General => General Discussion => Topic started by: MrCruza on July 15, 2016, 03:50:09 PM
Just out doing a job for a client at the Greenslopes Private. Coning out of the carpark and nearly got bowled over by a Toyota Tundra. Bloody heck those things are BIG..
(https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f8/Toyota_Tundra_2014_Crewmax_white.JPG)
Aren't the Tundra supposed to compete with the F150?
I was surprised to see 3 of them out in Birdsville last week
Are they going to release them here.
One of our tradiie contractors owns the same one as above.
Parked next to a Ford Ranger, the Ranger looks like Mini Me compared.
Aren't the Tundra supposed to compete with the F150?
Yes. And Silverado
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lbZXVS_ZD8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lbZXVS_ZD8)
Now, it is Yanks.
A guy where we stayed at Kinka Beach at the start of the week had a red one with a trail bike in the back of it...bloody huge they are.
Seen a couple down in Tamworth, mainly when it's been hosting an event at AALEC and the horsey people are in town.
They are big buggers, and make the older Effys look small.... Tamworth tends to have a lot more of the American stuff than other areas I've noticed because of the horse influence I suspect - they work well towing a big gooseneck horse float (what they are designed to do.
Brisbane based seller
http://www.performaxint.com.au (http://www.performaxint.com.au)
A guy where we stayed at Kinka Beach at the start of the week had a red one with a trail bike in the back of it...bloody huge they are.
Not if you are in America. Compared to the stuff they have , it looks Hilux size.
We were there last year. I was staking out our hotel car park.
Another
Not if you are in America. Compared to the stuff they have , it looks Hilux size.
i'd like to see someone drive one down to 5 Mile Beach in Byfield National Park, my 79 copped a heap of bush pin striping, can't imagine a Tundra even fitting down that track, let alone anything bigger. Great tow rigs, but not much good for anything else really.
Everything in America is BIG!
There is a white one around Rydalmere on workdays.
Seen one at the airport car park, he had to park it up on the walkway to fit it in. I looked at one before the 200 & loved it but they are just not practical in Aus. Mate has an F150 and tows a a 20 ft van, Truckie by trade and has a hard time backing and fitting ute and can in caravan park spots
i'd like to see someone drive one down to 5 Mile Beach in Byfield National Park, my 79 copped a heap of bush pin striping, can't imagine a Tundra even fitting down that track, let alone anything bigger. Great tow rigs, but not much good for anything else really.
A couple of blokes on Moreton Is. had a big GMC over there a few years back & it would get hung up on some average humps because of the ramp over clearance, or I should say, lack thereof. I think that, off road, any decent "Normal Size" 4x4s i.e. Landie, 'Cruiser, Patrol would be better. I reckon I'd have a tight sphincter if driving one across my dam wall. ;D Horses for courses once again I suppose.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lbZXVS_ZD8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lbZXVS_ZD8)
Now, it is Yanks.
This is probably a more realistic test. Towing heavy (3.6T) loads up a 13km hill. There's a few in the series Ford f150/Dodge/Chevy etc. They are good at towing heavy loads which is what they are designed to do.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jyt49D-v2Ho (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jyt49D-v2Ho)
A couple of blokes on Moreton Is. had a big GMC over there a few years back & it would get hung up on some average humps because of the ramp over clearance, or I should say, lack thereof. I think that, off road, any decent "Normal Size" 4x4s i.e. Landie, 'Cruiser, Patrol would be better. I reckon I'd have a tight sphincter if driving one across my dam wall. ;D Horses for courses once again I suppose.
^^^This, and what Rumpig said.
To make them effective off-road you'd have to lift them a fair bit and then ... what's the point of the big storage space? It's mostly inaccessible because it is way too high.
Might be ok if you have a camper-top/rtt on it and steps to get up there.
In Cambodia at the moment and there are plenty here. They are huge but look the goods!!