General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Shaun99 on August 31, 2016, 12:32:01 PM
This is call out to collective knowledge of the my swag community!
As we have a Trackabout Dakar Extenda on order for delivery to Perth on 13 November and we plan to hit the open road very soon after soon for a little shake out (2 1/2 month trip East).
We are in the situation where we are looking to get the items required for the trailer now, so we are not running around in the last couple of days trying to source items for the trailer.
So far we have the following:
Tables
Chairs
Fuel and water containers
Hillbilly Cookset
Pots, pans utensils etc
Kids sleeping gear
First aid kit
Tarp for under soft floor
Gloves for fire
Broom
Dust pan
Shovel
Multigrips
BEST Water Filter
Drinking hose
Fire blanket
Weber Baby Q
Looking at getting things like:
Do35 lock
Padlocks
Levelling ramps
Power leads
Security cables
Collapsible tub/bucket
Small timber blocks
Portable toilet
Dunny bag set up
Axe/tomahawk
Fancy arse peg puller
Spare wheel rubbish bag
Any suggestions on items we should be looking at that does not come with the trailer, but is needed to be comfortable on the road. Can be small or large, items you find handy to have in your trailer!
Thanks in advance!
First Aid kit.
Fire Blanket.
Fire Extinguisher.
First Aid kit.
Fire Blanket.
Fire Extinguisher.
Fire blanket added to list, thanks!
Shovel - digging toilets, poking around the fire
small tarp to place under your tent section when set up to protect the underside of the floor
another small tarp to place over your bed before collapsing the tent if a wet pack up
maybe another small tarp to put over your firewood to keep dry
C gear or shade cloth type mat for under the annexe area to minimise dirt in the tent
dust pan and broom
2-3 small blocks of timber say 200mm x 300mm x 50mm to place under drop down legs and jockey wheel
small washing up tub. Can also be used to carry your dirty plates etc to camp kitchen. Try to get a rectangular one instead of round.
tomahawk for tent pegs and small firewood duties
head torches
mozzie nets to wear on your head
toilet paper
hand sanitiser
riggers gloves for playing around the fire etc
Frisbee
football or soccer ball
disposable ponchos
Bunnings sell a roll of rope for about $6.00. Handy to have.
flint/matches/firestarters/newspaper
Try to get stuff that has multiple uses like the shovel, washing up tub and tomahawk (instead of hammer)
Shovel
Timber
Tubs
Portable toilet
Added to list, thanks!
So far we have the following:
Tables plural?
Chairs get upright chairs if you plan to sit at the table, not layed back around the fire chairs
Fuel and water containers
Hillbilly Cookset
Pots, pans utensils etc
Kids sleeping gear get stretchers
First aid kit
Looking at getting things like:
Webber Baby Q waste of space, too heavy, you don't want 10 different ways to cook snags
Water filter another waste in my opinion
Drinking water hose don't believe the BS, people of my age and older have been drinking from the old nylex garden hose all our lives. Just get a cheap hose from Bunnings
Do35 lock
Padlocks buy a good set of keyed alike locks. You will have them forever
Levelling ramps waste, park up hill and level with the jockey wheel
Power leads don't cut your 15amp earth pin or the world will end in firey armageddon
Security cables
Fire blanket
Any suggestions on items we should be looking at that does not come with the trailer, but is needed to be comfortable on the road. Can be small or large, items you find handy to have in your trailer!
Thanks in advance!
Joff,
Some good points, thanks!
Tables - plastic table and benches for eating, additional plastic table, Drifta table from tug
Padlocks - going to get keyed alike as you say
No weber - are you sure
I would say Levelling ramps are compulsory, then you set up anywhere you wish. I'd never go without them.
I also have a couple of large wheel chocks as a backup to the handbrake.
Someone else mentioned a tomahawk - I have one with a hammer head on the back.
I would say Levelling ramps are compulsory, then you set up anywhere you wish. I'd never go without them.
I also have a couple of large wheel chocks as a backup to the handbrake.
Someone else mentioned a tomahawk - I have one with a hammer head on the back.
Axe/tomahawk added
Joff,
Some good points, thanks!
Tables - plastic table and benches for eating, additional plastic table, Drifta table from tug
Padlocks - going to get keyed alike as you say
No weber - are you sure
You have, I assume, a stove top of some kind in the camper kitchen plus you have opted for hillbilly stuff for open fire. The Webber is big and bulky and heavy (we have one) so unless you are keen Webber cooker, I'd leave it out.
In fire ban season the baby Weber is weapon of choice. Believe it or not it does more than cook sausages.
I now use a cordless drill to screw in coach bolts rather than use pegs. I know it's not necessary but I think it's a definite improvement >:D So is using a barrel with water detergent and clothes, placed in the back of the tug so they wash whilst you drive.
Clothes pegs
Plastic bags both shopping (free) and zip lock
Cheap torches (so you can always find 1 and the kids love them) and head torch
Tarp poles etc for extra shade or rain protection
I find a Lifetime table with 3 settings for the legs to be very handy. The tallest is good for food prep and the lowest as a coffee/drinks table or for the kids
A big pair of multi grips, best tent peg puller, plus it is the handy camp oven accessory. Get a soft tool bag and keep your pegs, hammer and multi grips in it plus any other handy bits and peices.
I now use a cordless drill to screw in coach bolts rather than use pegs.
agree
So is using a barrel with water detergent and clothes, placed in the back of the tug so they wash whilst you drive.
agree!! DDR put us onto this one..
A big pair of multi grips, best tent peg puller
best peg puller. :)
(http://www.kangarootentcity.com.au/spnet6/img/5/9/1/-/-/591.jpg)
You have, I assume, a stove top of some kind in the camper kitchen plus you have opted for hillbilly stuff for open fire. The Webber is big and bulky and heavy (we have one) so unless you are keen Webber cooker, I'd leave it out.
We lived / traveled in our no name CT for a year.
Wouldn't do an extended trip without a Weber or similiar.
Huge versatility, everything from morning toast to cakes, muffins, breads, roasts etc, even use it as a BBQ. Its not always practical or desirable to cook over fire, particularly if you are taking extended trips.
At the end of the day you're a big boy and whatever you don't take you'll either do without or add as you go.
Trev
We lived / traveled in our no name CT for a year.
Wouldn't do an extended trip without a Weber or similiar.
Huge versatility, everything from morning toast to cakes, muffins, breads, roasts etc, even use it as a BBQ. Its not always practical or desirable to cook over fire, particularly if you are taking extended trips.
At the end of the day you're a big boy and whatever you don't take you'll either do without or add as you go.
Trev
Everyone is different. We did the lap too, almost 2 years. Never missed a big bulky thing like a bbq :cheers:
Did you ever try and put your camp oven straight on the kitchen cook top? Cakes, muffins, bread, roasts, casseroles you name it. After all you are just trying to provide heat.
Anyway, again, everyone does things differently.
agreeagree!! DDR put us onto this one..
best peg puller. :)
(http://www.kangarootentcity.com.au/spnet6/img/5/9/1/-/-/591.jpg)
I didn't know that thing existed until just recently. I need to get me one. They are great. :cup:
Tent peg puller above also doubles up as camp oven lifter out of fires / coals. You cant see the hook on the other end where the hand is.
*Bottle opener
*Rear wheel rubbish bag
*Zip ties
*Shade cloth for the ground camper door side. Stops crap getting carried into camper.
*Second hand 20L solar shower with tap, cheap $5.00. Hang over bull bar and use to wash hands.
*Plastic degradable shopping bags. Use for rubbish, then tie up and pop in rear wheel rubbish bag.It's cleaner.
*Sunscreen
*Mozzie & fly replant
*Wet Ones
*Collapsible mesh thingy to cover food outside.
*Bucket to capture washing water if you have a sink.Its not nice when ya camp site turn to mud when its not raining .............put half a brick in bucket to stop the wind blowing it away.
*Hand brush......the dust pan type............the best thing I ever purchased.............great for brushing things down that have sand, dirt etc on them when packing away. Takes seconds to do.
*lighter
*Newspaper
your car/trailer setup should be up to 34 ton with all mod cons listed... :) Enjoy!
Many good suggestions here, but if you want the perfect set up, one of these is a must particularly if your partner is a little fussy. (http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160831/244f3ff29c2913b9e57b2d8efd2ca8ff.jpg)
Oh, and we add a baby q in as well as the stove and camp oven.
Everyone is different. We did the lap too, almost 2 years. Never missed a big bulky thing like a bbq :cheers:
Did you ever try and put your camp oven straight on the kitchen cook top? Cakes, muffins, bread, roasts, casseroles you name it. After all you are just trying to provide heat.
Anyway, again, everyone does things differently.
And that's what I love about camping and travel, there's a hundred different ways to go, as long as you're out there doing it.
No matter if you are in Birds 100k camper, Joffs camp ovens and only one table, or the back of a Falcon wagon with a single burner and an esky, as long as we're out there enjoying life :cheers:
And that's what I love about camping and travel, there's a hundred different ways to go, as long as you're out there doing it.
No matter if you are in Birds 100k camper, Joffs camp ovens and only one table, or the back of a Falcon wagon with a single burner and an esky, as long as we're out there enjoying life :cheers:
C'mon what do you take me for???? I have two tables >:(
I'm a glamper ;D
We do this when necessary. Have done roast chooks on top of the gas cooker after the weather turned to poo. Still works well, just takes a little longer.
Solar shower or Canvas bag shower to get rid of the nasties.
your car/trailer setup should be up to 34 ton with all mod cons listed... :) Enjoy!
Bird,
I will just hook up an extra trailer behind the TOYminator and T16 to carry it all.
Should be fine :police:
The convenience of a rechargeable camp shower (charges through a USB port with supplied lead). From Jaycar, cost about fiddy bucks.
(http://www.jaycar.com.au/medias/sys_master/images/h58/h7d/8816071868446/YS2803ImageMain-515Wx515H.jpg)
Many good suggestions here, but if you want the perfect set up, one of these is a must particularly if your partner is a little fussy. (http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160831/244f3ff29c2913b9e57b2d8efd2ca8ff.jpg)
Hi do you have a link please :cheers: Mike
Have tried those bullseye ones, but actually prefer these:
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160831/3eb4126277d9a93bc464df063c3e23d4.jpg)
By aligning it correctly on the drawbar, I only have to get the side to to side within range before unhitching. Then do front to back level once it is unhitched by using the jockey wheel.
I know I can do the same with the bullseye, but my brain copes better doing it as two distinct steps with two distinct measures.
group buy opportunity. eBay is your friend.
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=251749905282&globalID=EBAY-AU
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=141588108172&globalID=EBAY-AU
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=281525783830&globalID=EBAY-AU
Have tried those bullseye ones, but actually prefer these:
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160831/3eb4126277d9a93bc464df063c3e23d4.jpg)
I know I can do the same with the bullseye, but my brain copes better doing it as two distinct steps with two distinct measures.
thnx, yes I tried these but it upset my optic nerve and I fell over......
I don't have OCD, I just like things perfect
Just get all the items mentioned on this thread ;D
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=25351.msg426725#msg426725 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=25351.msg426725#msg426725)
I now use a cordless drill to screw in coach bolts rather than use pegs.
Hi Alan,
I am having trouble picturing how a coach bolt will replace a tent peg, do you have any pics and what size bolt?.
Also I have a lifetime plastic blow-molded table since 2007 and still going strong.
Rob Mac
Mike.
Bullseye and T levels both available at BCF, AWARDRv FTGully, Possibly Rays, Bunnings,
Just walk in buy what you need and walk out. No waiting a week to decide if you want to send it back.
What a list :o
http://www.statewide4x4.com.au/gvm-products/toyota-prado-150-series.aspx (http://www.statewide4x4.com.au/gvm-products/toyota-prado-150-series.aspx)
Wholly crap. No wonder there so many threads about GVMs ???
And if you need leveling bubble, hand in your man badge hahaha :cheers:
Hi Alan,
I am having trouble picturing how a coach bolt will replace a tent peg, do you have any pics and what size bolt?.
Also I have a lifetime plastic blow-molded table since 2007 and still going strong.
Rob Mac
Sorry Rob I should have said coach screw. https://www.bunnings.com.au/zenith-m12-x-150mm-stainless-steel-hexhead-coach-screw_p2310384 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/zenith-m12-x-150mm-stainless-steel-hexhead-coach-screw_p2310384)
A variety of sizes but M12 x 150mm will hold most things. You need to get or make washers that are larger than your eyelets
And if you need leveling bubble, hand in your man badge hahaha :cheers:
Up to you, but I've seen large canvas CT tents become stretched and warped when not set up reasonably straight and level, particularly if they get wet, then dry to the shape of the set up. Probably OK if it's a cheapish Chinese CT that you'll sell onto someone else, but for the quality Aus made ones that many of us invest in, I'm prepared to take a little bit extra time to look after my quality investment.
http://www.canvasthings.com.au/index_016.htm
I don't have OCD, I just like things perfect, or else.......
So you pull up in your overprice quality Aussie made camper. Get it mm perfect unhook and unfold your tent. But you on the side of a slight hill so when you peg your floor down it pulls everything out of square cause your camper is to god dam perfect.
Correct, coz it's a Trackabout
Exactly what I was thinking. I take my 16oz aus made soft floor into some pretty snotty places where finding a level spot is simply not gunna happen. Out of necessity it's been set up in places that make it look like it's on the piss. There have been times when the kids have complained that they might fall outa bed ;D
I think people get to carried away with this sort of nonsense. Use ya bubbles if ya want but when you live in a tent near enough is always good enough :angel: :cup:
Exactly what I was thinking. I take my 16oz aus made soft floor into some pretty snotty places where finding a level spot is simply not gunna happen. Out of necessity it's been set up in places that make it look like it's on the piss. There have been times when the kids have complained that they might fall outa bed ;D
I think people get to carried away with this sort of nonsense. Use ya bubbles if ya want but when you live in a tent near enough is always good enough :angel: :cup:
Do you have a fridge in your camper? They need to be level to operate efficiently.
I was wondering that, but wasn't sure if this applied to the 12v fridges. Always the case with the gas fridges. If yes, then might have to upgrade to one of these. (http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160901/bc4aac9e5559e83cb32fba2e6708b33e.jpg)
They don't need to be spirit level, level. But for the record, yes; a 12v Evakool. But the bubbleless 3way in the jayco never complained about my 'she'll be right' leveling technique :angel: ;D
I always carry my laser level for setting up camp. My camper is awesome. Sets up in 5 min. Takes an hour to get it level but.
I need to tell this story - it's quick.
A few years ago we were camped at this great little place called Theresa Creek Dam. One night I happened to be sitting around talking to this old fella we met when he brings my attention to this grey nomad couple setting there van on some of those plastic levels.
We watched for a while as Mrs Grey Nomad started to bark orders to Mr Grey Nomad through his open window all the while shining the weakest torch you have ever seen about the place. This went on for a bout 10 minutes with Mr Grey periodically getting out of his car and checking what was going on. They'd have some lively discussion about this or that and he would then slink back to the drivers seat to have another go.
Finally, and after much laughter from us and others, they finally had this thing perfect to within a second of angle in all planes. It was a sight to behold. this guy gets out of his car and basks in the glow of victory and achievement. Nothing for it now but to un-hitch.
He drops the jockywheel down, releases the lock on the hitch and pulls the handle up. then he starts winding. winding winding when all of a sudden the van lurches backwards off the stupid yellow things, drops back to earth and is only arrested from a graceful roll down into the dam by the safety chains.
I thought this guy was gunna have a coronary :-[ ;D
They were gone by the time I got up next morning.
Funny Shit you see. :cheers:
I need to tell this story - it's quick.
A few years ago we were camped at this great little place called Theresa Creek Dam. One night I happened to be sitting around talking to this old fella we met when he brings my attention to this grey nomad couple setting there van on some of those plastic levels.
We watched for a while as Mrs Grey Nomad started to bark orders to Mr Grey Nomad through his open window all the while shining the weakest torch you have ever seen about the place. This went on for a bout 10 minutes with Mr Grey periodically getting out of his car and checking what was going on. They'd have some lively discussion about this or that and he would then slink back to the drivers seat to have another go.
Finally, and after much laughter from us and others, they finally had this thing perfect to within a second of angle in all planes. It was a sight to behold. this guy gets out of his car and basks in the glow of victory and achievement. Nothing for it now but to un-hitch.
He drops the jockywheel down, releases the lock on the hitch and pulls the handle up. then he starts winding. winding winding when all of a sudden the van lurches backwards off the stupid yellow things, drops back to earth and is only arrested from a graceful roll down into the dam by the safety chains.
I thought this guy was gunna have a coronary :-[ ;D
They were gone by the time I got up next morning.
Funny Shit you see. :cheers:
So, you met my uncle and aunt then?
Nope, never actually met them :D But they seemed nice ;D
I was wondering that, but wasn't sure if this applied to the 12v fridges. Always the case with the gas fridges. If yes, then might have to upgrade to one of these. (http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160901/bc4aac9e5559e83cb32fba2e6708b33e.jpg)
Shit i I NEED THIS NOW Got a link or three :cheers:
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/291640042026
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160901/71a35cee57402a337e697c0b751c7843.jpg)
I don't have OCD, I just like things perfect, or else.......
with all that gear you may need a tow-ball scale?
i took mine over the local weigh-bridge before our last trip 4850kg combined weight.
of that 1750kg was the trailer including the 260kg on the hitch.
so the next question is what can i leave home LOL
Thanks ScrapsD4D I had a look at that one but I found this one it costs more so should be better
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Hot-Triple-3D-3-Axis-Bubble-Spirit-Level-Camera-Hot-Shoe-For-Canon-Nikon-FUJI-HB-/281313886202?hash=item417f9d3ffa:g:T4kAAOxylpNTUOfW (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Hot-Triple-3D-3-Axis-Bubble-Spirit-Level-Camera-Hot-Shoe-For-Canon-Nikon-FUJI-HB-/281313886202?hash=item417f9d3ffa:g:T4kAAOxylpNTUOfW)
:cheers: Mike
The BEST water filter arrived today, I love the protective packaging!
(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y509/shaun99photo/image_zpskczcgdq4.jpeg)
(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y509/shaun99photo/image_zpsimusmfzd.jpeg)
I'm currently testing it out, not the water filter but the protective packaging!