General => General Discussion => Topic started by: DrewXT on December 08, 2016, 07:52:13 PM

Title: Fraser Advice
Post by: DrewXT on December 08, 2016, 07:52:13 PM
Hi Folks,

A few of us are going to Fraser at the start of April, and have booked sites at the top camp ground at Waddy Point, and wondering what foods supplies we should take, vs buying on the island?

Thanks for any pointers!

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Fraser Advice
Post by: SEADOO on December 08, 2016, 08:09:12 PM
You can prett much buy anything, but it will cost.

We take most of our stuff and buy bread and milk at the Uerong Resort Bakery.
Post by: DrewXT on December 08, 2016, 08:13:02 PM
Ok, so lots of cryovac meals in the freezer then?

Post by: SEADOO on December 08, 2016, 08:14:56 PM
Depends how long your going. I'm only there no more than a week, so we live off bacon and eggs for breakfast and sausage sizzles for dinner.
Post by: edz on December 08, 2016, 08:28:34 PM
Frozen meat is available at the four  shops along the eastern beach, Fresh bread etc at Eurong , depending if its peak holiday time limited amounts of fresh bread used to be had at Happy valley / Cathedral beach and Orchid beach, otherwise its frozen,Not sure if they still do ..
 Milk I think is fresh at Eurong and  long life type at the others ... Very limited if at all fresh type vegies at all outlets  .
Best to take all you need long life milks etc and top up with frozen bread or make damper / flat breads etc ..
Post by: DrewXT on December 08, 2016, 08:49:04 PM
We're there for 10 days... Was thinking making a few pasta sauces and freezing them, long life milk, etc already, as well as bacon/eggs...

Damper on the stove, @edz?

Post by: wasn on December 08, 2016, 08:50:46 PM
If your camping at Waddy, you will be going to Orchid beach shop, as the others are over an hour travel away providing the tides works for you. They dont sell wood and fire isnt guarantee in the area also, dependant on how dry it is.
I would be more concern about bread, milk, and bring all your other meals cryovac, insect spray as the fenced of area is a haven of MOZZIES!!!! BTW  bread goes moldy at crazy speed over there, the bright side is the shop sell fresh frozen ones.
Post by: edz on December 08, 2016, 10:40:47 PM
[quote
Damper on the stove, @edz?
[/quote]

They did have fire rings there but not sure if able to still be used / fire restrictions ... Probably be easier just to use a Camp oven on the cooker or improvise  with a Deep sided frying pan / skillet with a low trivet and a stainless bowl lid on top on lowish heat for about twenty minutes + ...Pan version makes quick hot pizza's too .http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=48248.msg846841#msg846841 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=48248.msg846841#msg846841)
Post by: Bird on December 09, 2016, 08:07:12 AM
Quote from: DrewXT
Ok, so lots of cryovac meals in the freezer then?
We did... worked really well.
and don't expect to get any last minute shopping in Gympie on a weekend... ****in Shithole.
Post by: Green rv on December 09, 2016, 08:12:58 AM
but hold on there's an app for that
not sure what it covers food wise 

http://www.packpnt.com/ (http://www.packpnt.com/)

Adam
Post by: DrewXT on December 09, 2016, 11:01:33 AM
and don't expect to get any last minute shopping in Gympie on a weekend... ****in Shithole.
Gympie is like that every day...

I'll do any last minute shopping in Toowoomba... Got a lazy day driving up on the day before we go across, as the missus and kids are flying into Brisvegas at 5pm or thereabouts...
Post by: Rumpig on December 09, 2016, 11:19:25 AM
you do know they have an ALDI there these days...open on weekends also  ;)
Post by: DrewXT on December 09, 2016, 11:31:13 AM
you do know they have an ALDI there these days...open on weekends also  ;)
That changes everything!!? Happy Days :)
Post by: Bird on December 09, 2016, 12:03:08 PM
Gympie is like that every day...

Yea 7 years too late with that little chestnut...
Post by: Rumpig on December 09, 2016, 06:14:50 PM
Yea 7 years too late with that little chestnut...
they also have a decent sized Woolies next to The Jockey Club (hotel near the Showgrounds) aswell these days, been open about 2 years I'd guess.
Post by: chief on December 09, 2016, 08:18:52 PM
Does anyone no if you can fill up your camper with water at Orchid Beach Shop.
Post by: Green rv on December 12, 2016, 07:56:22 AM
Does anyone no if you can fill up your camper with water at Orchid Beach Shop.

have many times before
take your own hose and fittings

Adam
Post by: GUEY on December 13, 2016, 10:44:41 AM
If you drink, take plenty of grog. Forget the extra jerry can of fuel and take an extra carton. Fuel is cheap on the island compared to alchohol.   :cheers:
Post by: Green rv on December 13, 2016, 10:49:26 AM
If you drink, take plenty of grog. Forget the extra jerry can of fuel and take an extra carton. Fuel is cheap on the island compared to alchohol.   :cheers:

six pack jim beams  = $45.00  :'(
Post by: GUEY on December 13, 2016, 11:05:49 AM
six pack jim beams  = $45.00  :'(

Just out of curiosity I checked carton prices at the shops while over there in April. Paid $65 per carton of JB at home to take over. Kingfisher was the dearest from memory at $175 per carton. Think Eurong was $165.
Car fuel isn't even double the price, so stuff paying near tripple for my fuel  ;D
Post by: Green rv on December 13, 2016, 11:29:06 AM
Just out of curiosity I checked carton prices at the shops while over there in April. Paid $65 per carton of JB at home to take over. Kingfisher was the dearest from memory at $175 per carton. Think Eurong was $165.
Car fuel isn't even double the price, so stuff paying near tripple for my fuel  ;D

happy valley and cathedral  only sold 6 packs

Post by: Bird on December 13, 2016, 12:03:19 PM
Fawk..
Someone should load up a Unimog and ring a bell like a milky ....
sell slabs for $90 each
Post by: DrewXT on December 13, 2016, 12:32:46 PM

:cheers: otherwise, the missus will send me broke!
Post by: DrewXT on February 20, 2017, 09:38:03 PM
Bringing this one back to life...

Do guys think i need a snorkel for Fraser?  Last time I was there, I was in an L Series Subaru and didn't need one, but at Easter, I'm aware there are king tides, and have no idea how the crossings will have changed in the last 25 years

Post by: edz on February 20, 2017, 10:08:37 PM
You wont  need them over there,[  ###   But just be aware of the air inlet height ### ]  when crossing Eli  / Wyuna  creeks and if theres been a sh*te load of rain, the big lagoon that forms behind Indian Head or unless you want to go submarining in the bigger salt creeks .. Awinya, Wathumba or the salt water beach  lagoons at Waddy Point .
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 21, 2017, 03:23:08 AM
Bringing this one back to life...

Do guys think i need a snorkel for Fraser?

Only if you roll off the barge.
Post by: Rumpig on February 21, 2017, 06:30:46 AM
You wont  need them over there,[  ###   But just be aware of the air inlet height ### ]  when crossing Eli  / Wyuna  creeks and if theres been a sh*te load of rain, the big lagoon that forms behind Indian Head or unless you want to go submarining in the bigger salt creeks .. Awinya, Wathumba or the salt water beach  lagoons at Waddy Point .
that waterhole that forms on the track off the beach to Indian Head has caught quite a few people out over the years, surprising how deep it can get there.
Post by: edz on February 21, 2017, 07:38:35 AM
Youtube vids of Indian Head  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gWYfoN8OBY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gWYfoN8OBY)     and   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CM2WOvY5NDc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CM2WOvY5NDc)
Post by: chester ver2.0 on February 21, 2017, 08:05:38 AM
Nah you will be fine honestly we took a 3 door rav4 up there one year in the group and the bloody thing is so light it went better than the prado to the point that we spent most of the week driving it around
Post by: DrewXT on March 25, 2017, 07:35:22 PM
SWMBO has asked, and Google hasn't answered... Are there any laundry facilities at Waddy Point Upper Campground, and are there power points in the shower block?  (Personally I don't care, but she wants to know as she apparently needs to run her hairdryer)...

Also, what gold coins do we need for the showers?

Post by: Rumpig on March 25, 2017, 11:20:18 PM
SWMBO has asked, and Google hasn't answered... Are there any laundry facilities at Waddy Point Upper Campground, and are there power points in the shower block?  (Personally I don't care, but she wants to know as she apparently needs to run her hairdryer)...

Also, what gold coins do we need for the showers?

been a while since I was last there, but No and No from memory. I vaguely recall a laundry being at Eurong, think it was around near the public toilets / across the road from them downstairs  of one of the buildings.
Post by: edz on March 25, 2017, 11:21:40 PM
Hey Drew, Cant recall any power points in the shower blocks and nothing mentioned on the QPWS sites ., hand wash clothes only in dishes or buckets, the sinks can get a work out from people washing up greasy plates / kids etc ..
From what I understand the showers it the QPWS camp grounds are now $2 [ coin ] per 3 minutes [ Take a good quantity as change is limited on the island ].., Make sure you turn the taps off before dropping the coin in .
Cathedral beach Resort has powered sites and washing machines, but you would have to be booked into them to use ..
Think you will find a hand wash in cold water and a good wring out will be more than ok for your clothes, They  realy only get a bit sweaty is all , and they will dry fairly quick .
Post by: DrewXT on March 26, 2017, 07:58:08 AM
Thanks guys... What's the go with the turning taps off before inserting coins?  I've read it elsewhere, but nothing about why - isn't the coin mech in the shower itself or something?

Post by: edz on March 26, 2017, 08:39:08 AM
The money box is out side the shower cubicle door, We have had times when the taps etc had been left turned on full and made it difficult  for the missus / kids to get under the shower to turn them down to a proper levels. [ depends how close you are to the heaters as to how  quick they get hot too ] ..
Post by: edz on March 29, 2017, 09:19:26 PM
Hey Drew, Dont forget to call in to the Shell servo / Bakery at Rainbow Beach, "  Bloody Good pies "  and fresh baked breads for the trip up Fraser ..[ ED's  Bakery, Just coincidence with the name ]  ;D ;D.
IMO better than the bakery at Eurong on Fraser ..
Ohh and take a few extra $$$ [ Aprox $80 pp ] for a flight off the beach over the Island ..Just approach the pilots directly to organise .. Just ads a bit more to the adventure ..
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on March 30, 2017, 06:58:05 AM
Sand should be very firm ;D

Eli could be a touch deep at times too

Weather should be passed by the time you get there.
Post by: DrewXT on March 30, 2017, 12:32:59 PM
Thanks guys, currently in the road to the mid coast of NSW, and through to Brisvegas to pick up the family? tomorrow evening....

Expecting a wet drive once I get over the divide, and a few wet days on the island once we get there...

My mate rang as they went through Narrabri, and the weather has vis and speed down to 50 on the highway...

Post by: Rumpig on March 30, 2017, 04:38:17 PM
Rain supposed to ease / stop overnight here in Brisbane, but will be interesting if highways are cut from flood waters. Weather forum is saying by midnight rain will be stopped, but wind is supposed to kick in from now till we'll into tomorrow sometime.
Post by: Fizzie on March 31, 2017, 09:55:13 AM
Thanks guys, currently in the road to the mid coast of NSW, and through to Brisvegas to pick up the family? tomorrow evening....

May be too late for you Drew, but Pacific Hwy apparently cut at Clothiers Creek, near Murwillumbah.

https://www.livetraffic.com/desktop.html (https://www.livetraffic.com/desktop.html)

Good luck!
Post by: DrewXT on March 31, 2017, 10:17:23 AM
Thanks Fizzie.... Currently at Kempsey, taking my time, and will I guess deal with whatever conditions I come across...

Considering getting North West at South Grafton to avoid Tweed Heads...  Any feedback from guys who know that area?

Post by: edz on March 31, 2017, 10:22:00 AM
M1 Highway at Chinderah,  South of the Big BP is under too.. High tide in about 10 m with the fresh coming downstream is expected to push the river 2.3 m and flood quite a large section .
Post by: wetduck on March 31, 2017, 10:30:11 AM
what about heading west to the New England Hwy, Warwick then Brisbane?
Post by: GBC on March 31, 2017, 11:13:45 AM
Thanks Fizzie.... Currently at Kempsey, taking my time, and will I guess deal with whatever conditions I come across...

Considering getting North West at South Grafton to avoid Tweed Heads...  Any feedback from guys who know that area?

Currently the only way into Qld is the Gwydir highway from Grafton to glen Innes then the New England to Brisbane. We are sitting at home in brissy contemplating our options to head south and watching closely. Currently my best option is to set the camper up in the front yard and get pissed. I am supposed to be setting up camp at south west rocks right now.
Post by: Fizzie on March 31, 2017, 12:15:58 PM
Currently the only way into Qld is the Gwydir highway from Grafton to glen Innes then the New England to Brisbane.

That may be a problem as well ??? Cunningham Hwy cut by flooding at Warrill View (south of Amberley)
Post by: Bird on March 31, 2017, 12:42:57 PM
Ya might be able to go the back way through lightning ridge north, and turn right at Roma..

yes I'm jealous of your ****in holiday
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/a4/75/58/a4755808d99290cdcf4c161967e6f221.jpg)

Post by: DrewXT on March 31, 2017, 12:49:11 PM
Mate just got past Tweed along the Tweed Coast Road, via signed detour...

Post by: Bird on March 31, 2017, 12:56:36 PM
Just got this from a mate

** Big Tip for anyone heading North on the Bruce Highway out off Rockhampton Queensland 
You will be stopped at Marlborough and weighed ! There is a 5 ton weight limit on some bridges

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/17622119_1344378385628838_5909486953639268519_o.jpg?oh=c5f7c78b118f6927c507db1f73cc6cb4&oe=59940ABF)
Post by: GBC on March 31, 2017, 01:16:27 PM

Was he past the tugun tunnel already? Nothing southbound getting through apparently?
Post by: DrewXT on March 31, 2017, 01:17:19 PM
Was he past the tugun tunnel already? Nothing southbound getting through apparently?
Yeah, it's only flooded southbound

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 31, 2017, 01:38:39 PM
Nice fine sunny day at Tin Can Bay and Fraser should be great.

The wind at Double Island is around 15 knots.

I would expect you'll have a lovely time.
Post by: Fizzie on March 31, 2017, 02:34:42 PM

Evacuations have been ordered for Tweed South, Kingscliff, Chinderah & Fingal Head so maybe not holding breath on that one either :'(
Post by: DrewXT on March 31, 2017, 06:56:41 PM
All came to a grinding halt at Clothiers Creek... Work crews are quoting 6-8 hours before the highway reopens... Tried a few ways around, but there's bloody water everywhere...

You happy now, Bird???? 🖕

Post by: GBC on March 31, 2017, 08:45:56 PM
We are heading off at 0230 am. Bris- Gatton-Warwick-glenn Innes-Grafton-south west rocks.
Tweed not looking good until sat arvo at least.
Post by: DrewXT on April 01, 2017, 07:39:23 AM
I made it back to Grafton last night, with the river over the road at Woodburn... Glad I turned back...

Not sure how to get to Brisbane this morning, Summerland Way is showing as being clear on the RTA website, but so was Murwillumbah, which no longer has an expensive, flood proof bridge over the river

Post by: Bird on April 01, 2017, 11:55:06 AM
You happy now, Bird???? 🖕
no.. I'm never drinking again.. :(
Post by: edz on April 01, 2017, 12:10:02 PM
For when you and others are about to head over  to Fraser ... http://www.tides4fishing.com/au/queensland/waddy-point (http://www.tides4fishing.com/au/queensland/waddy-point)
Post by: edz on April 01, 2017, 12:22:10 PM
Now this would be a Great day out https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GuDPUZkWeo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GuDPUZkWeo)   ;D
Post by: Bird on April 01, 2017, 01:39:24 PM
Now this would be a Great day out https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GuDPUZkWeo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GuDPUZkWeo)   ;D
specially at Fraser :D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 01, 2017, 01:43:10 PM
Man o man, the weather here is cracker today with the forecast it will be better tomorrow and the following days to come.

I mean, really, Fraser would be GOLD at the moment.  ;D :cup:   :cheers:
Post by: Fizzie on April 01, 2017, 03:24:53 PM
So Drew & GBC - how'd you both get on? (or through! :D)
Post by: DrewXT on April 01, 2017, 05:13:48 PM
I got through to Brisbane via Grafton, Tenterfield and Warwick... Clear run, no water to be seen...

Leaving Brisbane at sparrows fart to get onto the island and around Hook Point before high tide

Post by: edz on April 01, 2017, 11:18:43 PM
specially at Fraser :D
Dooohhhh for some reasonI was sure I put this in the what makes you smile thread . ;D

On another note Good stuff Drew safe travels and grab a pie from the Shell servo bakery at Rainbow for Brekky  ;D ;D
Without worrying about the variation Low tides 6:10 am and High is 11:55 am you should do it easy .
Post by: GBC on April 02, 2017, 04:50:14 AM

We used the New England and Gwydir highways. 7.5 hrs bris - Grafton then another couple to swr. But here now. I hear the pacific was back open a lane each way by last night.
Post by: DrewXT on April 02, 2017, 07:16:42 AM

On another note Good stuff Drew safe travels and grab a pie from the Shell servo bakery at Rainbow for Brekky  ;D ;D
Without worrying about the variation Low tides 6:10 am and High is 11:55 am you should do it easy .

The guys who went up the Newell, and through Dalby ran the beach yesterday at high tide, and said they had no issues, including crossing Eli without realising they'd crossed it...

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on April 02, 2017, 07:23:05 AM
Enjoy Fraser......... bastards  :'(

Post by: Fizzie on April 02, 2017, 07:35:48 AM
Good to hear you both got through OK - did you wave at each other as you passed? :D

Enjoy your holidays!

Post by: Rumpig on April 02, 2017, 09:52:16 AM
Wind is up a bit in Gympie this morning, hopefully on the coast it's not to bad for you as you try and set up camp.
Post by: Nomad on April 04, 2017, 06:26:32 PM
It would have blown your dog of the chain here last night in Noosa....only slighty better today.

I'm looking forward to going up in June / July......if my new trailer ever turns up
Post by: Rumpig on April 04, 2017, 06:44:03 PM
It would have blown your dog of the chain here last night in Noosa....only slighty better today.

I'm looking forward to going up in June / July......if my new trailer ever turns up
we are heading there about then also, though have rented a beach front house to stay in for a change  8)
Post by: Nomad on April 04, 2017, 06:46:54 PM
Nice.....Are you staying up at Waddy / Orchid Beach? I'll be at Cathedrals..........wanted a campfire. We have a powered site this time so will take an oil heater to keep the tent warm.
Post by: Rumpig on April 04, 2017, 06:51:24 PM
Nice.....Are you staying up at Waddy / Orchid Beach? I'll be at Cathedrals..........wanted a campfire. We have a powered site this time so will take an oil heater to keep the tent warm.
down towards Yidney Rocks...I can't remember exactly off the top of my head where it was, but around there somewhere.
Post by: Bird on April 04, 2017, 07:18:10 PM
Quote from: Nomad
if my new trailer ever turns up
didn't give 50% deposit did you?
Post by: Nomad on April 04, 2017, 07:38:57 PM
Nah........I gave him some secondhand Prado Rims and half of an AT35 hitch..............its all good. Its being Gal dipped at present....the guy just moves at a glacial pace.
Post by: DrewXT on April 05, 2017, 09:51:51 PM
We're at Waddy, and it's been blowing it's ring off since we got here...

At low tide yesterday we couldn't get South of Indian Head, as the waves were breaking into the grass where the sand edge drops off...

Did at run up to the lighthouse today, and Ngala was interesting... Up on a dropping tide, back at flat bottom, and still got wet at the rocks... Yet the North of the Island was like a millpond... Go figure...

Oh, and I'm over the fscking cane toads... How did these farkers get over here???

Post by: edz on April 07, 2017, 02:31:48 PM
Tin can Bay on the 2nd and 3rd then off to Fraser on  the 4th  > 14th July, just locked it in for us at Happy Valley . ;D
Might see you up there .
Post by: Lazybugger on April 07, 2017, 04:34:31 PM
down towards Yidney Rocks...I can't remember exactly off the top of my head where it was, but around there somewhere.

The oaks.

There are 3 houses a little less than a km south of Yidney.  Have spent a lot of time there, a mate owns one. Great fishing spot.
Post by: Rumpig on April 07, 2017, 04:53:18 PM
The oaks.

There are 3 houses a little less than a km south of Yidney.  Have spent a lot of time there, a mate owns one. Great fishing spot.
wasn't called The Oaks, the misses booked it so she'd know...lol
Post by: Stewart on April 07, 2017, 05:31:37 PM
Heading to Fraser on Sunday. Wondering how the beaches have faired after the past week or so of wild weather.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on April 09, 2017, 08:03:14 AM
Must be Drew's last day on Fraser? There's been nothing short of 300kn winds, squally weather and the daily 3" of rain since they arrived.

Not a cloud in the sky today, barely a breath of wind and a mild temp. Glorious day. Almost certainly means the end of a camping trip.....

Poor bastards certainly copped the worst of the weather.
Post by: edz on April 09, 2017, 10:40:04 AM
Hope they found a few gaps in the weather to have a reasonable time and look around  ..
Back in 2012 we had cyclonic conditions etc, But even though it was 40+ kt winds and horizontal rain and huge seas for a week we still managed to have a reasonable time, tucked in behind a dune, any time we get away from the routine of the work / home weekly roundabout is good .  :laugh:
 What it was and what it should have been like . :laugh:
Post by: DrewXT on April 14, 2017, 09:04:53 PM
The weather was for the most part pretty good....  We got there a day later than expected, and left 2 days early when #1 son had had a high temperature for 3 nights that wasn't abating.

I don't think I've ever run a beach on a fully low tide and has only a car width of sand left before - did that twice on Corroboree Beach ... First time no issue, second time our mate had a blowout as the tide turned...

Drove the Amarok up the beach to Indian Head like it was a rally car that night!!

Definitely a recce trip for us - next time, we'll most likely camp at Cathedrals or somewhere more centrally located to make day tripping easier...

We loved it, and will definitely be back!!

Post by: Fizzie on April 15, 2017, 11:51:29 AM
I don't think I've ever run a beach on a fully low tide and has only a car width of sand left before - did that twice on Corroboree Beach ... First time no issue, second time our mate had a blowout as the tide turned...

That would have been exciting! :o
Post by: DrewXT on April 15, 2017, 12:53:54 PM
That would have been exciting! :o
A few puckering moments, as we dodged the bigger waves

Post by: edz on April 15, 2017, 01:31:34 PM
That thin section of beach and sand cliffs North of Dundaburra to Indian Head can give some interesting scoot and shoot moments dodging waves and into the little,  for want of a better word " Bays "   towards a high tide ..  ;D
Post by: chisel on April 15, 2017, 03:29:14 PM
That thin section of beach and sand cliffs North of Dundaburra to Indian Head can give some interesting scoot and shoot moments dodging waves and into the little,  for want of a better word " Bays "   towards a high tide ..  ;D
Indeed.  Have been caught there a couple of times myself and been through way too much water way too fast a couple of times!!