General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Camelot on September 06, 2016, 07:07:26 PM
just returned from N.T, cf 50 dz big fail please people buy an engel
Very broad statement.....What failed?
Compressor? Thermistor? what??
Doesn't matter >:(. Shouldn't be posting this sort of statement in another swagger's classified ad.
x eleventy
probably user error
I haven't had a great run with both of my Waeco's...only issues are the thermistors have been changed. But it's dead simple and costs under $30...
Pulled this topic out of a sales thread so as not to muddy the waters
whoops my bad extremely sorry. Whilst travelling on the Savannah Way dust got into my fridge box.(separate issue). We pulled up at King Ash Bay to find 10mm of dust inside the fridge. YES the lid was closed properly. Could not seem to regulate the freezer and the fridge with the single thermostat eg freezer would be ice cold and the fridge would be warm. After my first Waeco flatpacked itself within days of purchasing it i swore i would never buy another one, but due to the fridge box dimensions being made for a three way fridge the largest fridge I could fit in there was the CF-50DZ . It is my opinion that Waeco fridges are just inferior rubbish. i know a lot of people will disagree with this - maybe it is just this particular model, it does not work correctly. Once again, I humbly apologise for what was unfortunately a user error on my behalf.
Where was the fridge to get the dust in. Was it in the car or camper.
whoops my bad extremely sorry. Whilst travelling on the Savannah Way dust got into my fridge box.(separate issue). We pulled up at King Ash Bay to find 10mm of dust inside the fridge. YES the lid was closed properly. Could not seem to regulate the freezer and the fridge with the single thermostat eg freezer would be ice cold and the fridge would be warm. After my first Waeco flatpacked itself within days of purchasing it i swore i would never buy another one, but due to the fridge box dimensions being made for a three way fridge the largest fridge I could fit in there was the CF-50DZ . It is my opinion that Waeco fridges are just inferior rubbish. i know a lot of people will disagree with this - maybe it is just this particular model, it does not work correctly. Once again, I humbly apologise for what was unfortunately a user error on my behalf.
I'll give ya 100 for it... I need a bigger fridge
I would disagree with your appraisal. I have a few fridges, and to date, I'm in love with my CFX-50. It is superior in both internal volume and power consumption to my engel MT-45. Each to their own I guess.
Noting fridges are designed to keep cool in, not dust out, but one would assume that would be one and the same thing? I wonder if an engel placed in the same box would suffer the same fate? All the same, I don't think to solve that would be a biggie.
Any dual zone fridge without separate controls will be a compromise. You need to do some experimentation with the divider like I did here:
http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/2012/03/evakool-fm70-review.html (http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/2012/03/evakool-fm70-review.html)
Also, the addition of a small fan will do wonders to keeping the fridge side more constant:
http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/2012/03/fridge-fan-mod.html (http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/2012/03/fridge-fan-mod.html)
So, if I was you, I would do some experimentation, then come back and say the CFX-50DZ is Shite with a bit of confidence.
The fridge in question is not a CFX-50Dz, it is a CF50-Dz. Note the subject at the top of your page. The fridge was located in an Aussie Swag fridge box, from a late nineties model. The vent cover failed. The problem with the Waeco is the reversible lid. I did not buy a brand new fridge to have to fit parts to have to modify it to make it work. I am a carpenter not a fridge technician, but hey, thanks for the advice.
Sorry, misread the model, my bad. Like I said though, I reckon the dust issue would be easy to resolve (even if you shouldn't have to).
And the experimentation with the divider height and fridge fan will do you the world of good. That would apply to almost any DZ without separate controls,Waeco or not. Noting the engel combi has a fan in the divider, but I haven't had the pleasure to play with one of those yet.
we have had our cf50-DZ for 6years now. Love it, never had an issue, mind you it lives in the car, not somewhere that collects dust
yea but at least my camper has a fridgebox, and doesn't look like a retarded space shuttle lol
9 out of 10 for a post that will gain you heaps of friends !! :cup:
Sorry I wasn't talking about the upright 80lt fridge next to the lounge and kitchen in the retarded camper, I was talking about the baby 50lt dz that I keep in the car. It has worked perfect. Not sure why me camper even come into it. But whatever makes you sleep better champ.
Ps. Nowhere in my camper gets dust. Not even its fridge box.
Sorry I wasn't talking about the upright 80lt fridge next to the lounge and kitchen in the retarded camper, I was talking about the baby 50lt dz that I keep in the car. It has worked perfect. Not sure why me camper even come into it. But whatever makes you sleep better champ.
Ps. Nowhere in my camper gets dust. Not even its fridge box.
(http://static.comicvine.com/uploads/original/11111/111111349/2997102-137475.jpg)
Dust in the box - upsets the best of them.....
That it does.....
Never had problem with the fridge on the back of the ute exposed to the elements. It's a waeco
That it does.....
But at least our "space shuttle" is dust proof. :D
The easiest resolution would be a box trailer, tarp and an old esky.
Much more difficult for user error/ things to go wrong.
I'll still give him $100 for it, inc dust.
The easiest resolution would be a box trailer, tarp and an old esky.
Much more difficult for user error/ things to go wrong.
Could forget to buy ice?
I had already thought if that.
It doesn't matter if you forget the food and beer.
I'm a carpenter too, and have this unit in the back tub of the Nav. Apparently if you're a Toyrota owner, we may now no longer be friends

Dust in the Nav tub p****** me off big time, but never had it get into my fridge. I do have the insulated cover on mine, so maybe this helps.
The only other problem I have is on ocassions, I find it leaks........as whole beer cans seem to go mia overnight
holy crap thats my cat
I'm a carpenter too, and have this unit in the back tub of the Nav. Apparently if you're a Toyrota owner, we may now no longer be friends
Dust in the Nav tub p****** me off big time, but never had it get into my fridge. I do have the insulated cover on mine, so maybe this helps.
The only other problem I have is on ocassions, I find it leaks........as whole beer cans seem to go mia overnight
Do you own a retarded camper?
no mate I own a non eccentric aussie swag
Where is the logic in that, obviously as you have proved yourself, that a fridge box on any brand of camper is about as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike if its full of dust.
wow! mate at this point were just having a laugh
Where is the logic in that, obviously as you have proved yourself, that a fridge box on any brand of camper is about as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike if its full of dust.
And that's why I gave up smoking......
nice very nice
I'm a carpenter too, and have this unit in the back tub of the Nav.
Well there you go, a carpenter huh? Always thought you were a drug dealer.
Business diversification strategy. Never put your eggs all in one basket
I don't have OCD, I just like things perfect, or else.......
what was the subject again
Business diversification strategy. Never put your eggs all in one basket
So are all carpenters also drug dealers? May explain why one carpenter I know is always on oversea's jaunts and another has the flashest fourbie on myswag.
drug dealers! so thats what my accountant was talking about. silly me