General => General Discussion => Topic started by: briann532 on August 27, 2016, 02:50:35 PM
Sorry - I had to do it!!!
Vag Bitter...
Same as regular XXXX.
Both horse piss.
Those that vote "bad" are delusional.
Easily the best beer in the country.
Terrible would have been a more accurate description than bad.
VB....I even gag trying to say the word...... :o :o :o
Bad does not quite sum it up accurately enough!
I would rather give up drinking than drink that cats piss.
l will drink VB & read the bagging it is getting . Go your hardest , Rip into it , Show no mercy , Be fair but creative when doing so . & l will read your posts till lm bored .
Might have another VB , cause l like them :cheers: :cup:
Post away , give it your very best , :cup: :cup:
VB....I even gag trying to say the word...... :o :o :o
Sadly VB are 2 letters not a word :'( but its a great drop :cup: :cheers:
lts Popcorn time & VB :cup: :cheers:
I would rather give up drinking than drink that cats piss.
Give yourself an uppercut, nothing is that bad. It just becomes an aquired taste :-)
Vile Brew
I drank it before i developed taste buds. It is Ok (as long as there is no other choice*) between 2-3 degrees, go outside that bracket and it rapidly goes down hill.
*Possum piss counts as a choice
Bad doesn't begin to describe it.
Give yourself an uppercut, nothing is that bad. It just becomes an aquired taste :-)
Yes, yes it is.
I hear drinking battery acid is an aquired taste too.
When i was little, i accidently drank the water that my great grandmother was soaking her dentures in - once i realised, i threw up everywhere and couldn't sleep properly for a month having bad dreams about teeth chasing me.
I rate that experience better than drinking a v.b.
It may sound over the top - BUT I WOULD RATHER GO WITHOUT
When i was little, i accidently drank the water that my great grandmother was soaking her dentures in - once i realised, i threw up everywhere and couldn't sleep properly for a month having bad dreams about teeth chasing me.
I rate that experience better than drinking a v.b.
PMSL...........
OK so you don't like VB , So don't drink it or think about it . l would hate to think about VB is upsetting you so clear you mind of such :cheers: Please don't give up drinking because VB is not your chosen brew . Also l wouldn't ring urine from a cat & drink that either , but l do like VB . So it back to you for more slagging of that which you wont drink or try not to think about .
Having another VB & reading on :cheers: :cup:
This next bit will be just priceless :cup: :cheers:
Give it your Really Best Shot . Convince me . Have a Go , :cup: :cheers:
VB all the way for me. Always has been, always will be. Why? Cos i like it ;D
Matter of Fact l got 1 Now :cheers: :cup:
No throwing insults from me Speewa, all I can do is say thank you. You're the salt of the earth old mate and so are the guys like you. As long as there are the "roll your sleeves up & do the dirty work" type like your fine self, there is less VB on the shelves getting in the way of the good stuff for the rest of us.
You're a true Saint and from the bottom of my heart, I thank you for your services :cheers:
There are many :cheers: out there that many indulge in . Reds , Whites Beers & Sprits . To all Enjoy your chosen :cheers:. We are all different , We are all individuals , though some are not . Either .
VB might not be the chosen brew for everybody , but it is for some that enjoy it we drink it .
Matter of fact l Got 1 Now :cheers: :cup:
No throwing insults from me Speewa, all I can do is say thank you. You're the salt of the earth old mate and so are the guys like you. As long as there are the "roll your sleeves up & do the dirty work" type like your fine self, there is less VB on the shelves getting in the way of the good stuff for the rest of us.
You're a true Saint and from the bottom of my heart, I thank you for your services :cheers:
All BS aside if you don't like VB , clear you mind of it & consume you chosen :cheers: :cup:
Just a gee up mate, that's all. Not my chosen drop, but I've definitely had worse. XXXX bitter for one
Those that cannot appreciate a vb most likely have never had a"hard earned thirst" and probably drink their beer mixed with lemonade anyhow.
The traditional and correct abbreviation for Victoria Bitter is "Vic"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nszIJDswTBM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nszIJDswTBM)
Nobody refers to Melbourne Bitter as "MB"
Nobody refers to Fosters Lager as "F", or even "FL"
Nobody refers to Carlton Draught as "CD"
"VB" is a term used by numbskulls...... ::) ::)
:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Those that cannot appreciate a vb most likely have never had a"hard earned thirst" and probably drink their beer mixed with lemonade anyhow.
VB might be a bit strong for them or not to their taste , hard to tell :cheers:
Just remember there are millions of people out there who drink Budweiser!!!!
The traditional and correct abbreviation for Victoria Bitter is "Vic"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nszIJDswTBM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nszIJDswTBM)
Nobody refers to Melbourne Bitter as "MB"
Nobody refers to Fosters Lager as "F", or even "FL"
Nobody refers to Carlton Draught as "CD"
"VB" is a term used by numbskulls...... ::) ::)
:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Nice work Geoff ;D ;D ;D
Just remember there are millions of people out there who drink Budweiser!!!!
That's only because they've never had a VB!
That's only because they've never had a VB VIC!
Fixed it for ya Jacko.... ;D
:cup: :cup: :cheers:
I've been home brewing for almost 30 years, and I think I've found just about every way to spoil a brew
Consequently I know what bad beer tastes like
I've found plenty of commercial good commercial beers
VB however rates alongside my poorer home brews, Carlton Draught though manages to equal my worst home brews!
Every home brewer I've ever met reckons they've cracked the perfect brew....
X3, - the real drink is here in Vic and delicious to anyone with a semblance of taste buds left, the uneducated youngsters might find passion fruit flavoured beer OK, but seriously, after a days activity nothing beats an ice cold Vic Bitter.
Speewa - listen to this man, knows his stuff !
The Very Best :cheers:
This one thread alone will triple Speewa's post count
gotta say VB is a better beer than KB was. How many remember the 'cold gold'? I thought KB was a reasonable beer once, but have moved on. How boring would the world be if there was only one beer? Now there are a lot of interesting beers. Add VB as a bulk beer.
Even when we had the xxxx strike up here years ago I could not drink that VB S***. lucky I home brew though. :cup::cheers:
John, the stuff they brew at Yatala is not VIC.
VB in Vic is better than in Qld?
Yep. The stuff brewed in Vic is the real thing. The Qld stuff is not...
Interesting. I'll be getting a schooner next time I'm in Melbourne. The guys I go down there with drink Carlton Draught at the pubs, it's bloody hard work getting through that. After a few trips it got too much and I started drinking Furphy beer last time, I thought that was a nice drop.
Interesting. I'll be getting a schooner pot next time I'm in Melbourne.....
Fixed it for you listo.... ;D
Well done Geoff, but I don't unnastan why this is in the NEWS thread as well.
Interesting. I'll be getting a schooner next time I'm in Melbourne. The guys I go down there with drink Carlton Draught at the pubs, it's bloody hard work getting through that. After a few trips it got too much and I started drinking Furphy beer last time, I thought that was a nice drop.
I think you will find if you try a Carlton Draught after you try a VB the CD will now be eminently more drinkable in comparison.
In any event, it's pointless arguing about personal preference. ::)
The parochial attitude of QUEENSLANDER!!s is entirely predictable..... :P :P
:cheers: :cheers:
In any event, it's pointless arguing about personal preference. ::)
Calling them parochial is being a bit too kind to them as really they know not what they say :cheers: Might have another VB later :cheers:
Hey knock it off I'm from Queensland and I will drink any beer that is on offer, especially the free stuff. beer is beer boys. I have never known a true beer drinker to consume soft drink just because a so called different beer, or a beer he doesn't like is the only one on offer. BullShit he will stay and drink as many as he can until told by his beautiful wife that he is going home. I don't know what you are all arguing about. Cheers to all beers big or small.
PS- Remember always declare a roadie.
Ah finally, a new cyclist thread ;)
Sent from my HTC_0PJA10 using Tapatalk
So to a cyclist, when riding and you come to a set of lights, what's the difference between Green, Yellow and Red?
Vic Bitter, XXXX, Carlton Draught all being ok to proceed
So to a cyclist, what's the difference between Green, Yellow and Red?
Vic Bitter, XXXX, & Carlton Draught Melb Bitter
Fixed.....
At a beer convention in Sydney some of the east coast salesman were catching up for a quick one after the session.
Being held in Sydney the Sydney rep goes up to the bar and orders a "new" the beer we drink round here.......
Not to be outdone the queensland rep orders a XXXX cos it's the "best drop"
The Vic rep of course orders a Vic Bitter.
Seeing this go on the little Tassie rep walks up and orders a lemon spritzer - "well if you poofs aren't drinking real beer, neither am I"
.....I bet nobody ordered a Southwark...... ;D
PS- Remember always declare a roadie.
If a roadie is called in the forest, and no one is sober enough to have heard it, has it been called?
We call it Visitors Beer - the stuff you keep to feed to those who drop in empty handed. You wouldn't drink it yourself.
.....I bet nobody ordered a Southwark...... ;D
With good reason too, that stuff is ghastly.
In my family were geographical drinkers, 1 son drinks vb, #2 drinks tooheys new, #3 drink xxxx & i drink great northern. Thats the east coast covered, now towork on the rest of oz
Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk
Tell you what though, it's bloody popular with the indigenous in the Territory. I have seen them buy a single can over the bar for $6, on a credit card, and I have seen VB can mountains taller than me and ten metres wide out in the bush. Still wouldn't drink it though.
If a roadie is called in the forest, and no one is sober enough to have heard it, has it been called?
No mate ;D
Tell you what though, it's bloody popular with the indigenous in the Territory. I have seen them buy a single can over the bar for $6, on a credit card, and I have seen VB can mountains taller than me and ten metres wide out in the bush. Still wouldn't drink it though.
Fark that post has pissed me off. Here we all are having a bit of light hearted banter and some twit brings race into the discussion. Seriously mate, race has nothing to do with this thread nor about drinking beer. Take your attitude elsewhere.
Next thing you know we'll be having a go at the mexicans. Oh, hang on....
There's no "average" option. ???
VB is drinkable, just, if it is at a temp of 2c. ;D
I thought it was only Mexicans that drunk vb?
Mexicans, as in those south of the Vic/NSW border? Or Mexican as in the people from the country of Mexico? If the former, no race distinction is implied by using that term, it is simply a colloquialism based upon a location and is mainly associated with sporting events. If the latter, thought those guys drank Coroners.
KB (as in cold gold)
(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/NzlYy8k58rLM4-95diNPC5sqq6Nm0MQ9yHWm3Pvtis2OUs8VJbLVoi9nFljn0opxbjA98Nk4GW_bIsJOYktLo-hYyirs3urUIglJOw03_VOn7JRYntZAdUGCVrCKKDZHlPoI0ErHPYQOEYdXvryoXTHdgZonayTKEuJVcatpXtI9a4_gR1JXZFwOUPwmOkYJQUgePpNKA4M8WFs7OLZewysu2si_ptNJ57Mn8rTm7bSygeByz7yzGE2fC4_3YxKKuDiLQDHPKxAEXTebuHKM7RGLe4JX4jQKYozEtaKny1_O9E5dP-Cuu1vkMjSTJTPttD-1NhluHH2K_K2z12swYZCD4Fe9Y7rKanWpwQ4SrAnB9XoBTjH9N1Qs22_vPWKxtE8JmD__TglCfTZ3VQfxYNSiuGaxBOaTuyC2ad5uyEGeks6QLeJ4cjOmh_ZN6aKZXqgO8oyPwLeC0Wg8_rlHPY3O6kcab5QxnMiCtbTPF1otaA8cf6u_537PC_Lf67Z2K2wbpvOu9H6UnI7k8zgeiTL9FS-cQw0sUGiE5vKiD_JPqT0FskJErk4bK8rQ8cECSGpFSIFXzcspldPWaeK11etBTLEmpMwyQs0lRx1kITl0S0u5=w742-h793-no)
It was only a matter of time this went south
Sixpack you will have to come to the national meet @ easter and see how many vb stubbs are being consumed around the fire. Maybe you can get a vb tattoo to go next to your xxxx man ;)
You're the smartest guy on here Sixpack. Your first and last posts are the most accurate on here.
"No thanks, that's not my type of beer on offer tonight, so I'll settle for an iced water & drive everyone home after the party" said no man ever ;D
It's been a long while but all this talk has got the better of me. I'm going to get a VB tally today & have another crack. I'll post the results later... If the thread is still open
Spose beer flavour's orright if yer turnin over a new leaf and stickin it up the sheltered workshop in Canberra- http://supervapestore.com.au/beer (http://supervapestore.com.au/beer)
but there are the traditionalists among us- http://supervapestore.com.au/e-liquid/tobacco (http://supervapestore.com.au/e-liquid/tobacco)
How'd ya find vapin VB anyway?
If the thread is still open
so true ;)
But is it? I think XXXX is just as bad. I think it must be made from unfiltered Brisbane river water, it just tastes dirty to me like VB. XXXX summer is OK on a hot day but generally a good pale ale is my choice.
You're the smartest guy on here Sixpack. Your first and last posts are the most accurate on here.
Thanks listo, its true.
It was only a matter of time this went south
It's about a mexican beer, it started in the south
Plus any discussion that runs the risk to criticize a man's partner, car or drink was never going to end well
So here's a pic to cheers us all up
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160828/3ecc605b2d902e560d81caab4f010c17.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160828/1fc45c8d368ec360b060fb135502e2eb.jpg)
Mexicans, as in those south of the Vic/NSW border? Or Mexican as in the people from the country of Mexico? If the former, no race distinction is implied by using that term, it is simply a colloquialism based upon a location and is mainly associated with sporting events. If the latter, thought those guys drank Coroners.
KB (as in cold gold)
This is my beer of choice. Picked up another slab yesterday. Hope that doesn't mean I'm............(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160828/e33e19894925ca7a64e6db0c5b444405.jpg)
Is that like Tooheys Old Scarps? I apologise if that comparison is offensive >:D
I've never seen it before
And these are my favourites. We could be brothers ;D
Plus any discussion that runs the risk to criticize a man's partner, car or drink was never going to end well
So here's a pic to cheers us all up quote]
I bet ya no one took notice of what was in her hand Scarps...
Is that like Tooheys Old Scarps? I apologise if that comparison is offensive >:D
I've never seen it before
not offensive at all, yes similar. I travel to Sydney for work a fair bit and drink Tooheys Old when there.
And these are my favourites. We could be brothers ;D
Well it's possible
This is another excellent dark beer. Even better on tap ;D
Sorry, way off topic. Back on, VB or Vic, whilst not my preferred drinking option, is nonetheless a great drink on a hot day (can't believe I just said that, hope Matt doesn't read this ;D)
This is my favourite but even better off tap if you can find it.
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160828/5a2d4983de4cdde7bd4d92571556e8cf.jpg)
Sadly VB are 2 letters not a word :'( but its a great drop :cup: :cheers:
I known !!!!!! that's how bad it is ........ >:D >:D >:D >:D
Vic is good on a hot day if you just have a couple to quench your thirst. Then use the other 4 in the six pack to polish the chrome on you 4by, Just don't get it on your paintwork as it will strip it. It's also a good weed killer, test by throwing up on your front lawn & the next day any grass or plant life will be dead >:D
l do like VB .
Having another VB & reading on :cheers: :cup:
Think I may have now figured out the reason for your username ;D
Tassie and sa are the only two states that can stand proud for the best mass produced local beers.
Hats off to them.
I known !!!!!! that's how bad it is ........ >:D >:D >:D >:D
Are we discoursing your limited grasp of Australian or you lack of taste in beers ??? :cheers:
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160828/b4839e1afc7db950222bf64289999f7a.jpg)
Well, the deeds been done. Knights are about to kick off, so I thought I'd get this bad boy down before I already had a bad taste in my mouth.
It smells alright & went down easily enough, but that aftertaste is a bit funky, almost sour. Not something I'd rush back for, but it's still far from the worse drop I've had. I reckon if I persisted, I could get used to it. I'm interested in tasting a Victorian brew now.
I'd give it a 4 out of 10
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160828/3108130dfdca0dc245a893bd242e87e2.jpg)
I saw this while I was there, I got a stubbie to try. Man, I must live under a rock! It makes Tooheys Old taste like poofters mouthwash. It almost has a chocolate finish & is smooth as. I wish I'd bought a box now.
I'd give it 8.5 out of 10
. If the latter, thought those guys drank Coroners.
KB (as in cold gold)
Lol nah. Coronas to Mexicans is like fosters to Australians. They just export that Shit.
So here's a pic to cheers us all up quote]
I bet ya no one took notice of what was in her hand Scarps...
In her what?
I saw this while I was there, I got a stubbie to try. Man, I must live under a rock! It makes Tooheys Old taste like poofters mouthwash. It almost has a chocolate finish & is smooth as. I wish I'd bought a box now.
Great, you are learning :cup: When you get a chance, try a Coopers Dark Ale or a Dogbolter. Maybe hard to source in Roma.
This is another excellent dark beer. Even better on tap ;D
Sorry, way off topic. Back on, VB or Vic, whilst not my preferred drinking option, is nonetheless a great drink on a hot day (can't believe I just said that, hope Matt doesn't read this ;D)
Too late, you're sprung Dave ;D ;D
Kudos to you for the brave admission though, i know it can't have been easy >:D :D
Great, you are learning :cup: When you get a chance, try a Coopers Dark Ale or a Dogbolter. Maybe hard to source in Roma.
I might be able to find the coopers, but the dogbolter sounds like a challenge. It might have to wait until we go away again
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160828/038b16d5cbc3ee2b16a0ecd6ab362bac.jpg)
This is another one I tried ages ago, back then I was very vanilla with beer and didn't like anything with flavor. I found this beer to be bloody sensational back then even, but it was pretty expensive. I might have to give it another lap one day.
Welcome to the dark ale club
After reading these posts , again l have the importance of being an individual reinforced to my . To those that are not individuals suck up your chosen brew & deem it " Nectar of the Gods " as you see it .
l will enjoy my VB 8) :cup: :cheers: :cheers:
After reading these posts , again l have the importance of being an individual reinforced to my . To those that are not individuals suck up your chosen brew & deem it " Nectar of the Gods " as you see it .
l will enjoy my VB 8) :cup: :cheers: :cheers:
Yep, and I will enjoy my home brew, good or bad. ;D ;D :cheers:
lf it works for you , Enjoy :cup: :cheers:
Vomit Bombs
Haha.
Regards.
Vomit Bombs
Haha.
Regards.
lf it affects you so badly , stay away from it . l will handle it thanks :cup: :cheers:
Agree KB -
The Vintage Coopers will do OK any day, if it was cheaper I'd drink it regularly, in the meantime Vic Bitter does very nicely.
Is it true that the recipe is different from Vic to where ever else it made?
Melbourne Bitter isn't a bad drop.
Angus.
Agree KB -
The Vintage Coopers will do OK any day, if it was cheaper I'd drink it regularly, in the meantime Vic Bitter does very nicely.
Yeah mate, I can't afford to drink the Vintage too often. Normally buy a slab when the each new Vintage comes out and it takes me 6 months to slowly savour it every so often.
VB must have been relegated to 11th place ;D ;D ;D :cheers:
http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-ideas/best-of-travel/where-to-find-the-worlds-best-brews/news-story/87f27e26674293a7944ac0cde8d3563a (http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-ideas/best-of-travel/where-to-find-the-worlds-best-brews/news-story/87f27e26674293a7944ac0cde8d3563a)
Compiled by amateurs ;D
From other states with nothing better to do :cheers:
The label say's it all V ery B ad :cheers:
The serria Nevada pale ale in that list is a good drop. Bought a heap of it when I was in the states.
I have to agree with you there.. Pity it's so bloody expensive over here though $83.99 a carton at Dan's currently. If you're very lucky, you can get it at discount of over 40% when it gets very close to best before date. You have to know when they do their stock culling though.
Regardless of what brand you prefer, this could be the reason
For continued consumption of your favourite brew.. ;D ;D
I have to agree with you there.. Pity it's so bloody expensive over here though $83.99 a carton at Dan's currently. If you're very lucky, you can get it at discount of over 40% when it gets very close to best before date. You have to know when they do their stock culling though.
hahaha, yeah i paid about $28USD for a carton in San Fransisco a few weeks ago, from CVS (supermarket)