General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bullant4x4 on July 31, 2016, 05:01:38 PM

Title: Drowning the Prado
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 31, 2016, 05:01:38 PM
On the way in....
https://youtu.be/6ikOHbJIAG0

On the way out.....
https://youtu.be/eibjTdApaiI
Title: Re: Drownign the Prado
Post by: D4D on July 31, 2016, 05:09:39 PM
Bugger, it was always going to end in tears though...
Title: Re: Drowning the Prado
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 31, 2016, 05:17:19 PM
This is in South Morang.

Apparently the one at the top of the hill is that deep a 4" lift with 35 on got stuck and the water was up to the drivers window.

As we were looking at the damage a bloke came along and gave us heads up.
Post by: D4D on July 31, 2016, 05:27:40 PM
Where are the power lines in South Morang?
Post by: Hoyks on July 31, 2016, 05:31:27 PM
Lucky it is winter. If wouldn't take long to smell like a swamp in the warmer months.
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 31, 2016, 05:35:54 PM
There is a big forby park with easy to 3 diamond tracks.
Only been there twice and followed my mate.
A fair few have rolled there forbys there and a great place to go when it rains.
Just getting into it when it's rain is fun. We passed blokes winching on the way in.
I was sliding down the hills  and was great learning.
I'll try and find the address.
Title: Re: Drownign the Prado
Post by: Bird on July 31, 2016, 05:40:29 PM
Bugger, it was always going to end in tears though...
you crying laughing too??
Post by: kylarama on July 31, 2016, 05:43:16 PM
A fair few have rolled there forbys there and a great place to go when it rains.

I'm tipping those 'fair few' wouldn't call it a great place...

South Morang under the powerlines.  Would that be in or near the gorge?

Post by: BaseCamp on July 31, 2016, 05:58:54 PM
Ya gotta laugh at the bloke's comment on the first video:  "That's a big fxxxing bog mate"...   geez Louise....

Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 31, 2016, 06:01:09 PM
There is a few main tracks with little tracks off it, about 60/70 acres.
If you see where the fair few have rolled you would say no way in the wet, well, no way in the dry lol
It's great for practice and close if you get stuck and need a recovery.
Post by: V8CRSA on July 31, 2016, 07:18:10 PM

Post by: loanrangie on August 01, 2016, 08:15:56 AM

Looks like just the other side of the Gorge, you can see them going round the last corner over to your right i think.
Post by: UIZ733 on August 01, 2016, 11:45:27 AM
Coming to used car lot near you. One owner carefully maintained, legendary Toyota off-road ability and reliability.  :D
Post by: chisel on August 01, 2016, 12:14:32 PM
Probably covered by insurance ... ie. covered by everyone else!
Post by: Bullant4x4 on August 01, 2016, 12:29:42 PM
Still waiting on the location details.

No insurance required.

Took two weeks to dry out, was washed and cleaned and the carpet went in cleaner than when it was brought.

Only damage was wasting time for something stupid lol. Just had to gut the car, cleaning, wait till it was dry and put it all back together :-( .
Post by: Bullant4x4 on August 01, 2016, 12:48:44 PM
Another hole, another outcome lol

Lucky there was an official Toyota Recovery Vehicle club member around  ;D It was like watching a puffer fish flop around on the pier  8) :D

https://youtu.be/PeRzVUYfXPA
Post by: Joff on August 01, 2016, 01:00:03 PM
Why would you attempt to drive through that if you didn't have to  ???
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 01, 2016, 01:02:28 PM

I reckon that's the right question Joff.   :cup:
Post by: Bullant4x4 on August 01, 2016, 01:03:29 PM

Some people just can't drive past a hole full of water lol "Mud Pigs"  :D
Post by: Bird on August 01, 2016, 01:06:58 PM
Some people just can't drive past a hole full of water lol "**** sticks"  :D
fixed
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on August 01, 2016, 01:07:14 PM

Can't the same be asked for 99% of 4wding ???
Post by: Joff on August 01, 2016, 01:32:49 PM
Can't the same be asked for 99% of 4wding ???

Possibly, as I’m sure some would. But I look at it as a sliding scale of 4wdriving with ‘4wdriving as a means to a geographical end’ at one end of it and ‘4wdriving to pit you and your vehicle against the track’ at the other. We all hover over that scale whenever we are out and where we hover largely determines what we are prepared to drive through.

Since there was a track around it, driving through that hole is most definitely for those that hover at the latter end of the scale and I do get that; I have been known to attempt stuff just coz. At some point though, you need to weigh up the potential fun factor against your potential for completely destroying your ride. For me, the meagre fun that that hole offers (let’s be honest, it’s not really that inviting) is not even close to justifying the potential damage it could cause.
Post by: GBC on August 01, 2016, 04:04:08 PM
Still waiting on the location details.

No insurance required.

Took two weeks to dry out, was washed and cleaned and the carpet went in cleaner than when it was brought.

Only damage was wasting time for something stupid lol. Just had to gut the car, cleaning, wait till it was dry and put it all back together :-( .
Not even close. The cost of that exercise will still be being counted in 6 months as stuff wears out, leaks and breaks.
Post by: Swannie on August 01, 2016, 04:49:00 PM
I don't drive through mud

Post by: BaseCamp on August 01, 2016, 05:28:51 PM
...its like the  X#%$  that take gunshot vs a bypass track...  "because they can..."  .. "its there"..

Possibly, as I’m sure some would. But I look at it as a sliding scale of 4wdriving with ‘4wdriving as a means to a geographical end’ at one end of it and ‘4wdriving to pit you and your vehicle against the track’ at the other. We all hover over that scale whenever we are out and where we hover largely determines what we are prepared to drive through.

Since there was a track around it, driving through that hole is most definitely for those that hover at the latter end of the scale and I do get that; I have been known to attempt stuff just coz. At some point though, you need to weigh up the potential fun factor against your potential for completely destroying your ride. For me, the meagre fun that that hole offers (let’s be honest, it’s not really that inviting) is not even close to justifying the potential damage it could cause.