General => General Discussion => Topic started by: chillipepperz on September 28, 2016, 06:34:33 PM
Beat that! The whole state in the dark. The grand result of public policy gone terribly wrong.
I thought it was the result of a storm causing significant damage to the network.
ls there anybody left the answer the post , that has power . When you dry out send smoke signs >:D :cheers:
Stay Safe Swaggers
Just heard on the news that the whole of SA is blacked out and may not be back online until the morning. Apparantly the afternoon commute is chaos with no public transport and no traffic lights.
Stay safe all our SA myswag mates.
Oh, so there's an actual story to the thread title...I thought it was just a blanket statement about a fact we all already knew ;D ;D
News said SA lost the main feeder cable from elsewhere. .... Do they have any generating capacity themselves?? Armageddon here it comes. ....
The thread title had me worried, but then I remembered that Bad Scott is over there somewhere, his halo will provide light and power.
Dumb asses need to fire up port Augusta should never have shut her down
It is believed a high-voltage transmission tower toppled in the severe weather, creating a domino effect across the power grid that blacked out the state.
The operators of SA's high-voltage power network, ElectraNet, are reportedly in an emergency meeting to determine a solution.
To late it's already been demolish ed !!!!
It had nothing to do with the generation mix (eg wind, coal, gas).
A major circuit tripped after a tower was smashed by lightning...then a perfect storm (sorry) of other lines tripping, the network becoming unstable and needing to be shut down to protect the infrastructure so it didn't all melt or explode.
Could have happened in any state...although less likely in Vic or NSW that have 500kV circuits.
News said SA lost the main feeder cable from elsewhere. .... Do they have any generating capacity themselves?? Armageddon here it comes. ....
They have wind..
Most of their power is generated elsewhere
Causing lots of fun in the wholesale market with prices
Feed the rats in the treadmill & get them running again :cheers:
Thought it had been in the dark for years.
Feed the rats in the treadmill & get them running again :cheers:
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160928/5121b8dced855cb18693abf3ef5613a3.jpg)
Cut backs, close power stations great idea until the s£€t hits the fan, sorry no power to run the fan any more. I was at the gate of the decommissioned Port Augusta power station last week there's no way shes will coming back on line in the near future. Equipment is already being stripped out and sold off. Wind is really good until a storm comes, then the turbines will shut down to avoid damage.
Genuinely hope everyone is ok but,(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160928/611b396ffa415e0ab45a26363c44dc57.jpg)
Power is back for is now, and progressively for most of the state I believe. We only just received a $150 cheque yesterday for the last outage that lasted more than 12 hours. Camper batteries and fridge proved their worth during that incident.
Not quite Armageddon, but it was a glimpse...
Cheers!
Andrew
A tad scary, no CCTV, security alarms and no lights.
The power went off here at about 4:15 this afternoon.
We grabbed some gear out of the camper trailer this evening to cook on. Kids went to bed early.
I have had my 2kva generator going to keep some lights on in the house & charge a few batteries for the istuff. It has given us a good chance to clean the house up a bit.
Apparently Adelaide is being progressively turned on tonight. Regional areas (like ours) are expected to come on some time tomorrow, hopefully in the morning.
I have the Waeco in the shed running off batteries full of the meat from the house fridge.
More Importantly, I have a full fridge of beer, and it has its own battery. :cheers: :cheers:
Bravo, Sir, Bravo.
Learnt once from living over seas and a similar thing happened: Before the storm, make sure the car tank and bath tub are full. :D
Still pitch black at Tanunda. Powered by metabo 6.2 Ah batterys
Power is on @ 4.15am
The thread title had me worried, but then I remembered that Bad Scott is over there somewhere, his halo will provide light and power.
That halo is far too battered to provide light but plenty of power for BS around a campfire >:D
4 Sale Honda 10 Gen Set
Best Offer
Let there be Light in the Dark State
::) :cheers:
Does no one else remember when large parts of Sydney lost power for 4 days a decade or so ago??
You might think it's the Pollies that stuff these things up but really, mother nature is still in charge ;D
Does no one else remember when large parts of Sydney lost power for 4 days a decade or so ago??
A decade ago? Here on the northern beaches we were without power for nearly a week a the year before last. Far too many trees over powerlines, a good gust of wind and the trees all fall taking out kilometres of power lines, snapping power poles and generally making a mess. Just the price we pay for wanting to live on the edge of the bush.
Wasnt large parts of Victoria out of power for close to three months many many years ago .. And they bought in huge portable generators to run basic services .
It was a good move to demolish the power station (showed it on tele this morning being blown up) and go to wind farms....
Must admit I'm a fan of wind farms, but didn't realize this could happen
It was a good move to demolish the power station (showed it on tele this morning being blown up) and go to wind farms....
Must admit I'm a fan of wind farms, but didn't realize this could happen
What, lightening strike a power station and trip the mains???
Touch quicker to fix than rebuilding a flattened powerstation ;D
4yrs of bullShit paperwork before they start designing it ;) ;) ;)
One should never let the truth get in the way of a good rant......
Straight from the mouth of the minister for coal mining and reef destruction;
MICHAEL BRISSENDEN: OK. Let's get down to the cause of it. Last night you said there were questions raised from the increasing amount of renewables in South Australia, but then went on to say this was entirely a weather event. So if it was a weather event, what are the questions, then, around renewables?
JOSH FRYDENBERG: Well, let's put it in context here. There was a one-in-a-50-year weather event in South Australia and there was a lightning strike at a power plant. There was also transmission towers that were blown over.
This led to an electricity surge across the interconnectors and as a safety valve, it turns itself off in that event. So that is why we had the situation that we did.
MICHAEL BRISSENDEN: And it wouldn't have mattered what the electricity mix was, would it?
JOSH FRYDENBERG: Well, there are a couple of questions there. The head of the AEMO tells me that, when you lose such a substantial amount of power, it doesn't matter how that power is generated: that is what will occur. The electricity grid will go down.
Full interview transcript (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-09-29/renewable-targets-'bring-challenges'-to-stability/7887280)
Needs a bit of wind to generate enough
Where does South Australia’s power come from?
During the 2015 financial year, gas accounted for 37 per cent of the electricity, wind 34 per cent, coal 23 per cent, and solar 7 per cent. Additionally, SA imported around 10 per cent of its total from Victoria via the interconnector to meet demand when there was not enough capacity locally.
With the closure of Alinta’s Northern power station at Port Augusta occurring on May 9 this year, coal is now out of the equation. At 1pm yesterday, SA was generating 1730 MW of electricity —
of that 71 per cent wind, 24 per cent gas, and 5 per cent solar.
I think this is what cause the outage...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b--kczcf4AI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b--kczcf4AI)
I think it has more to do with the interconnector only being rated for about 25% of the state peak consumption.
During high winds the wind turbines shut down otherwise they will be damaged, storms generally don't allow in much sunlight so solar isn't much use. When you add in a few 132kV towers being blown over you then need to rely on the interconnector from Victoria, but if you overload it, it will trip off.
The amount of politics that has gotten involved with our national electricity market over the last few decades has re-enforced my desire to always have a generator fuelled up and ready to go at my house. ;D
Down in Adelaide around Semphore at the moment visiting my Mum and Stepdad.
stepdad is on oxygen so last night was a bit of an issue for us. We lost power around 430 and it didn't come back on to pill 1045 last night.
He had O2 cylinders to use but was nearing the end of them. Only had one full one and a 1/4 on the other. Normally has 4, due for a refill in two weeks. If the power was out all night we would have had to go to hospital so he could be hooked up to oxygen. Luckily next door neighbour is an ambo and mangled to procure an emergency bottle just in case.
Investing scenario in Adelaide. Alot of people in the same situation with having to use oxygen. We couldn't get onto the provider yesterday to obtain more, presuming their phone was off line because of the power outage. Land lines went down and triple 000 network was offline.
Some Hospitals had to close and relocate their patients, also heard on the news this morning that in some hospitals they did not have enough power to go round with their emergency generators, wings were shut patients relocated and some patients with respitary illness were being ventilated by hands til mains power came back online. Unbelievable.
My mobile ran out of power around 900 last night and because I am visiting didn't have a car charger with me. Stepdads mobile was charged but his provider went off line for a while. If we had an emergency we would have been really up the creek.
SA government have a lot of questions to answer.
The amount of politics that has gotten involved with our national electricity market over the last few decades has re-enforced my desire to always have a generator fuelled up and ready to go at my house. ;D
agree...
I think it has more to do with the interconnector only being rated for about 25% of the state peak consumption.
During high winds the wind turbines shut down otherwise they will be damaged, storms generally don't allow in much sunlight so solar isn't much use. When you add in a few 132kV towers being blown over you then need to rely on the interconnector from Victoria, but if you overload it, it will trip off.
At the time it tripped, SA was importing 500MW via the Heywood interconnector. that's not to say SA couldn't generate that 500MW, but the market determined that it was cheaper to import at that point in time. 500MW is maybe three medium sized wind farms blowing at full capacity (350MW @ 45% capacity factor). Not a massive amount of power in the scheme of things.
power doesnt just jump from the Powerstation to your house! it uses these
and this ones a bit tired and had a lie down
Now you know why the copper phone system has been without question the saviour of Emergency situations.
Runs on power at/from the exchange and is always there, unless the phone line has been physically damaged.
Try that with your new fibre NBN phone system.
PEOPLE ARE GOING TO DIE BECAUSE OF NBN PHONES NOT WORKING.
And the people are just letting them do it.
Now you know why the copper phone system has been without question the saviour of Emergency situations.
Runs on power at/from the exchange and is always there, unless the phone line has been physically damaged.
we have IP phones at work - and there was an outage for 18hours other day... no phones, and no computers, as they all run through the same cabling :D :D
But what choice do you have against the Gov Co... ****in donuts.
Mobiles everywhere and if you want a permanent fibre VOIP phone you opt for a battery backup not that many do as they give you the first battery free and then you have to replace them at your own expense every couple of years.
copper won't be any good either coz the sky is falling
At the time it tripped, SA was importing 500MW via the Heywood interconnector. that's not to say SA couldn't generate that 500MW, but the market determined that it was cheaper to import at that point in time. 500MW is maybe three medium sized wind farms blowing at full capacity (350MW @ 45% capacity factor). Not a massive amount of power in the scheme of things.
Yes true, but the news reports stated that the interconnector did trip on overload. I'm not familiar with the SA grid but seeing 132kV lines bent over makes me think that sections of the grid would have tripped off causing voltage surges and/or frequency fluctuations which may have tripped off the local generation. In which case the interconnector is driven into overload. I noticed the gas turbines were producing almost 1GW earlier, it will be costing a packet.
Lots of 'mays' in there I know, it will be interesting reading the report when it comes out.
To top it all off, the organisation that I run is currently in the "market" to procure a very, very large quantity of black and green power for distribution statewide...not a good time to be looking for favorable pricing! We shall hold on a little longer...
Cheers!
Andrew
Wind is picking up again.
Wasnt large parts of Victoria out of power for close to three months many many years ago .. And they bought in huge portable generators to run basic services .
Big chunks of Tassie were running on diesel gennies earlier this year because the hydro was running out
A few issues for the morons that run this state
1. Why is the system so poorly designed that the whole state goes down from an event that could happen anytime - weather, sabotage, terrorism etc. If the entire state can be crippled from losing a tower that's a BAD design, (Ok i know they lost over 20 towers in a row, but only 1 is need to fall to bring the lines down - maybe used Chinese steel >:D)
2. SA has the highest electricity charges in Aust, with obviously the weakest system
3. The moron Premier told us on ABC radio last night to keep in touch through social media on your phone to know the status of things. Brilliant as the towers only have around 4 hours battery supply so lots Optus and Vodaphone were gone by 8-9pm.
4. Some bloke phoned in to ABC radio and said he got trapped in city building as lifts of course were out and discovered the fire escape doors sealed when the power went off - that's really effing brilliant.
5. As for blaming a supposedly 1 in 50yr weather event, that's a pisspoor excuse. A system as critical as the entire state's network should be far better designed. Weather like this has happened far more often than 1 in 50.
DD
Still haven't had any offers from SA yet but there is still time .
4 Sale
Honda Gen set
Best Offer considered
Another good reason to be self sufficient and off grid where practical.
With waves, wind, Coal / rubbish / Gas and solar No reason you should ever run short of power anywhere .. Except for bad management of resources and application ..
Still haven't had any offers from SA yet but there is still time .
4 Sale
Honda Gen set
Best Offer considered
1 empty VB can on offer. May even have dregs left. :D
[1]
They should put that deformed and caved-over high voltage transmission tower (pic on last page); in the Melbourne Art Gallery... Right work of art, that is!
[2]
China must be watching the SA debacle and be laughing their heads off... Aunty abc said a couple of years ago that PRC were building 1 x coal fired power station a week; (50 ea year)... ???
1 empty VB can on offer. May even have dregs left. :D
Dreaming ,, sadly ,,,dreaming :cheers:
Goway ::) :cheers:
I could write pages on the mistruths about how the grid works. I work for one of the country's transmission providers. Let's just sum it up by saying the grid did what it was supposed to do and protected itself by shutting down. It lost 3 X transmission circuits due to towers bring down. That's a massive hit
So many playing politics and the blame game. I believe that the people in charge did an amazing job to get the power up and running within a few hours after such a catastrophic event.
Sometimes 5h17 happens. The could build extra back up systems in the off chance it happens. A couple of power stations sitting idle, extra lines from interstate, etc. but it all costs money. Then you all complain about how much more expensive your power is.
Bit like our desal plant that hasn't done anything worthwhile still costs a lot of money so our govt will run it to show it works (not that we need the water at the moment). This exercise will cost even more. All it has done for us is to add to our water bill.
About 18 years ago Victoria lost gas supply after an explosion at the refinery. We hd no cooking, heating or hot water for a few weeks. Since then the have made a back up supply from interstate but there is always the possibility that our supply and the back up are damaged at the same time.
China must be watching the SA debacle and be laughing their heads off...
SA Power Networks is owned by a Chinese businessman http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/sa-power-networks-owned-by-billionaire-li-kashing-makes-four-times-more-profit-out-of-us-than-its-uk-group/story-fni6uo1m-1226943633683 (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/sa-power-networks-owned-by-billionaire-li-kashing-makes-four-times-more-profit-out-of-us-than-its-uk-group/story-fni6uo1m-1226943633683)
About 18 years ago Victoria lost gas supply after an explosion at the refinery. We hd no cooking, heating or hot water for a few weeks. Since then the have made a back up supply from interstate but there is always the possibility that our supply and the back up are damaged at the same time.
As reported in the record of the Coroners verdict. Good people DIED when that Plant went up.
The Manager of the Esso plant that blew up. Refused/Failed to install equipment to improve the safety of supply Downstream of the plant.
Consequently, when the Plant went up, there was no bypass loop to allow flow of Nat. Gas around the damaged Plant.
I believe this has since been rectified, and Esso, just check the papers and reports covering the Coroners Hearing.
As reported in the record of the Coroners verdict. Good people DIED when that Plant went up.
The Manager of the Esso plant that blew up. Refused/Failed to install equipment to improve the safety of supply Downstream of the plant.
Consequently, when the Plant went up, there was no bypass loop to allow flow of Nat. Gas around the damaged Plant.
I believe this has since been rectified, and Esso, just check the papers and reports covering the Coroners Hearing.
Cannot believe they didn't learn from the Piper Alpha accident 10 years earlier.
Another good reason to be self sufficient and off grid where practical.
With waves, wind, Coal / rubbish / Gas and solar No reason you should ever run short of power anywhere .. Except for bad management of resources and application ..
But But But this would require a Polly to have the balls to stand up to the doomsayers/tree huggers & spend/invest in our children's future . Not just getting reelected in a few years .
DO SOMETHING :cheers:
So many playing politics and the blame game. I believe that the people in charge did an amazing job to get the power up and running within a few hours after such a catastrophic event.
Of course they did. All the networks nationally have sent their temporary towers to help. Still not enough. Once in a lifetime event. You could have as much power stations as you want... When the transmission network fails you can't move the power. The transmission networks nationally are all fairly similar so could have happened in any state.
This is why they blame renewable energy.
We were at the Head of Bight free camp when the storms went through, and subsequently took it on the lam getting home in the resulting cluster that was rural SA.
I'm no expert on power grids, but I did witness first hand the p1ss poor condition of the power line infrastructure within SA. The power poles are rusty relics where even the concrete webbing they use in those stovey(?) poles is brittle and falling out, and the main trunk lines don't look particularly sturdy either; especially when compared to the powerlines we saw on re-entering NSW and later in Victoria. Irrespective of the mix of power generation, I'd say the SA government is besotted with shiny new "renewable power" generators that look and feel good, but it ignores the boring, not sexy belts and braces of proper infrastructure maintenance of the supporting grid.
BTW, on our way over to Head of Bight a few weeks back, Rural SA was just recovering from another major blackout that lasted days and extended just West of Port Augusta all the way out to the Nullarbor Roadhouse. That black-out didn't make the news, but talking to locals along the way, and witnessing the number of businesses who now have, or are about to buy a generator, I'd surmise the SA power grid is the least reliable in the country, despite being the most expensive in Australia and close to the most expensive in the (industrialised) world.
Wife and I went on this trip looking to move into SA in our retirement (we love the Flinders Ranges region, and we extended our house-hunting trip to Head of Bight to see some whales). I seriously doubt we will give moving to SA much further consideration now. SA, as much as we love it, has becoming an expensive, idealogically driven rust-belt.
Final observation from Ceduna where power and communication was restored, but lost again after a few hours; civialisation is a veneer just 1.5 days thick....
SA Power Networks is owned by a Chinese businessman http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/sa-power-networks-owned-by-billionaire-li-kashing-makes-four-times-more-profit-out-of-us-than-its-uk-group/story-fni6uo1m-1226943633683 (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/sa-power-networks-owned-by-billionaire-li-kashing-makes-four-times-more-profit-out-of-us-than-its-uk-group/story-fni6uo1m-1226943633683)
I have to ask, as a outsider to the problem, who owns the network, is it tax payers or privately owned.
If it is privately owned as suggested, why all the finger pointing by politicians. Unless you look back and see who sold the network and blame them, or maybe just blame the current owners.
On a side note we have lived through power loss through mother nature, Cyclone Larry 2 weeks, and Yasi from memory around a week just to name a couple.
OK mini tornados associated with a 1 in 50 yr weather event can always knock out well engineered transmission assets unless we as consumers are prepared to gold plate them at unaffordable overall cost. However with built in protection that doesn't/shouldn't knock out a whole state. If you're interested in more than political spin and emotional fluff here's a couple of discussions for you to get your teeth into the cascading blackout problem, albeit you have to sort the wheat from the chaff and be prepared to follow their arguments and further links-
http://joannenova.com.au/2016/09/the-south-australian-black-out-a-state-running-without-enough-thermal-reserve-to-cope-with-contingencies/ (http://joannenova.com.au/2016/09/the-south-australian-black-out-a-state-running-without-enough-thermal-reserve-to-cope-with-contingencies/)
https://wattsupwiththat.com/2016/10/01/south-australias-blackout-apparently-triggered-by-the-violent-fluctuations-from-the-snowtown-wind-farms/ (https://wattsupwiththat.com/2016/10/01/south-australias-blackout-apparently-triggered-by-the-violent-fluctuations-from-the-snowtown-wind-farms/)
These guys get their rocks off on this stuff-
http://www.wattclarity.com.au/ (http://www.wattclarity.com.au/)
Try and understand grid complexity, despatchability and the critical problems of synchronisation and maintaining frequency and voltage and try this discussion for a bit of a head spin to appreciate the factors impacting grid design and costs-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kU6izpryqqw&feature=youtu.be (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kU6izpryqqw&feature=youtu.be)
Even a quick skate over that lot should make you appreciate one simple truism - We're trying to make a reliable system from unreliable energy sources
SA has the peakiest network in the country. ie the gap between maximum demand and lowest demand is huge. When the grid was built it was built for the 1 or 2 maximum demand events per year. Every state is the same. The transmission towers that collapsed are a similar design to every other tower in the country at that voltage. The Stobey towers normally only go to 132kV. The larger steel ones go to 275kV. They are the ones that failed. When they fall, it's been a big wind day 😂. They also lost towers on 3 key circuits. Do that in any state grid and AEMO will shut it down. Too risky with overloads and power frequency, irrespective of the generation mix. Leave it on and things go pop that can take 18 months to replace like 275kV transformers
I don't get the fuss myself, they lost power for what, 12 hours?...big deal, it's called a black out
We had a flood here in Btisbane that had our house without power for well over 24hrs and my neighbours who must be on a different grid to us for several days, and our houses were nowhere near getting flooded.....maybe we should have jumped up and down and complained about the inconvenience of it all whilst others lost everything under water. The uproar over a few hours of no power in a situation like what occurred there is rediculous, especially when you look at the fact people die in events like these, or people's houses get flooded or trees through them, or vehicles crushed by trees etc etc
Wife and I went on this trip looking to move into SA in our retirement (we love the Flinders Ranges region, and we extended our house-hunting trip to Head of Bight to see some whales). I seriously doubt we will give moving to SA much further consideration now. SA, as much as we love it, has becoming an expensive, idealogically driven rust-belt.
Final observation from Ceduna where power and communication was restored, but lost again after a few hours; civialisation is a veneer just 1.5 days thick....
Hmmmmmmmmmmm, some people eh,
You must of missed the 5 acre blocks in the area with 5 year old self sufficient off grid old 4 bedrooms for $215K.
Makes me wonder why such a harsh comment............................must be the the retirement thing, high rural expectations and wait for it.................................ideologically driven rust-belt thinking.
Best you stay where you come from, i'm sure there's plenty to complain about there.
My Oldest son is a Linee for SA Power Networks........................Let you know what really happened when he gets back from rural SA.
Indeed, didn't see one self sufficient block for $215K...not one. did see and hear though, first hand, what a crock the states power supply was. My guess is, wait a while and watch those cheap self sustaining blocks of land prices tumble as people choose to live where there is reliable 1st world power and employment available.
You don't know me from squat: keep your judgements of my intelligence and temperament to yourself.
Indeed, didn't see one self sufficient block for $215K...not one. did see and hear though, first hand, what a crock the states power supply was. My guess is, wait a while and watch those cheap self sustaining blocks of land prices tumble as people choose to live where there is reliable 1st world power and employment available.
You don't know me from squat: keep your judgements of my intelligence and temperament to yourself.
I rest my case.
I'm no expert on power grids, but I did witness first hand the p1ss poor condition of the power line infrastructure within SA. The power poles are rusty relics where even the concrete webbing they use in those stovey(?) poles is brittle and falling out, and the main trunk lines don't look particularly sturdy either; especially when compared to the powerlines we saw on re-entering NSW and later in Victoria. Irrespective of the mix of power generation, I'd say the SA government is besotted with shiny new "renewable power" generators that look and feel good, but it ignores the boring, not sexy belts and braces of proper infrastructure maintenance of the supporting grid.
Some rather emotive language to justify a decision you have or are about to make.
Electricity infrastructure is in dire need of renewal Australia wide. That is an indisputable fact. It is coming to the end of its intended or designed lifespan.
'Ideologically driven rust belt'. Where politicians are in charge there will be idealism. This is an unfortunate a fact.
Not sure that your statement about S.A. ideology is correct though. Perhaps you don't like whatever their 'idealism' is.
Localisation being a 1.5 day veneer seems to me to be an absurd statement. If Brisbane's traffic light system alone were to fail, I believe civilisation would be less than an eight hour veneer.
As stated by many, all States have power supply problems at times. We were without power in Brisbane's West (less than 10K from CBD) some years ago for 9 days. Our 'coal driven' ideology was of little consequence when that event occurred unfortunately.
Not sure what's going on but I drove past 50 or so wind turbines this weekend on the way up to Broken Hill and only 1 of the turbines were turning.
Now possibly no wind up on the hill but I was driving through what felt like 100 kay head winds so I imagine there was a breeze up there
I guess they don't work with no wind and don't work with too much wind
The wind Turbines are very picky.
Not enough wind and they won't turn, obvious ok.
Too much wind, (and there's not a lot of difference to no wind at all) they turn too fast and destroy the gearbox that turns the generator in the head of the Mast.
The blades of the setup can also be adjusted, feathered, pitch changed to control the situation also.
As well as the head of the set up being turnable.
At the same time as we were trying to form a reliable output system from unreliable inputs the warning bells had already sounded about that-
https://wattsupwiththat.com/2016/10/02/south-australias-wind-energy-crisis-state-wide-blackout-were-foreseeable-and-foreseen/ (https://wattsupwiththat.com/2016/10/02/south-australias-wind-energy-crisis-state-wide-blackout-were-foreseeable-and-foreseen/)
unfortunately the whole power environment experienced some seismic shifts-
http://www.wattclarity.com.au/2016/10/the-new-energy-ecosystem/ (http://www.wattclarity.com.au/2016/10/the-new-energy-ecosystem/)
and now it's spiralling out of anyone's ability to oversee or control it all. Complexity is like that sometimes, as much as human hubris likes to think we're always in control of these things. Just Google the right answers and apply them eh?
Could this be another option... I'm sure theres enough waves off the aussie coast to do some good?
http://www.alternative-energy-news.info/technology/hydro/wave-power/ (http://www.alternative-energy-news.info/technology/hydro/wave-power/)
Could this be another option... I'm sure theres enough waves off the aussie coast to do some good?
http://www.alternative-energy-news.info/technology/hydro/wave-power/ (http://www.alternative-energy-news.info/technology/hydro/wave-power/)
my sister inlaws dad is / was involved in the power industry somehow, and was looking into doing something similar here in Qld (aswell as molten salt and other options also). I think I recall he said to me once, the main issue is those things néed to be within a certain distance of the shoreline for some reason, and nobody with water front properties wants to see those out front of their place.
Problem - no power
Answer - LG chem
[url][/http://www.lgchem.com/global/ess/ess/product-detail-PDEC0001url]
There's a hydro-generation plant at San Remo, Vic. right beside the Bridge onto Phillip Island.
Uses the Tidal flow through the channel between the Island and San Remo.
There's a hydro-generation plant at San Remo, Vic. right beside the Bridge onto Phillip Island.
Uses the Tidal flow through the channel between the Island and San Remo.
There's one in Freo too. They produce bugger all power. The Freo one is 2MW from memory. Not even enough power to run a few supermarkets.
Haha good one Bird. We did try that also in SA- it didn't end well http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/business/a-wave-generator-sunk-off-carrickalinga-beach-will-cost-3-million-to-clean-up/news-story/7f574b5e163d21365e959bc7a7bb9d12 (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/business/a-wave-generator-sunk-off-carrickalinga-beach-will-cost-3-million-to-clean-up/news-story/7f574b5e163d21365e959bc7a7bb9d12) and here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9Q6xCjG7gI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9Q6xCjG7gI)
But seriously, this mob in WA are giving wave energy a red hot go. I had some penny dreadful shares in Carnegie wave generation about 12 years ago, but sold out when they doubled in price for one moment in time. Haven't looked back to see what they could be worth today though...http://carnegiewave.com/ (http://carnegiewave.com/)
Cheers!
Andrew
Preliminary report from the AEMO is out - https://www.aemo.com.au/Media-Centre/Media-Statement-South-Australia-Interim-Report (https://www.aemo.com.au/Media-Centre/Media-Statement-South-Australia-Interim-Report)
Caught a bit of talkback radio and the penny is dropping that unreliables can't even reboot the system when a problem occurs like tornados taking out infrastructure and you don't want to ring up trying to spin the Green power line, that's for sure-
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/multiple-faults-led-to-huge-south-australian-blackout-preliminary-report/news-story/f9d66b196d1756a4ed1af8a899a387df (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/multiple-faults-led-to-huge-south-australian-blackout-preliminary-report/news-story/f9d66b196d1756a4ed1af8a899a387df)