General => General Discussion => Topic started by: sol on June 17, 2016, 07:34:37 AM
G'day, has anyone got any ideas for a good stone protector for the rear window of our Colorado 7.
Corflute from Bunnos
Corflute a bit of double sided tape in each corner then some duct tape to seal around the edges. Got me half way around OZ twice with no issues
I got one of these for my Pajero, custom made to suite, talk to Mike O'Brien at Rear Window Saver. :cup:
http://www.obiesoutback.com.au/obie1.htm (http://www.obiesoutback.com.au/obie1.htm)
Corflute a bit of double sided tape in each corner then some duct tape to seal around the edges. Got me half way around OZ twice with no issues
does the double-sided tape affect the window itself at all, if left on for a period of time?
x 3 corflute - about $15 from Bunnings.
(http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g289/vh-grumpy/Flinders%20Ranges%202015/Prado%20on%20the%20back%20track%20Arkaroola%205%20Oct%201%20of%201.jpg) (http://s59.photobucket.com/user/vh-grumpy/media/Flinders%20Ranges%202015/Prado%20on%20the%20back%20track%20Arkaroola%205%20Oct%201%20of%201.jpg.html)
does the double-sided tape affect the window itself at all, if left on for a period of time?
No, very few things will affect glass. In fact nothing I can think of that you would plausibly want to apply to your windows will have any affect at all.
It may be hard to get off but it still wont do damage to the glass
I got one of these for my Pajero, custom made to suite, talk to Mike O'Brien at Rear Window Saver. :cup:
http://www.obiesoutback.com.au/obie1.htm (http://www.obiesoutback.com.au/obie1.htm)
Single windows from $750 to (a new 2013 record of) $3310 - Dual windows from $650 to $2800
(https://whammo30.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/wpid-jaw-drop.png)
corflute is great on the patrol... works for us.
Single windows from $750 to (a new 2013 record of) $3310 - Dual windows from $650 to $2800
(https://whammo30.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/wpid-jaw-drop.png)
I thought you were saying that is what these protectors cost !! I near shat
That site really is a great case for getting a pro website builders help when you are setting up your site though. Woeful ???
I thought you were saying that is what these protectors cost !! I near shat
That site really is a great case for getting a pro website builders help when you are setting up your site though. Woeful ???
yea 1980 called and wants their website back
No, very few things will affect glass. In fact nothing I can think of that you would plausibly want to apply to your windows will have any affect at all.
It may be hard to get off but it still wont do damage to the glass
The only problem I have seen occur is thermal breakage due to excessive heat.
Starsky
Starsky
Applying hot water to an icy windscreen will certainly lead to a red face and a call to O'Brien's ;D
I used kingfoil insulation, taped to the outside on a recent 7 week trip on the gibb. Works perfect and keeps the fridge cooler.
Starsky
so what's the best thing to use to remove sticky residue?
Eucalyptus oil, tee tree oil, remove patches that the nurses use. Razor blade scraper and soapy water.
Orange Power "Sticky Spot and Goo remover" was made for this job.
Just be careful with using it. May react with the Auto Paint.
Removes Chewing Gum and Blue tack too.
I had one of those, whilst it does it's job, the selling value of being able to see through it is eroded in the first kilometre on a dirt road. It fills with dust so a. you can't see out of it and b. the fine outback dust can rub and mark the glass.
Carrying corflute is a much better idea as it is cheap and easy to fit, and if you break a non back window you can bodge up a cover. I helped and elderly couple on the Oodnadatta track who had a side window smashed by a rock from a passing truck.
And you lot have real short memories.
Before Corflute.
The humble Cardboard Box and Duct Tape.
You gently relocate your Amber refreshment from the box.
Open out the box to a flat sheet and then fit it in place with Tape.
If you didn't like to advertise, you put the printed side inside against the glass.
If You have a Big Green Shed nearby you can get Poly-carbonate/plexiglass/Perspex sheet etc. also.
They'll have suction cups, velcro, Duct tape etc. available for fixings.
Also, any Boat repair place could knock something up. If you don't trust yourself. Be for a Price of course.
No i put a 6 inch strip of double sided tape on each corner and then a big x across the middle to build the corflute out silightly from the window itself to absorb some impact from the strike
Had no issued when i pulled it off just needed some tea tree oil to get a bit of the residue off
Kero or baby wipes
No i put a 6 inch strip of double sided tape on each corner and then a big x across the middle to build the corflute out silightly from the window itself to absorb some impact from the strike
like ya thinking.....
Coreflute cut to size
Great place to put all your trip sricker for each trip
Duct tape on and then rip off at end of each trip....
(http://s20.postimg.org/vt6nofxn1/41078_2.jpg) (http://postimage.org/)
image free hosting (http://postimage.org/)
Acrylic cut to size, small rubber self adhesive stoppers stuck on to keep it from scratching glass and held on by race tape all around the edges to stop dust getting in.
Has worked for us and can still see through it.
I had one of those, whilst it does it's job, the selling value of being able to see through it is eroded in the first kilometre on a dirt road. It fills with dust so a. you can't see out of it and b. the fine outback dust can rub and mark the glass.
I might have to ditch mine. They've done about 60,000km, so it's probably time to upgrade to core-flute.
While I'm at it, I should probably ditch the headlight protectors and cover the headlights with core-flute too..... ;D
When you get that new clear, non distorting, optical quality corflute, can you get enough for all of us pls. Geoff.
I need Headlight protectors on my truck too. Been lucky so far. (Don't suppose I should tempt Fate, but it's done now.)
Nothing.........get a stone stomper instead !!
coreflute is about $1000+ cheaper..
We also got the added extra on our insurance. Unlimited window replacements!
Works a treat. Haven't had so much as a stone chip since.
Beginners question, is this a real problem? Are the stones thrown up from the trailer?
Is the stone deflector on CT enough?
Yes it is a real problem. Have been lucky myself, but mate did a rear window on the Birdsville track last trip.
Have always just used cardboard taped on but now that we are doing more trips and I have more time, made up one yesterday.
Went to a tyre dealer and got an old corflute sign, cut to size, then fastened on with suction caps from Bunnings. Got the ones with a hook on them, so that the cup end fits in a 9mm hole and the little hook fits in to hold it on. Can easily be removed by taking out the hooks. Simple, cheap and I hope effective.
When I was working in the servo in Birdsville we used to do a roaring trade in cardboard and duct tape for people who didn't plan ahead. At least half a dozen rear windows per week in the tourist season.
Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk
.......At least half a dozen rear windows per week in the tourist season.
:o :o
Actually I don't think you you should protect the rear window at all :)
Other people MAY just like to debate that opinion with you! ;D
One thing I noticed on my last outback trip, stone deflectors on the front of campers don't protect your rear window. Spoke with 5 people with broken windows over 6 weeks, 3 had stone deflectors, 2 didn't.
Lesson, cover the back window if you want to protect it.
Also spoke with a bloke in a 200 ser . His drivers side rear 1/4 glass was hit by a stone from a passing car on the Birdsville track. He checked when next stopped but couldn't see a mark. Late that same day as he entered Birdsville, it "exploded" for want of a better word. Dunno what that would cost but he wasn't happy.
One thing I noticed on my last outback trip, stone deflectors on the front of campers don't protect your rear window. Spoke with 5 people with broken windows over 6 weeks, 3 had stone deflectors, 2 didn't.
Lesson, cover the back window if you want to protect it.
I always protect my rear window even though I have a stone deflector. Some stones bounce off it onto the rear window. After 2 long trips last year on the first after returning to Canberra when I came to wash it and found a couple of large rocks lodged behind the spare wheel. On the other trip I could see dents in the corflute before I removed it after getting back on bitumen.
stone deflectors on the front of campers don't protect your rear window.
I didn't think they were designed to.. thought they were to protect the camper
Also need to protect the rear paint/panels, not just the glass.
The paintwork can get quite badly peppered.
Stone Stomper type setups are very good.
Thanks for the replies guys :cup:
http://www.plasweld.com.au/rear-window-protectors/ (http://www.plasweld.com.au/rear-window-protectors/)
another option
Core Flute for me!
http://www.campertrailers.org/rear_window_protector.htm (http://www.campertrailers.org/rear_window_protector.htm)
http://www.expeditionaustralia.com.au/2015/07/budget-diy-rear-window-protection-for-your-4wd/ (http://www.expeditionaustralia.com.au/2015/07/budget-diy-rear-window-protection-for-your-4wd/)
Plenty of free material to be found now on every street corner, got 1 week left to claim yours.
Thanks mate,
Now that made me smile :cheers:
Now obviously a bit of Paint may be needed as well.
Jeez yeah, & you'd have to be careful which way round you mounted them - just imagine driving along, glancing up in your mirror & seeing the face of one of our wanna-be leaders staring at you :o - you'd probably run off the road from fright! >:D
And if their ugly mug was on the outside, you could have rocks thrown at ya :angel:
I emailed Obie’s Outback - Rear Window Saver and was quoted $235 for one of his protectors.
Seems reasonable compared to a window. But expensive compared to corflute.
A re-assigned pollie sign, can of mat black paint = $5
Priceless
Just a reminder, if anyone wants to get their hand on corflute I can give you my old signs. they're 600mm x 900mm. Just shoot me a message and let me know how many you want and I can arrange it. I already give a fair few away to a local art gallery who use them to wrap the art they post in. Any form of recycling this stuff works for me.
I emailed Obie’s Outback - Rear Window Saver and was quoted $235 for one of his protectors.
Seems reasonable compared to a window. But expensive compared to corflute.
I got one for $190 from Plasweld in Melbourne, freight would probably be killer though, but it
may come in corflute for protection during transport:)
A re-assigned pollie sign, can of mat black paint = $5
Priceless
That's what I like about you Dave,
You're An Ideas Man :cup:
but it may come in corflute for protection during transport:)
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Corflute is the go, find a for sale sign (preferably sold!) if you don't want to spend any money, paint it whatever colour you want, cut to any shape, adhere with double sided tape or 100mph tape, works a treat