General => General Discussion => Topic started by: cardinal28 on September 13, 2016, 08:49:59 AM
http://www.ntnews.com.au/news/northern-territory/six-dogs-killed-and-vehicles-destroyed-in-campsite-explosion-east-of-pine-creek/news-story/826ac7dcb0d8411a138524c59885d6fd (http://www.ntnews.com.au/news/northern-territory/six-dogs-killed-and-vehicles-destroyed-in-campsite-explosion-east-of-pine-creek/news-story/826ac7dcb0d8411a138524c59885d6fd)
At least they are all OK
if you don't include the poor dogs that is...wonder how far from civilisation they were and how they got help to get out of there afterwards. Be nice if news coverage gave decent details these days....I had to search for more info on a boat crash in Germany yesterday to try and understand how it hit a bridge, it took me 4 news links before I finally understood how the crash into the bridge happened.
What a mess!
Carry it in, carry it out???
Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk
Need to find out the brand of that solar panel, it's indestructible!
So who's getting the cleanup job?
That's definitely not "Leave no trace camping".
That's totally gruesome. .... and those poor dogs.... 6 of them; all either chained to trees; or in cages on trucks -- all burned alive.... what the freak!!!!
Met one of the guys tonight. He lost everything including his 6 dogs. Total of 15 dogs died either in the fire or shortly afterwards. A few dogs survived. They were all tied up. He is not sure what caused the fire. Some of the guys were fishing nearby, others went for a swim. There was a small fire but he didn't think that could have gotten out of control. There was a generator running and some solar panels connected up charging batteries. Maybe an electrical fault. Nobody will know. They were 60kms from the nearest civilisation. He was still in shock I think. Decent, young bloke just up there on holidays.
......15 dogs.......
????
????
(https://cpocalyk.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/rabbitduck1.jpg)
Pig dogs Geoff. As much as I don't fancy them as a breed, what they suffered is just not right. Poor buggers.
I know KB, but 15 ffs..... ::) ::)
Agree that their suffering is terrible, but the world is a better place without them.
(https://cpocalyk.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/rabbitduck1.jpg)
Shoot me now...
(http://65.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m4hfqei8H91ruumzoo1_1280.jpg)]
You're dithpicable....
I see you found a better one... :cup:
just shows how easily things can go pear shaped.
I remember camping with friends who had
a device hooked up to the car battery,
the wire must have been damaged and shorted.
lucky we were nearby and managed to prevent a disaster.
as an electrician mate told me not many people think to put fuses on 12v stuff.
just shows how easily things can go pear shaped.
I remember camping with friends who had
a device hooked up to the car battery,
the wire must have been damaged and shorted.
lucky we were nearby and managed to prevent a disaster.
as an electrician mate told me not many people think to put fuses on 12v stuff.
? ? ? ? ?
In his opinion.... LOL
I know KB, but 15 ffs..... ::) ::)
Agree that their suffering is terrible, but the world is a better place without them.
Just depends on what your priorities are i guess Geoff. Twenty years ago when i was right into duck shooting it was not uncommon to have a dozen or so dogs in camp. Most of us usually had at least two dogs as we would have one working and one in training, mind you as competing retreiving trial dogs they were much better behaved than your average pig dog
A pig dog is only what its owner wants it to be. I used to hunt, all my dogs were gentle giants around the house & only livened up when the plates were on. When I say "livened up" I mean start to look more keen and alert, not a vicious frenzy like most non hunters envision.
There's a lot of decent guys out there that treasure their hounds like family & treat them likewise, it's just the handful of wanks that make the rest of the hunters & their breeds look bad.
Some of the replies have been amazingly insensitive.
http://www.ntnews.com.au/news/only-in-the-territory/disastrous-hunting-trips-new-twist/news-story/5a52f415b552ec2cb941ee6c7233b74e (http://www.ntnews.com.au/news/only-in-the-territory/disastrous-hunting-trips-new-twist/news-story/5a52f415b552ec2cb941ee6c7233b74e)
Hope they take the organisers to the full extent of the law (but will no doubt only get off with a slap on the wrist)
Some of the replies have been amazingly insensitive.
::) ::)
...they were there to kill pigs, with dogs....that's real sensitive....
No people were injured.
http://www.ntnews.com.au/news/only-in-the-territory/disastrous-hunting-trips-new-twist/news-story/5a52f415b552ec2cb941ee6c7233b74e (http://www.ntnews.com.au/news/only-in-the-territory/disastrous-hunting-trips-new-twist/news-story/5a52f415b552ec2cb941ee6c7233b74e)
Hope they take the organisers to the full extent of the law (but will no doubt only get off with a slap on the wrist)
Hope someone has insurance :D :D :D
" Much loved family pets " , dont know about you but my much loved family Shit-zhu is not a pig hunting dog.
I dont condone people using dogs for hunting, man up and hunt on your own.
" Much loved family pets " , dont know about you but my much loved family Shit-zhu is not a pig hunting dog.
I dont condone people using dogs for hunting, man up and hunt on your own.
Presume you're talking about Pig Dogs? There's a wide variety of dog hunting. Some of my most treasured memories are from times it was just me and my much loved Spaniel out hunting. He was an awesome bird dog and an awesome much loved family pet. We'd spend hours out in the fields together. Not sure how having him flush out pheasants or rabbit make me less of a man than doing it myself though? The dinners were pretty good too.
I don't agree with the method they seem to use here for pigs by running them down to a standstill. We used to go feral pig hunting on my uncle's farm with his bloodhounds. Flush the pig, call the dogs off and shoot the pig on the fly. Never injured or lost a dog that way.
By the reports it was a a guided hunt with multiple attendees, hence why so many dogs.
I reckon that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, so if you find your labradoodle, Shitzu cavalier attractive good for you.
Now if I was looking for a dog and had a choice of
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160915/ec1c8a54fa209369d7f70b721ac3e99c.jpg)
Or
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160915/4c0d50cccd38486c782fc94f7c559060.jpg)
I reckon the discission wouldnt be hard.
Presume you're talking about Pig Dogs? There's a wide variety of dog hunting. Some of my most treasured memories are from times it was just me and my much loved Spaniel out hunting. He was an awesome bird dog and an awesome much loved family pet. We'd spend hours out in the fields together. Not sure how having him flush out pheasants or rabbit make me less of a man than doing it myself though? The dinners were pretty good too.
I don't agree with the method they seem to use here for pigs by running them down to a standstill. We used to go feral pig hunting on my uncle's farm with his bloodhounds. Flush the pig, call the dogs off and shoot the pig on the fly. Never injured or lost a dog that way.
..... or retrieving a duck from a swamp after it had been shot. I didnt feel any less of a man for not jumping into a freezing swamp to get my duck, although most of the time i was ringing wet anyway. Agree with you tk421 about the treasured memories.
I don't really care what people's opinions are unless forced upon me as everyone is entitled to one. At least get the facts right though, the dogs aren't there to catch an kill the pig. They're there to catch and hold until the hunter gets there to dispatch it.
If it makes me less of a man because I'm too slow & unfit to catch one fair enough, each to their own I guess. Some like hunting, some don't.
Me, I like all forms if they're feral pests, but I'm just a blood thirsty redneck with no teeth or balls... But I have fun ;D
(https://addisonfrancis.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/somelikeithot.jpg)
http://www.ntnews.com.au/news/northern-territory/burnt-dogs-allegedly-left-to-rot/news-story/28ae9f161e0f63c8acc93a4ede4930c7 (http://www.ntnews.com.au/news/northern-territory/burnt-dogs-allegedly-left-to-rot/news-story/28ae9f161e0f63c8acc93a4ede4930c7)
This story gets even worse. Looks like the didn't care much for their beloved pets.
We were not there and do not know the actual facts in relation to these dogs. So I think we should lay off the remarks about how they do not love their dogs. As a hunter myself, I wish people would get their facts straight about what pig dogs are and their roles. You have luggers and bailers. We do not know the breed these guys were using or the style of dog they had. Both types are used in different terrain and do the job they are trained to do. The cost involved with buying and training these dogs is not small and the time involved is a commitment.
Most pig dogs ARE family pets, how dare anyone get on here and say that they cannot be just because they are hunting dogs also. There were also a lot of people involved so 15 dogs is not many at all. If they were planning a week long trip I guarantee young dogs learning the trade were taken also.
Who knows why they might not have been able to go back and bury their dogs. They may not have transport (remember their utes were burnt), permission to bury the dogs there, the police or insurance may not have finished. I bet my bottom dollar it is not because they 'did not love' them.
Why can't we as people see the devastation that this is and be kind to others.
I defy anyone to tell me that this pig dog is not a loved family pet.
Who knows why they might not have been able to go back and bury their dogs. They may not have transport (remember their utes were burnt), permission to bury the dogs there, the police or insurance may not have finished. I bet my bottom dollar it is not because they 'did not love' them.
My thoughts exactly
Nicely said Rockinj, wish I was that good with words when I put my argument forward in a debate :cup:
Not to hard to tell the urbanised latte set from the comments is it !
To get practical, something the latte set wouldn't relate to, it seems that
if the fire raged as depicted then not to many shovels with intact handles
would be handy..............would they ?
City wankers P*SS me off at times.
rule #1 don't get between a man and his dog...
Despite what's been said so far, no-one can predict how they would react in the same circumstances.
If your in the path of the fire, your self preservation would be all your thinking about.
Especially if your waist deep in dry grass, as described in the articles, as reported.
I hadnt heard this, sad story for sure
I havnt personaly owned a dog for maybe 18 years.
Id never not lived with a dog.
When my dog died it was like loosing my best mate and i havnt replaced her.
Not to hard to tell the urbanised latte set from the comments is it !
To get practical, something the latte set wouldn't relate to, it seems that
if the fire raged as depicted then not to many shovels with intact handles
would be handy..............would they ?
City wankers P*SS me off at times.
well said randy
(http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y166/psychoapeguy/hillbilly19.jpg)
Appears you drink Lattes sonny ;D
Be interested to know what brand of generator. Went to a job where an F-truck and 5th wheeler were totally destroyed by fire after the generator on the tray went up. $200k plus.....gone.
Tim
Something to be said for siting the gen. at the end of a lead remote of inflammable material Tim.
(Although the gen. for the Glamper 5th wheeler may have been to heavy to easily shift.)
Don't run gennie unsupervised. Tragic loss for all.
Feel sorry for the poor dishlickers.