General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Pete79 on December 15, 2016, 10:20:00 AM

Title: Monster Slip and Slide
Post by: Pete79 on December 15, 2016, 10:20:00 AM
Does anyone know where I can get a huge slip and slide from?
Or any advise on what is the best material you have found to make your own mega slide?

I know I can just roll out a sheet of black concrete plastic, but Queensland summer sun and black plastic don't go very well together.
I'm also on tank water, so it will be a case of soap it up first then a bucket of water thrown on just as you hit the slide. It needs to be as efficient (easy to make slippery) as possible.
We tried a normal tarp on a small scale test a couple of years ago, but it didn't work very well.
I thought about getting 3 or 4 of the normal kids slides and joining them together, this is a much cheaper option then a roll of concrete plastic.

To give you some idea of what sort of slide I'm looking for.
I have about 10m of flat ground at the top for the run up.
The slide could easily be about 15-20 meters on the slope before it flattens out.
The slope angle is about 18-20 degrees and the 'flat' section is still about an 8 degree slope.
It's all perfectly smooth ground under the slide and I've got some old camping mattresses that I plan on using to line the fence down the bottom for safety if this thing works as well as I want it to.  >:D

Has anyone else made their own awesome slip and slides with any great success?

Title: Re: Monster Slip and Slide
Post by: Bird on December 15, 2016, 10:28:05 AM
buy a few of these https://www.bigw.com.au/product/wham-o-slip-n-slide/p/WCC100000000031005/ (https://www.bigw.com.au/product/wham-o-slip-n-slide/p/WCC100000000031005/)
$15ea
Post by: Streetkid on December 15, 2016, 10:36:15 AM
I did a 30 metre slide for a couple 16 th birthdays and used the concrete plastic, I left it doubled up and when used with a generous amount of dishwashing liquid, it was scary quick. At the end of the slide I had a semi circle of old tyres with a big tarp over the top to create a pool. 
Post by: Pete79 on December 15, 2016, 10:47:36 AM
I did a 30 metre slide for a couple 16 th birthdays and used the concrete plastic, I left it doubled up and when used with a generous amount of dishwashing liquid, it was scary quick. At the end of the slide I had a semi circle of old tyres with a big tarp over the top to create a pool.
I like the pool idea at the bottom, have tyres and tarp. Cheers!
Post by: edz on December 15, 2016, 10:52:16 AM
Bumblings for a couple of rolls of builders plastic 2 m wide 5 m long clear for under $20  https://www.bunnings.com.au/grunt-2-x-5m-100um-clear-builders-film_p0810296 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/grunt-2-x-5m-100um-clear-builders-film_p0810296) and couple of rolls of 100 MPH Tape
Post by: Bird on December 15, 2016, 11:04:27 AM
Bumblings for a couple of rolls of builders plastic 2 m wide 5 m long clear for under $20  https://www.bunnings.com.au/grunt-2-x-5m-100um-clear-builders-film_p0810296 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/grunt-2-x-5m-100um-clear-builders-film_p0810296) and couple of rolls of 100 MPH Tape
wish I had an area suitable for a decent slide :(
Post by: Rumpig on December 15, 2016, 11:35:52 AM
We just use the roll of builders black plastic at our place (did it last a few weekends ago), I have most of a 100mtr roll that I just roll out down and the backyard, then roll it up again when finished. The water tends to keep the plastic cool, just set the hose on spray and you look after the soap or else the kids will go mental with it
Post by: Pete79 on December 15, 2016, 12:05:55 PM
Righto, that's a couple of affirmatives for the builder's plastic. So things are getting serious now.

Just paced it out, gunna need at least 35m to cover the slope, plus a bit for the stopping area at the bottom.

The Big W slides are $15 for 4.8m, will need 7 for this job. I think they are a bit light duty, but at $105 for the length I need that works out more then the builder's plastic anyway.

A 50m roll from Bunnings is $83 (20 minute drive away for me) and the same roll is $85 from Mitre 10 (800m from my place).

Just called, they have 1 roll left, so looks like I know what me and the kids are doing this afternoon. :)
Post by: ScottT on December 15, 2016, 12:13:55 PM
Righto, that's a couple of affirmatives for the builder's plastic. So things are getting serious now.

Just paced it out, gunna need at least 35m to cover the slope, plus a bit for the stopping area at the bottom.

The Big W slides are $15 for 4.8m, will need 7 for this job. I think they are a bit light duty, but at $105 for the length I need that works out more then the builder's plastic anyway.

A 50m roll from Bunnings is $83 (20 minute drive away for me) and the same roll is $85 from Mitre 10 (800m from my place).

Just called, they have 1 roll left, so looks like I know what me and the kids are doing this afternoon. :)

Post by: Pete79 on December 15, 2016, 12:44:57 PM
(https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTsyi8DV9TLVubFLGeMVrjKHw4Y9n_5PQHt2KqV4Wkd5uvgT3P47w)
Post by: Bird on December 15, 2016, 01:12:04 PM
you need a pool to crash in.
(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/ZvplGQ0xfn0/maxresdefault.jpg)
Post by: Pete79 on December 15, 2016, 05:51:51 PM
Well V1.0 was a success of sorts.

The black plastic works just fine, though we set it up after 4pm and it was still pretty warm at the spots that were in full sun for any length of time.

No soap needed at all, just water and gravity were more then enough.

Getting going was not an issue. But stopping...... Well, we'll work on that bit...... ;)

(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/1A1D72BC-2443-41B4-97ED-7CADB85D2F6E_zps5yua1okx.jpg)
Post by: idlegossip on December 15, 2016, 08:35:11 PM
For a constant stream of water try using one of the green soaker hoses with all the holes on the top. Just adjust water pressure enough to just keep it wet without wasting it.
Post by: Streetkid on December 15, 2016, 10:40:25 PM
That's way steeper than the one I had, good luck pulling up.
Post by: ScottT on December 16, 2016, 08:57:26 AM
Well V1.0 was a success of sorts.

The black plastic works just fine, though we set it up after 4pm and it was still pretty warm at the spots that were in full sun for any length of time.

No soap needed at all, just water and gravity were more then enough.

Getting going was not an issue. But stopping...... Well, we'll work on that bit...... ;)

(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/1A1D72BC-2443-41B4-97ED-7CADB85D2F6E_zps5yua1okx.jpg)

:cup: :cup:
Post by: Pete79 on December 16, 2016, 09:16:28 AM
you need a pool to crash in
Turns out you might be right.

Tried throwing some rolled up foam under it near the bottom to wash some speed off. The reality was all that did was get me airborne and flying into the fence. :)

It's packed up again for now, next week we'll work on a safer landing area. Need to get it sorted before my BIL and his crazy 8yr old son come round after Christmas.
Post by: #jonesy on December 16, 2016, 10:23:35 AM
Is it wide enough you wouldn't want to come off the side at top speed
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2016, 10:42:33 AM
Just remember.. it only hurts while the pain is there.
Post by: Pete79 on December 16, 2016, 10:43:45 AM
Is it wide enough you wouldn't want to come off the side at top speed
It's not wide enough at the moment, one of the girls did come off the side at full speed. She wasn't happy. ;)

It's still in the testing phase, once I have the stopping part sorted I'll cut the plastic to length and open it out to full width. Just left it doubled over while it's still on the roll.
Post by: edz on December 16, 2016, 11:24:46 AM
Know anyone with some bales of hay, Not overly soft but better than the fence .. # Note place them about 1.5m from the fence to take the initial impact and it to move  them
Post by: wakychapmans on December 16, 2016, 11:32:49 AM
It's not wide enough at the moment, one of the girls did come off the side at full speed. She wasn't happy. ;)

It's still in the testing phase, once I have the stopping part sorted I'll cut the plastic to length and open it out to full width. Just left it doubled over while it's still on the roll.

how about those pool noodles? You could run them down the sides. From top to bottom, open the sheet out to full width, then fold the edge around the noodles. That would create a nice "edge" down each side and keep people on the plastic... (or make a nice lip to get air off of)...

one of those anyway...

Post by: Pete79 on December 16, 2016, 11:39:08 AM
I have a couple of big bales here, but they're a bit too big and probably too solid for this job. I recon I can get the pool to work.
We've got one of those 3m long x 1.5m wide blow up ones stashed away somewhere. Only need a little launch pad to get into the pool.

I like the pool noodle idea, we don't actually have any here, but I'm sure I could find something soft to wrap under the sides when it's opened out to fill width.

But unfortunately I'm one of those guys that everyone desperately needs to help them on the week before Christmas (then they do nothing with the info I rush to give them by their stupid deadlines). So it will all have to wait for another week or so before another test run.
Post by: Green rv on December 16, 2016, 12:06:18 PM
run around with the mower and catch the clippings or something similar
use it as a buffer underneath  down the edges of the plastic
that's if you get enough clippings 
might help keep you all on the runway

Adam
Post by: edz on December 16, 2016, 12:17:47 PM
But unfortunately I'm one of those guys that everyone desperately needs to help them on the week before Christmas (then they do nothing with the info I rush to give them by their stupid deadlines)..
Perfect trade off, you will do the rush work for them and they set your slide up as part of the deal .. ;D ;D
Post by: paulo on December 16, 2016, 12:28:53 PM
Chicks dig scars.
Post by: Pete79 on December 16, 2016, 12:30:49 PM
Perfect trade off, you will do the rush work for them and they set your slide up as part of the deal .. ;D ;D
If only....
If it doesn't make them money, they're not interested.
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2016, 01:15:50 PM
step 2
https://www.facebook.com/devinsupertramp/videos/1232637823420606/ (https://www.facebook.com/devinsupertramp/videos/1232637823420606/)
Post by: Green rv on December 16, 2016, 01:32:32 PM
step 2
https://www.facebook.com/devinsupertramp/videos/1232637823420606/ (https://www.facebook.com/devinsupertramp/videos/1232637823420606/)

now that looks like fun
i do similar with the kids on boogie boards at the beach they have a blast
now if you could come up with an attachment that clamps on the clothesline i'll have one
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2016, 02:12:26 PM
now that looks like fun
i do similar with the kids on boogie boards at the beach they have a blast
now if you could come up with an attachment that clamps on the clothesline i'll have one
we used to do it down boat harbor beach with bonnets, and numerous tow vehicles... like Pottys 4.4 P76 buggy, or the old Stout :D http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33021.msg523478#msg523478 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33021.msg523478#msg523478)
Post by: #jonesy on December 16, 2016, 03:12:19 PM
https://www.facebook.com/FatherlyHQ/videos/1128305907222550/ (https://www.facebook.com/FatherlyHQ/videos/1128305907222550/)

Or Try this
Post by: Pete79 on December 16, 2016, 03:14:29 PM
https://www.facebook.com/FatherlyHQ/videos/1128305907222550/ (https://www.facebook.com/FatherlyHQ/videos/1128305907222550/)

Or Try this
WooHoo!!!
Love it, that's my kind of dad right there! :)
Post by: Meggsie on December 16, 2016, 03:20:59 PM
You can join pool noodles end to end and put it under the plastic on either side to create a 'channel' that keeps the kids a bit more central...

Post by: Meggsie on December 16, 2016, 03:23:39 PM
Whoops...just saw someone else's pool noodle comment...see full of good ideas...

Post by: Green rv on December 16, 2016, 03:50:19 PM
i still like my grass clipping idea
but these might be ok to if you want to spend the $$
bit bigger than a pool noodle

http://wahu.com.au/pool/ (http://wahu.com.au/pool/)

no frigg it do it properly get a grader in and carve a permanent track into the side of the hill with a dam at the end
Post by: Pete79 on December 16, 2016, 03:56:04 PM
i still like my grass clipping idea
So did I just hear you volunteer to bring your old school fitness machine with you for New Years and call into my place on the way passed to help with these lawn clippings??? ;) :P
Post by: Green rv on December 16, 2016, 03:58:02 PM
So did I just hear you volunteer to bring your old school fitness machine with you for New Years and call into my place on the way passed to help with these lawn clippings??? ;) :P

sorry mate it doesn't have a catcher

if it was me i would use a few 2x4s on the edge and nail all scuif  with rusty nails
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2016, 04:03:01 PM

if it was me i would use a few 2x4s on the edge and nail all scuif  with rusty nails
Post by: Pete79 on December 16, 2016, 04:05:14 PM
I've got a rake and a wheel barrow...

no frigg it do it properly get a grader in and carve a permanent track into the side of the hill with a dam at the end
The slope was made with a bobcat about 8 years ago for the purpose of this slide. I just didn't give much thought to how fast it would actually be or how I would stop at the bottom. :)

There is the head of a big dam only about 15m from the bottom of this slide, unfortunately it's about a 45 degree slope between the fence and the water, with a row of big gum trees and vines in between.
Post by: Paddler Ed on December 16, 2016, 04:06:27 PM
If I wasn't sitting at work I'd find you a link, but most medical suppliers or marital aid suppliers (I think they were called in the past) should be able to help with some water soluble lubricant.

That should speed it up.

Just make sure any joins are well over lapped, and that the top layer goes over the bottom layer and the bottom layer gets the same amount of lubricant so that the person doesn't suddenly stop and take the lower layer with them...
Post by: Pete79 on December 16, 2016, 04:08:30 PM
If I wasn't sitting at work I'd find you a link, but most medical suppliers or marital aid suppliers (I think they were called in the past) should be able to help with some water soluble lubricant.

That should speed it up.

Just make sure any joins are well over lapped, and that the top layer goes over the bottom layer and the bottom layer gets the same amount of lubricant so that the person doesn't suddenly stop and take the lower layer with them...
Ohh, we don't need no lube, it's plenty fast enough just with water.
Post by: wakychapmans on December 16, 2016, 05:33:31 PM
Ohh, we don't need no lube, it's plenty fast enough just with water.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySWR_llmiII (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySWR_llmiII)

Post by: Pete79 on December 16, 2016, 05:46:16 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySWR_llmiII (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySWR_llmiII)
Lol, there's always that me for lube.. :)
Post by: speewa158 on December 17, 2016, 06:08:19 AM
Have you paid up the Ambo cover for the family & checked your public liability insurance .
Have a Bopeep in the clause about  " Mindless Stupidity after Drinking "    :cheers:
Post by: Pete79 on December 17, 2016, 06:56:21 AM
Have a Bopeep in the clause about  " Mindless Stupidity after Drinking "    :cheers:
Pretty sure I'm covered for "mindless stupidity after drinking".
But this one probably falls into "desperately holding onto my youth" or possibly "one last crazy idea before I'm too old and fat to do this sort of thing". ;)
Post by: edz on December 17, 2016, 09:12:03 AM
Here ya go Pete, could always go two up and use an inflatable boat https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0l8iT2PSFs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0l8iT2PSFs) ;D  or  this one into the dam https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUOhpQDDME4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUOhpQDDME4)
Post by: tryagain on December 17, 2016, 10:15:12 AM
Tell me I am not the only thinking this

need at least 35m to cover the slope,
plus this
There is the head of a big dam only about 15m from the bottom of this slide
equals this,
A 50m roll is $85 from Mitre 10 (800m from my place).
it's meant to be.

There is the head of a big dam only about 15m from the bottom of this slide, unfortunately it's about a 45 degree slope between the fence and the water, even with a row of big gum trees to go between and vines in between that can create a tunnel.
FTFY

Here is some inspiration for you, this one goes under a couple of fences so there is a solution for that issue for you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvnTd_sPm3g (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvnTd_sPm3g)

And for the entry into the dam.

https://youtu.be/iHu6LVg-0Hs?t=2m (https://youtu.be/iHu6LVg-0Hs?t=2m)
Post by: Pete79 on December 17, 2016, 12:09:32 PM
Tell me I am not the only thinking this
plus thisequals this, it's meant to be.
 FTFY

Here is some inspiration for you, this one goes under a couple of fences so there is a solution for that issue for you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvnTd_sPm3g (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvnTd_sPm3g)

And for the entry into the dam.

https://youtu.be/iHu6LVg-0Hs?t=2m (https://youtu.be/iHu6LVg-0Hs?t=2m)
You're all over it man. My kids will be hating you for giving me these ideas on how to make this thing even more scary. :)

And 550m! That guy is a legend, not to mention he actually looks like me. Just need my captain's hat. ;)
Post by: Paddler Ed on December 17, 2016, 04:09:08 PM
Here ya go Pete, could always go two up and use an inflatable boat https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0l8iT2PSFs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0l8iT2PSFs) ;D  or  this one into the dam https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUOhpQDDME4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUOhpQDDME4)

Used to do a lot of kayaking in the UK, which for whitewater conincided wth winter... snow boating became a regular alternative to river boating as we'd use the kayaks as sledges down hills... you could just about control them in the same way as you would on the water as putting a bit of edge on resulted in a turn. PFD's were also useful as body armour for hitting fences or shed walls...

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/1910027_9515550855_2679_n.jpg?oh=f3a660b54529b8441feb9319b85cd9fe&oe=58EC1970)
(not me...)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/200721_4902670855_3638_n.jpg?oh=0218af5fb57b8accedc572707657932a&oe=58F6AED8)
(one of my old kayaks)
Post by: D4D on December 24, 2016, 11:08:00 AM
Pain is only weakness leaving your body...
Post by: Pete79 on December 29, 2016, 07:04:53 PM
Just to finish this one off, we've had success!!!
Sadly it's not 550m long and there's no flips into the water at the end, but still a heap of fun for all the kids (the little ones and the big ones ;) ).

run around with the mower and catch the clippings or something similar
use it as a buffer underneath  down the edges of the plastic
that's if you get enough clippings 
might help keep you all on the runway

Adam

This worked a treat, great suggestion there. :)
I went down a grabbed a few smaller bales of hay (grass). One was for the sides and the rest to make the pool at the end. 

(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/4C97097D-6D3A-489C-BE70-39A7A220A138_zpsazeqqxvb.jpg)

Yep, looks like it should go ok.....

(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/A51B0156-7852-447E-9EB5-D77A842A5F00_zps2nn5mpfk.jpg)

And the crowd agrees!!!! :)

(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/42FEC32A-CA07-4632-AAB9-6FE3E98D5524_zpslgosl0jc.jpg)
Post by: edz on December 29, 2016, 07:15:47 PM
Theres some unforgettable  stories and fun times for the kids to look back on in later years, been made with this slide Pete ..  :cup: