:56:45 AM

because some people can't afford top shelf tools to add to their 4wd or camper, so at least they can have something that might get them out of trouble?

if it saves them once, i'd say that is a good purchase, wouldn't you?

some cheap tools are actually OK. 

also, there is a fair chance that most of your low to mid-level branded tools are all made in the same factory anyway, so it's hard to prove where the tools come from and whether they are actually much different from higher brand tools...

anyways...

thanks for the link, tracker...  :cup:  looks interesting...

Post by: Bird on December 20, 2016, 07:05:42 AM
Quote from: sparkieqld

Its a bit of a Rock and a Hard place

As Pace says not everyone can afford top shelf. Specially for a second set of tools to just leave in the trailer to use once every 8 years.
... but cheap Shit when you really need to rely on it - well ya know... like 10mm spanner that is more like 10.5 and just rounds nuts off and leaves you in a worse predicament! or screw drivers that are softer than the screw heads (I love allen head bolts personally)
For some it would be perfect to leave in the trailer for the occasional use...

YMMV
Post by: sparkieqld on December 20, 2016, 07:45:17 AM
Go to cash converters and buy second hand mid range tools. Least they won't break in your hand and injure you. If you know how to use tools then at least carry real tools.
Post by: paceman on December 20, 2016, 07:55:33 AM
If you know how to use tools then at least carry real tools.

must have more expensive tools to know how to use tools.

got it.   ???

never had a cheaper tool (and i've bought a few because $$$) explode/break in my hand.  might be dumb luck, or maybe cheaper tools are not as bad as they used to be?

i understand the thinking (you get what you pay for), but the reality for a lot of us is different.  of course, we would all have the best of everything if possible, but sometimes it's not.

Post by: sparkieqld on December 20, 2016, 08:36:46 AM
What ever you reckon. Apparently we are not allowed an opinion when someone asks for your thoughts.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on December 20, 2016, 09:44:33 AM
I know I can't afford to shop in a snap-on truck.
Post by: tracker on December 20, 2016, 11:15:19 AM

Wouldn't even the basic tools would be better than no tools ..?.... ;D ;D
Post by: KevL on December 20, 2016, 11:23:24 AM
A $50 cheap arse toolkit used with care beats the hell out of having nothing but handfuls of dirt.
A good mechanic or fitter works with what he has and makes it work
Sooks complain that it's not snap-on.

Post by: paceman on December 20, 2016, 11:33:29 AM
Wouldn't even the basic tools would be better than no tools ..?.... ;D ;D

A $50 cheap arse toolkit used with care beats the hell out of having nothing but handfuls of dirt.
A good mechanic or fitter works with what he has and makes it work
Sooks complain that it's not snap-on.

yep... :)
Post by: edz on December 20, 2016, 12:05:34 PM
It should be a good enough starter kit, Make sure the sockets are sized for your gears needs, 1/2 " drive at least,  throw in a good head torch, set of Torx and allen keys, a packet of good 300 mm zip ties, 100 MPH Gaffa tape, Rescue tape, assorted hose clamps and a small roll of case wire   and you'd be pretty good to go .
Better than having to do a Macgyiver  and cobble up things with a 4" shifter and a small flat blade screw driver..  ;D ;D
Blew a rear uni 40 k's from home and had to remove the rear drive shaft one night going home from a BBQ.  >:D
Post by: jk on December 20, 2016, 12:36:44 PM
We use mostly Repco or Tradetools tools !   Not the most expensive or best but bang for your buck their more than up to the job for tool kits in the Landcruiser/Camper ! 

I only have one Snap On spanner and I found that on the road one day  lol.   ;D
Post by: McGirr on December 20, 2016, 12:44:14 PM
I have a mixture of tools from supercheap and other discount stores.

2 years on the road and no issues. I am not a tradesperson but i cant see the point spending big dollars on tools.

Post by: tracker on December 20, 2016, 12:55:50 PM
Yep.....What Mark said.......As a tradie glazier i have the best tools for my trade....but as a mechenic i make a good baker.....looks like a set of these cheapies.....and...i'll get what i pay for...... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D and hope they get me through if ever i need them...

Post by: Patr80l on December 20, 2016, 01:09:44 PM
I bought a cheap set of sockets and replaced the handle with a second hand Sidchrome.    Last weekend the 13/16 socket cracked when I was using it to remove a tight 21mm wheel nut with a breaker bar. 

It took me 35 years to realize it was rubbish.  They just don't last.
Post by: tracker on December 20, 2016, 01:18:48 PM
I bought a cheap set of sockets and replaced the handle with a second hand Sidchrome.    Last weekend the 13/16 socket cracked when I was using it to remove a tight 21mm wheel nut with a breaker bar. 

Gold............. :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: noel_w on December 20, 2016, 01:51:53 PM
20 odd years ago the cheap tools were absolute crap. I was given a set of sockets at work to work on the old jolley green giant public phones and I broke the 13mm on its first use.
I think times have changed and cheap tools have improved a lot.
I still won't be trading in my 1974 vintage Sidchrome socket set anytime soon though.
Post by: Rob C on December 20, 2016, 02:03:02 PM

Perfect response,
Most of us on here do not fix the gear box on the side of the road, so an $80 set of emergency tools is perfect. Much better than carrying  around $500+ worth of tools that are hardly ever used.
If they are used constantly then you need a new car.😀😀😀

Post by: edz on December 20, 2016, 03:15:20 PM
Typical junk Huh .. Fancy only lasting 35 years .. ;D ;D
Post by: Rodt on December 20, 2016, 03:17:49 PM
Is it just me or are there a few cranky people on the forum in the last couple of weeks  ???

Buy whatever you reckon you need mate as it is better than a handful of sweet f**k all
Post by: tracker on December 20, 2016, 03:29:44 PM
Is it just me or are there a few cranky people on the forum in the last couple of weeks  ???

Buy whatever you reckon you need mate as it is better than a handful of sweet f**k all

All good mate.... ;D.....The only other tool i over looked to put in there .....is RACQ Ultimate.......cheapist tool i'v ever bought.......... :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: glenm64 on December 20, 2016, 03:37:00 PM
Im a fitter and my tools cop a hammering, literally.
Hammering  and large extensions on them for leverage are the norm.
Over the years Ive found Repcos and in recent years JBS tools to be of good quality without costing an arm and a leg.
Repcos also have a lifetime warranty and their good in the hand. You'd be surprised how much of a difference that can make when trying to get a bit of purchase on a tight bolt.
This is a good time of year to get a great price on tools.
Ive still got all my Sidchrome tools I bought when I was an apprentice 37 years ago. Todays Sidchrome arent in the same league.
Look for old fellas having garage sales and buy their stuff. Brands like Britool were common and their as good as Snap On. Proto, SK, King Dick, Gedore are all quality tools that can be picked up for a song.

Post by: Beepa on December 20, 2016, 04:31:06 PM
I have good quality tools in my workshop, had them since I was an apprentice. On the Cruiser I have cheaper stuff from Repco, Stupid cheap and even a full set from Grays Online. On the CT I only have an old battery drill for the legs and a cheap water pump for jerry can to CT water transfer. I always take my "work tool bag" when I go away and have rarely had to use any of my stored tools. Having a 23year old Cruiser I like to be prepared, so my problem is weight (of the tools ;D). By the time I put any spares/fluids/clamps/ties/wires plus two of every common size spanners/sockets/drivers and various bolts/nuts/screws/12volt lugs/crimps/soldering iron/heatshrink as well as a rattle gun/sabre saw/grinder/charger etc etc...things get a bit heavy. We trashed the steel tray on the ute for an ally one to compensate but...what do you do. Cheaper tools will start to rust quicker but from a cost/benefit point of view if you are not using them every day for work go a better quality cheaper one.
Post by: wilson79 on December 20, 2016, 05:04:06 PM
I have a reasonable set of king chrome tools at home for the last 10 years and they have been fine for my home use. I purchased some cheap tools for my car many moons ago from a servo I believe and they were like liquorice, I did also by a cheap set from Super Crap auto and they have been fine for general use on the car and trailer..
Post by: oldmate on December 20, 2016, 05:52:11 PM
Is it just me or are there a few cranky people on the forum in the last year???

fixed it for you  ;D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on December 20, 2016, 06:17:38 PM
This thread should be titled "Stuff that makes me laugh".

Having reasonable quality tools, and some ability, is way better than having the best quality and no ability.
But, if you have some tools you might be able to find someone with the ability and agree on an attempt.
Post by: scrapsD40 on December 20, 2016, 06:54:37 PM
Hmm, 150 pieces for $99.......from a discount 4wd supplier. They probably landed the kit in AUS for $50, so that makes each quality piece about 35c each landed, then you have shipping costs on that. If I was touring AUS or the Vic High Country, and had to repair or tighten my nuts, I'd want something a little bit reliable.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161220/6b448ab52b6255cf769fff0175c47a17.png)

My tip, keep your eye out for Stanley or Kinchrome tools to come on special. Pretty sure Repco had 30% off the other day and bound to be some red hot specials in the Boxing Day sales.
Post by: jk on December 20, 2016, 07:38:24 PM
And check the Tradetools, Repco, Autobarn & Green Shed Catalogues for new year bargins. They often have specials on tools !!  :cup: :cup:
Post by: Paddler Ed on December 20, 2016, 08:43:54 PM
I'd have a look for a Stanley kit (https://www.bunnings.com.au/stanley-176-piece-tool-kit-with-carry-case_p6110612) or one of the ToolPro (Supercrap) or Repco ones on special; I've got a Crescent set that I've supplemented with ToolPro ratcheting spanners, some deep sockets, a 24" breaker bar, Sidchrome screwdrivers and some pry bars. These other bits and pieces have come about as I've needed them (re-doing the cylinder heads on a V6 4Runner)

This SupaTools socket set (https://www.toolmart.com.au/hand-tools/tool-kits/s2035.html) might not be too bad for $120, or for $160 you're into a Crescent set. (https://www.toolmart.com.au/hand-tools/tool-kits/ctk70mp.html)

Some other options:
https://www.justtools.com.au/stanley-43pce-combo-socket-set-1a2-metric-aaf-89509 (https://www.justtools.com.au/stanley-43pce-combo-socket-set-1a2-metric-aaf-89509)
https://www.justtools.com.au/stanley-38pce-1a4-1a2-metric-aaf-socket-set-89505 (https://www.justtools.com.au/stanley-38pce-1a4-1a2-metric-aaf-socket-set-89505)
Post by: speewa158 on December 20, 2016, 08:55:33 PM
More to the point lf you do the pretrip checks , pack your spares  , kit & are careful out there , why do you need said spanners .                 ??? ???                     :cheers:
Post by: Paddler Ed on December 20, 2016, 09:02:00 PM
More to the point lf you do the pretrip checks , pack your spares  , kit & are careful out there , why do you need said spanners .                 ??? ???                     :cheers:

Because someone else might... I've helped some German backpackers before fix their van with the tools I carry, that was back in 2011 and we're still in touch now.

Also it's much easier to change the wheel with the breaker bar and deep sockets than the normal tools, and I use the sockets and deep sock to the trailer steadies as well.
Post by: Pete79 on December 20, 2016, 09:06:03 PM
From the latest Jaycar catalogue....
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161220/9019eb9b07c9047cddf9685e123c4f90.jpg)

Much better option then that cheap blue rubbish...... ;)
Post by: Swannie on December 20, 2016, 09:55:40 PM
I only buy snapon. Would never actually use then but damn do they look great when they are nice and Shiny

Post by: kylarama on December 20, 2016, 10:41:28 PM
Either one or both of the Repco and TTI (Total Tools) branded tools are made by Sidchrome. Both have lifetime warranty as others said.

A panelbeater mate bought a big Repco tool chest almost 25 years ago when he was an apprentice. Stuff is still going strong. He's busted the odd spanner and socket through abuse. Walked into Repco and replaced on the spot no questions asked.

90% of my stuff is Kincrome and Stanley.  The Stanley stuff can be picked up cheap during Super Cheap sales.
I've got a few tool kits made up of various cheap stuff sitting in the back of the car and camper for back up.

Cash Converters is an option if you want to support thieves knocking off tradies tools...

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on December 20, 2016, 11:12:00 PM
From the latest Jaycar catalogue....
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161220/9019eb9b07c9047cddf9685e123c4f90.jpg)

Much better option then that cheap blue rubbish...... ;)

You have to be a real man to use Pink coloured tools, right Pete?
Post by: Pete79 on December 21, 2016, 05:06:35 AM
You have to be a real man to use Pink coloured tools, right Pete?
Damn straight! :)

And if we apply Scraps' cost calculations we'd have to be down to around 12c per piece on these bad boys. ;)
Post by: Beepa on December 21, 2016, 05:31:09 AM

Because "S@%* Happens"
Post by: Traveller on December 21, 2016, 04:09:10 PM
I agree with Glenm64 about the JBS tools from Blackwoods. I had a chance to get a socket set cheaper through work and decided to give them a go. They have had a fair bit of use and are still going strong.

Also managed to pick up a Metrinch set that were on the throw out table at one of the hardware stores that have also gone well.
Post by: Troopy_03 on December 22, 2016, 11:32:45 AM
I won't buy Snapon on principal. I have a set of the old (about 20years) black handled Snapon screwdrivers, that over the years the handles have started breaking down. They have become crumbly, and two handles have completely fallen apart, while the rest are at varying stages of degradation. I have no idea why they have done this, but they seem to 'sweat' an oily residue and the surface of the handles starts to craze. Eventually the crazing becomes deeper cracks and the handle just falls apart.

I took them to one of the reps in the snapon trucks that tour around, and he said he couldn't do anything about them. When I asked about the lifetime warranty, he said "yes, but the ones where the handle is completely gone, how can I tell they are Snapon?". Fair enough I suppose, even though I showed him the full set which all have the same frosted tips, but when I asked about the ones that were starting to craze, like the others did, he said "well bring them back when they have started cracking and I'll replace the handles, if we have any to fit" wtf? I told him not to worry, I'll replace the handles with some old Stanley ones I have, so I know they will last..
Post by: NerdyAUS on March 31, 2017, 12:28:10 PM
Resurrecting a older thread, but...

I bought one of the 4WD Supacentre kits, both to see what it's like and as a kit I can keep in the camper and not worry too much about loaning my tools out to people if they need.

It's only arrived today, I might take some close up pics tonight and post them up.
I'm not expecting Sidchrome by any means, but they *should* at least be adequate.

Might even take some side-by-side's with my Sidchome socket set for reference.
Post by: Patr80l on March 31, 2017, 02:37:16 PM
Resurrecting a older thread, but...

I bought one of the 4WD Supacentre kits, both to see what it's like and as a kit I can keep in the camper and not worry too much about loaning my tools out to people if they need.

It's only arrived today, I might take some close up pics tonight and post them up.
I'm not expecting Sidchrome by any means, but they *should* at least be adequate.

Might even take some side-by-side's with my Sidchome socket set for reference.

What exactly are you telling us here?
Post by: NerdyAUS on March 31, 2017, 03:24:21 PM
What exactly are you telling us here?

I'm offering to give some first hand thoughts and images of this kit.
Post by: NerdyAUS on March 31, 2017, 06:09:13 PM

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/d839f30b4b7f6a6fae1a6089026dca51.jpg)
Well. Here it is.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/cab139d6db1fa70f3d63e530450f3acb.jpg)
Seems like there's heaps of room inside. Very thin bag however. And weighs quite a lot. 9.5kg.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/e129562b46ab2549dba2490d81c4ece1.jpg)
Warranty card. Doesn't cover much.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/bd4e3f5cba307315d4212f71aab36a7a.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/b4a837716f49300fce8066957c95ca05.jpg)
Everything is wrapped in bubble wrap and some items have pouches. More on that later.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/d6402c491e2941d7652bdd49d3eef104.jpg)
Have a rounded file with a flat side too.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/f5bb89a9bf3501b7bcaa3e69d65dd89d.jpg)
First impression of the handle: cheap low quality plastic.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/885bedc1761d69f498a14add0aee87bb.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/152cdbecbb4938b09d5549e059752f49.jpg)
Breaker bar. Very hard to twist but only in one direction.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/fc2e23072e967a76c6da3a5778cef98e.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/3974fc35fda5e047ab6fa58a46bb6ba9.jpg)
Ball peen hammer. Plastic handle. Appears to only be plastic.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/2764dffe0d2d4926f9fcd095b7a8f093.jpg)
Ring and open end spanners in a pouch.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/6f48a07739afe61a688218974778a9ac.jpg)
All laid out. I'm so fancy alternating spanner direction. Very shiny, they are engraved with 'Chrome Vanadium'.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/5aa0ca97f0ff8fd73acb211514ab143b.jpg)
Found an adjustable wrench in the same bag.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/906cc4f1539ed9020d3fb07fe925765c.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/49f765bec2e419dffa88249d29930082.jpg)
Low quality saw. Feels very cheap.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/d7a9be535e4c8b66260420b440a91c29.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/4e1d45e5163e54fc4b922c730ef6aad4.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/448115611f40e595fccd80aaabd67ab7.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/6937a14285c49a49ea3a4b38382c14af.jpg)
Sockets. Lots of them. All sizes are metric. They have a decent weight to them. Also shiny.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/52b5f44e62ebd7dd50177b485967f916.jpg)
Extended sockets for spark plugs I assume.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/afd95e8a36ea148f2c48e2487cb6ae6b.jpg)
A bag of assorted other items.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/ec7576ab3663759c46b2f03acfa2c5ee.jpg)
All laid out. Slight film of a lubricant over everything.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/e201a9f6e08736676daa1a45c6395b71.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/a0effa34035a5ded141597b763cd72a5.jpg)
For circlips. With additional heads. 2 appear to be the same however.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/11d2f7d23929e64f540210491cbc003c.jpg)
Doesn't feel super secure to the pliers.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/ca1b37e15b0787baf1b83844985d2e9a.jpg)
Allen keys. These seem alright quality. Then again how hard could it be to make Allen keys?

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/08de7f40904bd148a5db61b797765108.jpg)
Screwdrivers. Cheap plastic strikes again, comfortable though. Appear to be full tang. Sockets fit onto the head if you need it.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/eb5192410f4cd666120cc8722b182a60.jpg)
A box of assorted fuses and 'connectors'.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/e0db875dd488e8795810bcf53154616e.jpg)
The connectors are very cheap and not of the usual size I'd expect. Full size ones next to them for comparison.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/b02df8bbb858ebf27014b835d5b4ec8d.jpg)
Fuses all laid out. Seems like the quantities are random.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/410058781a5dbbf0575bff2fa0584112.jpg)
On close up, honestly, the Kings appear to be just a shorter version of the Sidchrome ones. The Kings does appear to be slightly heavier though. It might be my brain playing tricks, but I'll find some scales sensitive enough and report back. Heavy could just mean cheaper alloy though.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/fa371caf64670e93227e5502cd2f7862.jpg)
Both the Kings and Sidchrome have the usual rounded teeth on the spanners.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/fcbe8562b0dcc1eec6bcbc4fd5cb24c7.jpg)
The Sidchrome have their little antislip notch.

Overall. I think these would be quite acceptable as a kit to keep in the car or camper just in case, or as a kit to loan out so you don't loose your good tools. Time will tell on the quality for most tools, but for the sockets and spanners they seem quite well made.

Post by: Troopy_03 on April 03, 2017, 08:53:30 AM
That hacksaw doesn't look to flash. The teeth are on the wrong side of the blade....
Post by: briann532 on April 03, 2017, 06:23:55 PM
That hacksaw doesn't look to flash. The teeth are on the wrong side of the blade....

Its for uppercuts..........
Post by: SEADOO on April 03, 2017, 06:32:29 PM
Looks like a good basic tool kit. As long as it gets you out of the poo and back on the road until you can repair whatever it was that broke with your shiny Snap On kit at home, then who gives a hoot what kit you keep in the back of your 4wd.

I'd even own that pink set mentioned above over not having tools at all.

I've read on other forums people take entire tool kits, even imperial sets, incase they need to help some one else out.

I'd own a basic tool kit that is contained in an ARB air compressor box when I removed the compressor.

I may not be able to blue print the bottom end on the side of the road, but I reckon I can get myself back on the road and limp home safely.
Post by: barnray on April 03, 2017, 07:34:32 PM
If you want the tools to last buy the best. B
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 03, 2017, 09:12:49 PM
Its for uppercuts..........

I might give meself one for xmas....  ;D
Post by: chillipepperz on April 03, 2017, 10:04:40 PM
Great review Nerdy! Thanks for taking the time to share that. Looks OK for the camper I think.

Cheers!
Andrew
Post by: #jonesy on April 04, 2017, 07:16:01 AM
Thanks for that and the close ups.
Connectors are next to useless and needs electrical tape to insulate them. Fuses seem to be a standard assortment with 10 amp being a fairly common size, except my car uses minis.
Looks like an okay set as an emergency.  How do the sockets compare against sidchrome?  Is the side wall thick enough to take a bit of force on a tough nut with the long breaker?
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 04, 2017, 08:20:07 AM
Thanks for that and the close ups.
Connectors are next to useless and needs electrical tape to insulate them. Fuses seem to be a standard assortment with 10 amp being a fairly common size, except my car uses minis.
Looks like an okay set as an emergency.  How do the sockets compare against sidchrome?  Is the side wall thick enough to take a bit of force on a tough nut with the long breaker?

Whilst they do look like average quality, looking at the insulation on them and no funnel, they are insulated crimp lugs.