General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Redcans on June 28, 2016, 12:04:13 AM

Title: How much beer is too much beer?
Post by: Redcans on June 28, 2016, 12:04:13 AM
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160627/5281921be1db696e08bb82c3f57e2400.jpg)
Got a 3 week trip coming up in a couple of days. How much grog do you allow for?

Title: Re: How much beer is too much beer?
Post by: nab on June 28, 2016, 12:15:52 AM
Geez, 1 carton would probably last me.....
Post by: Mad Hueys on June 28, 2016, 12:39:46 AM
Love it except for that green watered down stuff on the port side. Go the Bundy Bear hahha      Have a ripper trip mate
Post by: fergy on June 28, 2016, 12:40:35 AM
As long as you have a plan for when you run out that is a good start
Post by: dogbox on June 28, 2016, 05:59:04 AM
you might need a bigga trailer
Post by: Rumpig on June 28, 2016, 06:47:19 AM
If that's just for one person to drink over that time frame, I hope they aren't doing any of the driving whilst on holidays. I have no issues with how much people choose to drink, so long as they aren't driving a vehicle also  :cheers:
Post by: Coolblue80 on June 28, 2016, 07:08:50 AM
Better to have it and not need it rather than need it and not have it.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on June 28, 2016, 08:11:46 AM
If that's just for one person to drink over that time frame, I hope they aren't doing any of the driving whilst on holidays. I have no issues with how much people choose to drink, so long as they aren't driving a vehicle also  :cheers:

3 weeks = 21 days
19 bottles and boxes
1 man = 1 bottle/box per day with a sober day to drive there and home again.

This man is a genius when it comes to planning  :D
Post by: Beachman on June 28, 2016, 08:12:56 AM
While it looks like a lot in a photo, but if my numbers are correct with the beer then it works out to be 9 beers per day.

So if like me on fishing trips your days start really early, then having your first beer at say a reasonable time like 10am and you drink one beer per hour, then by 6 pm you have drank your beer quota for the day.

Then a couple of quiet sprits around the campfire to finish off your day. 
Post by: EagleBoy on June 28, 2016, 08:23:16 AM
I hope there's a bottlo near by so you can stock up for the other two weeks  :cheers:
Post by: stephenh1235 on June 28, 2016, 08:41:42 AM
I'd be getting rid of the green & replacing with red, who's allowed to sell that stuff in the north anyway?
Post by: Bird on June 28, 2016, 09:10:21 AM
Why would you think you'd need 1/2 of that for 3 weeks is beyond me.
Post by: BaseCamp on June 28, 2016, 09:11:52 AM
My god....  what a stockpile!    I guess where you're going, you can't purchase at the destination?    Or economically anyway?....     So does that mean you are taking back all the trash/empties. ....   or do they go into the sand somewhere?

Post by: rotare on June 28, 2016, 09:15:06 AM
I'm guessing with that amount of grog you won't be remembering much of your three weeks away, anyway.
Post by: McGirr on June 28, 2016, 11:13:22 AM
Is that all  ;D

You need to come on one of my trips.

Post by: Rumpig on June 28, 2016, 11:33:11 AM
3 weeks = 21 days
19 bottles and boxes

if that's the case then happy holiday to him...like I said, I don't have any issue with how much people choose to drink, it's their choice entirely, lord knows i don't mind a drop or two of Bundy myself.  "IF" people then choose to hop in a vehicle and drive whilst doing it is when I'd have a problem with it.... and I'm not saying he is doing that, as I don't know the person from a bar of soap.
Post by: Nomad on June 28, 2016, 06:01:00 PM
3 weeks = 21 days
19 bottles and boxes

When I used to help on the Fraser Fishing Tours thats Cliff used to do thats what he allowed for per person each day. We would have to drive two utes up to hold all the booze and food.
Post by: rockinj on June 28, 2016, 06:31:39 PM
What's ypur address . . .

lol - you can keep the beer. I 'll have the rum.
Post by: Champin on June 28, 2016, 06:49:42 PM
if that's the case then happy holiday to him...like I said, I don't have any issue with how much people choose to drink, it's their choice entirely, lord knows i don't mind a drop or two of Bundy myself.  "IF" people then choose to hop in a vehicle and drive whilst doing it is when I'd have a problem with it.... and I'm not saying he is doing that, as I don't know the person from a bar of soap.
Steady on petal....he didn't say he was going to drink and drive.
Post by: Rumpig on June 28, 2016, 07:02:18 PM
Steady on petal....he didn't say he was going to drink and drive.
and if you read both my replies properly peanut, you'll see I said I don't know if he was or wasn't going to either.....why don't some people properly read what others write instead of putting their own spin on it  ::) ::)
Post by: Champin on June 28, 2016, 07:09:09 PM
Um...cause I'm a peanut. And half pussed. Oh...and opinionated. A little bit arogent. But apart from that, not really a bad bloke. No mallice intended Rumpig.
Post by: Redcans on June 28, 2016, 10:07:17 PM
Thanks Champin. Defiantley not drinking and driving missus doesn't drink. The photo was only for illustration purposes that was all the booze we took on week long fishing trip with 4 blokes to the Monte Bello islands last year. I only have 3 cartons of beer and 4 bottles of spirits for the Gibb trip. Was just curious how others work out there rations ie: 6 beers 1/2 bottle per day.

Post by: Redcans on June 28, 2016, 10:08:29 PM
Oh and some red wine

Post by: SimpleSi on June 28, 2016, 10:09:31 PM
Tell us where you're going, so I can avoid.

edit: oh, Fishing trip with 4 blokes.....not enough!
Post by: Redcans on June 28, 2016, 10:11:07 PM
Steady on simple!

Post by: Shaun99 on June 29, 2016, 01:08:51 AM
If you have ask or are in any doubt, you don't have enough!

Post by: Beachman on June 29, 2016, 08:08:01 AM
Alcohol posts are always interesting as the rule of thirds always come into play

1/3 asks why do you need that much
1/3 chimes in in agrees that’s the perfect amount
1/3 gives you a hard time because it’s not enough   

End of the day it comes down to whatever rocks your boat.

I’ve been on trips where the group dynamics meant a frightening amount of alcohol was consumed, but then there have been other trips where I know the group aren’t drinkers so very little alcohol was consumed. 

Both trips were fantastic for completely different reasons, but neither group will meet as that would be a recipe for disaster.    
Post by: chester ver2.0 on June 29, 2016, 12:08:27 PM
Use the same formula as bikes

N + 1
N = the number of beers your need
You can figure the rest of the formula out yourself
Post by: loanrangie on June 29, 2016, 05:25:46 PM
Remove that emu stuff and the remainder is just the right amount.
Post by: deepop on June 29, 2016, 07:26:43 PM
Remove that emu stuff and the remainder is just the right amount.
Agreed.   And the green stuff aint watered down anymore!
Post by: Alan Loy on June 29, 2016, 07:31:34 PM
Alcohol posts are always interesting as the rule of thirds always come into play

1/3 asks why do you need that much
1/3 chimes in in agrees that’s the perfect amount
1/3 gives you a hard time because it’s not enough   

End of the day it comes down to whatever rocks your boat.

I’ve been on trips where the group dynamics meant a frightening amount of alcohol was consumed, but then there have been other trips where I know the group aren’t drinkers so very little alcohol was consumed. 

Both trips were fantastic for completely different reasons, but neither group will meet as that would be a recipe for disaster.

Very true words  :cup: