General => General Discussion => Topic started by: pank on July 14, 2016, 09:55:43 PM

Title: Driving on dirt roads
Post by: pank on July 14, 2016, 09:55:43 PM
Its not really that hard surely? Just because you can drive fast on the dirt roads, please show some courtesy to other road users and slow down when passing.
We have traveled just over 7000kms in just under 2 weeks to Birdsville and back to Perth with over 3000kms on dirt roads.
Most cars that we passed, slowed right down which meant no flying stones and a friendly wave.
If you are the driver of a white 200 series towing a camper that was traveling south on the Birdsville track on the weekend before the Big Red Bash, you should be ashamed. If you dont know how to drive in the country, then stay the hell out!!!
I passed you on a rather nasty stony part of the track and kept hoping that you would slow down as you approached. Instead I got a shower of rocks which resulted in 2 small stone chips and an egg size rock which gave me this one. I was lucky that the damage did not put me  off the road in a remote location.
I wont post your rego on this forum, but I will be keeping your photo from dash cam in the hope that I will run into you again one day.
Title: Re: Driving on dirt roads
Post by: letsgoplaces on July 14, 2016, 10:20:22 PM
Wow, that's a big one!
I was coming down the Birdsville Track yesterday, and the same thing.... most people ease off the accelerator and keep as left as practicable.
But one person stayed towards the middle and honored me with a windscreen replacement as well. There aren't even that many stony sections on the track either
Post by: Black Diamond on July 14, 2016, 10:41:22 PM
The term is Oxymorons, the world is full of them......
Post by: Rumpig on July 15, 2016, 08:40:08 AM
If someone did that to my vehicle, I'd happily post their pic up to shame them for their actions.
Post by: Bird on July 15, 2016, 08:50:48 AM
If someone did that to my vehicle, I'd happily post their pic up to shame them for their actions.
Post by: austastar on July 15, 2016, 10:38:35 AM
Hi pank,
             I would be including a link to your dash cam footage with your insurance claim.
They might use the evidence to claim from the owner of the offending vehicle.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: UIZ733 on July 15, 2016, 12:54:12 PM
Without hesitation, yes! Pricks like that give me the absolute $hits.
Post by: The punter on July 15, 2016, 12:59:46 PM
name and shame
Post by: jw2170 on July 15, 2016, 01:10:45 PM
Post it on the Dash Cam FP page.... >:D
Post by: Joff on July 15, 2016, 02:46:23 PM
Sorry, I was in a hurry to get the best spot at the free camp  :-[
Post by: pank on July 15, 2016, 03:00:41 PM
Thanks for the support,
As far as I can see, the guy has not broken any law other than basic common sense therefore I would have no come back for an insurance claim.

The windscreen doesnt worry me, I was fully expecting to replace it after this trip anyway.

I was trying to make a point about driving on dirt roads especially in remote areas. This rock could have come right through the windscreen or through my radiator which would have left me stranded with the required parts days away.

I am guilty of driving pretty quick on dirt roads, but if the road is at all rocky I will try to slow to 60 to minimise risk to oncoming traffic.

I do believe in Karma and maybe one day the ledger will be balanced.  :D
Post by: cruiser 91 on July 15, 2016, 03:04:38 PM
This can happen at lower speeds as well not just at higher speeds.

You can't control others behind the wheel & you cant control the odd freak of nature on how a rock lies on the track, but you can always defend against the uncontrollable coming the other way..............wire screens across the windscreen were very popular decades ago, built specifically for your problem and cheaper than replacing a windscreen...................... you can still buy them, maybe its not just fashionable any more  ???You do put on a hat and sunscreen when out in the sun  :D

Come on now, do ya self a favour, live and learn, don't hold grudges, move on and be happy ya still alive for another tour down the track  with a wire screen this time............its the Aussie way
Post by: Joff on July 15, 2016, 03:09:49 PM
It's actually your speed that breaks your glass, not his. His just flicks the rock up and the faster he goes the higher they rise. I agree that he was a wanker and should slow down but the only real way to stop this happening - short of the wire screen which I have considered myself - is to slow right down or even stop when these tools come along.

It's a hazard we must all face unfortunately
Post by: GeoffA on July 15, 2016, 04:17:55 PM
It's a hazard we must all face unfortunately

Yep. Just part of getting out there.....
Post by: dazzaesky on July 15, 2016, 09:44:22 PM
Its not really that hard surely? Just because you can drive fast on the dirt roads, please show some courtesy to other road users and slow down when passing.
We have traveled just over 7000kms in just under 2 weeks to Birdsville and back to Perth with over 3000kms on dirt roads.
Most cars that we passed, slowed right down which meant no flying stones and a friendly wave.
If you are the driver of a white 200 series towing a camper that was traveling south on the Birdsville track on the weekend before the Big Red Bash, you should be ashamed. If you dont know how to drive in the country, then stay the hell out!!!
I passed you on a rather nasty stony part of the track and kept hoping that you would slow down as you approached. Instead I got a shower of rocks which resulted in 2 small stone chips and an egg size rock which gave me this one. I was lucky that the damage did not put me  off the road in a remote location.
I wont post your rego on this forum, but I will be keeping your photo from dash cam in the hope that I will run into you again one day.

Here here. We coped a golf ball sized stone through our widescreen between coen an Laura heading up to the cape a few weeks ago. It was also a 200 series land cruiser from Victoria towing a large camper. It had already passed my friends ahead of me and never slowed down at all. It must of been doing nearly 90km/h.
I just don't understand the mentality of these people and correct they should get off the road if they don't know how to respect the road and other travellers.

Post by: oldmate on July 15, 2016, 09:48:01 PM
Sorry, I was in a hurry to get the best spot at the free camp  :-[

Right next to the nomads
Post by: GeoffA on July 15, 2016, 09:48:41 PM
..... It was also a 200 series land cruiser from Victoria......

There's the problem..... ::)
Post by: brett211170 on July 15, 2016, 10:18:06 PM
If I see someone coming the other way at max factor I start to drive on their side of the road. They slow down !!!
Post by: GeoffA on July 15, 2016, 11:11:20 PM
If I see someone coming the other way at max factor I start to drive on their side of the road. They slow down !!!

That's just plain stupid........
Post by: jclures on July 16, 2016, 11:46:40 AM
The cape road is a open 100k road, rocks are just a hazard you live with.
And if you want to drive on the wrong side of the road with on coming traffic you are just stupid, that is when I would hand the video evidence in to the police.
Post by: brett211170 on July 16, 2016, 03:02:54 PM
Sorry lads, I should re qualify what I meant.  Firstly by this stage I have slowed to near a stop myself and given the flash of the headlights. I don't just drive on the the wrong side of the road, it's more veer a little towards the centre.  I was told this by an old farmer once. I don't by any means condone driving down the wrong side of the road at all.  I was just frustrated by the actions of another sending a rock through panks window and placed his family at risk.  I re read my post and admit it probably did not come across how I intended.  Sorry if I upset anyone, I have had a few broken windows myself and it does get frustrating. 
Post by: Troopy_03 on July 16, 2016, 03:54:55 PM
On the once a year, Queen's Birthday weekend, Death Run between Kulgera and Finke, it's common courtesy to at least slow down to 100Kph when passing oncoming traffic.
Post by: GeoffA on July 16, 2016, 08:20:07 PM

We had this idiocy foisted upon us last year on the GRR. We could hear Einstein abusing those ahead of us over the radio. In his opinion, they were all going too fast.
When it was our turn, he decided it was his civic duty to save the world from our recklessness by driving directly at us.... :o :o
We were rolling along at 70km/h with the rest of the traffic..... ::) ::)

Be very careful on the GRR, and everywhere else for that matter. There's no shortage of self-appointed vigilante's out there....

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 16, 2016, 08:22:45 PM
You don't have to get off the Black top for that.
I had front on Video of a semi coming at me near Horsham.
Sorry for the hijack, just sayin.
Post by: KingBilly on July 16, 2016, 10:49:32 PM
Be very careful on the GRR, and everywhere else for that matter. There's no shortage of self-appointed vigilante's out there....

Yep, everybody wants to be a traffic cop.  But unless you have been a traffic cop for many, many years, watching and studying oncoming traffic and knowing their actual speed (measured by a calibrated radar) then, and only then, after all those years of day in and day out experience, will you have any idea of a vehicle's actual speed.  I defy anybody who is not an experienced traffic cop to accurately determine the speed of an oncoming vehicle.

Post by: oldkid on July 17, 2016, 11:06:30 AM
Hello
We were also travelling to and from the BRB. As we were not towing on this trip , i as the driver am guilty on passing on dirt roads. I hope and believe i followed the right procedure and only passed vehicles when i had plenty of time to do it rather slowly as to not to throw up to many stones etc.However i was the victim of substantial damage.... Three spotlights and a windscreen  :'( not mention severe stone chips to bullbar and vehicle. I do believe however that you have to expect  some damage to vehicles when travelling on these roads but there were a few cowboys out there that's for sure.
Gav
Post by: JD-120 on July 17, 2016, 12:28:53 PM

Yep, everybody wants to be a traffic cop.

Not me

Sent from my HTC_0PJA10 using Tapatalk

Post by: Joff on July 17, 2016, 02:32:16 PM
I know it would be bad for several industries and for the livelyhoods of many but i wish i could go back to the days when hardly anyone was out there and people just got on with it rather than getting all holier than though about nambi pambi ettequite, the correct way, the safe proceedure, the right cb channel, the convoy method and all the other bs that has grown out of the 4wd club nonsense.

Post by: doc evil on July 17, 2016, 05:01:47 PM
I know it would be bad for several industries and for the livelyhoods of many but i wish i could go back to the days when hardly anyone was out there and people just got on with it rather than getting all holier than though about nambi pambi ettequite, the correct way, the safe proceedure, the right cb channel, the convoy method and all the other bs that has grown out of the 4wd club nonsense.

Sorry Joff, but the nambi pambi ettequite as you so eloquently put it, is driven by the select few within clubs who see fit to exploit the insurance requirements of clubs. Thus leading to rules and regulations to cover said clubs backsides from making claims containing exorbitant excess ($5k in some instances) and the stigma regarding said claim.

I have wheeled with you and even then, we had a prescribed uhf channel, convoy procedure and vehicle recovery procedure (even old hoggie would have set a procedure to skull drag your truck and camper across the Simpson).

Nothing has changed other than the views of people who expect everyone else to pander to their needs You head bush and encounter the occasional stone flicked up. Fact of life.
Yes people, you head bush (or even the open bitumen road) your vehicle WILL sustain a chip or scratch or heaven forbid a flat tyre.............
Post by: UIZ733 on July 17, 2016, 05:29:58 PM
Often intrigues me as to why so many people are in a hurry, particularly in a place that is meant to be enjoyed for its serenity.
Post by: Symon on July 18, 2016, 05:21:09 AM
Yep, everybody wants to be a traffic cop.  But unless you have been a traffic cop for many, many years, watching and studying oncoming traffic and knowing their actual speed (measured by a calibrated radar) then, and only then, after all those years of day in and day out experience, will you have any idea of a vehicle's actual speed.  I defy anybody who is not an experienced traffic cop to accurately determine the speed of an oncoming vehicle.

Exactly.

When up the cape one year I came around a tight corner and encountered a vehicle coming the other way who was the first of a convoy, I think I took him a bit by surprise.  They were on the same channel as us so I heard him announce - "white landcruiser going very $%#*ing fast, watch out".  I glanced down at the speedo and I was doing 40.  Yep, really fast.

As previously said, it doesn't take much speed to flick up rocks.  If you drive on dirt roads, you are going to cop the occasional stone to the windscreen, fact of life.
Post by: Joff on July 18, 2016, 10:27:40 AM
Sorry Joff, but the nambi pambi ettequite as you so eloquently put it, is driven by the select few within clubs who see fit to exploit the insurance requirements of clubs. Thus leading to rules and regulations to cover said clubs backsides from making claims containing exorbitant excess ($5k in some instances) and the stigma regarding said claim.

I have wheeled with you and even then, we had a prescribed uhf channel, convoy procedure and vehicle recovery procedure (even old hoggie would have set a procedure to skull drag your truck and camper across the Simpson).

Nothing has changed other than the views of people who expect everyone else to pander to their needs You head bush and encounter the occasional stone flicked up. Fact of life.
Yes people, you head bush (or even the open bitumen road) your vehicle WILL sustain a chip or scratch or heaven forbid a flat tyre.............

G'day Doc. How ya been ya big unit (one of the few I can say that too hahaha.. )

I'm not really sure if you are agreeing or disagreeing but but let me clarify something. I have no issue with bush etiquette, responsible convoys, people using CB's, being safe etc etc. My comments relate to the self-righteous way in which people today proselytise the 'right and correct' etiquette, convoy procedure, CB channel or road speed etc as though these things have somehow been ratified into some sort of canonised law. I'm not using religious language by accident here either; clubs, forums, FB groups etc are full of these doctrinal rules that are seemingly irrefutable and while - unlike real religion :angel:; - some of it has a base of truth or at least good judgment, the way in which a lot of folks come to this sort of travel today is via these groups so become indoctrinated to expect things to run as smooth as their drive to work.

There is an expectation that everyone in these places should operate to the same rules that are laid down by these groups and when they don't there is an air or indignation toward them.

Three weeks ago, like many, we headed to Birdsville. We passed many ‘locals’ heading in the other direction that didn’t slow down much or certainly weren’t following any of these ‘rules’. Who am I to get all high and mighty because they drove past me the same way they pass their neighbours 365 days a year?

And, for the record, Hoggy dragged me over only about 5 crests and two mud lakes ;D the Fat Corolla did rather well otherwise I thought.  :laugh:     

Post by: tombie on July 18, 2016, 01:33:52 PM
Insurance will go the other driver for cost of windscreen replacement. It is your right it's just prior to technology (dash cams) it's was almost impossible to prove who caused the breakage.

Post by: The punter on July 18, 2016, 01:44:38 PM
Whatever happened to just not being a w@nker?
Post by: KingBilly on July 18, 2016, 05:05:54 PM
Insurance will go the other driver for cost of windscreen replacement. It is your right it's just prior to technology (dash cams) it's was almost impossible to prove who caused the breakage.

Let me get this right.  You have dash cam footage of being overtaken on a dirt road and a stone is flung up by the passing vehicle, your windsreen is damaged, you hand the dash cam footage over to your insurance company and they send the bill to the other vehicle?

Post by: doc evil on July 18, 2016, 06:53:56 PM
G'day Doc. How ya been ya big unit (one of the few I can say that too hahaha.. )

I'm not really sure if you are agreeing or disagreeing but but let me clarify something. I have no issue with bush etiquette, responsible convoys, people using CB's, being safe etc etc. My comments relate to the self-righteous way in which people today proselytise the 'right and correct' etiquette, convoy procedure, CB channel or road speed etc as though these things have somehow been ratified into some sort of canonised law. I'm not using religious language by accident here either; clubs, forums, FB groups etc are full of these doctrinal rules that are seemingly irrefutable and while - unlike real religion :angel:; - some of it has a base of truth or at least good judgment, the way in which a lot of folks come to this sort of travel today is via these groups so become indoctrinated to expect things to run as smooth as their drive to work.

There is an expectation that everyone in these places should operate to the same rules that are laid down by these groups and when they don't there is an air or indignation toward them.

Three weeks ago, like many, we headed to Birdsville. We passed many ‘locals’ heading in the other direction that didn’t slow down much or certainly weren’t following any of these ‘rules’. Who am I to get all high and mighty because they drove past me the same way they pass their neighbours 365 days a year?

And, for the record, Hoggy dragged me over only about 5 crests and two mud lakes ;D the Fat Corolla did rather well otherwise I thought.  :laugh:     

Hey Joff.........recon that you'll  be bigger than me now......lost over 60kg mate......soooooo how's it going ya big unit  ;D ;)........hope all is well with the joff clan.

I'm in agreement about the the way it has become with the righteous few who try and police said ettequite into law however,  I disagree with the dig at clubs etc. Knowing your views on clubs and the hierarchy therein, I  was stating where the convoluted ettequite and laws are derived from......in my opinion the few who reiterate these club requirements outside the club environment are to blame as well as their blind followers............and yes,  your religious analogy is spot on........
Post by: tombie on July 18, 2016, 07:58:09 PM
Let me get this right.  You have dash cam footage of being overtaken on a dirt road and a stone is flung up by the passing vehicle, your windsreen is damaged, you hand the dash cam footage over to your insurance company and they send the bill to the other vehicle?

Yes. Have done it and know personally of others who have done the same.
Post by: KingBilly on July 18, 2016, 08:18:10 PM

Only dirt roads?  What about on the blacktop?  I got a large stone chip from a passing truck the other day?

Also what is the name of your insurance company if you don't mind me asking?  My insurance is due soon.

Post by: duggie on July 18, 2016, 08:27:11 PM

I will say this 

If I ever receive a bill for someone's else glass replacement, it will never be paid.
Post by: GeoffA on July 18, 2016, 08:37:38 PM
I'm with you duggie....

Do people really believe that they are so righteous that their car has never thrown one at someone else???

Post by: Symon on July 18, 2016, 08:42:30 PM
I'm with you duggie....

Do people really believe that they are so righteous that their car has never thrown one at someone else???

Something like..... people with glass windscreens, shouldn't throw stones......  ;D

It's OK, I'll show myself out  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on July 18, 2016, 08:45:20 PM
Something like..... people with glass windscreens, shouldn't throw stones......  ;D

It's OK, I'll show myself out  ;D

:cup: :cup:

or....

Let he who is without dash-cam cast the first stone......

Post by: tombie on July 19, 2016, 12:50:26 AM
Same context then fellas; if your neighbour is mowing and a Rock flicks up and breaks your window?

Or if someone's tyre delaminates and smashes your car?

Either way I don't care. I sent the vid to my insurance and didn't have to pay for the stone damage to my vehicle.. (Was actually a wheel weight that hit)
Post by: Joff on July 19, 2016, 09:00:39 AM
Same context then fellas; if your neighbour is mowing and a Rock flicks up and breaks your window?

Or if someone's tyre delaminates and smashes your car?

Either way I don't care. I sent the vid to my insurance and didn't have to pay for the stone damage to my vehicle.. (Was actually a wheel weight that hit)

Its a grey area but id err on the side of what is reasonable to expect. I think it is reasonable to expect your neighbour to pay damages because it is reasonable to expect that he can avoid flicking stones. Copping a rock or even a wheel weight picked up randomly by a passing tyre is not something that the otber driver can really control.

And if you can show that the wheel weight came directly from the rim, i hope you followed the path all the way back to the installer. And if he can show due dillegence, the manufacturer.  :angel:

All that said, the proliferation of dash cams and their owners propensity to use them like this may actually slow the OP's Cruiser driver and the like down if they start getting bills from insurers.
Post by: SambOz on July 19, 2016, 09:12:18 AM

Agree with you Pank, doesn't matter where we meet other vehicles, some common courtesy should always be shown and slowing down to reduce stone likelyhood/velocity is just common sense.

If I can see them coming far enough away to slow down and get off the road I do so.

Some ignorant bstrds out there !
Post by: Joff on July 19, 2016, 09:18:06 AM
Hey Joff.........recon that you'll  be bigger than me now......lost over 60kg mate......soooooo how's it going ya big unit  ;D ;)........hope all is well with the joff clan.

Well done mate. I bet the knees feel better for it. Clan is good. Thanks for asking :cup:
Post by: cruiser 91 on July 19, 2016, 07:09:41 PM
I can see it in the not too distant future....................America....................here we come!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!right behind ya  >:D
Open season for lawyers...................

Keep Australia Aussie I say!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: cruiser 91 on July 19, 2016, 07:17:08 PM
What ever happened too........................

Dave: Christ Jim.....................was trallen down the Gib and coped this rock the size of ****en Mars from this bastard com'in the other way. Smashed me windscreen real good.
Jim: Jeesssssssssss Mate, thats a Shit! that's what you get for liv'in in this great country of ours.
Dave: Fuk yeh Jim, wouldn't change it for the world Mate.
Jim: Fuk yeh Dave!
Dave: Ya right on the buzzer Jim! Those city folk aint got no hope!
Jim: Fuk yeh Dave...........my shout. 

Don't cry over spilt milk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The age of entitlement is whats sending the prices up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sorry for the rant...................few beers
Post by: macca on July 20, 2016, 07:01:02 AM
Are you serious, isnt it just a part of life that if you drive on dirt roads one day you a going to get a stone hit your windscreen. Stick your head under your camper and you will get an idea of all the lethal little missiles you have been chucking up at other drivers. Im with duggie and geoff, it would be a cold day in hell before you got a cent out of me

Post by: moose2367 on July 20, 2016, 11:13:36 AM
Who's to say the wheel weight mentioned earlier came off that particular vehicle, could've been laying on the road for weeks.

As others have said,  people today always try to find blame for something that has happened. 

Get back in the real world and realise sometimes Shit happens.  Get a life and get on with it

Post by: Rodt on July 20, 2016, 01:19:59 PM
Not sure I understand the amount of agro directed at other road users here.

The way I am understanding it is that as part of someone putting in an insurance claim they are supplying their insurance company with footage from the dash cam as evidence that it happened. The insurance company is then deciding to chase the other person isn't this what your third party insurance is for? I understand that the current day blame culture is crap but in this instance is it the individual drivers or the insurance companies pushing this ???

Should state that no I haven't provided dash cam footage to an insurance company for the purposes of identifying someone. Have claimed for a broken windscreen though ;D

Rod
Post by: macca on July 20, 2016, 03:27:53 PM
Looking at it from your point of view rod i do agree if it is the insurance company chasing then i should have put " it would be a cold day in hell before THEY ......" ,  but what i dont understand is why would you give them the dashcam footage in the first place,  broken windsceens on dirt roads are part of life. I actually have a cracked windscreen at the moment, it was done by a Subaru and i have not one but two dashcams but i would never dream of giving the footage to my insurance company i will just go and see my mate Swannie

Post by: Rumpig on July 20, 2016, 06:26:57 PM
...... but i would never dream of giving the footage to my insurance company i will just go and see my mate Swannie

will he chase the Subaru driver up for the money for a new one? ;D ;D
Post by: bellony on July 20, 2016, 07:16:46 PM
Perhaps the claimants policy included 1 free windscreen a year and that's why they never paid for it. Nothing to do with Dash Cam footage and the other driver!
Post by: Rodt on July 20, 2016, 07:22:22 PM
but what i dont understand is why would you give them the dashcam footage in the first place,  broken windsceens on dirt roads are part of life.

Mate don't get me wrong it is beyond me as well. Although thinking about it if it was because of some wanker (not even someone just driving fast) who decided to cut up just in front of where i was parked etc i reckon i could be persuaded.

Rod
Post by: JD-120 on July 20, 2016, 07:24:51 PM
I would do anything to try getting out of paying my excess. Don't ask, don't get.

Post by: moose2367 on July 20, 2016, 07:31:52 PM
Driving along a dirt road at whatever speed, without actual evidence of breaking a law wouldn't put the other driver at fault.   He has done nothing wrong or illegal. 
Dash cam footage means squat in regards to speeding, which could be the only possible law broken. 
There is no law to slow down on a dirt road

Post by: macca on July 20, 2016, 07:40:31 PM
Mate don't get me wrong it is beyond me as well. Although thinking about it if it was because of some wanker (not even someone just driving fast) who decided to cut up just in front of where i was parked etc i reckon i could be persuaded.

Rod
Yep totally agree,  different story if their being a tool

Post by: macca on July 20, 2016, 07:44:51 PM
will he chase the Subaru driver up for the money for a new one? ;D ;D
Nah, he will just tell me where to go

and hopefully thats to one of his shops, needed a new one anyway

Post by: GeoffA on July 20, 2016, 07:50:14 PM
I would do anything to try getting out of paying my excess. Don't ask, don't get.

Why not get a policy that includes windscreens?

Post by: JD-120 on July 20, 2016, 07:53:31 PM
it does, I'm just saying.  Money's better in my pocket, it never hurts to ask

Post by: GeoffA on July 20, 2016, 08:03:58 PM
it does, I'm just saying.  Money's better in my pocket, it never hurts to ask

What money would that be, Justin?
Post by: JD-120 on July 20, 2016, 08:09:51 PM
All of it :)

Post by: Troopy_03 on July 20, 2016, 08:24:08 PM
Yeah, I'm having trouble with the "I drive on dirt roads, but I expect someone else to pay for my windscreens" mob too. I'm not 100% sure, but my policy covers 2 windscreens a year, although it maybe only one. I just haven't had the need to claim more than one per year yet. But 4 years in a row, going to the Finke Desert Race, I have done a windscreen each trip, and never had a problem claiming them with no excess payable. Anyway, it's a good opportunity to check for rust around the windscreen frame.
Post by: jr on July 21, 2016, 04:59:58 AM
Std windscreens arent too expensive
But watch that change with cameras etc fitted in. Ew models. One story is that a new subaru outback is $2500 to replace and recalibrate
Post by: #jonesy on July 21, 2016, 07:14:25 AM
We have traveled just over 7000kms in just under 2 weeks to Birdsville and back to Perth with over 3000kms on dirt roads
I can see a slight problem with the insurance company using dash cam coming after me as the owner of a car that ran over a rock that hit your windscreen. Do you have dashcam of the trip to Perth to prove that you aren't the person who dislodged the rock in the first place? 

Also I wasn't driving. I might have been in my mates car and him in mine.  They would need to prove some form of neglect on my part.

They could go after trucking companies if they video showed rocks falling off the truck.

KB there would be almost no way to estimate the speed using dash cam in this case. It is all relative to the vehicle with dashcam so you would need to know how fast it was going (some do display their speed)
Most dash cam have wide angle lenses which distort the perspective as well.  I could be done on sealed roads where there is a reasonable amount of traffic so you have a gauge what a car at the speed limit (the majority) looks  like to compare against but on remote dirt roads where different people drive at very different speeds then I wouldn't even attempt it.

You could also calculate the speed based on distance covered but given that a car covers 28 metres in a second and 100 kmh and most cars are in shot for only a second or two you need to have measurable reference points.
Post by: jfella on July 21, 2016, 09:10:27 AM
Can insurance companies even look up who owns a vehicle from its rego?  I was always of the understanding that you need to provide the other drivers contact details for the insurance company to make the claim?
Post by: hempo on July 21, 2016, 09:35:36 AM
Transport companies (or any sign written vehicle) with their logos and phone numbers are often sent requests by owners of vehicles for replacement windscreens.  It is at the discretion of the company as to whether or not they pay it, depends on cost, evidence, goodwill, if a solicitor is involved, insurer etc.  Most of the time on bitumen roads.  For those on Northside Brissy thing D'Aguilar Hwy.  Truck and dogs regularly travelling from the quarry.

Same with roadside mowing contractors.  They will receive a letter from the third party insurance company claiming they were working that particular stretch of road at the time of the damage.  The insurer will first contact the council and then the council will freely give up the contractors contact information.  Same again, paid at the discretion of the mowing contractor or their liability insurer.

As to whether an insurance company can obtain the owner's details I don't know.  I can ask around and try and find out.  As noted, the onus is on the driver with the broken windscreen to provide contact details etc.  Very easy when there is a big sticker on the back with call Joe Blow from Joe's Carpet Cleaning on 555 12345.

We have one free windscreen on our policy.  Used it the other day.  Check out the photo under http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=46761.100 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=46761.100)  Not sure of the eagle has liability insurance though.

Post by: moose2367 on July 21, 2016, 12:32:56 PM
Huge difference between a mower and someone else, transport company or not, just driving on any road.

There is zero onus on any driver for flicking a stone in the air and another car hitting it.

Insurance companies cannot just look up any regos. They have to go through a process with the relevant states transport dept, and the police.   Info won't be handed out without a police report number

Post by: IanS on July 21, 2016, 12:54:13 PM
I agree with the above comments, all that dash cam footage can prove is that you didn't deliberately break it yourself.
Post by: hempo on July 21, 2016, 02:01:17 PM
I agree there should be no right of recovery against any vehicle/truck etc for flicking up a stone.  How can they be deemed negligent?  I also don't believe people have a right to seek recovery against roadside contractors - to reiterate I am not talking bob's mowing doing a footpath, I am talking tractor with slasher and all of the guards etc mowing a strip on the highway.  I should have been clearer above.  They are no more negligent than a truck/vehicle driving on the highway.

I agree Bob's mowing on the other hand is totally different.

Back to the OP though I totally agree with some level of courtesy required when driving on dirt roads.  I will slow and stay as far left as possible however some think that then gives them the okay to go flat out past you in the middle of the road.

Windscreens are very cheap and really need to be budgeted into your holiday when travelling both on and off road.  Most cars a few hundred bucks. 
Post by: Terry W4 on July 21, 2016, 06:30:12 PM
My view - drive on real dirt roads it is a hazard. Don't blame anyone for diving to the conditions. But then the one rock that they squeeze out of the side of the tyre that takes out your windscreen is an accident. No one meant it. Speed is not the issue.

I have a chip in my windscreen I think picked up actually on bitumen while driving up the Stuart Highway to Darwin. It can and will happen.

Windscreen insurance is the answer.

Post by: GanG on July 21, 2016, 10:20:28 PM
Insurance companies cannot just look up any regos.
yes they can, I rang up for a quote for my young blokes new car.........gave the rego number and she came back in 2 secs, said white falcon sedan blah blah, I asked how she knew that she said "we are connected to the registration authorities nowadays"
Post by: #jonesy on July 21, 2016, 10:36:04 PM
They can look up regos. Anyone can on most of the state reg authorities websites. This will give all the vehicle details EXCEPT the owners name, address etc.

VicRoads. vicroads (https://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/registration/buy-sell-or-transfer-a-vehicle/buy-a-vehicle/check-vehicle-registration/vehicle-registration-enquiry/)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 21, 2016, 10:47:22 PM
I believe anyone with a letterhead can apply to VicRoads and get particulars for any motor vehicle after paying a search fee.
If you have enough front you can get anything.  There is no such thing as security of personal information.
Lawyers and Solicitors prove it every day of the week.
Post by: moose2367 on July 22, 2016, 06:02:21 AM
They cannot give out details of the owner, address etc.
Anyone can look up whether the rego is current, with most states no longer having labels it's the only way.

Post by: Alien on July 28, 2016, 01:42:06 AM
Interesting to see various perspectives on this topic.
It's not that hard to ease of when a vehicle approches to reduce stones being flicked by me and speed of impact from anything headed my way, respect for others is how I see it.
What's your thoughts on overtaking as below?
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=RM6RLOg3Rm0
I don't understand being in a hurry only to stop early for camp.
Post by: jclures on July 28, 2016, 06:47:28 AM
I have always bad the opinion of if someone comes up behind me, they must be travelling quicker than me, so I have always just eased up, pull over and let them go.
I saves the agro in the fact they normally don't need to fly past throwing up rocks, and they are normally appreciative of the fact.

The but is I never seam to get the same response from other drivers that I come up behind, in fact I have even had some pull out from stopped so they can be in front and then hold me up. ???
Post by: Fizzie on July 28, 2016, 07:55:20 AM
Or they pass you then slow down  >:(

Had someone do that to us a little while back. Coming home on Mt Lindsay Hwy near Beaudesert, sitting on about 95 in 100 zone, with the CT on the back. Saw another fourby coming up behind much faster than us, so slowed right down & pulled over to let them past. They then slowed down as well & paced us. I stopped & waved them through but they also stopped for a few seconds then drove off  ???

Pulled back out & accelerated only to have to immediately slow down as they had only got up to 75 (still in a 100 zone) & stayed at 75 for the next 5k or so before pulling off at a house for sale.

They were lost? They thought we were the real-estate agents (with a CT on the back!)?

You sometimes just have to wonder - WTF  ???
Post by: Joff on July 28, 2016, 08:51:42 AM
I have always bad the opinion of if someone comes up behind me, they must be travelling quicker than me, so I have always just eased up, pull over and let them go.
I saves the agro in the fact they normally don't need to fly past throwing up rocks, and they are normally appreciative of the fact.

The but is I never seam to get the same response from other drivers that I come up behind, in fact I have even had some pull out from stopped so they can be in front and then hold me up. ???

Yep, I had that happen just recently. Banging along at 90 on a big wide outback dirt road to see a bloke in the distance appear to run to his door, jump in and take off just so he could sit on 70. I don't know for sure that he saw me coming so made every effort to get out in front but that's what it looked like to me.

I waited about 5 min sitting way to the right out of his dust, tried a few times to get him on the radio then finally just blew past. Even when it was obvious that I was coming around he still made no effort to pull to the left and kept his eyes glued straight ahead as we slid past.

Probably spend the next three days telling anyone that would listen about the impatient pig in the cruiser with the camper trailer that showered him with rocks. I wonder if he will send me a bill for his windscreen  >:D
Post by: speewa158 on July 29, 2016, 06:38:18 AM
Have you every been passed by some knumbskull , coming out of your dust at almost the crest of a hill   ???. That's a thrill , or on a sweeping blind bend they come out of your dust & rock shower  ???'
l have had this happen on our recent Cape trip , that gets the senses cleared & alert .
lf you are driving on dirt roads ( though some couldn't really be called that ) & you experience dust , rocks , corrugations or any other nonpleasing conditions . Suck it up or go home & watch the would on Foxtel . l always say " lf you cant afford to cover the damage Don't be there " The joys of Off Road Touring  :cup: