General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Urchy87 on November 30, 2016, 07:33:43 PM

Title: Your Must Take Items
Post by: Urchy87 on November 30, 2016, 07:33:43 PM
Hey

Up until recently buying a Camping Trailer I have camped with the bare basics. Now I have a bit of storage available I can afford to sacrafice a little room for 'stuff'. A bit about us, we have 2 young boys. One is 3 and the other is 6 months old.

I was curious what items you can't leave without. This doesn't have to relate to having children but just getting a bit of an idea about what those things are that aren't obvious but make camping life easier or more enjoyable.

Thanks in advance. Looking forward to your responses.

Urchy87
Title: Your Must Take Items
Post by: scrapsD40 on November 30, 2016, 07:37:59 PM
Coffee maker & Chocolate(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161130/66ceae10f9d824376a5667d77cbb9b4f.jpg)
Title: Re: Your Must Take Items
Post by: glenm64 on November 30, 2016, 07:44:24 PM
Camp oven
Torches and spare batteries

Post by: listo on November 30, 2016, 08:10:09 PM
Beer. Icy cold beer. Can make do if anything else is forgotten.
Post by: briann532 on November 30, 2016, 08:21:29 PM
Beer. Icy cold beer. Can make do if anything else is forgotten.

Yep. I'll second that....... :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on November 30, 2016, 08:23:43 PM
Same stuff you took basic camping,  just now you have a better sleeping area. Keep it simple, more relaxing time, less setting up and packing up time then.
Post by: Urchy87 on November 30, 2016, 08:33:41 PM
Some good suggestions here guys.

Good point rumpig and listo you are on the mark with beer.

Scrapsd40 I like a good coffee so that is a tempting suggestion.
Post by: Rumpig on November 30, 2016, 09:17:55 PM
Not only do you have a better sleeping area now, you should also have all your cooking gear (pans and oil etc), cutlery, plates and cups etc packed in the camper ready to go, no need to pack them in the fourby to head away. Having the camper just makes it easier to get away on weekends, doesn't mean you have to take anything extra with you.
Post by: dales133 on December 01, 2016, 06:11:17 AM
Thats exactly what im looking forward to the most.
Being able to throw it on the hitch and go whenever ive got the chance with a stop for groceries on the way
Post by: cruiser 91 on December 01, 2016, 06:38:34 AM
Don't forget the Aeroguard Mr Walker!
Now days it's Bushmans
Post by: raider on December 01, 2016, 06:44:14 AM
Your wife or your girlfriend.... but never both  ;D
Post by: oldmate on December 01, 2016, 07:51:48 AM
Yep, got to agree with Rumpig.  We still camp with the same "stuff". It just now it all has a place of its own to call home and is easy to access, as well as being ready to go at anytime. Which is the reason we got a camper. Not so we cold take more stuff.

Post by: MrCruza on December 01, 2016, 08:18:02 AM
Keys for the feckin camper!! Twice now I've left them at home   :'(
Post by: GUEY on December 01, 2016, 09:00:33 AM
Wet wipes, lot's and lot's of wet wipes. Plus disinfectant wet wipes.

Post by: Merts on December 01, 2016, 09:47:27 AM
One of these.
It's the simple things, made easier, that I appreciate.

http://www.2daloo.com/ (http://www.2daloo.com/)
Post by: Traveller on December 01, 2016, 01:55:05 PM

This is why the missus has a spare set. Stupid part is I also included a spare key for the fourby, but where is the handbag if I lose the keys, in the fourby.

These days our must take item is a Thermos thermal pot, can't believe how useful it is. One awesome feature is cooking the evening repast while having breakfast, then arriving at night to a still warm meal, luxury. Another bit of luxury is a set of slippers for inside the trailer on cool evenings if we don't have a fire. Couldn't travel without them now.
Post by: glenm64 on December 01, 2016, 02:10:20 PM
I leave a spare set of van keys in the car.

Post by: tracker on December 01, 2016, 02:17:18 PM
Just don't forget to take common sence ....If you take that ....all else will fall into line...Just my 2 bob's worth.

:cup: :cup:

Post by: MrCruza on December 01, 2016, 02:29:16 PM
This is why the missus has a spare set.

1st time I left them I made sure that I had spares on my keyring, all except the water tank as we only have one of those. Guess which one I needed last outing..   >:(
Post by: gphcald on December 01, 2016, 05:55:32 PM
Most cars have a key that will only open one door (normally the rear door, get this key (it wont have a chip in it) and tape it to the underside of the car VERY securely. Then hide a spare set of keys in the rear of the vehicle. Problem solved
Post by: Hewy54 on December 01, 2016, 06:45:16 PM
And even if you take your keys with you, remember to take them out of the camper when you pack up. Had a quick pack up one trip when it started to rain, and forgot to to take the car keys out of the safe place in the camper so had to put it up again to get at them. Everything soaked by the time I found them.
Post by: Urchy87 on December 01, 2016, 06:54:20 PM

Funny you say this. When I went to get the gas certificate done for the road worthy I had to do a 60k detour back home when halfway to town I realised I left the keys on the table so I had an early introduction to that lesson.

Wet wipes, lot's and lot's of wet wipes. Plus disinfectant wet wipes.

They can be handy. We have young kids so these are always in abundance wherever we go.

Not only do you have a better sleeping area now, you should also have all your cooking gear (pans and oil etc), cutlery, plates and cups etc packed in the camper ready to go, no need to pack them in the fourby to head away. Having the camper just makes it easier to get away on weekends, doesn't mean you have to take anything extra with you.

This was part of the reason for getting the camping trailer. At the moment we have stuff spread out everywhere and it's always a nightmare when it comes time to packing. Looking forward to being able to just drop it on the towball and head off.

There is some great ideas in here.

Thanks.
Post by: speewa158 on December 01, 2016, 08:09:36 PM
Get a pen & paper to wright down all the   " Stuff   " you forgot to bring  .
All the   " Stuff  " did bring should have a ring of tape on it . As you use it peel off the tape , after 6 months ditch the  " Stuff  " that still has tape on it . Dead weight in the CT    :cheers:
Post by: Urchy87 on December 01, 2016, 08:54:23 PM
Good idea speewa158. A will do that for sure.
Post by: gronk on December 02, 2016, 05:44:44 AM
Get a pen & paper to wright down all the   " Stuff   " you forgot to bring  .
All the   " Stuff  " did bring should have a ring of tape on it . As you use it peel off the tape , after 6 months ditch the  " Stuff  " that still has tape on it . Dead weight in the CT    :cheers:

Not sure where to put the tape on the missus ???   Seriously, because she comes in the 4wd, I suppose you can't add her as dead weight for the camper ??  >:(
Post by: speewa158 on December 02, 2016, 06:32:49 AM
Not sure where to put the tape on the missus ???   Seriously, because she comes in the 4wd, I suppose you can't add her as dead weight for the camper ??  >:(

Brave ,,,,, Very Brave                or Stupid  ??? ???                :cheers:
Post by: doc evil on December 02, 2016, 07:20:46 AM
me.............on remote trips (which they mostly are  ;D ) the .223...... :angel: :angel:

Purely as a survival item. Only came out if the locked box twice. Once to put down a camel the chopper didn't quite get and the second a couple of feral cats that were hanging around camp one night.
Post by: Urchy87 on December 02, 2016, 09:41:26 AM
me.............on remote trips (which they mostly are  ;D ) the .223...... :angel: :angel:

Purely as a survival item. Only came out if the locked box twice. Once to put down a camel the chopper didn't quite get and the second a couple of feral cats that were hanging around camp one night.

Haha. Previously we camp at places that we are going to for hunting. The .223 rarely misses a trip. I don't think I will bother putting tape around it. Lol.

Although we plan on doing a few different types of trips now we have the camper so it may have to stay home.

That's a risky comment. But in saying that I may be able to think of one spot. Lol. It could be quite a battle applying it though. Probably safer not to worry about it.
Post by: Spada on December 02, 2016, 10:03:45 AM

masking take turns "NO" into "MMMMMMMMM"  >:D
Post by: Beachman on December 02, 2016, 10:26:07 AM
The bed in our camper is always made with it’s own sheets, doona and pillows and has it’s own cooking and kitchen equipment. So in theory it’s food, beer and firewood which gets added for each trip.

I also have my camper dimensions drawn on a plan and tape measure. At first a couple of mates laughed at me, but there have been times when squeezing around trees I’ve been able to measure while the trailer is still attached to the car and know if I will fit before I set up. Sometimes it’s meant moving the trailer as little as 10cm to make a perfect fit.   
Post by: Griswold on December 02, 2016, 10:58:06 AM
Coffee maker & Chocolate(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161130/66ceae10f9d824376a5667d77cbb9b4f.jpg)

I've tried it from the barista himself and must say its pretty good..
Post by: MattNQ on December 02, 2016, 11:03:24 AM
Cable ties, gaffa tape, rope.

Oh, and a hammer. Pegs don't hammer in so well without a hammer.....

sent from Earth via tapatalk

Post by: Joff on December 02, 2016, 11:08:22 AM
The bed in our camper is always made with it’s own sheets, doona and pillows and has it’s own cooking and kitchen equipment. So in theory it’s food, beer and firewood which gets added for each trip.

I also have my camper dimensions drawn on a plan and tape measure. At first a couple of mates laughed at me, but there have been times when squeezing around trees I’ve been able to measure while the trailer is still attached to the car and know if I will fit before I set up. Sometimes it’s meant moving the trailer as little as 10cm to make a perfect fit.

Errm.. ground sheet?
Post by: Bird on December 02, 2016, 11:24:29 AM
Generator, 2x 100inch flat screen teles, Blu-ray players, Microwave, nutribullShit, blender, Kenwood Chef, Collection of hairdryers and hair tools, 4 electric blankets, extra generator, backup generator...
just a few things.
Post by: Beepa on December 02, 2016, 11:36:47 AM
If you have a water tank on your trailer and stay for a while it can be a pain to refill it from jerry cans, we take a cheap i.e.$10 pump that fits in a battery drill (also use drill to lower CT legs) so you can pump water from jerry cans into your water tank with one hand while nursing a beer in the other.
Post by: Beachman on December 02, 2016, 02:27:57 PM
Errm.. ground sheet?

Good in theory if everything was the same size, but our shadecloth ground sheets are much bigger then our tent/annex area.
Post by: Paddler Ed on December 02, 2016, 02:36:30 PM

Dad did that once when I was a kid with the keys to the roof box... he had to go home to get them.... Mum was all for being taken home and left there... On the other hand we have all our padlocks keyed alike at the lock smith, so for 4 padlocks we only need on key. Much easier, and it means I leave it on my keys. If I wasn't living in a rental, I'd get it keyed to the front door lock.

My one is enough mugs for everyone... I thought of mine as I was packing the cook box, forgot it and only realised part way out!

For coffee we have an Aeropress.
Post by: gronk on December 02, 2016, 03:05:05 PM
Brave ,,,,, Very Brave                or Stupid  ??? ???                :cheers:

;D ;D ;D...........she doesn't know how to go on forums..... :police:
Post by: Fizzie on December 02, 2016, 03:18:57 PM
the .223...... Purely as a survival item... a couple of feral cats that were hanging around camp one night.

Wow, need a .223 to survive against a couple of feral cats  :o

Weren't near Lithgow were you? >:D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 02, 2016, 06:11:12 PM
A good head torch and a spare set of batteries, we always seem to set up on a Friday night late after getting out of the city

Camp ovens

An old newspaper to light the fire

A full or near full gas bottle

The doona, thanks GURich

A set of cheap 2 ways will keep the kids entertained for hours on end

Stubby holder, MySwag version of course

Post by: Urchy87 on December 02, 2016, 08:25:11 PM
There are still some great things being thrown in here. So after reading all of your stuff I thought I should probably throw a couple of my things in for debate. I like to take a basic set of tools and a camp oven. Just 2 things I'm always sure to grab.

I've tried it from the barista himself and must say its pretty good..

I'm a big fan of coffee so I will be sure to pull up next to him if I ever get the chance.
Post by: JB on December 02, 2016, 09:52:55 PM
It depends on what type of camping, but an Aeropress and the car awning go every time.   

Post by: JnR_NaT on December 02, 2016, 10:07:57 PM

Where is the coffee maker from
Post by: scrapsD40 on December 02, 2016, 10:15:50 PM
Where is the coffee maker from
http://www.lavazza.com.au/au/at-home/espresso-cappuccino/amodomio/machine/espressgo/
Post by: Champin on December 03, 2016, 09:07:31 AM
Chain saw ( or bow saw ) date rolls and shovel. They live in the car permanent.
Post by: fluids on December 03, 2016, 09:19:50 AM

Spare keys .... !!

... a set on your car keys, a spare set in the drivers door pocket, and a second spare set stashed somewhere in the vehicle.

I have 4 spare sets that we carry PLUS a spare set inside the kamper.

Been there, done that, don't want to go there no more  ;D

Post by: Katabolism on December 04, 2016, 08:38:17 PM

Mine says not over the mouth  ;D ;D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on December 04, 2016, 09:18:31 PM
Mine says not over the mouth  ;D ;D
Are you using the normal sticky tape? or the wider Gaffer/Duct tape?
Post by: doc evil on December 05, 2016, 07:25:46 AM
Wow, need a .223 to survive against a couple of feral cats  :o

Weren't near Lithgow were you? >:D

Didn't have the 6.5 for the cats.....gotta make sure they are no longer getting native wildlife >:D >:D >:D >:D Been a few other pests eradicated on various trips  :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel:

Nah, near Gary junction if my fading memory serves me correctly.......
Post by: Joff on December 05, 2016, 01:50:06 PM
Good in theory if everything was the same size, but our shadecloth ground sheets are much bigger then our tent/annex area.

Then if that fits then you know the rest will  ;D
Post by: Redcherokee on December 05, 2016, 01:58:09 PM
Dunno that you'd call it essential.  One of my camping buddies on the weekend was told (not by me) to 'go fly a kite'.   People were pretty surprised when I pulled out the kite for him to use........

:angel:

Post by: Beepa on December 05, 2016, 03:09:16 PM

Cable ties, gaffa tape, rope.

Oh, and a hammer. Pegs don't hammer in so well without a hammer.....

sent from Earth via tapatalk

Sounds like date night at the pilbara.  >:D
Post by: Joff on December 05, 2016, 03:51:27 PM

Sounds like date night at the pilbara.  >:D

Post by: GeoffA on December 05, 2016, 04:37:59 PM
Dunno that you'd call it essential.  One of my camping buddies on the weekend was told (not by me) to 'go fly a kite'.   People were pretty surprised when I pulled out the kite for him to use........

Lyn,

My mum used to keep a ball inflation needle thingy in her purse.
It was surprising how often it got a run, and peoples' reactions were golden..... ;D

Post by: Rumpig on December 05, 2016, 04:45:40 PM

:angel:
i've got one in the back of my fourby...kids love flying it when we are on the beach
Post by: Bird on December 08, 2016, 01:01:35 PM
12v fridge
https://12volttechnology.com.au/vitrifrigo-upright-fridges/22-vitrifrigo-dp2600i-12v-or-24v-double-door-fridge-freezer.html
Post by: Green rv on December 08, 2016, 01:06:05 PM
12v fridge
https://12volttechnology.com.au/vitrifrigo-upright-fridges/22-vitrifrigo-dp2600i-12v-or-24v-double-door-fridge-freezer.html

how does that fit in your camper ???

must takes, the B.E.S.T water filter have done without for ever
but recently picked on up for camping
wouldn't go without one now
Post by: Bird on December 08, 2016, 01:07:22 PM
Quote from: Green rv
must takes the B.E.S.T water filter
I'll get one one day LMAO...

but with that fridge, who needs it :P
Post by: Green rv on December 08, 2016, 01:16:40 PM
I'll get one one day LMAO...

but with that fridge, who needs it :P

last year we hired one of these not from this mob though  http://thebigchill.com.au/ (http://thebigchill.com.au/)
split between ten of us it was cheap towed up fraser not a problem
fitted all the food and grog not a problem
i even fitted in an 80 ltr esky full of block ice so we could run a drinks esky
and not have to open the fridge so often.
it also had its own genny fitted to run it
Post by: Bird on December 08, 2016, 02:05:55 PM
Quote from: Green rv
last year we hired one of these not from this mob though  http://thebigchill.com.au/ (http://thebigchill.com.au/)
split between ten of us it was cheap towed up fraser not a problem
fitted all the food and grog not a problem
i even fitted in an 80 ltr esky full of block ice so we could run a drinks esky
and not have to open the fridge so often.
it also had its own genny fitted to run it
yea mate of mine had a few ****stains pull up at Comet Flat once out Woods Point with one of them...
Genny all night, and then 3am they started shooting wildlife... local cop = that's nice..
but FFS don't have a 10cent piece of mud on your number plate or he'll bend you right ov3r.
Post by: Urchy87 on December 09, 2016, 09:25:40 PM
Things are getting serious now. I will stick with the Engel. Lol. In saying that for the longer trips some creature comforts are well received.