General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Hewy54 on September 13, 2016, 05:50:25 PM
I have had my beloved HZ Premier for nearly 20 years, having completed the restoration about 3 years ago.
I retired 2 years ago and intended using the car a bit but since then it has been out of the shed 3 times.
I have my 80 series for travelling and the wife has her Mazda 3 that we use most of the time.
Advertised the HZ on Gumtree and got the usual replies from oilrigs, but have now had a genuine offer of $12000 (was asking $14000). The guy is from Pt Lincoln and wants to fly over on the weekend.
Would love to see it go to a good home and be appreciated rather than sitting in my shed, and the money would be useful for some travel over the next few years.
Interested in people opinion as to whether I will regret selling the old girl.
Yes. Keep it.
Yes . Big mistake to sell it.
You may be more comfortable hopefully knowing it's going to a good home where it will be appreciated and respected.
Keep it, unless you need the money or space.
I think you have it too cheap to start with.
Check the prices being obtained by the Shannon's auctions.
Keep it, ya wombat. :cheers:
Keeping it and not driving it is criminal

If your interests lay elsewhere sell it to a new loving owner.
Cheers Tombie...
D4 "Storm" Remapped, APT armoured and Tweaked
If you're not using it, sell it and move on. Who knows, you then free yourself for another project. While it sits in the shed unused, it is just an anchor on your mind.
Of course if you have children who would really appreciate it then hand it on when appropriate.
I have had my beloved HZ Premier for nearly 20 years, having completed the restoration about 3 years ago.
I retired 2 years ago and intended using the car a bit but since then it has been out of the shed 3 times.
Have you considered joining a Holden car club? A good way to get out and about in it....
You'll likely regret selling it the rest of your life, as is always the case with many things anyone sells...but life will still go on. If you aren't driving it, there's no real point in owning it, other then pose factor....which is fine if you don't really have anything better to do with the cash.
Turn the page & move along . l have chucked stuff out of my shed that l haven't used in a long time . into your experience will come a New Interest . Brace Yourself :cheers:
I say sell it and start a new project...
I have an fb ute and consider selling it now and again til i drive it. Say no more.
Sell it, but stick to your asking price. If the guy is flying interstate he must been keen as. If he says no to the $14K, it wasn't meant to be.
just give it to me if ou really dont want it. i mean its just a crappy old holden. im looking for a new car to take to archerfeild speedway
I say sell it and start a new project...
I am still waiting for you to finish your current one.........bring back the Rocky lol........ :cheers:
I bought a VK Commodore new ( 134 pack ) and had it for 28yrs..
Do I wish I still had it....yep......do I regret selling it....no.
There's more things to do in life than hang on to something you don't use..
just give it to me if ou really dont want it. i mean its just a crappy old holden. im looking for a new car to take to archerfeild speedway
You'll be out of place, i thought they only ran stolen vehicles around the track?
Put it on club rego and keep it. costs nothing to sit in the shed.. will only go up in value for a few more years though
Beautiful car mate, thanks for putting a pick up. I had the HX premier in brown, your pic has bought back so many memories.
I wish I still had it, but realistically I dont regret selling it.
Good luck either way
Put it on club rego and keep it. costs nothing to sit in the shed.. will only go up in value for a few more years though
Build date is Sept 1979 and the cutoff for club rego is July 1979.
Also on dedicated LPG so in SA cannot have club rego.
??? that's another illogical rule...
They are appreciating mate, so if you don’t need to sell it now and are unsure hang onto it for another couple of years and it will be worth a few more bucks.
I regret selling my toy group C car, sold it for $14k in 2002 and its work $80k now. I don’t regret buying the KK an spending the time with the family though.
Just depends on your immediate plans and need for the $$$
I had a 69 2 dr valiant. Loved it, but didn't drive it enough. I sold it so someone else could use it properly.
Do I regret selling it? Sometimes yes, I'm sure my boys would have loved it. But, it wasn't practical and wouldn't have been used enough. One day I might pickup another classic car, but for now it's about practicality.
If you aren't using it now, sell it. You'll miss it, but get over it.
Could always turn it into real $$$ .. Disassemble it ship it to china, get them to 3D scan all the body components and quick mould new limited run panel presses ..
spit out and import a Ship load of new body shells and panels and flog them off before some Alphabet company rips your idea off and goes into competition http://dynacornbodies.com/ (http://dynacornbodies.com/) or you could do a complete top to bottom front to rear up to turn key version like these Chev blokes do https://www.danchuk.com/ItemForm.aspx?Item=99934 (https://www.danchuk.com/ItemForm.aspx?Item=99934)
https://www.motorsportauctions.com/category/329/Historic-Rally-Cars/listings/35372/Escort-Mk2-Brand-New-Bodyshells.html (https://www.motorsportauctions.com/category/329/Historic-Rally-Cars/listings/35372/Escort-Mk2-Brand-New-Bodyshells.html)
Could always turn it into real $$$ .. Disassemble it ship it to china, get them to 3D scan all the body components and quick mould new limited run panel presses ..
spit out and import a Ship load of new body shells and panels and flog them off before some Alphabet company rips your idea off and goes into competition http://dynacornbodies.com/ (http://dynacornbodies.com/) or you could do a complete top to bottom front to rear up to turn key version like these Chev blokes do https://www.danchuk.com/ItemForm.aspx?Item=99934 (https://www.danchuk.com/ItemForm.aspx?Item=99934)
https://www.motorsportauctions.com/category/329/Historic-Rally-Cars/listings/35372/Escort-Mk2-Brand-New-Bodyshells.html (https://www.motorsportauctions.com/category/329/Historic-Rally-Cars/listings/35372/Escort-Mk2-Brand-New-Bodyshells.html)
google mazda roadpacer - you're a bit late :cheers:
A bit different I know, but a good way to work it into the thread.
It looks to be in great condition. If you are'nt desperate for the money then keep it.
It will continue to go up in value and still put a smile on your face when you take it out for an occassional sunday drive. Just rename it "FPF" (future pension fund) :cheers:
My brother is retired and enjoys driving part of his superannuation funds around, sure there isnt much space in the garage, but at least its in his control and all nicely secured and insured .. Has three collectables for when the time comes for more income . 8)
Keep it.
Most of us could tell a story about a car we once owned, repaired, restored and fell in love with.
If money wasn't an issue, and we all had plenty of time to use these toys, along with having plenty of room to store them all, then no-one would ever sell any of their toys.
Sounds like you've enjoyed yours for many years, but no longer have the time / inclination to use it. If you'd enjoy a holiday with the family more than just looking at a car parked in your garage, then the answer to your question is obvious.
you could regret it but i think the price is fair. my old man has a hq 2 door gts monaro, i will kill him if he sells that!
Sometimes you just fall out of love, I know I did with my VK Calais. Do I regret selling - No I dont, but I do miss it every now and then.
Had a similar experience with my 74 XJ6 Jag that I had owned for 20 years and spent lot of enjoyable time and dollars restoring over the years. I sold it for much less than it deserved a year ago, but I just wasn't using it. So I figured it was better going to a new owner who would love and use it. Yes, you eventually get over it!
There is huge auction of a collection of classic cars on 24 Sept at Hampton outside Toowoomba QLD. Pity you couldn't get it in that auction I imagine there will be some big dollars floating around.
http://www.queenslandautomuseum.com.au/ (http://www.queenslandautomuseum.com.au/)
I am still waiting for you to finish your current one.........bring back the Rocky lol........ :cheers:
Should be getting back into it in the new year.
I hope...
I have a BMW K100RS that I continue to resist selling even if I don't ride it. I sold a Subaru Liberty RS that I loved and though I miss it I understand why.
Maybe I sold the wrong one, maybe I should have kept the Subaru, maybe I should sell the BMW??????
Toss a coin >:D
I have a BMW K100RS that I continue to resist selling even if I don't ride it.
if you need some Klms put on it I'll use it for work runs down Eastlink :)
Weird thing is after being retired for 2 1/2 years, I started working in the city again 2 weeks ago. Glad I kept it ;D
I have no interest in working in the CBD! ****in nightmare of a place. :(
One of the biggest things is, Was this a car something that you have had IE: first car / girl friend dates now wife etc etc many fond memories attaching you to experiences with it .. Then yes its part of you and your life story and will be greatly missed / regretted ..
Or did you get it purely as a project just to have and tinker with over the years etc as a trophy conversation type of enjoyment piece .. Then you might miss it but wont realy regret it going .
This from Eric Bana sums it up for me and my special car ..https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmkpsQmsRpI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmkpsQmsRpI)
Interested in people opinion as to whether I will regret selling the old girl.
If you are asking the question deep down you already know that you miss it once it is sold, if you were ready to sell you wouldn't have to ask the question. >:D
The real question is can you live with the regret? ???
PS it is only a Holden so no big loss in the grand scheme of things!
:4x4:
.... it is only a Holden so no big loss in the grand scheme of things!
Years ago, I would have said the same. Now that I regret selling a couple that were near and dear (but not Holdens), I feel differently.
Over the years had many projects, e.g. - made beer, then red and white wine, got all the gear etc etc - after a while woke up that it was the process/trip, not the arrival I enjoyed. Buy it now, enjoyed the experience though.
Maybe it's the same with yr old Holden 8)
As far as I'm concerned, if you are not using it much, sell it.
Then as you say, use the funds for some travel. Then you get weeks of experiences, rather than one or two days per year.
Better to have some cash to use rather than an expensive lump of metal sitting unused in the garaqe. Don't forget you are also paying for registration, service, parts, insurances every year.