General => General Discussion => Topic started by: sol on November 27, 2016, 03:34:21 PM
Well I'm off to the big smoke of Brisbane in the next week or so and it's not for pleasure.
Last week I was diagnosed with Bowel Cancer. Bloody big shock. I've never been in hospital before and I'm just a little bit Shit...g myself. Anyway any of you guys and gals out there who haven't been checked for this cancer please book in and do it asap. I thought it would never happen to me and no family history of it. Also if you have a spare prayer please send it my way. I just may need it.
Really sorry to hear mate. All the best for you and your family. Thanks for the reminder too.
Sorry to hear that, hope all goes well
Sorry to hear the grim news Sol.
All the best mate.
Hope it all gos well for you
Sol, in the face of adversity, keep a positive look on life and it's achievements. While we don't know what the future holds, I'm sure within the myswag family we will all be thinking of you and yours at this time. You know you only have to ask here if anyone can do anything to help and if we're true to form you'll receive pm's from just the right people who can help and guide at this time. Hoping all goes as well as can be in your circumstances and keep us updated on progress.
What he said sol
Hi Sol,
Sorry to hear. I hope they caught it early. There is plenty of support out there for you & your family.
Ray
I know it's not quite the same but my Dad had colon cancer twice, once when he was in his 70s and the second time he was 90. Knocked him around a bit but he bounced back. Has left me with a legacy of having to have 5 yearly visits to my rear end from a Channel 7 camera crew, but a small price to pay to evade the menace.
I, too, can sympathise with your plight and wish you well, and like Scarps offer the advice to stay positive. The cruel irony is that sometimes it hurts those around you more than you realise.
Sol,
I'm sorry to hear your news :( Our thoughts are with you and Jen.
Goshen
That's Farked. I hate Cancer. Good luck with it all. Fingers crossed you
got it early enough.
That's Farked. I hate Cancer. Good luck with it all. Fingers crossed you
got it early enough.
What he said, good luck Sol.
Sorry to hear Sol. Best wishes for a speedy recovery.
Caught early, you have an excellent chance. Sadly a member of our extended family finally died from bowel cancer 1 1/2 weeks ago at age 31, but I hope and wish yours isn't advanced.
Best of luck mate !!
Well that's Shit news Sol, it's not the reason you want to be going on a trip. Keep your chin up mate, plenty beat this one so there's alot of positives going in. You'll be right mate :cheers:
I've enjoyed your posts in the past & look forward to reading plenty more.
Cheers Sol, you'll bust this
Listo
Even though most of us Swaggers dont know each other, be sure we all are wishing you the best Sol.
Keep the head up and fight on mate.
Sol.
I don't know you, I can't imagine how you are feeling, because I haven't been there (yet) but I will pray for you
All the best Sol. Keep ya chin up if you can, there may be a great outcome. My brother was diagnosed 6 or so years ago, had surgery and treatment and has been all clear and healthy since. We'll be thinking of you.
Cheers!
Andrew
Hey Sol,
Best of luck with the op and treatment. My mum had bowel cancer and beat it.........so can you.
Thinking of you.
Best regards
Sol I wish you the best of outcomes.
Recently Mum inlaw a very fit and active late 70 was diagnosed with the same. She has had the surgery successfully and is on the chemo journey now but she is going good. Yes you are right in the advice of get tested.
Sol as you are from the North may I offer if you or a family member are looking for a bed in Brissy we have room at our place here on the North side, 3 km from railway , 1/2 hr from CBDS and I even can offer a loan of a car if needed. Send me a Msg if you need anything.
Best of luck.
Well I'm off to the big smoke of Brisbane in the next week or so and it's not for pleasure.
Last week I was diagnosed with Bowel Cancer. Bloody big shock. I've never been in hospital before and I'm just a little bit Shit...g myself. Anyway any of you guys and gals out there who haven't been checked for this cancer please book in and do it asap. I thought it would never happen to me and no family history of it. Also if you have a spare prayer please send it my way. I just may need it.
Keep positive mate.......keep the NQ fighting spirit going ....Thinking of you and Jen and family.....
Cheers Tracker.....
Thinking of you and your family Sol, all the best with the treatment. You have the formidable force of the whole Myswag family behind you, good luck
macca
No good Sol. Does remind me I need to go get checked myself. The colonoscopy is okay it's the prep I hate, you would think by now they could make it taste okay
Hi Sol, best of luck and technology to you.
Did you find it with the govt sponsored bowel screen, I got my second kit December 2015 but sat on (pun) for a while as I was in the middle of chemo for prostate cancer and when I asked my oncologist she advised me not to do it as my cancer was growing against the rectum and may have given a positive, anyway I opened the kit and read the booklet and found I could opt out and opt in again later, that was my second kit, part of the gov program.
It is definitely a jolt to get that diagnosis, 14 months on my psa is down to .12 from 29 plus, so I am OK at the moment. I have a couple of good neighbors and a lot of work colleagues who are very supportive.
Hang in there and as friend of mine in Darwin who is going through chemo for Bladder cancer says, keep harping on your mates to get TESTED regularly for everything.
All the best to you Sol. Echo all of the sentiments expressed by others.
Adrian
Caught early, you have an excellent chance. Sadly a member of our extended family finally died from bowel cancer 1 1/2 weeks ago at age 31, but I hope and wish yours isn't advanced.
At age 31 is rare and rotten luck whereas we all need to be aware of the usual risk period as Gummint Health is-
http://www.cancerscreening.gov.au/internet/screening/publishing.nsf/Content/bowel-campaign-home (http://www.cancerscreening.gov.au/internet/screening/publishing.nsf/Content/bowel-campaign-home)
Essentially that faecal blood test is an indication of pre-cancerous polyp/s that bleed and if the test is positive it involves day camera surgery to remove them before cancer develops. If you have a family history of bowel cancer advise your GP and they recommend you do testing at a much earlier age so pay attention-
http://www.cancer.org.au/about-cancer/types-of-cancer/bowel-cancer/ (http://www.cancer.org.au/about-cancer/types-of-cancer/bowel-cancer/)
Good luck mate, knock it on its head and get back home .
Sol, can only say the same as all the rest.
My mum was another one who was diagnosed with bowel cancer at age 70. They successfully removed a section & she lived a normal life for another 20 odd years, so if they've caught it early, you've got an excellent chance that everything will be fine!
On the subject of the screening kits, my GP said not to bother with them as I get the 5-yearly up- & down- oscopies.
Good luck & best wishes to you & your family.
Graeme
The colonoscopy is okay it's the prep I hate, you would think by now they could make it taste okay
They rang me early this year to remind me my 5 years was up, so when can we book you in?
Chatting to the lady as she put things through & asked if the prep had improved? She chuckled, said "Sorry, no, it hasn't" & added that every person she speaks to asks exactly the same question! :'(
Thanks so much guys. You are an amazing bunch. :cup:
I'll keep you up to date on my progress.
I hope you guys and gals go get the check up if you haven't already.
I've just had my first grand child come into my life and want to spend so much time with her so I'm going to fight this mongrel as hard as I can.
Cheers guys, thanks for being there
sol ;D
They rang me early this year to remind me my 5 years was up, so when can we book you in?
Chatting to the lady as she put things through & asked if the prep had improved? She chuckled, said "Sorry, no, it hasn't" & added that every person she speaks to asks exactly the same question! :'(
Yep great stuff. Due to my age and my Mum dying from bowel cancer I am supposed to be checked every two years. Something to look forward to, just fix the prep.
All the very best mate..
Good luck Sol. Hope all goes well. We all appreciate your positive contribution to Myswag, so hopefully we can return the favour and keep your spirits up with tall tales of travel, merriment, bad wiring and oversized American automobiles.
sent from Earth via tapatalk
Thanks so much guys. You are an amazing bunch. :cup:
I'll keep you up to date on my progress.
I hope you guys and gals go get the check up if you haven't already.
I've just had my first grand child come into my life and want to spend so much time with her [color=red]sofight this I'm going to mongrel as hard as I can.[/color]
Cheers guys, thanks for being there
sol ;D
That's the only way Queenslanders know.........^5 Sol.
Cheers Tracker
Not the thread I expected to see today. That's Shit news mate and I hope you pull through ok. Lyndall and I will be thinking of you.

Be positive and all the best mate.
Your worst nightmare is behind you. 😈
All the best Sol, and a prayer is out there for you to mate.
Hope all goes well Sol
Well Jen and I flew down to Brisbane yesterday morning for a consultation with the surgeon who is going to be in charge of my operation. After speaking to him we came home smiling and relieved. He said it should be a 3 hour op, cut out a 100 ml piece of large bowel, a small piece of small bowel and hopefully all done with keyhole surgery. :cup:. 5 days in hospital, then 4 days out, another 2 days back in then home and I should live for another 30 years. ;D :D. Bloody beauty. :cup:
Thanks guys for all the well wishes :cup:
sol ;D :cheers:
I should live for another 30 years. ;D :D. Bloody beauty. :cup:
Thanks guys for all the well wishes :cup:
sol ;D :cheers:
Only 30? ;D
Good news mate.
Only 30? ;D
He is already 85. How long do you want him to live for??
#30 Years, You should have the Doctor put it in writing.
Well done, top result.
That's great sol.... :cup: :cup:
#30 Years, You should have the Doctor put it in writing.
& is the warranty period the full 30 years; with a money back, or new for old replacement, guarantee? :D
Fantastic news mate! :cup:
Good News Sol ...thats great.
G
Great news Sol
;D ;D thanks guys. :cup:
His exact words were "at least another 30 years". My only concern was the grin on his face. ;D
The op is on the 22nd of December at the Royal Brisbane Hospital.
Not a bad Xmas prez to be told the news I reckon.
Good stuff Sol, bet that news was a great Christmas present for you and your family. All the best with the op
My mum was another one who was diagnosed with bowel cancer at age 70.
My mum was diagnosed when she was 40......had 90% of the bowel removed....no chemo back in those days....she's now 88...
A colonoscopy is a painless easy procedure ( except for the taste of the prep ) and should not discourage anyone from keeping their body healthy, especially if you are over 50.
Hurry up corkhead!
Top stuff Sol :cheers:
May you live 100 years
May you drink 1000000 beers
& out live the Quacks :cheers:
Great stuff Sol, Hope it all goes to plan.. Mate may as well go and buy a lottery ticket and see if you can win it again .. :cheers:
Heaven don't want ya and hell is frightened you will take over........... :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Fantastic news mate !!!!
Only just found this thread, but looks like finishing on a good note.
All the very best for the wee op, Sol, and enjoy your Christmas jollies (if allowed :cheers: ).
Isn't it great that through myswag there is an extended family of support?
I guess tho that :worthles: doesn't apply ;D
Great news Sol. Best wishes for a speedy recovery from surgery.
Happy Christmas to you and your family
X1000000000 mate. :cup:
Sol,
good luck tomorrow, hope all goes well. I pray for a speedy recovery.
Best wishes mate. Speedy recovery.
Sounds like we will see you out on the track some where soon mate,mall the best.
You know why the Surgical staff wear masks, dont you ? " So you cant pick them out in a line up " ;D ;D
Nahh All the best and hope all goes well, I'm sure there's a few beers with your name all over them chilled and waiting at home .
Thanks so much guys. It means a lot. I'm sitting at the Herston Place Motel trying to drink the bloody woeful Bowel Prep and cleaning myself out ;D. Half a litre to go ;D. 6am at the hospital and then 3 hour op. I hope to be able to get back on here and let you all know it was a success sometime tomorrow afternoon. Thanks again for the well wishes. :cup:
Drink up Sol.
It'll all be over and done real soon.
All the best mate, love the prep 8)
Best of luck Sol :cheers:
Best wishes, get 2017 and beyond and make the most of them.
l have had a go at that " Revolution Starter " No sudden movements & its all good . Puts a shine on the parts so to say . When you get to eat again its amazing just how much you need to fill the gap . :cheers:
Terrific news!
Good luck Sol!
Good luck Sol
Looking forward to hearing the good news this arvo - good luck mate!
Hey guys and gals.
I'm lying in bed here smiling from ear to ear. The surgeon just left and it was a 100 per cent success.
All the cancer has been taken out and I'm going to be around for another 30 years.😀😀😀😀😀😀.
Thanks everyone I'm so lucky to get another chance to do the things I've wanted to do. You guys are legends. :cup:
Well done Sol.
Top Stuff.
Time to get on with the rest of your life and really enjoy yourself.
Awesome news Sol, many good times ahead now. May as well start planning a trip while you're resting up :cheers:
Great news mate. All the best with your recovery.
Time to re evaluate and start living .. Thats great news Sol .. You will be walking 4"s taller on the way home .. Merry Christmas to you and the family .
Awesome news, love your outlook on life 8)
Good news Sol, hope the recovery goes well, and those tubes come out quickly.
I'm going to request a camera job in the new year,
better to be lucky than too late. :cheers:
Not sure how soon you are out and heading back north but a myswaggers catch should be in order, however I won't be around after Xmas new year.
Congratulations Sol - great news! :cup:
Fantastic news Sol!
Have a great Christmas!
sent from Earth via tapatalk
Great news Sol, your thread persuaded me to take part in the National Bowel Screening test, I got a good result, so thanks
Have a great xmas
Just thought that while we have this thread going, thanks Sol, we should all remember us "males" to have our PSA done to for prostate cancer. Just a simple blood test ever year, maybe a little digit :D ;D a biopsy could save your life.
Thats good news Sol....... ;D
G
Great news Sol, your thread persuaded me to take part in the National Bowel Screening test, I got a good result, so thanks
Have a great xmas
Well I can back that up with my experience. Like most blokes I avoid the quack until I've slashed myself and need some stitches plus their ubiquitous tetanus shot, or I need a metal splinter out of my eye and then the doc takes the opportunity to stick his finger up my bum and a heap of other tests and stuff. It was one of those occasions when I was past 50 and he wants me to do the faecal blood test- https://www.bowelcanceraustralia.org/screening (https://www.bowelcanceraustralia.org/screening)
Once you do one they keep sending them every year so I've done 4 years in a row all negative and the 5th rolls up and I'm thinking what a load of baloney and why am I spending 30 odd bucks on this crap every year? I'm about to throw the 5th test kit in the bin when the missus bails me up with 'have you done that test yet?' so I grudgingly do it to keep her happy.
That was the positive one alright so I'm quickly booked for a day surgery colonoscopy with the Colonlytely/Picolax treatment the day before. Don't make the mistake of thinking that gear isn't working and go for a walk around the block as I was lucky to get home in time when it kicked in. Streuth by the time it's finished you could open your mouth to the prevailing wind and it will blow straight through and out your backside. Turns out I had one pre-cancerous polyp which was lasered off and all good and subsequent tests have been negative.
Many of us can take such polyps to the grave dying of a ripe old age, but they do know now many can develop into bowel cancer and it's not a pleasant way to die as I witnessed a mate's father fade away in hospital with it over 6 months. Consequently Govt Health knows there's good return in terms of health costs for regular screening so avail yourself of their knowledge and free testing for over 50s. Like my mate with his father's history he does a screening test every year now.
Well I can back that up with my experience. Like most blokes I avoid the quack until I've slashed myself and need some stitches plus their ubiquitous tetanus shot, or I need a metal splinter out of my eye and then the doc takes the opportunity to stick his finger up my bum and a heap of other tests and stuff. It was one of those occasions when I was past 50 and he wants me to do the faecal blood test- https://www.bowelcanceraustralia.org/screening (https://www.bowelcanceraustralia.org/screening)
Once you do one they keep sending them every year so I've done 4 years in a row all negative and the 5th rolls up and I'm thinking what a load of baloney and why am I spending 30 odd bucks on this crap every year? I'm about to throw the 5th test kit in the bin when the missus bails me up with 'have you done that test yet?' so I grudgingly do it to keep her happy.
That was the positive one alright so I'm quickly booked for a day surgery colonoscopy with the Colonlytely/Picolax treatment the day before. Don't make the mistake of thinking that gear isn't working and go for a walk around the block as I was lucky to get home in time when it kicked in. Streuth by the time it's finished you could open your mouth to the prevailing wind and it will blow straight through and out your backside. Turns out I had one pre-cancerous polyp which was lasered off and all good and subsequent tests have been negative.
Many of us can take such polyps to the grave dying of a ripe old age, but they do know now many can develop into bowel cancer and it's not a pleasant way to die as I witnessed a mate's father fade away in hospital with it over 6 months. Consequently Govt Health knows there's good return in terms of health costs for regular screening so avail yourself of their knowledge and free testing for over 50s. Like my mate with his father's history he does a screening test every year now.
Well said mate. :cup: