General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Doug.b on February 16, 2010, 08:18:10 AM

Title: New Nissan Patrol Pictures
Post by: Doug.b on February 16, 2010, 08:18:10 AM
For your information

Pictures of the new Nissan Patrol

http://www.caradvice.com.au/57088/2011-nissan-patrol-teaser-video-interior-pics-more-specs-released/
Title: Re: New Nissan Patrol Pictures
Post by: darren on February 16, 2010, 08:31:34 AM
Well
 All you Nissan blokes that have been snickering at the rav200 have finally got yours.
Looks like we all will be hanging on to what we have  :'(
Darren
Post by: Snow on February 16, 2010, 08:42:55 AM
Cant tell the difference between that and Bushy's new Pajero. They are all starting to look the same to me. ??? I can see the lift kits and diff drop gear costing$$$$$$
Post by: DANBRI on February 16, 2010, 08:45:28 AM
Bugger.  :-[

The mighty GUII will be driven into the ground I think. Until rust do us part.  :'(

That thing is 4 wheel independant! How can you go from double rigid to 4 wheel independant? At least toymota have progressively gone soft.

"said product design director, Taiji Toyota." What hope did the Nissan have?
Post by: gronk on February 16, 2010, 08:55:12 AM
Ha, ha....welcome back to the world of Prados and Terracans.....I think the 70 series Yota will get a few more sales.....
Post by: GSK33 on February 16, 2010, 09:06:38 AM
I think it looks great. Looks better than the new 150 Prado? Interested to find out more about the V6 Diesel?
Post by: Adventure Guy on February 16, 2010, 09:21:07 AM
Ha, ha....welcome back to the world of Prados and Terracans.....I think the 70 series Yota will get a few more sales.....

Hilarious, Prado and Terracans are worlds apart !  Wonder who's making the new Patrol's engine??  Keeping in mind Renault owns the majority of Nissan  ???
Post by: Snow on February 16, 2010, 09:26:38 AM
Keeping in mind Renault owns the majority of Nissan  ???
Yep, it looks like an overcooked Megane :P
Post by: gronk on February 16, 2010, 09:44:45 AM
Hilarious, Prado and Terracans are worlds apart

??????????..........05 Prado and 05 Terracan.....worlds apart ??????.....please enlighten me !!!

Prado..96KW....280Nm.........Terracan..125KW.......340Nm.........IFS front, ladder chassis with no electronic traction aids......sorry, but I'm willing to go offroad and prove the point !!  ;D

Must admit I have no fancy woodgrain or leather seats !!!
Post by: Adventure Guy on February 16, 2010, 10:15:54 AM

??????????..........05 Prado and 05 Terracan.....worlds apart ??????.....please enlighten me !!!

Prado..96KW....280Nm.........Terracan..125KW.......340Nm.........IFS front, ladder chassis with no electronic traction aids......sorry, but I'm willing to go offroad and prove the point !!  ;D

Hey gronk, the 150 prado has 127Kw @ 410Nm, dont what to arouse a tit for tat thing,as I like the Toy and you the Terracan
(must admit, didn't know it had a live rear axle) 8)

As for the 2011 Patrol, it looks like it now has a newly developed ALL MODE 4x4 system incorporating a variable 4x4 mode package. It allows the driver to quickly switch between four drive modes: sand, on-road, snow and rock, with the flick of a switch. In sand mode, owners are able to drive safely, quickly and skillfully in sand and dirt, just like professional rally drivers

Post by: Gunna Do on February 16, 2010, 10:20:18 AM
Looks great, can't wait for it to get here.
Post by: tcf on February 16, 2010, 10:40:40 AM
cover up from a-pillar forward and tell me the rear end doesn't look identical to the cruiser? ???
Post by: darren on February 16, 2010, 10:56:50 AM

Prado..96KW....280Nm.........Terracan..125KW.......340Nm.........IFS front, ladder chassis with no electronic traction aids......sorry, but I'm willing to go offroad and prove the point !!  ;D

Hey gronk, the 150 prado has 127Kw @ 410Nm, dont what to arouse a tit for tat thing,as I like the Toy and you the Terracan
(must admit, didn't know it had a live rear axle) 8)

As for the 2011 Patrol, it looks like it now has a newly developed ALL MODE 4x4 system incorporating a variable 4x4 mode package. It allows the driver to quickly switch between four drive modes: sand, on-road, snow and rock, with the flick of a switch. In sand mode, owners are able to drive safely, quickly and skillfully in sand and dirt, just like professional rally drivers

So if i read that right by flicking a switch you can drive skillfully , just like a professional rally driver. Is there a cable that goes to the driver??
Darren

Post by: Gunna Do on February 16, 2010, 11:01:58 AM
Your probably meant to take your hands off the steering wheel once the correct road surface is selected.  ???
Post by: gronk on February 16, 2010, 11:05:03 AM
All mode 4x4 system ?? sounds like an idiot switch to me ???....oops I didn't realise I was just about to hit some sand !!! ;D

Adventure Guy.....I was only tring to compare apples with apples....thats why I compared my 05 Terracan with the same 05 Prado.....NOT the latest one, which I admit is a whole lot different.....
Post by: darren on February 16, 2010, 11:05:42 AM
The worst thing is that people believe all this stuff then head out the scrub with their family
 I wonder if it lets your tyres down too
Darren
Post by: BigJules on February 16, 2010, 11:13:08 AM
I am quoting myself here, but I think its still valid.

I find it amusing that every "New Model" thread becomes like an adaptation of the The Four Yorkshiremen.

T'old model were so tuff, missus cooked breakfast on manifold and served 'em wi' chips on't bonnet. New "INSERT MODEL" just doesn't taste right, all soft n fluffy like".

I don't hate it, and in fact look forward to its introduction.  I read a piece by Alan Whiting, and experienced 4wd journalist, who touched on a conversation about the reliability of newer 4wds. Alan states that in his [considerable] experience newer 4wds are more reliable than ever before, and if there issues they tend to be, in order with components of the vehicle such "punctures, electrical issues, cooling and fuel system troubles, and suspension breakages" to paraphrase from his article.

Mine for example is an IFS Cruiser. "Soft as soft, can't believe Toyota ever changed the 80 series...blah blah blah". You can't tell me that my vehicle is not better than an 80 in almost every possible way, save for the fact that the front suspension cannot be raised significantly. That is not to say that the 80 series wasn't a terrific vehicle, it was and is, for its time. In fact I believe my current vehicle to be superior to the earlier live axle 100s I owned, except for the same limitation of suspension. But that same suspension delivers a superior driving experience day in and day out.

I do agree that modern 4wds are all starting to look similar, and the same thing is happening with all vehicles including sedans and motorcycles.

Post by: Adventure Guy on February 16, 2010, 11:31:58 AM

As for the 2011 Patrol, it looks like it now has a newly developed ALL MODE 4x4 system incorporating a variable 4x4 mode package. It allows the driver to quickly switch between four drive modes: sand, on-road, snow and rock, with the flick of a switch. In sand mode, owners are able to drive safely, quickly and skillfully in sand and dirt, just like professional rally drivers[/b].[/size]

So if i read that right by flicking a switch you can drive skillfully , just like a professional rally driver. Is there a cable that goes to the driver??
Darren

Darren, Nissan's words not mine, I think they mean it will have great traction in sand, with the ability to steer to a high degree ??
Post by: darren on February 16, 2010, 11:39:22 AM
Adventure guy
 I assumed that so please don't take it as a shot as it wasn't meant to be.
 My point was that people actually read this type of thing and believe it. All the manufacturers are guilty. Most of those that travel a bit will be able to tell you stories of people they have come across bogged or stuck, seemingly oblivious there situation and how they arrived at it.
Darren
Post by: NewcastleKnight on February 16, 2010, 01:33:25 PM
Well they definately look different in comparison to the other shape....
Post by: torsion on February 16, 2010, 01:45:31 PM
Filthy....
Might change my mind when ARB gets hold of em and kits em out, but until then that is FILTHY..

Fella's Prado v Terracan, its quite simple.
One is quality Japan Toyota the other is something known as Hyundai......
Man their nearly as bad a mooso's and those Great Wall Motors chinese 4wd's - bwwwaaaahhhhh LMFAO..... sorry couldn't help myself...

No need to gloss it up - yep they are worlds apart  ;D
Post by: darren on February 16, 2010, 01:49:49 PM
A Terracan  v Parado fight ??????

Now, no scratching

Darren
Post by: Silvo on February 16, 2010, 02:07:40 PM
i like the outside look of it. i've not minded the exterior of even the current shape nissan.. what gets me, and the reason i've been toyota shopping all weekend, is the interior.

inside the patrols is Shit. it's not until you get up into the TI that it starts to get nice, but it's just that, nice. i notice that there doesn't seem to be photos of the ST models, only pics of what i would assume is the top of the range. again, another marketing ploy.

don't get me wrong, i'm a nissan supporter. but i'm starting to become a toyota supporter.. maybe i just want to be like laith.

i'd like to see interior shots of the lower models before i make judgement, and also the engine choices.

dan
Post by: cm4x4nut on February 16, 2010, 02:25:26 PM
yeah i'd have one, but then I also would not mind a new D4 either.............and I am probably about 5 yrs of needing either, so my opinion does not count
Post by: Joff on February 16, 2010, 02:37:53 PM
30 years ago my dad got one of the first VB Commodores as a company car. A total new look from the Kingswood he had been driving. New lines with proprietry head light design instead of the old 6" generics, all new interior with lashings of some flash material that wasn't vinyl and power steering. Our neighbour up the road happened to get an equaly new XD Falcon in almost the same colour. It took me ages to tell em apart from a distance. I used to say "all cars look the same these days" and in my 12 year old expertise proclaimed the days of good vehicles to be dead.

Post by: Darcy7 on February 16, 2010, 02:44:38 PM
Well...I don't particularly mind the look although if there ever was a lovechild of a current Pajero and Prado and you fed it Twinkies all day, it would probably look like the new Patrol.

I still reckon the series 3 (and now 4) Discovery is the best looking 4x4 on the market, not because its pretty, but because its practical.  It just looks like it was meant to go off the road.

And while on the subject.....the new All Mode 4x4 is strikingly similar to Land Rovers Terrain Response system.  While the purest in me says these take all the skill out of 4WDing but, if you think about it knowing how these systems work (I'm assuming the Nissan system is similar to LR's) they actually make 4WD more enjoyable as well as safer.  LR's system, while enabling the vehicle to go much further than the average driver would be able to, it has enough in it to ensure if you do get stuck, there are options to get out of trouble.  Things like leaving an extra cm in suspension height adjustment so you can back off a rock that you've become hung up on.  It also adjusts braking, throttle response, stability and traction control to suit the terrain your traversing.  

I think its great that manufacturers are actually using all this new technology to make 4WDs safer as well as more capable.  I just wish I had $90k to buy one.  So like many others here, I have what must be one of the last of the traditional 4WDs and it will have to serve me many years unless I win Tatts or something. ;D
Post by: DANBRI on February 16, 2010, 02:49:33 PM
A change to IFS is one issue, but adding IRS is a significant other...

Looks aside, they either grow on your or don't.

I bumped into a new Disco owner a little while back when crossing the desert. For three days we towed the poor thing over dune after dune. The suspension was obviously too soft for task (as to be expected of any ladden 4wd with factory springs really - so I'm not having a go at the Disco there) but the issue with IRS as I saw it: When the vehicle bottoms out at the base (etc) on a dune, the belly would dive into the sand wash of the momentum. It was painful. Whereas live axle rear, you don't have the low slung lower wishbone mount in the centre.

Just an observation.

Post by: GSK33 on February 16, 2010, 02:59:52 PM
7 speed Auto, cool ;D
Post by: toad on February 16, 2010, 03:29:57 PM
Filthy....
Might change my mind when ARB gets hold of em and kits em out, but until then that is FILTHY..

Filthy? What does that mean? Good or Bad? Same as Fully Sick? Please forgive this traditionalist.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on February 16, 2010, 03:35:24 PM
Filthy....

Filthy? What does that mean? Good or Bad? Same as Fully Sick? Please forgive this traditionalist.

In this case I would suggest it means "bad".

Post by: Doug.b on February 16, 2010, 03:38:56 PM
I have a Suzuki grand vitara which has the 4x4 mode (4H - 4H lock - 4L lock - N) and I think it works fine for what I do.
I know that the gv doesn't have the clearance and power as the bigger 4wds have but for the weight and power ratio the gv packs a punch.
I think Suzuki has been using 4x4 mode for a while now. It is amazing what new technology can do. (I remember that you use to get out of your 4wd and manually lock your wheels)

If I had the money I would love to buy one.

Doug

Post by: Laith on February 16, 2010, 03:53:13 PM
If I had the money I would love to buy one.

I wouldn't. (Even if I had the money). I recon its ugly but I guess these things grow on you sometimes.

Too many doo da's to go wrong for me. I guess some day I will have to own something similar but not until I have to.
Post by: blackstump on February 16, 2010, 04:21:28 PM
After witnessing first hand on the weekend, a v8 Sahara,  towing a KK, up a long climb, I want one.
Now my trusty ol Land Rover, is no slouch with assorted power mods, but this thing reeled me in and spun me round like a spinning top. And I wasnt towing anything   ??? :'(
To make things worse, he didnt have a run up either.  >:(

Now if this butt ugly Nissan could do that, then geez, there is alot to be said for these modern vehicles.

Post by: GSK33 on February 16, 2010, 04:31:47 PM
After witnessing first hand on the weekend, a v8 Sahara,  towing a KK, up a long climb, I want one.
Now my trusty ol Land Rover, is no slouch with assorted power mods, but this thing reeled me in and spun me round like a spinning top. And I wasnt towing anything   ??? :'(
To make things worse, he didnt have a run up either.  >:(

Now if this butt ugly Nissan could do that, then geez, there is alot to be said for these modern vehicles.

Leading the line-up, an engine that makes new Patrol the most powerful vehicle in its class, is Nissan’s newly developed ‘VK56VD’ 5.6-litre direct-injection petrol V8 engine with VVEL (variable valve event and lift). Developing 298kW of power and 550Nm of torque, the new unit if said to offer maximum performance and smooth response. It is mated to a new seven-speed automatic transmission with a wider range of gear ratios than its predecessor, to give the off-roader the ability to deliver power faster.

Should be enough power here, Hate to be paying the fuel bill though ;D
Post by: MnMs on February 16, 2010, 04:44:00 PM
Hmmmm, the jury is out here.

It seems to be a mash up with a Range Rover Sport, a 200, and a Patrol.  ???

I do agree that they are all beginning to look similar. Though when the 200 came out, there was a lot of growns about how it change so much in look from the 100/105 for the worse. However, it has since become a more widely accepted look. And I'll give you the drum, when mine is up for renewal in a couple of years.....the 200 will be our choice of grunt at this stage.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 16, 2010, 08:49:58 PM
There is a bit of video action of the new Patrol on the test track here,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNEnWWmUviA&feature=player_embedded

Post by: BigJules on February 16, 2010, 09:02:22 PM
Given the location, was expecting something to blow up. Must not have been the 3L diesel motor :laugh:
Post by: Brett on February 16, 2010, 10:00:50 PM
Developing 298kW of power and 550Nm of torque

Should be enough power here, Hate to be paying the fuel bill though ;D

Gee I bet Toyota releases the Lexus 5.7 (270kw / 530Nm) V8 Petrol with 6 speed auto in the 200 series about the same time as the New Patrol goes on sale here in Oz...
Post by: gronk on February 16, 2010, 11:39:31 PM
Filthy....

Man their nearly as bad a mooso's and those Great Wall Motors chinese 4wd's - bwwwaaaahhhhh LMFAO..... sorry couldn't help myself...

;D ;D ;D

No need to gloss it up......you obviously haven't driven a Hyundai, nor know anything about them..

What was it they used to say about those Jap cars 15 yrs ago ????

Bit of long term memory loss I think !!!   ;D ;D
Post by: GSK33 on February 16, 2010, 11:53:09 PM
Filthy....

;D ;D ;D

No need to gloss it up......you obviously haven't driven a Hyundai, nor know anything about them..

Bit of long term memory loss I think !!!   ;D ;D

Great wall should be a good car in 15 years then :cup:
Post by: NewcastleKnight on February 17, 2010, 07:56:43 AM
Filthy....

;D ;D ;D

Bit of long term memory loss I think !!!   ;D ;D

I know nothing about the inner workings of a Hyundai however, anedotal evidence tends to suggest they have improved out of sight over the last half a dozen years.

At the end of the day people buy their vehicles based on a lot of issues and I don't believe anyone, on a forum like this,  buys a new vehicle of any persuasion unless they are satisfied that it will provide them with what they want.

Post by: Snow on February 17, 2010, 08:25:37 AM
I've ridden in Gronk's Terrifying Can and it goes pretty well, it seems well put together, is plenty comfortable and man can he pull ripper donuts in it. Besides, its a European designed 4by made in Korea, big deal.

I think there is a little too much snobbery going on in this thread, so cut it out Gronk orright. :cup: ;D ;D :cheers:
Post by: gronk on February 17, 2010, 08:30:29 AM
I think there is a little too much snobbery going on in this thread, so cut it out Gronk orright. 1st Place Grin

Oh, all right !!!!!  in that case, yeh, the Prado is probably just as good as my Hyundai then !!!!!! ::) ::) :P
Post by: WogsRus on February 17, 2010, 08:50:25 AM
Owning a 2007 NS pajero, I must say that IFS and IRS is not all that bad, it all comes down to user choice. What we must all consider here, speaking from experience, is that the commercial reality is that the TRUE off road nuts form a very small percentage of car sales, so the industry must, unfortunately and much to my disgust, accommodate for the soccer mums and school runs. This is the world we live in unfortunately.

I have always Loved the Patrol for what it could do off road, unfortunately looking into the current state of play, it is outdated and overpriced for what the current models deliver against its competition.

I think the biggest problem with the new patrol is that it is going to be too little to late, much like the 380 was for MMA. The new LC200 has already proven to be one capable vehicle with a whole heap of new technology and seeing first hand what will be coming for the series two due for release end of next year, the price of the new L200 will fall drastically with lost more refinements being offered in place.

Having reviewed the Video posted up, it appears that the suspension travel is very limited which is probably going to be a massive down fall for this particular model, hence why Nissan Australia has offered to keep the current model on sale for a further 3 years.

Owning an IFS IRS vehicle I must state however that there has been very few situations where I have not been able to follow a Gu or a LC up a track with similar modification.

My truck runs a 2 inch lift, 32" Mickey t's and only uses the factory locking Center diff and traction control to get through. I have spent considerable time modifying my suspension, incorporating land cruiser long travel shock absorbers and alike, which has yielded in substantial amount of travel over stock, saying that it is still less then a  live axle truck which often leads to wheel in the air action. However around town, the car is superb, it does the weekly shopping comfortably and without needing sea sickness tablets to drive around unlike my brothers heavily modified Nissan.

Many people criticize the Pajero for not having a ladder chassis and so forth so it's not as strong, however, once again first hand, you go and get a new prado and get a new pajero, twist them up on some moguls and try and open the rear prado doors and more times then not, you won't be able to do so due to chassis/body flex. No such issues on the Pajero.

What most people don't know is that the Pajero actually runs a separate sub chassis front and back, and there are many kits available that offer a 6" lift to fit 42" tires. The lift itself takes approximately half a day to fit as it simply spaces the chassis away from the body as per normal ladder frame.

Unfortunately what we must all come to terms is that the day of the true off roader is limited and numbered, sooner or later the burocrats and pencil pushers who don't even know what 4x4 means will get their way and live axle trucks will case to exist, unless you want a ute of a 75 series.

Anyhow, I hope this vehicle does well and perhaps it will sell well being aimed more at the general public, but as I said above, it think it's to little to late, both Toyota and land cruiser are starting to take the market over in vast numbers.

BTW i'm not trying to Advertise for pajeros, they have many faults, mearly stating that IRS and IFS can be made work. (CAN but as is more oftern teh case from factory Can not)

Ok I'm done

Title: Re: New Nissan Patrol Pictures as well as THIS LINK IS A MUST SEE !!
Post by: Adventure Guy on February 17, 2010, 06:26:51 PM
Sorry Doug.b, to hi-jack your post, and to gronk and darren, I get what you mean  :cheers:

Because we are talking about Nissan, Prado's and alike, have a ganda at this, it's crazy stuff and you would not want to be nursing a hang over   >:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lyl7ytk1YIw
Post by: Doug.b on February 17, 2010, 09:26:40 PM
that's OK adventure guy

I just posted it for everyone to see and to have a look.

To me it doesn't matter what the make of 4wd is or how big it is. We all have our own opinions for what suits us and for the budget we have. The main thing is that we still get out and enjoy this country of ours.

Doug.b

P.S - still wouldn't mind the new nissan (if I could afford it.) 
Post by: Diksta on February 17, 2010, 09:44:22 PM
new shapes and looks grow on you, when the 200's came out i didn't like them but there are more and more of them getting around these days, and i would quite like one when it is time to upgrade from the 100 series.

and for all the Datsun diehards i imagine it will be the same, the clip look impressive, but i didn't thin they would go away from the live front end.

Diksta
Post by: torsion on February 17, 2010, 10:03:02 PM
I think there is a little too much snobbery going on in this thread, so cut it out Gronk orright. 1st Place Grin

Oh, all right !!!!!  in that case, yeh, the Prado is probably just as good as my Hyundai then !!!!!! ::) ::) :P

Hey Snow, common tell the truth you have ordered a Great Wall debacle havn't ya.
Ok Ok, hangon eas up their you two young fella's. You havn't asked me what I drive yet......................me excel's is a top rig, or was that a lantra  ;D ;D ;D ;D bwwwwahhhh....... sh_t I crack myself up.   
Post by: Snow on February 18, 2010, 08:51:12 AM

Oh, all right !!!!!  in that case, yeh, the Prado is probably just as good as my Hyundai then !!!!!! ::) ::) :P

Hey Snow, common tell the truth you have ordered a Great Wall debacle havn't ya.
That's not as dopey as it reads Torsion, I drive the R9 Izuzu which Great wall has knocked off to create the SA220. Only they don't offer it in 4x4 :cheers:
Post by: Flightrisk on March 21, 2011, 11:03:13 PM
I have been fortunate enough to drive the new Patrol both on road and off road and am blown away to say the least! Stacks of power from the 5.6l V8. It is hard to believe that you are driving a vehicle that is as big and heavy as it is. More like a sports car than a fourby. Off road the vehicle is exceptional. I only hope that all the nay-sayers get a chance to drive this thing offroad as it really does go against alot of conventions such as IFS/IRS being no good in the bush. The one I drove is the top of the range middle eastern variant which has the hydraulicly linked suspension much like the Prada and LC200 option. Driving along heavy rutts and bumps the suspension just bobs along like nothing is happening. The auto is awesome but the descent control takes a bit of getting used to. I am very interested to see these be released and see how they sell. I can;t imagine they will be cheap but then again, theres no shortage of LC200 Saharas getting around. The only real concern is the size of the beast. It is bigger than the LC200!
Post by: Redback on March 22, 2011, 01:22:21 PM
I hadn't read this one, bloody funny stuff, looking at it, probably not the best looking vehicle and the resemblence to the LC200 is quite close, BUT, judging it on how it looks stock out of the factory is a bit harsh, put a bullbar and rear bar, lights and a snorkle and I think it may look alright, as for it wizbangery, all vehicles are gonig this way.

It's funny, when the D3 came out, all the Landy purists said almost the same things, it's ugly, to many electronic, not as good as a live axle 4B off road, same was said of the LC200, I think both these vehicles have proven that they are as good, if not better in some conditions, I know one thing for certain, traction control is brilliant in my D2 and the new LC200 and D3/4 is 100% better again.

Electonics is the future, embrace it I say :cup:

Post by: briann532 on March 22, 2011, 06:05:47 PM
Electonics is the future, embrace it I say :cup:

Baz, have you been to the electrical threads lately????

Are you mad?  ::) ::) ::)

Just kidding. I agree, if you don't keep up, you'll be left behind.
Now I've gotta go. Need to see the 9 year old next door so he can turn my telly on!!!!!

Post by: Camping Grant on March 23, 2011, 08:03:49 AM
Perhaps it's a Cruiser/Range Rover hybrid... Cruiser rear end / range rover nose??
Post by: Moto Moto on March 23, 2011, 08:04:48 AM
Not my cup of tea.

Would prefer to drop a 6.5 Chev V8 into my existing Trol (and maybe a supercharger ;D).

OR for $50 you could buy one of these and at least make it feel like you are driving a thumping v8 :cheers: :cup:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9XAC-BvUyo
Post by: Fivid on March 23, 2011, 11:41:56 AM
In at the local Nissan dealer a couple of days ago, they have finally got info on the new Patrol, dates and engines.  The thing that interested me was that they confirmed the current shape model will continue as a cheaper alternative to the new model but will have a V6 diesel.  No specs on it as yet but it sounds like good news to me and a new Patrol may join the current one in our driveway in a couple of years...
Post by: Redback on March 23, 2011, 12:18:42 PM
In at the local Nissan dealer a couple of days ago, they have finally got info on the new Patrol, dates and engines.  The thing that interested me was that they confirmed the current shape model will continue as a cheaper alternative to the new model but will have a V6 diesel.  No specs on it as yet but it sounds like good news to me and a new Patrol may join the current one in our driveway in a couple of years...

I found this ;D

The Renault-Nissan Alliance unveiled its brand-new V6 dCi Diesel engine (V9X type) on Laguna Coupe at the Paris motorshow, in October 2008. This engine is the first Diesel V6 engine developed and produced by the Alliance. It will equip upper-range vehicles to meet the growing worldwide demand for engines that are powerful and yet fuel and CO2 efficient.
The Alliance cooperation has made it possible for both Renault and Nissan to offer a state-of-the art premium powertrain to their customers, all around the world.

Apparently the new Navara and Pathfinder will get this engine too in 2011

Post by: Gunna Do on March 23, 2011, 02:34:53 PM
Still not the big diesel I'd hoped they'd come out with, but it's a start,

V9X Engine from Wikipedia,
Nissan-Renault V9X engine Manufacturer Nissan-Renault
Production 2009-Present
Assembly Cleon, France
Class Turbo diesel V6

The V9X is a common rail V6 turbodiesel developed by the Nissan-Renault alliance, and first installed in the Renault Laguna in 2009. It was subsequently made available for all longitudinal engined including Infiniti, along with Nissan Pathfinder, Nissan Navara, Infiniti FX, Infiniti EX, Infiniti M an Renault Laguna.

Engine Power and CombustionThe V9X V6 diesel engine develops 240 hp (179 kW) and 550 N·m (410 lb·ft) of torque.

The combustion chamber design was optimized to improve the balance between emission levels and fuel efficiency; the compression ratio was lowered to 16:1 to benefit not just economy and emissions but also noise, vibration and harshness (NVH).

Class-leading levels of torque and highly competitive specific power outputs are delivered thanks to the adoption of a comparatively large single turbocharger, which is mounted within the vee of the engine, an intercooler and the use of the latest generation of Bosch Common rail fuel injection. This system incorporates piezo injectors and operates at 1,800 bar.

Power output is on target at 240 hp (179 kW) while the class-leading torque output of 550 N·m (410 lb·ft)(for rear and four-wheel drive applications) is better than the target. Peak torque is achieved from as low as 1,750 rpm and is available all the way to 2,500 rpm, while as much as 500 N·m is available from 1,500 rpm. Idle speed is an exceptionally low 650 rpm with none of the NVH usually associated with a diesel.The result is strong low-end performance with comfortably refined delivery. Special tuning of the exhaust note provides a pleasantly sporting note at about 2,500 rpm under hard acceleration.

Post by: alnjan on March 23, 2011, 03:10:48 PM
There has been talk the new Patrol would be getting the Renault V6 Turbo Diesel shortly after the talk of the new Patrol, but Nissan, last news Nissan had not made a decision on a diesel motor at all for the new Patrol.  Apparently it is only Australia and South Africa that are asking for a diesel.  With such a small portion of the global market wanting a diesel news was that Nissan were opting to keep the V8 petrol version of the new Patrol only and run it along side the current model GU Patrol, still running a 3 litre 4 cylinder CR TD. Nissan will still be selling the old GU in the cab chassis, there is no new Patrol cab chassis, Patrol wagon only.

Nissan announced last year the Pathfinder and Navara would be getting the Renault V6TD.  For all the Patrol drivers out there maybe after Nissan sees how the Pathie's and Navara's go with the V6TD they might finally come to their senses and put a halfway decent diesel motor in the patrol.
Post by: gq man on March 23, 2011, 08:01:19 PM
looks very similar to a cruiser,  it wish they would just build something which would be good offroad, eg something that will flex
Post by: Jon on March 23, 2011, 08:23:03 PM
Special tuning of the exhaust note provides a pleasantly sporting note at about 2,500 rpm under hard acceleration.

Aint nothin comes close to your little 2.8 t full noise on the Grimme track vid. :cup:
Post by: Matto on March 24, 2011, 06:37:33 PM
There has been talk the new Patrol would be getting the Renault V6 Turbo Diesel shortly after the talk of the new Patrol...
With such a small portion of the global market wanting a diesel news was that Nissan were opting to keep the V8 petrol version of the new Patrol only and run it along side the current model GU Patrol, still running a 3 litre 4 cylinder CR TD.
The last I've heard is that while the GU will be carrying on alongside the new model when it arrives (much like the D22 and D40 Navaras), it will be with the same 3L motor, not the ripper Renault V6. Which is a shame, as by all accounts that motor is wonderful.

As has been said, the Pathfinder and Navara are getting the V9x, but it's an expensive proposition. The Ti550 Pathfinder is something like $75k. That why Nissan have so far refused to bring that motor to the Patrol - the GU would end up close to $100k. Nissan's strategy is to keep the current GU as the tough/budget option (same as the current D22), and the new Patrol as the new/big/luxury LC200 fighter, with a price to match. Toyota have proved that people will pay $110k for a top-spec Sahara LC200, so Nissan wants in on that pie. Unfortunately having the GU's price come up too far erodes that strategy.

Which is a shame, because from an offroad perspective, most 4WDers would probably see the V9X equipped GU as the more attractive competitor to the LC200 - solid axles, comparable power and torque but cheaper rego, big GU body that can take all the current accessories, and so on. If they could do it at a good price, they'd be onto a winner. People would still complain that the V9X motor is too electronic, and too fragile, and that the body style is dated and such, but for people after a new Patrol with the motor like a LC200, it would be a cracking vehicle. I'd have one. Alas, by the time you get the expensive motor in, then engineer/ADR/crash test/everything else, you've got to recoup that money somehow. As alnjan rightly says, they don't sell Patrols in many places these days, so the big cost has to be shared by not many people. Or, they could just keep on selling what they've already got, which doesn't require much in the way of new money.

Anyway, now I'm just rambling. tl;dr - I'd like to drive one of the new Patrols. Flightrisk - you suck!

Post by: Fivid on March 25, 2011, 06:51:07 AM
The last I've heard is that while the GU will be carrying on alongside the new model when it arrives (much like the D22 and D40 Navaras), it will be with the same 3L motor, not the ripper Renault V6. Which is a shame, as by all accounts that motor is wonderful.

The Nissan dealer sounded pretty confident last week telling me the current shape will have a V6 diesel but I don't know if it is the same as used in the Pathie or another.  From an R+D perspective why would you have different ones and if it is the same one then the R+D costs put into that motor already would then be shared across a greater sales volume.
The only real answer will be when (if?) they physically arrive I suppose but if the prices don't go up too much I will certainly buy one.
Post by: Teabag on March 25, 2011, 06:56:52 AM
I would have one in a heart beat, can't beat the mighty Patrol..... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Matto on March 25, 2011, 07:46:22 AM
The Nissan dealer sounded pretty confident last week telling me the current shape will have a V6 diesel but I don't know if it is the same as used in the Pathie or another. 
You're probably right - I've not heard anything for a while, so it stands to reason that your dealer would have more up to date info. If it was going to get a v6 diesel, it would be the Renault v9x. For a long time Nissan maintained that they wouldn't fit that engine to the Pathfinder or Navara either, as it would make them too expensive for the general public, and then relented with the Ti550's as a way of gauging the market. Who knows - if enough people stump up the extra for them it might convince Nissan to slot it into the Patrol.

It would certainly be attractive to have the same engine across all three of the major 4WD Nissan platforms, just from a spare parts and servicing perspective. Much more likely to get parts and expertise in the bush. No doubt the Patrol would need to be running a slightly different configuration so as to have an edge on paper (to justify it's higher price tag and higher spot on the totem pole), but hopefully it would be limited to ECU changes and bolt-ons.

I'm with Fivid and Teabag - I'd be sorely tempted by one if the price was reasonable. However, going off the Pathfinder prices as a guide, I don't envisage I could afford one brand new. Still, I believe a lot of people would cross-shop them with a v8 TTD LC200, so the extra price probably doesn't matter much in the grand scheme. I'll just wait a couple of years, and pick one up that's done shopping centre duty!

Post by: Gunna Do on March 25, 2011, 12:59:25 PM
I think I would be tempted to get the poverty pack current shape patrol with the new V6 fitted, if they run it along side the new model.
Post by: alnjan on March 25, 2011, 03:03:26 PM
The annoying this with the whole diesel engine sage for the Patrol is that back in the beginning when the new Patrol was announced it was said along with the V8 petrol it would getting a Renault V6 Twin Turbo Diesel. 

While Pathie and Narava may be getting the V6TD Nissan may still be tweaking the second turbo for the extra size of a Patrol compared to the small and lighter Pathie and Narava and still have the engine meet future predicted European exhaust emissions.   Who knows
Post by: darren on March 25, 2011, 06:24:35 PM
all the power in the world wont help if your wheel is in the air..
Post by: Jon on March 25, 2011, 07:27:17 PM
all the power in the world wont help if your wheel is in the air..
But gravity might....