General => General Discussion => Topic started by: speewa158 on August 26, 2016, 06:31:11 AM

Title: Masters Sale
Post by: speewa158 on August 26, 2016, 06:31:11 AM
So Masters so closing & 75Mil of goodies or up for grabs . Who wants to cash up & run in for a bargain   ??? l don't have a store anywhere near me so l will have to travel a few hours .l will bend the plastic if l see a deal .Some of their stock will be discounted slowly as they go to the XMass  finish   , are there any Swaggers that could popin from time to time & report on the $$ on stuff  ???
Asking Swaggers to go to a hardware store ,,,,,,,that shouldn't be to hard to do  ;D
l am looking for a few boxes of good steel drill bits , always handy & don't start me on power tools & stuff
                                           Road Trip coming up              :cup:                :cheers:
Post by: scrapsD40 on August 26, 2016, 06:43:55 AM
I heard they're offering big discounts on cordless hammers. Will try and get some prices for you.
Title: Re: Masters Sale
Post by: DaveR on August 26, 2016, 07:17:31 AM
I heard they are staring to offload the left hand tools 1st.
Post by: plusnq on August 26, 2016, 07:20:09 AM
I heard they are staring to offload the left hand tools 1st.

Finally  ;D

They so rarely come on sale.
Post by: scrapsD40 on August 26, 2016, 07:33:30 AM
Seems about left, afterall they're not massed produced and the tempering would be opposite
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160825/9096d79e9a7e22ce846d4e01f5f4ed63.jpg)
Post by: DaveR on August 26, 2016, 07:41:24 AM
I have to ask, what is wrong with Masters?
Only went in there about 4 times and each time I thought it was wrong, there was something completely wrong about it that I can't put my finger on.
Perhaps its the fridges which just looked out of place.
Any clues what it is?
Then there is the no check out chick caper, so I'd use the garden entrance.
Post by: scrapsD40 on August 26, 2016, 08:08:51 AM
Woolworths executives were involved.
Post by: scblack on August 26, 2016, 08:48:16 AM
Woolworths executives were involved.
Haha well said. ;D

I live around the corner from Bella Vista, whenever I drive on Norwest Boulevarde I have laugh in the Head Office general direction.

(For those who may not know, Woolworths national HQ is in Bella Vista).
Post by: Hoyks on August 26, 2016, 08:57:30 AM
I was a big fan of Masters. Our local Bunnings was a seedy looking place, poorly lit, poorly maintained (lots of empty boxes on the shelves or boxes with the wrong stuff in them) and stocked with disposable Chinese crap.

So a nice new store that was well lit, clean and well stocked with better quality Chinese crap.

When I was in the US for work I bought a bunch of Kobolt tools in Lowes with the intention of them basically being disposable, but I found the gear to be good quality for the $$ and they have lasted really well. So I was more than happy when the Lowes was plonked here with the Masters banner over the door. It is a shame that it didn't catch on though.
I'll still be shopping there until such time as they close.... well, my preferred store. Bunnings have some stuff that Masters don't, same for the local Home Hardware. The Mitre 10 is a joke and dear as poison.

It did make the local Bunnings clean up their act though. The seedy store has closed and they have built 2 nice new stores... 500m from the Masters and 5km from Masters.

In Springfield Central they built a Bunnings directly across the road.
2 massive hardware stores within 100m??
Really??
There is no denying that Bunnings made a concerted effort to crush the opposition.
Post by: Traveller on August 26, 2016, 10:20:44 AM
I'm with you Hoyks, I think Bunnings are stocking more and more cheap cr*p, or huge amounts of the same stuff without much variety, and heaven help you if you want assistance. Masters does/did seem to have brands that Bunnings doesn't, and I shop at both to give myself the choice of brands.

I will certainly be sad to see them go, not only will great brands suffer less exposure, but having a giant company monopolise the hardware market won't be a good thing. "We'll beat any price by 10%" is going to be quite difficult to get if there are fewer stores in competition, which was obviously their aggressive strategy.
Post by: scblack on August 26, 2016, 10:41:16 AM
From Masters opening, it lost $hundreds of $Millions of $Dollars per year. It was a financial black hole. I live in Baulkham Hills Sydney and have no idea of the closest Masters - though I had up to six Bunnings within 15mins drive, so I never set foot in a Masters.

It was a poorly executed economic strategy in many ways:
 - taking on a big dominator in Bunnings was always going to be risky
 - product mix was weird - who goes to a Hardware store to buy a fridge? I'd head to Good Guys or Harvey Norman, and clearly so did most people.
 - They often set up where there was already an established Bunnings.

They just tried to replicate Bunnings to compete with Wesfarmers, but clearly did not do enough customer research as their sales were always poor.
Post by: scrapsD40 on August 26, 2016, 10:44:27 AM
Found out yesterday that Metcash/Mitre10 Group are looking to buy Home Hardware/J Danks Wholesale from Woolworths and merge into a new combined independent hardware group under Metcash wholesale
Post by: Rumpig on August 26, 2016, 10:46:15 AM
Only went in there about 4 times and each time I thought it was wrong, there was something completely wrong about it that I can't put my finger on.
Any clues what it is?
have only set foot in Masters store once, because I have about a dozen Bunnings stores that are closer to my home then the few that exist. In saying that, I have a Bretts timber and hardware a kilometre from home, if it's timber I want I get it through them, but for bigger variety of handyman stuff and get from Bunnings. At work we use Hudsons, who were just bought by Home hardware recently, which means will now become Mitre 10.
Post by: gordo350 on August 26, 2016, 11:03:12 AM
I heard they're offering big discounts on cordless hammers. Will try and get some prices for you.

You mean like this one ????(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160826/ec4b7f2e63b63cdf791147f2543a0149.jpg)
Post by: Beachman on August 26, 2016, 11:13:09 AM

I personally think Masters is more of a home renovation store (Directed to the Female demographics) and Bunnings are more of a Hardware store. 

I have a Masters and Bunnings both 5 minutes from home and used to visit each store for different reasons. So for me it’s a shame Masters are closing down.
Post by: Steffo1 on August 26, 2016, 11:17:37 AM
Be interesting to see what happens to their sheds.
Post by: monbeg on August 26, 2016, 11:25:16 AM
Gotta wonder about some of these places sometimes !!
Post by: scblack on August 26, 2016, 11:32:34 AM
Be interesting to see what happens to their sheds.
Bunnings are already setting up shop in a few sites.

Much of the land and warehouses have been bought out by a group of wealthy families.
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2016, 11:45:57 AM

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=46420.msg792354#msg792354 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=46420.msg792354#msg792354)
Post by: tryagain on August 26, 2016, 11:58:07 AM
Any clues what it is?

I put it down to an over-emphasis on homewares as opposed to hardware. I think it was designed to appeal to the female demographic which the vast majority of retail is, but if you have a look in bunnings, it is one of the few places that has predominately male shoppers. I think that not right feeling is going from bunnings where it is designed for males to feel comfortable (workwear and dirty clothes and all) to somewhere that is now more designed to make your wife more comfortable, it might be "nicer" but not necessarily something you want from a hardware store, you want to feel comfortable walking into get whatever it is you need halfway through a project without thinking I feel a bit to underdressed/dirty to go there.

Post by: Joff on August 26, 2016, 12:00:48 PM

that must be the premium you pay for 'keyed alike'  ???
Post by: speewa158 on August 26, 2016, 12:35:38 PM
There is offcourse the influence of the Good Old USA , selling  " snow shovels " down under in January With stunts like that is it any wonder they went down  >:D                  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on August 26, 2016, 01:30:48 PM
Quote from: speewa158
There is offcourse the influence of the Good Old USA , selling  " snow shovels " down under in January With stunts like that is it any wonder they went down  >:D                  :cheers:
I only went in there once or twice, but selling heaters in summer was never going to work... they worked on the US calendar.
Post by: BaseCamp on August 26, 2016, 03:15:44 PM
I often wondered "WHY" -- Masters was so doomed...

I could not really fathom it...  The only thing that was a "real standout" for me - as a total goof up imho - was all the grey shelving...   Dated, and antiquated the place straight off - and you don't ever get a second chance - to make a first good impression...

And also - the below maybe another key reason - Masters did not look the part... 

Our local Bunnings was a seedy looking place, poorly lit, poorly maintained (lots of empty boxes on the shelves or boxes with the wrong stuff in them) and stocked with disposable Chinese crap.

AKA .....  "the Stack 'em high; and sell 'em low"   principle....
Post by: Bird on August 26, 2016, 03:19:37 PM
I often wondered "WHY" -- Masters was so doomed...

I could not really fathom it...  The only thing that was a "real standout" for me - as a total goof up imho - was all the grey shelving...   Dated, and antiquated the place straight off - and you don't ever get a second chance - to make a first good impression...
so flashy lights and pretty colours sells for you?
I couldn't tell you th colour of the shelves of just about any stores I go into.. strange....
Post by: scrapsD40 on August 26, 2016, 06:30:23 PM
Wow, and about time....wonder how many would be in Bella Vista?(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160826/6bdbccf8f147c39ae669f41ca8fb3a41.jpg)
Post by: Hoyks on August 26, 2016, 06:41:51 PM
I went into Masters at Bundamba at lunchtime today. Surprisingly, especially for a Friday afternoon, it  was the busiest I have seen it ever!

I suppose they were in there picking over the corpse and hoping for a bargain. I suspect now that date of execution has been announced, Masters will have its best sales figure ever and probably a lot of first time shoppers too!

Post by: Garfish on August 26, 2016, 07:22:36 PM
Any clues what it is?
The sausage sizzle wasn't on your way in, you had to go looking for it
Post by: BaseCamp on August 26, 2016, 09:07:15 PM
Hey Bird mate....  please take a closer look at my post ...

I was saying 100% opposite to what you understood there....

I was saying that the grungy Bunnings look worked much better on my wallet - whereas Masters felt as bland as grey musac.....

Post by: Redcherokee on August 26, 2016, 11:37:51 PM
Went to Masters a few times and they simply never had what we wanted. 

Soaker hoses?  We don't stock them.  (US influence, not adjusted to what Aussies are used to)
Electrical cable crimper?  Don't stock them.  Suspect another US influence.
Ocky straps? Don't stock them....

And so it goes.  They just brought over the Yankee range, without paying attention  to what we wanted. Deserve to go broke doing that.  Even wandering around there was never anything inspiring.

Just feel sorry for the poor folk who are losing their jobs. Ah well when reborn as bulky goods warehouses they may provide a few more jobs...

Post by: Troopy_03 on August 27, 2016, 12:30:24 AM

Soaker hoses?  We don't stock them.  (US influence, not adjusted to what Aussies are used to)

And so it goes.  They just brought over the Yankee range, without paying attention  to what we wanted. Deserve to go broke doing that.  Even wandering around there was never anything inspiring.

Just feel sorry for the poor folk who are losing their jobs. Ah well when reborn as bulky goods warehouses they may provide a few more jobs...
The Masters near me stocks a few different electrical crimpers. Actually more than Bunnings.
Post by: JPH on August 27, 2016, 03:09:55 AM
Found out yesterday that Metcash/Mitre10 Group are looking to buy Home Hardware/J Danks Wholesale from Woolworths and merge into a new combined independent hardware group under Metcash wholesale

The deal went through earlier in the week, Metcash have bought all but three Home Hardware stores and didn't buy the warehouse. Will be very interesting to see how this effects things. Our local supplier Belmont Timber was bought out 2 years ago by Home and will most likely change names and stock again. It's hurt many tradies as we can no longer buy the bulk or quality we've been accustomed to with independent suppliers who listen to their local market.
Post by: KingBilly on August 27, 2016, 05:48:46 AM
The deal went through earlier in the week, Metcash have bought all but three Home Hardware stores and didn't buy the warehouse. Will be very interesting to see how this effects things. Our local supplier Belmont Timber was bought out 2 years ago by Home and will most likely change names and stock again. It's hurt many tradies as we can no longer buy the bulk or quality we've been accustomed to with independent suppliers who listen to their local market.

Well there you go, I thought Metcash was only a distribution company and most of their hardware stores were just franchises or whatever.

Post by: Pete79 on August 27, 2016, 06:40:22 AM

And I found the opposite.
No big imperial sized sockets stocked at Bunnings. Full range at Masters.

No high temp Dektite stocked at Bunnings. All sizes on the shelf at Masters.

Masters just left their run too late. They took way too long to open stores and Bunnings already had control of the market.
Post by: scrapsD40 on August 27, 2016, 06:46:31 AM
watch this space with these guys. Tipped to explode with the independent owners that didn't take the big cheque from Metcash or Woolies.  http://www.hbt.net.au
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160826/21c0a789ac31fd2331b812a12a907843.jpg)
Well there you go, I thought Metcash was only a distribution company and most of their hardware stores were just franchises or whatever.

several still are independent, but 2009 onwards when Metcash bought Mitre10/True Value Brand, Management and Wholesale divisions, and Woolies bought Home Hardware/Thrifty Link Brand, Management and Wholesale divisions, both groups had big cheque books to buy part or all of the independent hardware store business. They did this in competition with each other to either acquire/lock in the wholesale business or stop the competitor being able to but one of their key businesses.
Post by: Homer_Jay on August 27, 2016, 07:06:54 AM
They should have had some big sales on tradie type gear at the start to win the blokes over (sexist? Yes..... It's a hardware and your target audience should be blokes).

They needed to get people in and get them to think the place was great with some bargains.

I walked in when they opened, everything was similar priced to Bunnings. It didn't feel like a hardware. So just went back to Bunnnings.

Occasionally I would go back when Bunnings didn't have what I wanted. Rarely did Masters ever have anything better. And the place started to get a weird feeling as there was always more staff than customers. Felt like everyone was looking at you!

Sad to see any business go down. And Bunnings need competition, Masters just got it wrong.

Post by: krisandkev on August 27, 2016, 07:45:37 AM
Is it just me, I hate both!  I still get better service and a better range at other hardwares and I like to support our local family owned store.  Kevin
Post by: D4D on August 27, 2016, 07:48:54 AM
The Masters near me stocks a few different electrical crimpers. Actually more than Bunnings.

z2, very large range of Cabac stuff
Post by: Hewy54 on August 27, 2016, 08:45:35 AM
Is it just me, I hate both!  I still get better service and a better range at other hardwares and I like to support our local family owned store.  Kevin
We are very lucky that we have an industrial area fairly close. They have a steel yard(Gawler Steel), irrigation shop, Reece, electrical wholesaler, landscape supplies, timber supplies (RM Timber) and all on a first name basis. Better service, quality goods and cheaper than Bunnings.
Thank god for Paxton Street in Willaston.
Post by: Bird on August 27, 2016, 10:57:04 AM
Quote from: krisandkev
agree totally except the local went broke...
Post by: tryagain on August 27, 2016, 03:32:32 PM
It begins tomorrow Monday

http://www.smh.com.au/business/retail/masters-fire-sale-to-start-monday-20160826-gr25au.html (http://www.smh.com.au/business/retail/masters-fire-sale-to-start-monday-20160826-gr25au.html)
Post by: tryagain on August 27, 2016, 03:43:23 PM
10-30% Storewide to start with so nothing all  that spectacular, my guess would be a majority at the 10% off discount.
Post by: BaseCamp on August 27, 2016, 03:46:38 PM
I can imagine the stress Wollies failure will give to operators such as Trade Tools Direct (Qld)...   

Through no fault of their own - now they are going to have to deal with $500M of assorted wares being liquidated / sacrificed...  some of which will inevitably be product from their key categories...
Post by: tryagain on August 27, 2016, 03:54:12 PM
I can imagine the stress Wollies failure will give to operators such as Trade Tools Direct (Qld)...   

Through no fault of their own - now they are going to have to deal with $500M of assorted wares being liquidated / sacrificed...  some of which will inevitably be product from their key categories...

A bit of pain for a few months but then less competition.
Post by: Bird on August 27, 2016, 05:02:15 PM
Quote from: tryagain
my guess would be a majority at the 10% off discount.

everyone will rush in like suckers for the "show" specials.. LMAO
Post by: speewa158 on August 27, 2016, 05:12:20 PM
For those out of town if anybody can post prices it could save a trip down to only get 10% off  :cheers:
Post by: scrapsD40 on August 28, 2016, 08:36:59 AM
For those out of town if anybody can post prices it could save a trip down to only get 10% off  :cheers:
I heard they're having a carpark sale. Do you need one?
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 28, 2016, 11:36:59 AM
I heard they're having a carpark sale. Do you need one?

I'll go shares with someone.
I just need a strip for a driveway.
White lines on it doesn't matter
Post by: corndog on August 28, 2016, 12:57:37 PM
I shop at both. Have found stuff at Masters that Bunnings didn't have. I don't always like the brands that Bunnings have compared with Masters. Price wise they are close thought Masters are open to haggle more.
Post by: Jason B on August 28, 2016, 01:01:10 PM
I must admit that I prefer the service and convenience of our local Mitre 10, its easier to find what you want in a smaller space with less options!

On the upside our local Masters in doing deals on Sky Hooks and Striped Paint if you are after some  >:D
Post by: corndog on August 28, 2016, 01:31:10 PM
The Mitre Ten near me has closed down. They didn't often have what I was looking for. Just up the road is Bunnings and Masters. They hung in there longer than I expected.
Post by: tryagain on August 28, 2016, 02:55:37 PM
I am assuming most of the discount amounts will be on their website, but I may be wrong.
Post by: Troopy_03 on August 28, 2016, 07:29:08 PM
I called into the Heatherbrea Masters today, and didn't see a lot of discounted stuff. They had a few tables with some side show trinkets on supposedly discounted to 60%, but that's about it. I did see the LED Lenser L7 torches that they used to have for about $40.00 have gone up to $56.00 though.. so if they do start having "Massive Clearance Discounts" I might just be a little bit wary.
Post by: speewa158 on August 28, 2016, 08:27:38 PM
Geeeeez Do You Reckon   the price might GO UP to be discounted to a reasonable  " Sale Price "      ??? ??? ??? or what .

There aint no free lunch out there      ;D                        :cheers:
Post by: scrapsD40 on August 28, 2016, 08:29:40 PM
Geeeeez Do You Reckon   the price might GO UP to be discounted to a reasonable  " Sale Price "      ??? ??? ??? or what .
Well they are called Masters..............maybe masters of deception
Post by: Bird on August 28, 2016, 08:36:43 PM
Quote from: Troopy_03
I did see the LED Lenser L7 torches that they used to have for about $40.00 have gone up to $56.00 though.. so if they do start having "Massive Clearance Discounts" I might just be a little bit wary.
I was right... same as 4wd Show Specials :D :D :D
Post by: speewa158 on August 28, 2016, 08:40:52 PM
Well they are called Masters..............maybe masters of deception

But then again it might be a last gasp attempt  to save the Woolies Brand as   ,,,,,reality . ???

OR Not                 Sadly                              :cheers:               
Post by: grmas1 on August 28, 2016, 08:44:25 PM
Have heard major brands are buying back stock to avoid their brands being dumped into the market at reduced cost's

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

Post by: speewa158 on August 28, 2016, 08:52:35 PM
That's a Win/Win              ,  l think           ??? :cheers:
Post by: Rbush90 on August 28, 2016, 09:51:22 PM
according to the local rag, the fire sale starts tomorrow. 29/8 and is supposed to be the "biggest fire sale Australia has ever seen".
Post by: BaseCamp on August 28, 2016, 09:55:07 PM

There aint no free lunch out there      ;D                        :cheers:
I read in the Couriermail that Masters has engaged the services on a US outfit that specialises to maximizing the returns for companies attempting to stage "fire sales".....   

So the above and other comments fit perfectly their current modus operandi. .....

Post by: achjimmy on August 28, 2016, 10:12:22 PM
I read in the Couriermail that Masters has engaged the services on a US outfit that specialises to maximizing the returns for companies attempting to stage "fire sales".....   

So the above and other comments fit perfectly their current modus operandi. .....

That would fit in. I was there yesterday and it was interesting to see certain stock (large toolboxes ) that were clearly set out and promoted like it was a clearance item but it wasn't a cent off
Post by: Rumpig on August 29, 2016, 06:04:52 AM
If you want real big savings, then we need everyone to avoid going there for the next few months to buy supposed items at a "big saving". This will leave them with heaps of stock to move in a small time frame instead of the 3 months they have up their sleeve currently, and then they'd have to slash the prices big time. Unfortunately that won't happen, the media has already got people in a frenzy thinking it will be at give away prices, so heaps will flock there today so others don't beat them to it, and pay more then they could do if they stayed away for another month or two.
Post by: speewa158 on August 29, 2016, 06:31:01 AM
Sheep have never been BIG thinkers      :-*                           :cheers:
Post by: Bird on August 29, 2016, 09:55:09 AM
If you want real big savings, then we need everyone to avoid going there for the next few months to buy supposed items at a "big saving". This will leave them with heaps of stock to move in a small time frame instead of the 3 months they have up their sleeve currently, and then they'd have to slash the prices big time.
agree!
Post by: Joff on August 29, 2016, 10:23:44 AM
The wife and I did a bit of an impromptu Bunnings/Masters crawl on Saturday morning. it's a bit hard to explain how and why this happened but it has to do with forgetfulness, nurseries and sausage sizzles but anyhoot, we hit 3 Bunnings and 2 Masters. (Marsden Park B&M, Penrith North B, St Mary's M, McGraths Hill B)

Bunnings is better! no doubt. It just seems to have a better feel. Prices were comparable but Bunnings has that decade of familiarity about it. There is nothing about Masters that is new or compelling that would make someone, like me at least, change. I remember back when Bunnings first opened in my area - McGraths Hill. I tried not to go there preferring to support the little local guys of which there were 4 or 5 but eventually convenience, range, prices etc etc got me. I can't see any compelling reason why I would change to Masters and I can see why the whole thing never grew legs

Masters did have some sale items out with big yellow posters but it's all just the junky stuff. None of he better stuff seemed to be 'on sale'. Maybe there will be a time when good stuff will be had for cheap but it will be a very brief window and you will have to be on your game to be part of it.
Post by: Raym on August 29, 2016, 06:36:50 PM
Went to Masters today to get a couple of sleepers & the car park was packed. Most cars I have seen in there since it opened.
Maybe it is just a very clever marketing strategy. I imagine the other big players will take a hit for a couple of months.

Large promotion signs declared 10 to 30% discounts.

Post by: Banjo16 on August 29, 2016, 06:45:22 PM
Comparing the 2 I couldn't find anyone at masters who had much knowledge about what they sold,much better at Bunnings.
Post by: speewa158 on August 29, 2016, 07:49:46 PM
Comparing the 2 I couldn't find anyone at masters who had much knowledge about what they sold,much better at Bumblings
Fixed it for you      :cup:
Post by: Rumpig on August 29, 2016, 08:47:03 PM
Comparing the 2 I couldn't find anyone at masters who had much knowledge about what they sold,much better at Bunnings.
glad you get help at Bunnings, because on one of my last visits there I had to wait in line at the tool shop whilst some lady tried to buy a brickies string line from them, but the Bunnings person was trying to send them to the craft area for other string instead. The poor lady had no idea what she needed to get, her husband had sent her down there, but the useless Bunnings person had no idea what she was after even though it was obvious to someone with a half an idea with the description of what it was for that the lady was giving. I stayed out of the conversation as I wanted the staff member to sort it out and not look like an idiot, but eventually I got sick of waiting and told the lady what she needed to buy. I basically avoid staff members there, after 25 years in the building industry I find it's usually easier to not deal with the staff there myself.
Post by: heath74 on August 29, 2016, 09:47:30 PM
Agree rumpig, but have found the masters staff even worse!
Post by: tryagain on August 29, 2016, 11:42:09 PM
I stayed out of the conversation as I wanted the staff member to sort it out and not look like an idiot, but eventually I got sick of waiting and told the lady what she needed to buy. I basically avoid staff members there, after 25 years in the building industry I find it's usually easier to not deal with the staff there myself.

I have been in this situation a few times but sometimes the advice is just so bad I can't help myself, I also stopped counting after about 20 the amount of time's other customers in bunnings have asked me for help, and no I don't work there or wear a red shirt. Since Masters opened it hasn't been as bad as they must have picked up their customer service with some competition, will be interesting to see what happens when they close.
Post by: speewa158 on August 30, 2016, 03:58:48 AM
Reckon we are in for a Brave New World when Bumblings has the show to themselves  :cheers:
Post by: KingBilly on August 30, 2016, 06:52:07 AM
Reckon we are in for a Brave New World when Bumblings has the show to themselves  :cheers:

Oh yeah, just watch the prices go up, and up, and up.  They've won the war now watch them celebrate  ;D

Post by: Troopy_03 on August 30, 2016, 08:24:03 AM
I get the irates with the Bunnings "ex-spurts" too. You go in there to buy something, ask someone where they are kept, then they proceed to try and tell you need something entirely different. I know what I want, and I know why I need that, and I don't have time to stand there and explain to them why they have no idea of what they are talking about. And as for being helpful, I went in to buy 20 lengths of PVC electrical conduit, to make some hoops to put mesh over some raised garden beds I built. I asked the resident "font of all knowledge" if he had some packing tape so I could bundle them together and he says no mate, just grab them and take them up the front counter, they might have some. If you've ever tried to pick up 20 lengths of conduit, you'll know how stupid his suggestion was. So I just dumped them on the floor, in the middle of the aisle, walked over to the leccy tape shelf, grabbed a roll and taped up the bundle, then threw the remains of the roll back on the shelf in front of him. He then asks "do you need a hand with that?"  >:( I replied, no mate, I think I've got it sorted.
Post by: scblack on August 30, 2016, 09:35:43 AM
It will be the same as before 2011 when Masters opened its first store. Masters has only been operating 5years, so its not like Bunnings had the competition for long.
Post by: Joff on August 30, 2016, 10:41:23 AM
I have none of those dramas at bunnings. And clearly most others dont either.
Post by: KingBilly on August 30, 2016, 10:53:08 AM
It will be the same as before 2011 when Masters opened its first store. Masters has only been operating 5years, so its not like Bunnings had the competition for long.

Yeah but before Masters came along to keep them honest, Bumblings were tryng to establish themselves in the market place.  Now that they have establised matket dominance, and seen many local, smaller hardware stores shut down, and have attracted a client base used to their prices being competitive, without competition, they will rort the punters just like every other dominant monopoly has.  Just wait and see.

Post by: scblack on August 30, 2016, 11:26:07 AM
Yeah but before Masters came along to keep them honest, Bumblings were tryng to establish themselves in the market place.  Now that they have establised matket dominance, and seen many local, smaller hardware stores shut down, and have attracted a client base used to their prices being competitive, without competition, they will rort the punters just like every other dominant monopoly has.  Just wait and see.

Bunnings were established as the market leader in quite a dominant manner well before Woolworths attempted to edge into the market via the creation of Masters.

The smaller stores were under pressure for many years before Masters popped up.

Hopefully now Metcash have bought the Home Timber and Hardware business from Woolworths, the HOME stores can regroup and use buying power to compete.

And its hardly a monopoly, while Bunnings are dominant, they have always had Mitre10 and Home plus others to deal with. And if Bunnings prices do ramp up, people will gravitate back to the other players.

I don't completely disagree with you, but Bunnings really were by FAR the dominant force before Masters appeared. :cheers:
Post by: rotare on August 30, 2016, 12:28:13 PM
Probably easy for some to be critical of Bunnings and Masters, but where I live I'm glad they came to town.  The service from the local hardware stores was never that flash, barely carried any stock, the range was limited and what they did have seemed to be well over priced.  Give them a week though and they'd get something in for you, at a premium price of course. 

For sometime I use to buy all my timber from the local sawmill which isn't that far from Bunnings now.  But after the last lot twisted like liquorice and there was zero care factor from the bloke running the sawmill, I now buy my timber from Bunnings.  Not only are they cheaper than the local guy but I've never had any issues returning anything if it wasn't fit for purpose.
Post by: achjimmy on August 30, 2016, 12:46:55 PM
Yeah the local Bunnings has been good for us but its origins where an independent then BBC now Bunnings. As with rotate we'd be rooted without them.

The plot was lost in hardware when Bunnings were allowed to gobble up BBC. Before then Bunnings run cafeterias and BBC had trade discount cards etc once BBC were gone Bunnings ditched the trade cards for many years down sized their timber stocks and got out of meranti and more exotic timbers etc . since completion has been reintroduced they have polished their floors tied up the stores and got back into more trade services even reinstalled cafes  . No good will come from masters going IMO. Heathly completion is good for the consumer.
Post by: achjimmy on August 30, 2016, 12:47:53 PM
Seems lowes are taking action and may cause a delay in the closing anyhow? They are not happy with wollies either.
Post by: deepop on August 30, 2016, 04:44:49 PM
In Vic at least we had 'Hardware House' about the same time as Bunnings but the big B won out and took them over - so there was competition.
Post by: BaseCamp on August 30, 2016, 05:45:04 PM
Big players like Bunnings tend to weaken the independents to the point that many close.

I had occasion to be reading many Google reviews on Spotlight Everton Park (Qld) - the VAST majority of them were scathing and condemning...

But there was one loathing review which really summed up the whole malaise of bricks & mortar independent retail in this country....

This Google reviewer was complaining bitterly at how atrocious Spotlight Everton Park was - and made the comment:

"There used to be lots of choice and good prices from the small independent craft shops - but they have all closed down now" ...

>:D     :-*     :'(     >:D     grrrrrrrrrrr

Well that's right darln'    .... it's called you (now) sow what you have all reaped...   
Post by: Fizzie on August 31, 2016, 08:40:45 AM
In Vic at least we had 'Hardware House' about the same time as Bunnings but the big B won out and took them over - so there was competition.

We had HH in Qld as well (at least on the Gold Coast anyway!).

I was told way back then that there was a gentleman's agreement between the 2 that if HH stayed on the East Coast, then Bunnings would stay in WA, so no competition between them.

Worked for some time till some new bright spark in HH decided to toss the agreement out the window & opened up in WA, so Bunnings said Stuff you Charlie, moved East, wiped them out & took them over  >:D 
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2016, 08:46:38 AM
http://www.theage.com.au/business/retail/masters-fire-sale-has-a-wet-start-20160830-gr4xcy.html (http://www.theage.com.au/business/retail/masters-fire-sale-has-a-wet-start-20160830-gr4xcy.html)
Post by: jmorgan1981 on August 31, 2016, 10:36:45 AM
So with masters closing I am wondering who is going to stock the Ego gear.

I have the chainsaw and was thinking about getting the mower. I was unsure to start with as I have just moved to Port Macquarie and don't know if it will handle the work/weather here. This has given me more to think about.

Maybe I just go a Honda instead.
Post by: scblack on August 31, 2016, 10:47:50 AM

I have the chainsaw and was thinking about getting the mower. I was unsure to start with as I have just moved to Port Macquarie and don't know if it will handle the work/weather here. This has given me more to think about.

Maybe I just go a Honda instead.
If you have a warranty issue, the retailer is the first point of call. As Masters is gone come December, you do not have direct warranty contact.

I'd suggest you buy elsewhere. 8)
Post by: achjimmy on August 31, 2016, 11:41:25 AM
We had HH in Qld as well (at least on the Gold Coast anyway!).

I was told way back then that there was a gentleman's agreement between the 2 that if HH stayed on the East Coast, then Bunnings would stay in WA, so no competition between them.

Worked for some time till some new bright spark in HH decided to toss the agreement out the window & opened up in WA, so Bunnings said Stuff you Charlie, moved East, wiped them out & took them over  >:D

I don't know of any agreement it's possible but BBC was a very profitable business for Howard smiths along with blackwoods. They were sold willingly to west farmers as the parent company needed funds they were bleeding elsewhere. It was a great fit for west farmers so they could monopolies the market.  So it wasn't a case of being wiped out. BBC were and did command market share over Bunnings in the eastern states.

At the time it was promoted as a merger , the fact the ACC did not block it shows what a worthless public service they are imo
Post by: achjimmy on August 31, 2016, 11:43:14 AM
If you have a warranty issue, the retailer is the first point of call. As Masters is gone come December, you do not have direct warranty contact.

In the original statement woolworths advices they would honor all warranties and gift cards. It was made very clear.
Post by: scblack on August 31, 2016, 11:48:35 AM
In the original statement woolworths advices they would honor all warranties and gift cards. It was made very clear.
Missed that. But think once Masters is gone:
Are you going to lob your mower at the local Woolworths/BigW/Dan Murphys for a warranty matter? Masters will not be there, so staff who know the product will not be there.

I still suggest buying elsewhere, if warranty is of any concern for you.
Post by: achjimmy on August 31, 2016, 11:59:55 AM
Missed that. But think once Masters is gone:
Are you going to lob your mower at the local Woolworths/BigW/Dan Murphys for a warranty matter? Masters will not be there, so staff who know the product will not be there.

I still suggest buying elsewhere, if warranty is of any concern for you.

They'll do like a lot of the retailers including Aldi etc do now direct you go to the the manufacturers chosen warranty repairer. Then if it's not satisfactory I would imagine yep you'll get a refund from woolworths?  I know the rules on statutory warranty etc but have you ever tried to return an iPod to wollies or JB for a warranty replacement or refund? The real world and what our masters tell us are two different things. If the price is right and the product is right I'll have no hesitation buying from masters , more so if it's a known brand.
Post by: jmorgan1981 on August 31, 2016, 12:30:02 PM
Yeah the warranty isn't the issue so much. I'm also wondering if any other retailer will pick up Ego. It seems that Masters is the only stockist in Australia.
Post by: Kangaron on August 31, 2016, 12:34:50 PM

http://egopowerplus.com.au/pages/contact-us (http://egopowerplus.com.au/pages/contact-us)
Post by: jmorgan1981 on August 31, 2016, 12:37:50 PM
http://egopowerplus.com.au/pages/contact-us (http://egopowerplus.com.au/pages/contact-us)

Awesome. Thanks.
Post by: BaseCamp on August 31, 2016, 01:38:29 PM
See Queensland Trade Tools Direct for Ego gear.. 

Post by: speewa158 on September 01, 2016, 01:01:00 PM
l heard about a Bloke that went to a Masters store , rounded up a big bunch of kit & took it to the checkout . Put all his kit through then left . When he got home it was found some of the big ticket items weren't on the docket    >:D   Staff Revenge
                                                      >:D    :cup:     >:D
You could go broke if that happened  :cheers:                                     
Post by: oldmate on September 01, 2016, 01:03:34 PM
I heard that lowes may start legal again against woolworths for starting to get administrators in to masters without discussions with them first
Post by: scblack on September 01, 2016, 01:07:17 PM
I heard that lowes may start legal again against woolworths for starting to get administrators in to masters without discussions with them first
They already have lodged the legal action.

Lowes want to appoint an external administrator to the joint venture vehicle "Hydrox Holdings" rather than Woolworths current approach to sell from within.
Post by: graylyn on September 01, 2016, 03:28:10 PM
KingBilly, you are right on the button.  I make collapsible crabpots these days and I use 32mm blue stripe poly for the legs of the pots.  12 months ago I used to buy it in Bunnings or $64 for 50 metres.  Now it is $121.  I gave it a miss there and went across to Masters who asked $72 for a roll, but it was only 25 metres.  After shopping around I found 150 metres for $300 at the local rural shop.  Also, on the bottoms of the pots I use a 30mm stainless steel ring to finish the pots off.  Bunnings wanted $12 for 4 (Zenith brand), but the local hardware store had the same things or $7.  Bunnings is gradually going off my favored shopping place, I am afraid.
Post by: oldmate on September 01, 2016, 03:37:12 PM
They already have lodged the legal action.

Lowes want to appoint an external administrator to the joint venture vehicle "Hydrox Holdings" rather than Woolworths current approach to sell from within.
Like I said. I heard!! Didn't mean it was right ;)
Post by: peter01 on September 01, 2016, 06:54:10 PM
bit more detail

Post by: speewa158 on September 02, 2016, 06:03:41 AM
The plot thickens   Thanks Peter  :cheers:
Post by: Hoyks on October 02, 2016, 05:56:08 PM
I have discovered why they went broke.

Stocking these:
Really? I know when it comes to ground pepper, first thing I think of is reaching for power tools. The more I think of it though, the blower could have some uses....
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161002/6dc509fb2ce3fdacf690df053c4f6a6a.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161002/5f5198bbb63f2e499f2c49acefc3b1ec.jpg)
Post by: DaveR on October 02, 2016, 05:57:24 PM
I have discovered why they went broke.

Stocking these:
Really? I know when it comes to ground pepper, first thing I think of is reaching for power tools. The more I think of it though, the blower could have some uses....

Stocking nothing would send anyone broke......  ;D
Post by: Hoyks on October 02, 2016, 06:09:04 PM
They were on my phone, I was on the laptop.

A couple for the novelty I could understand, but a whole shelf full?

They also had a cloth cutting attachment, very handy if you are doing lots of fiber glassing and they cut carbon fiber well too.
https://www.bosch-do-it.com/au/en/diy/tools/ixo-collection-universal-cutting-adapter-3165140776363-category-pmdb-id.jsp (https://www.bosch-do-it.com/au/en/diy/tools/ixo-collection-universal-cutting-adapter-3165140776363-category-pmdb-id.jsp)
Post by: Luckymiles on October 02, 2016, 09:38:34 PM
I wonder if that has something to do with the twin pack being keyed alike.

Sent from my A1601 using Tapatalk

Post by: Luckymiles on October 02, 2016, 09:54:38 PM

I thought I read that they would still provide warranty services after the stores closed.

Post by: Luckymiles on October 02, 2016, 10:05:50 PM
I once went to masters to see if they sold step drill bits. They did for about 70 bucks for one. (might have been Bosch).

Bunnings had them for about 20 bucks for a three pack of different sizes.

Masters might have been good if I was an apprentice and wanted top quality that would last forever but I wanted to drill a couple of holes. Done and dusted and I still have them years later.

DIY and home handyman stuff needs to be affordable otherwise people are not going to buy it.

Post by: scblack on October 03, 2016, 08:38:38 AM
I thought I read that they would still provide warranty services after the stores closed.

Yep, they will. But where from???

Masters stores are shutting down.

The distributor may be the point of call. Where are they? Who are they? Are you prepared to freight a mower interstate?

Or BigW/Woolworths may handle them. Does anyone there have a clue about the hardware products at all? How many mowers do you see at Woolworths?

Warranty will be handled, but it will be a massive pain in the arse to deal with once stores are shut.

I will buy somewhere that will be open in a few months time thanks.
Post by: Bird on October 03, 2016, 08:47:16 AM
Quote from: Luckymiles
I once went to masters to see if they sold step drill bits. They did for about 70 bucks for one. (might have been Bosch).

Bunnings had them for about 20 bucks for a three pack of different sizes.

Masters might have been good if I was an apprentice and wanted top quality that would last forever but I wanted to drill a couple of holes. Done and dusted and I still have them years later.

DIY and home handyman stuff needs to be affordable otherwise people are not going to buy it.

So the fact they sell quality gear instead of cheap Chinese Shit like Bunnings is a bad thing ???
Post by: Troopy_03 on October 03, 2016, 09:12:26 AM
So the fact they sell quality gear instead of cheap Chinese Shit like Bunnings is a bad thing ???
Bunnings also sell quality drill bits, but they cater for the cheap crap side a s well.
Post by: BaseCamp on October 03, 2016, 09:19:23 AM
In BNE atm I notice Ego; (56vt everything, well maybe not vibrators - you know,  wackaPackers LOL); .....are advertising like crazy on the radio. .....   explaining all the retailers that their products are (still) sold from..

But I couldn't help thinking, listening to the ads - that I bet they have taken a big hit with people reluctant to (otherwise) buy their products through masters - due to warranty worries. ...

(I am the happy owner of their mower and chainsaw; batteries and chargers....)

Post by: Luckymiles on October 03, 2016, 09:31:22 AM
It sounds funny when you put what I said that way but I'm just thinking that if someone wants to do one small job they might be able to get away with using a cheaper brand.

For example I have a number of tradetools brand tools and for me they work well.

To expand on that I have a tradetools brush cutter that was maybe $200. If I was to buy a top quality one like stihl I would be looking at say $900-$1200.

If you had someone that wants to make a shelf and got a drill for $30 and they could do the one job and be happy, how could they really justify a $300 name brand with a 2-5 year warranty for ten times the price.

So I think there is a place for cheaper items and Bunnings has tapped into that with instructional how tos and stuff for the average person to get in and give it a go without a cost that is prohibitive.

Obviously if you have the money and want the best buy things like snapon tools and stihl and stuff as they are good quality and should last for many many years.

Post by: Luckymiles on October 03, 2016, 09:50:57 AM
In BNE atm I notice Ego; (56vt everything, well maybe not vibrators - you know,  wackaPackers LOL); .....are advertising like crazy on the radio. .....   explaining all the retailers that their products are (still) sold from..

But I couldn't help thinking, listening to the ads - that I bet they have taken a big hit with people reluctant to (otherwise) buy their products through masters - due to warranty worries. ...

(I am the happy owner of their mower and chainsaw; batteries and chargers....)

Yeah I think a mate of mine has the whipper snipper and chainsaw and he was really happy with them. He took them camping last time so we could clear a bit around our tent and fire area and then chop a bit of wood for the camp ovens and it worked well and I've considered buying one now

Post by: KingBilly on October 03, 2016, 05:41:13 PM
In BNE atm I notice Ego, blah, blah ...

What warranty issues?  What are you babbling about?  You buy an EGO product, register the purchase online and the warranty is good for five years.  Warranty, service and spare parts will be handled through Woolworths https://www.masters.com.au/diy-projects-ideas/support-help/masters-news (https://www.masters.com.au/diy-projects-ideas/support-help/masters-news)

If EGO are taking a "big hit", it not noticeable at my local Masters.  All EGO products are close to selling out.  I was hanging out for the discount to increase but had to buy what I wanted today as the shelves are nearly empty.

Post by: Hoyks on October 03, 2016, 08:00:38 PM
Warranties shouldn't be an issue either
Woolworths Limited (Woolworths) has agreed three separate contracts to facillitate its exit from its Home Improvement business.

Masters will cease trading at all stores on or before 11 December 2016.

Woolworths will honour all customer gift cards, product warranties, returns, lay-bys and contracted home improvement projects and will work constructively with all suppliers.

https://www.masters.com.au/diy-projects-ideas/support-help/masters-news (https://www.masters.com.au/diy-projects-ideas/support-help/masters-news)
Post by: BaseCamp on October 03, 2016, 08:32:05 PM
It sounds funny when you put what I said that way but I'm just thinking that if someone wants to do one small job they might be able to get away with using a cheaper brand.

For example I have a number of tradetools brand tools and for me they work well.

To expand on that I have a tradetools brush cutter that was maybe $200. If I was to buy a top quality one like stihl I would be looking at say $900-$1200.

If you had someone that wants to make a shelf and got a drill for $30 and they could do the one job and be happy, how could they really justify a $300 name brand with a 2-5 year warranty for ten times the price.

So I think there is a place for cheaper items and Bunnings has tapped into that with instructional how tos and stuff for the average person to get in and give it a go without a cost that is prohibitive.

Obviously if you have the money and want the best buy things like snapon tools and stihl and stuff as they are good quality and should last for many many years.

Nicely put....   its "funny" on this forum how we sometimes may feel "obliged" to further explain what we mean....  due to some of the "questions" that get thrown up...  when its mostly self-evident what we are communicating . ...

I sometimes think these "questions" are a cry for attention: "look at me- look at me"   LOL....

These days I mostly ignore them...  you know .....  y a w n .....   

Love the banter and camaraderie here; love all the really useful information on here...  but as for the  y a w n s - well, you know....   LOL...

Post by: Bird on October 03, 2016, 09:52:41 PM
Nicely put....   its "funny" on this forum how we sometimes may feel "obliged" to further explain what we mean....  due to some of the "questions" that get thrown up...  when its mostly self-evident what we are communicating . ...

I sometimes think these "questions" are a cry for attention: "look at me- look at me"   LOL....

Love the banter and camaraderie here; love all the really useful information on here...  but as for the  y a w n s - well, you know....   LOL...
"I" ignore them "too" cause "sometimes" people don't see "what they" are s"ay"ing can "mean" 2 "Differ"ent things, or they "may" not rea"l"ise that "sometimes" peo"le" complain" " about chea"p" chine"se" Shit then "hat"e to p"ay" for qua"lity" .- -.-. .... --- ---
Post by: me217 on October 03, 2016, 10:36:38 PM
What warranty issues?  What are you babbling about?  You buy an EGO product, register the purchase online and the warranty is good for five years.  Warranty, service and spare parts will be handled through Woolworths https://www.masters.com.au/diy-projects-ideas/support-help/masters-news (https://www.masters.com.au/diy-projects-ideas/support-help/masters-news)

If EGO are taking a "big hit", it not noticeable at my local Masters.  All EGO products are close to selling out.  I was hanging out for the discount to increase but had to buy what I wanted today as the shelves are nearly empty.

how much was the chainsaw going for, as i've been wanting one for awhile now.
Post by: KingBilly on October 03, 2016, 10:43:36 PM
Gees mate, didn't look as I bought one not long ago when it was on special.  Most of the gardening stuff is 20% off but think chainsaws are only 15 off at the moment.  For a chainsaw price, look at another supplier, like Trade Tools, as they quote the same recommended retail as Masters but Masters seems to have pulled their stuff off their website.

Post by: Joff on October 04, 2016, 08:14:38 AM
"I" ignore them "too" cause "sometimes" people don't see "what they" are s"ay"ing can "mean" 2 "Differ"ent things, or they "may" not rea"l"ise that "sometimes" peo"le" complain" " about chea"p" chine"se" Shit then "hat"e to p"ay" for qua"lity" .- -.-. .... --- ---

Can someone re-boot Bird. He's gone on the "fritz"
Post by: Rumpig on October 04, 2016, 11:56:23 AM
i reckon there'd be a line up of people wanting to kick him  ;D ;D
Post by: Swannie on October 04, 2016, 11:57:47 AM

nah that's how he talks in real life. he forgot to do google translate  >:D

swannie
Post by: speewa158 on October 04, 2016, 12:16:17 PM
Stick a Bable fish in your ear to translate for you  :cheers:
Post by: Joff on October 04, 2016, 03:10:35 PM
reckon I'd just rather not know  ;D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on October 04, 2016, 04:35:11 PM
Stick a Bable fish in your ear to translate for you  :cheers:

I got that reference, someone building a bypass?
Post by: wakychapmans on October 04, 2016, 06:28:25 PM
because you've got to build bypasses...

Post by: speewa158 on October 04, 2016, 07:13:03 PM
At least take your own Towel & don't trust SlartieBartFast   , hes full of it      :cheers:    :angel:
Post by: Aussie Iron on October 04, 2016, 07:28:17 PM
how much was the chainsaw going for, as i've been wanting one for awhile now.

Just paid $330.00 for one and they may come down further if not sold out first.

Dan.

Post by: Spada on October 04, 2016, 07:50:30 PM
They haven't been advertising it, but the last couple of Tuesdays they've taken an extra 10% off everything at the check out

got myself a $69 step ladder last Tuesday for $40.
Post by: Luckymiles on October 04, 2016, 08:40:15 PM

Yeah I must admit that I do feel compelled to explain myself sometimes.

It is a funny thing. Especially since I did think that I had made my point in the first post.

But then again things can be interpreted different ways I guess.

Post by: Bird on October 07, 2016, 07:51:09 AM
http://www.theage.com.au/business/retail/masters-cancels-orders-and-cuts-phones-amid-fire-sale-fail-20161006-grw4fo.html (http://www.theage.com.au/business/retail/masters-cancels-orders-and-cuts-phones-amid-fire-sale-fail-20161006-grw4fo.html)

Masters has taken down all pricing information from its website and cut off its telephone lines to its stores. Customers calling the corporate helpline are told they must visit a store to check prices.

WTF????
Post by: KingBilly on October 07, 2016, 08:39:38 AM
but Masters seems to have pulled their stuff off their website.

Try to keep up mate  ;D

Post by: Bird on October 07, 2016, 09:33:28 AM
Quote from: KingBilly
Try to keep up mate  ;D
you failed to mention " ... cut off its telephone lines to its stores.. Cutomers calling the corporate helpline are told they must visit a store to check prices."

I don't get it... None of that makes sense to me....
Post by: Rumpig on October 07, 2016, 11:33:50 AM
you failed to mention " ... cut off its telephone lines to its stores.. Cutomers calling the corporate helpline are told they must visit a store to check prices."

maybe certain stores with extra stock of certain items will be discounting more then the other stores to move product? Customers can't then compare each store and expect same prices easily at each store maybe. Might have already sacked the non essential staff also, so nobody there to answer phones. They bought in a US liquidation specialist to maximise the $$$ they get as they shut up shop, so I doubt the massive savings on anything will happen until the final weeks....sadly many people have gone there and paid more then they could of if everyone had just held off a few months.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on October 07, 2016, 11:51:27 AM
I'm with Rumpig here.

Aldi don't publish phone No.'s for individual stores deliberately.
It's so you spend all that money on fuel or taxi to get there. 
You still don't know if they have what you want, until you walk around inside the store.
It's deliberate, a trap to make you buy stuff on impulse.

I believe Masters are trying the same stunt.
They are trying us on.
Post by: tryagain on October 07, 2016, 11:58:41 AM

Aim would be to get foot traffic through the doors and then get impulse buys. From what I have seen however there seems to be plenty of people leaving empty handed so it's probably not working too well. People seem more than happy to wait for the prices to drop further at the risk of missing out, probably because they haven't discounted enough so in general there is plenty of stock still left. Unfortunately for them, everyone knows they have to sell and things will only get cheaper so consumers in a sense hold the cards. I wonder if part of the issue with liquidating is the same as when operating with Americans incorrectly assuming the Australian psyche is the same as the American and acting accordingly.
Post by: Spada on October 07, 2016, 01:02:22 PM
I doubt the massive savings on anything will happen until the final weeks....sadly many people have gone there and paid more then they could of if everyone had just held off a few months.

I'll be surprised if there is any significant price slashing in the coming weeks, other than on the obscure product categories / brands. Given the new purchasers of what will be left of the disseminated business are also in the hardware & electrical business, I suspect they will be taking ownership of the buildings and stock. I think there will only be a fire sale of the product ranges that the new owners do not want, and that may not even happen until the remaining stores have re-branded (but i hope i'm wrong as I'm watching a few things).

of course, I'm no expert.......just a gut feel I have.
Post by: wakychapmans on October 07, 2016, 01:17:40 PM
Given the new purchasers of what will be left of the disseminated business are also in the hardware & electrical business,

there is a "purchaser" for Masters?

Did I miss something?

I thought that the entire reason for the "fire sale" was that they couldn't find a buyer.

Post by: BaseCamp on October 07, 2016, 03:59:27 PM
These pics tell a story...

I was in Masters Everton Park (BNE); this morning.. 7th Oct --  buying some line trimmer line...   (91mtr HD @ $52, down to $43)....    Can't complain about that....   

Saw a barrel load of Ego mowers at the "super reduced special price"  of about  $519....  pffff

But the kicker is that I bought my 56vt mover 6 months ago for circa $570... with an (extra)  "Fast Charger" - worth I recall about  $180 thrown in at no extra $$$.....   So me thinks -- so much for many of Masters so-called fire sale prices atm...

The other pic shows them tearing down sections of the store already. ...   One of the supervisors told me this morning that they were pulling the plug on Everton Park on 4th December ???(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161007/0d6c27bb192cd72afec5fa3049cf5d7a.jpg)
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161007/a3e7b36433f5bc00e890349c02398066.jpg)
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161007/091b0dba04831b01d16b2d7d37eceecb.jpg)

Post by: Spada on October 07, 2016, 05:13:11 PM
there is a "purchaser" for Masters?

Did I miss something?

I thought that the entire reason for the "fire sale" was that they couldn't find a buyer.

Metcash have bought the Home Timber & Hardware group (and I suspect that may include a package of ex masters stock), and a separate consortium group (Aurrum, Spotlight Group, Chemist Warehouse) has purchased the 82 sites, with rumoured plans to redevelop them into retail precincts of varying product mixes ?

Also don't rule out a lot of the merchandise being progressively sold off post Masters closure through BigW ?

There is very little detailed info available publicly as to the "nuts & bolts" of those deals.............everything is pure speculation at this point, but I did find this in an article-
"Home Consortium said it was already negotiating with retailers including Anaconda, JB Hi-FI, Super Amart, BBQs Galore, Woolworths Supermarkets and Dan Murphy's to take over some of the 61 freehold properties.
The deal to offload Masters is still subject to approval from Woolworths' US-based joint-venture partner Lowe's.
It covers 40 trading freehold stores, 21 development sites and 21 Masters leasehold sites which the consortium plans to repurpose into multi?tenant large-format centres.
Woolworths said it will acquire three Masters freehold sites and take assignment of 12 leases to facilitate the deal.
Rival hardware giant Bunnings was quick to jump on plum locations, confirming it planned to take over 15 Masters sites."

Post by: speewa158 on October 07, 2016, 05:23:42 PM
There will be some homeless crap on the shelves come Xmas                 :cheers:
Post by: wakychapmans on October 07, 2016, 06:10:31 PM
Metcash have bought the Home Timber & Hardware group

<SNIP - trimmed for space saving>

Rival hardware giant Bunnings was quick to jump on plum locations, confirming it planned to take over 15 Masters sites."

ok... that stuff I know. You're right... much of what doesn't sell will probably end up in Big W... that's assuming that they don't also pull the pin on Big W... which is losing money as well compared to say... K-Mart.

But I don't think the shareholders would cop two massive write down this close together.

Post by: rsteedman on October 07, 2016, 06:41:30 PM
Full disclosure. I work at TradeTools.

https://www.tradetools.com/product-range/cordless-tools/individual-tools-and-skins/ego-56v-cordless-lawn-mower-kit-4-0ah-battery-lm2001e

Plus a $70 cashback.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161007/f69efd5552b1411e2ef0da6d80fa2f1b.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Post by: tryagain on October 07, 2016, 06:47:12 PM
much of what doesn't sell will probably end up in Big W

Everything will sell, I don't think moving a few odd hardware bit's and pieces to a department store would make sense, especially when it's also part owned by lowes.
Post by: speewa158 on October 07, 2016, 07:12:48 PM
Full disclosure. I work at TradeTools.

https://www.tradetools.com/product-range/cordless-tools/individual-tools-and-skins/ego-56v-cordless-lawn-mower-kit-4-0ah-battery-lm2001e (https://www.tradetools.com/product-range/cordless-tools/individual-tools-and-skins/ego-56v-cordless-lawn-mower-kit-4-0ah-battery-lm2001e)

Plus a $70 cashback.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161007/f69efd5552b1411e2ef0da6d80fa2f1b.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

lf it dosent make noise & or suck petrol  whats  the point of it      ???      :cheers:
Post by: #jonesy on October 08, 2016, 08:04:57 AM
Masters in South Morang had "rough plumbing" down to 50%

That is most plumbing fittings, copper pipe  etc, but not taps,  sinks and those sort of things.
Might be a good buy for any plumbers. 
I picked up a 150mm screw cap and thread + bits for another pole carrier, and few other bits and pieces for other jobs.  Didn't get the sink pop up plug I actually went to get.
Post by: Fizzie on October 08, 2016, 08:23:14 AM
"Home Consortium said it was already negotiating with retailers including ... Woolworths Supermarkets and Dan Murphy's to take over some of the 61 freehold properties.

Wonder why you'd have to "negotiate" with Woolies & Dan the Man when they're all owned by the same company  ???
Post by: kylarama on October 08, 2016, 08:32:22 AM

These pics tell a story...

I was in Masters Everton Park (BNE); this morning.. 7th Oct --  buying some line trimmer line...   (91mtr HD @ $52, down to $43)....    Can't complain about that....   

Saw a barrel load of Ego mowers at the "super reduced special price"  of about  $519....  pffff

But the kicker is that I bought my 56vt mover 6 months ago for circa $570... with an (extra)  "Fast Charger" - worth I recall about  $180 thrown in at no extra $$$.....   So me thinks -- so much for many of Masters so-called fire sale prices atm...

Most brands will have clauses in their contracts about selling for heavily discounted prices. Generally to stop 'loss leading'.  I'd say the discount is all Ego will allow, but Ego will be required to purchase back any unsold stock.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Post by: BaseCamp on October 08, 2016, 11:26:27 AM
^^^^^
Interesting - learn something new nearly every day on this forum...    :cheers:

I didn't know about products being capped in supply agreements - so the retailer couldn't carve the guts out of a price - for a lost leader.....

(I've often wondered why there is not more really popular stuff; (things people want); massively discounted as lost leaders... to drag in the punters)..

Say like an Engel or Weaco 40ltr at 60% OFF - on the proviso that the punters buy (say) another $200 worth at "regular" pricing; (or in Anacondas case "20% OFF Store Wide"  LOL)...   

That would seem a good idea...   Literally sell the fridge at cost price; (yes, making no money/profit on it) - but at least make good margin on the other stuff; (forced) bought ...
Post by: Spada on October 08, 2016, 11:45:29 AM
Pricing control is very common in retail. Usually it's done by the supplier controlling who sells the product, and setting pricing limits in their supply agreements and terms of trade. For example- doesn't matter how much shopping around you do, a Webber BBQ will be roughly the same price everywhere. Whenever electrical retailers have % off store wide sales, there will be an * that says "excludes Meile product". Notice how you can only buy National Luna fridges either direct, or from Opposite Lock ?, and Opposite Locks price is exactly the same as the suppliers' website ?

Quite often with the big retailers like Woolies, the price reductions in their weekly catalogues is funded by the supplier via advertising rebates, and it is often the supplier that is paying the retailer to have the products featured and promoted.
Post by: Paddler Ed on October 08, 2016, 12:07:03 PM
Apple are another mob, I remember buying an iPod at Bing Lee and they weren't willing to haggle because they weren't allowed to according to Apple. ACCC says that the piece can't be fixed by suppliers Soni took that to them and I think I got it for costs + GST (no profit)

I also think this is why we don't have online prices for ARB, TJM and some others, combined with the news to visit the local store.

Personally, I think that there is scope for smaller regional retailers to come into the online market place; in a lot of ways they have a competitive advantage on costs over some metropolitan retailers.
Post by: BaseCamp on October 08, 2016, 12:22:45 PM
Thanks gents for all this info!!!

I thought the ACCC prohibited fixing the prices that retailers were allowed to sell things for...   or being dictated same from their suppliers. ...

But this information   ^^^^  explains why often it doesn't matter how much you can ring around. ....   it often seems near on impossible to buy things at deep discounts --  like the retailer just ain't gona....   Meilie and webber are classic examples. ...   grrr

Post by: kylarama on October 08, 2016, 12:23:34 PM

doesn't matter how much shopping around you do, a Webber BBQ will be roughly the same price everywhere.

I don't mind Webers business model for the Q range.  Major retailer's that can bulk buy and discount more, only have access to the standard range. While the smaller independent retailers have exclusive rights to the specialty models.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Post by: Troopy_03 on October 08, 2016, 11:22:41 PM
^^^^^
Interesting - learn something new nearly every day on this forum...    :cheers:

I didn't know about products being capped in supply agreements - so the retailer couldn't carve the guts out of a price - for a lost leader.....

(I've often wondered why there is not more really popular stuff; (things people want); massively discounted as lost leaders... to drag in the punters)..

Say like an Engel or Weaco 40ltr at 60% OFF - on the proviso that the punters buy (say) another $200 worth at "regular" pricing; (or in Anacondas case "20% OFF Store Wide"  LOL)...   

That would seem a good idea...   Literally sell the fridge at cost price; (yes, making no money/profit on it) - but at least make good margin on the other stuff; (forced) bought ...

I think you mean "Loss Leader". A "Lost Leader" is when they advertise something really cheap, but when you get to the shop, you can never find any of the items in stock.  ;D
Post by: wakychapmans on October 09, 2016, 08:26:44 AM

I also think this is why we don't have online prices for ARB, TJM and some others, combined with the news to visit the local store.

ARB have their pricing online. Granted... it's not the easiest to find... but it's there. You can download a PDF of their pricing. You have to enter a postcode though. I think that's to allow for regional dealers.

Post by: Luckymiles on October 10, 2016, 02:09:46 PM
I hate when stores don't display prices online.

I think it is simple. Work out what you are prepared to sell it for and let people know.

I often will exit the website or ignore a company if I can't find the prices on their website.

I want to know the cost. Not hear a sales pitch.

Post by: Ozsnowman on October 10, 2016, 02:16:02 PM
Got a 9kg gas bottle there for $23 on Friday, and 2x15 meter hoses for $4.xx each was happy with that. Almost bought a toolbox for back of the ute, but knew wife would kick my bum if i did hehe
Post by: Bird on October 10, 2016, 02:28:28 PM
I hate when stores don't display prices online.

I think it is simple. Work out what you are prepared to sell it for and let people know.

I often will exit the website or ignore a company if I can't find the prices on their website.

I want to know the cost. Not hear a sales pitch.
agree on the no prices is bullShit these days...

or another beauty is a company advertises on the radio, 'free booklet, realestate traps exposed'.. You have to sign up for it, used one of my dead email address', clicked the download button and nothing showed up.. tried on 4-5 machines at work with different email addresses either the direct download, or email it to me - and nothing happened.. They want you to ring up and give you the bullShit sales pitch..
Post by: Luckymiles on October 10, 2016, 05:33:18 PM
agree on the no prices is bullShit these days...

or another beauty is a company advertises on the radio, 'free booklet, realestate traps exposed'.. You have to sign up for it, used one of my dead email address', clicked the download button and nothing showed up.. tried on 4-5 machines at work with different email addresses either the direct download, or email it to me - and nothing happened.. They want you to ring up and give you the bullShit sales pitch..
It is also strange sometimes when you do call up for a part price and they give you the price straight away with no sales pitch.

Why not direct those calls away and use the staff for the customers in store.

I have no idea why they don't just invest the time and money with a good live website.

Post by: Fizzie on October 11, 2016, 08:37:37 AM
Got a 9kg gas bottle there for $23 on Friday,

I assume that's an empty cylinder, not a refill / swap?
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2016, 10:55:09 AM
sale.. ???

(http://www.smh.com.au/content/dam/images/g/r/z/a/c/h/image.imgtype.articleLeadwide.620x0.png/1476134211302.png)

http://www.theage.com.au/business/retail/masters-fire-sale-doubles-record-daily-sales-with-some-complaints-about-price-20161010-grzacq.html#comments (http://www.theage.com.au/business/retail/masters-fire-sale-doubles-record-daily-sales-with-some-complaints-about-price-20161010-grzacq.html#comments)
Post by: KingBilly on October 11, 2016, 11:00:27 AM
sale.. ???

(http://www.smh.com.au/content/dam/images/g/r/z/a/c/h/image.imgtype.articleLeadwide.620x0.png/1476134211302.png)

I call BS.  The original price sticker is damaged and apperas to have a number removed.

Post by: jmorgan1981 on October 11, 2016, 11:11:32 AM
I call BS.  The original price sticker is damaged and apperas to have a number removed.

It looks like it was $179 for sure
Post by: GUEY on October 11, 2016, 11:29:51 AM
Thanks gents for all this info!!!

I thought the ACCC prohibited fixing the prices that retailers were allowed to sell things for...   or being dictated same from their suppliers. ...

But this information   ^^^^  explains why often it doesn't matter how much you can ring around. ....   it often seems near on impossible to buy things at deep discounts --  like the retailer just ain't gona....   Meilie and webber are classic examples. ...   grrr

Yep and there are other white good manufactures starting to jump on this band wagon also.
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2016, 11:51:26 AM
(http://www.theage.com.au/content/dam/images/g/r/w/n/p/f/image.related.articleLeadNarrow.300x0.grzacq.png/1476148531227.png)
Post by: scrapsD40 on October 11, 2016, 12:15:14 PM
(http://www.theage.com.au/content/dam/images/g/r/w/n/p/f/image.related.articleLeadNarrow.300x0.grzacq.png/1476148531227.png)

Bargain
Post by: BaseCamp on October 11, 2016, 12:40:01 PM
Bargain

get yourself on TV...

.... Email that pic to the "Sign of the Times" segment on the

ABC TV  - series "THE CHECKOUT"

Post by: Bird on October 12, 2016, 08:18:16 PM
hahahahahahaha

http://www.theage.com.au/business/retail/masters-employs-muscle-to-control-ugly-behaviour-20161012-gs0jl8.html

Masters Home Improvement has employed security guards to protect its staff from obnoxious customers who have lashed out and trashed stores as the fire sale heats up.

In scenes reminiscent of the ugly drama of the Dick Smith closing down sale, Masters sales staff are reporting a slew of bad behaviour from verbal abuse to taunts about losing their jobs, tampering with price tags and even theft.
Post by: terravista on October 13, 2016, 01:39:16 PM
Sent the wife into Masters to get a couple of earth stakes for the electric fence thinking they should be a good price.
She was given a bargain. Instead of 1 for $29 they gave her 2 for the same price.
Bonus.......... until you see that Bunnings have them on their website for $11.55 each.
Thieving Masters bastards.
Post by: muzza01 on October 13, 2016, 05:48:04 PM
I went in to return 2 more broken impact sprinklers yesterday at about 645am. Customers 1 (only me) staff 7, at the front area of the store. (No wonder they are losing money).
I was still ignored by the chic at the front counter for a few minutes.

I originally bought 4 X 25 meter impact sprinklers 2 years ago. The brand is Orbit and they have a 5 year warranty.  I have returned a total of six sprinklers over the last two years as they keep breaking the return Spring.  I was told that they don't refund anymore and I said "no way, they keep breaking, they are under warranty and I want a refund and not exchange. In the end the Manager returned my $$ and I went back to Bunnings.
Post by: terravista on October 14, 2016, 09:41:37 AM

It looks like it was $179 for sure

I am not so sure. If it was a figure it would have to be a 1 to fit in the damaged area, but then there is no evidence of a dollar sign. Was it originally $79????
Got me beat.
Post by: tryagain on October 14, 2016, 10:07:26 AM

I am not so sure. If it was a figure it would have to be a 1 to fit in the damaged area, but then there is no evidence of a dollar sign. Was it originally $79????
Got me beat.

I am pretty sure the original price was $79 but there is no way of knowing if it was the same product. A check on price hipster shows it was that price for a while, as you can't see the product codes to compare I'd be almost certain it wasn't for the same product.
Post by: Bird on December 25, 2016, 07:27:26 PM
well Masters Carrum Downs has completely gone.. all signs taken off buildings - the lot... funny, the signs weren't up long enough to stain the walls.

feel sorry for the owners of the complex, theres about 10 odd shops, with 3 of them occupied.. Pet food joint, and 2 bike shops.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on December 25, 2016, 08:51:17 PM
Don't get too upset Bird, someone like Hardly Normal will use it as a walk up start.

They could even divide it and end up with Spotlight in there too.
Post by: Fizzie on December 26, 2016, 08:14:06 AM
theres about 10 odd shops, with 3 of them occupied.. Pet food joint, and 2 bike shops.

That makes just as little sense as putting Masters across the road from Bunnings - why have 2 bike shops side by side  ???
Post by: D4D on December 26, 2016, 08:15:51 AM
That makes just as little sense as putting Masters across the road from Bunnings - why have 2 bike shops side by side  ???

Attract foot traffic, just like you have car dealers or furniture/electrical shops all in the same areas
Post by: wakychapmans on December 26, 2016, 08:17:31 AM

what he said ^^^^

Post by: Bird on December 26, 2016, 09:18:06 AM
Those empty shops have been there 2 years, and not a soul in them and I don't think they ever will.

the bike shops are Yamaha, BMW and Suzuki that moved from locations they had been in for over 20 years. I bet they regret moving now. The Petbarn had also moved from another location they had been in.

At least parking will be easy at all of them now and the Hotrod shows will have the place to themselves LOL!
Post by: terravista on January 25, 2017, 01:32:13 PM
Grays Online Auctions are off loading Masters gear for an Australia Day Auction for Brisbane pick-up.

http://www.graysonline.com/sale/7016265/masters/unreserved-masters-retail-store-equipment-qld?spr=true (http://www.graysonline.com/sale/7016265/masters/unreserved-masters-retail-store-equipment-qld?spr=true)

May be a good chance for some everlasting memories, especially the shopping trolleys that look like blue racing cars, or First Aid kits, but I have my doubts on how good they are cause they didn't stop Masters from bleeding out.
Post by: Bird on January 25, 2017, 01:38:38 PM
Those empty shops have been there 2 years, and not a soul in them and I don't think they ever will.

the bike shops are Yamaha, BMW and Suzuki that moved from locations they had been in for over 20 years. I bet they regret moving now. The Petbarn had also moved from another location they had been in.

At least parking will be easy at all of them now and the Hotrod shows will have the place to themselves LOL!
and now the BMW Dealer has closed and moved... only the Yamaha store left.

all but that bike shop are empty.. masters was around the corner
https://www.google.com.au/maps/uv?hl=en&pb=!1s0x6ad674cfe626bfe1%3A0xea348086ce897f41!2m19!2m2!1i80!2i80!3m1!2i20!16m13!1b1!2m2!1m1!1e1!2m2!1m1!1e3!2m2!1m1!1e5!2m2!1m1!1e4!3m1!7e115!4shttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.frankstonyamaha.com.au%2Fcontact-us!5syamaha%20frankston%20-%20Google%20Search&imagekey=!1e2!2ssXXFC5pPriSInLRdN3o8Yw&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiToq6er9zRAhXMJZQKHeteB9kQoioIazAM (https://www.google.com.au/maps/uv?hl=en&pb=!1s0x6ad674cfe626bfe1%3A0xea348086ce897f41!2m19!2m2!1i80!2i80!3m1!2i20!16m13!1b1!2m2!1m1!1e1!2m2!1m1!1e3!2m2!1m1!1e5!2m2!1m1!1e4!3m1!7e115!4shttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.frankstonyamaha.com.au%2Fcontact-us!5syamaha%20frankston%20-%20Google%20Search&imagekey=!1e2!2ssXXFC5pPriSInLRdN3o8Yw&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiToq6er9zRAhXMJZQKHeteB9kQoioIazAM)