General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 16, 2016, 08:38:23 PM
Has anybody done research into what sort/size of pump to use for lifting water from a natural source, river, lake etc. or maybe an underground tank?
With a lift of maybe 4M. to the tank in the camper, from source of water, how long is the longest hose you could use before self priming is lost?
Have a chat to Qnga Pumps about a self priming 10M head 12V suction pump :cup: :cheers:
G'day mate this is the one I use.
It pulls up a steep bank no probs approx 4-5 metres then we have a 25 metre hose from the pump to the campsite.
I have an irrigation inline filter ($8) before the pump.
My son put a small foot valve on the end of the hose and works great too.
Hope this helps mate.
Have a look here http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=46808.msg798833#msg798833 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=46808.msg798833#msg798833) this is my setup which works well. I hook mine to the camper tap first and put my finger in the foot valve till the line is charged, then hook it to the draw pump. I haven't actually run the pump long enough to see if it will self prime.
Lemo.
Duggie has a brilliant setup. I will try and find his post where he discusses it. Basically he has a good Dc pump fitted to about 20meters of hose that is then connected to a tap (on a star picket) because of the distance and accoiated voltage drop I reckon his cable would of cost almost as much as the pump. He has it set for longer distance so he can pull up water from a source that may or not have a croc in the vicinity. If I can't find the thread, send Duggie a PM he will be more than happy to share.
Here Tis
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44191.msg741552#msg741552 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=44191.msg741552#msg741552)
Thanks folks. Really great to see myswag at it's best.