General => General Discussion => Topic started by: paceman on June 16, 2016, 10:36:15 AM
hi all,
in the market for a good sized, carry-on luggage bag. i have looked at a few different styles (wheeled, duffel, etc) and i am getting to the pointy end of my decision.
two bags towards the top of my list are linked below:
caribee skymaster 40
http://www.snowys.com.au/Travel/Luggage/Sky-Master-40-Carry-On-Black.aspx?c=11&sc=86&id=2958&utm_source=search&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=search (http://www.snowys.com.au/Travel/Luggage/Sky-Master-40-Carry-On-Black.aspx?c=11&sc=86&id=2958&utm_source=search&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=search)
osprey porter 46
http://www.ospreypacks.com/au/en/product/porter-46-PORTER46_703.html (http://www.ospreypacks.com/au/en/product/porter-46-PORTER46_703.html)
bag needs to be able to hold clothes for 3-4 days, maybe a pair of shoes (not counting the ones i wear on the plane), budget is around $150...
different modes of carry are important (backpack, shoulder strap, etc), wheeled is not a definite requirement...
i am leaning towards the caribee, mainly for price..
anyone have a bag that they really like? one they have but don't like?
thoughts and opinions from frequent flyers appreciated.
I have a cheapy wheel bag. big enough for 5 or 6 days. been all over the place.
I found out a few years ago too that different inter airlines have different carry on size limits. A few have been caught out. Check your regular carrier and any you might need in the future.
Samsonite.. but they can be a little pricey tho
I find i only get a few years out of each bag when travelling frequently
The lighter the bag the better... i've had my carry on weighed at bag drop
My mate makes these packs up in Brisbane - a very versatile pack only slight above your price pont. Very robust, great build quality and Australian made.
https://www.highrangeoutdoors.com.au/collections/packs-and-bags/products/sr20-plain-colours (https://www.highrangeoutdoors.com.au/collections/packs-and-bags/products/sr20-plain-colours)
hi all,
in the market for a good sized, carry-on luggage bag. i have looked at a few different styles (wheeled, duffel, etc) and i am getting to the pointy end of my decision.
two bags towards the top of my list are linked below:
caribee skymaster 40
http://www.snowys.com.au/Travel/Luggage/Sky-Master-40-Carry-On-Black.aspx?c=11&sc=86&id=2958&utm_source=search&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=search (http://www.snowys.com.au/Travel/Luggage/Sky-Master-40-Carry-On-Black.aspx?c=11&sc=86&id=2958&utm_source=search&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=search)
osprey porter 46
http://www.ospreypacks.com/au/en/product/porter-46-PORTER46_703.html (http://www.ospreypacks.com/au/en/product/porter-46-PORTER46_703.html)
bag needs to be able to hold clothes for 3-4 days, maybe a pair of shoes (not counting the ones i wear on the plane), budget is around $150...
different modes of carry are important (backpack, shoulder strap, etc), wheeled is not a definite requirement...
i am leaning towards the caribee, mainly for price..
anyone have a bag that they really like? one they have but don't like?
thoughts and opinions from frequent flyers appreciated.
I've got a Karrimoor (English Brand) 30L trekking rucksack that is coming up on 16 years old now and just starting to wear out. Works well for short business trips and for bush trekking. I used it for a month's backpacking around Cambodia and Laos and it held everything I needed. And I still use it today for work trips. I never had an issue with it being prevented from being used as carryon.
I like having something that has dual purpose and this suits that need. I prefer backpacks with decent hip belts if you are using it for bushwalking. Takes the weight off your shoulders a bit.
Top opening hasn't been much of an issue on business trips if you pack right (and hotels have irons). I like the side pockets as you can stick the stuff in there that you need to get to quickly - eg aerosols that airport security don't like.
Problem with the usual trolley dolly wheeled bags is that they're heavy (2-3kg) and you only get 7kg on Qantas, so if they weigh you, you could be in trouble.
Its similar in design to this but in a different brand: http://int.berghaus.com/freeflow-25-rucksack/421597.html (http://int.berghaus.com/freeflow-25-rucksack/421597.html)
Its also keeps the pack off the back to help keep it cool - I think they call it 'airspace' now. http://www.karrimor.com/rucksacks/airspace-rucksacks (http://www.karrimor.com/rucksacks/airspace-rucksacks)
As per the advice above, be careful of size and weight. Domestic carry-on is smaller than international carry-on. The crew/check-in staff can also get picky about the weight. That Caribee looks like US carry-on size rather than AU carry-on.
I use a 20 year old Timbuk2 courier bag (one of the original ones) and have done so for the majority of that time. It gets used for work, uni and all sorts of other stuff.
As others have said, I'm a big believer in light bags for the ability to carry the most stuff as hand luggage - I do the same with my main hold baggage as well; I reckon my 2-3kg duffle bag is about half the weight of the roller bags and hard suitcases.
For the day pack option, I'd look at one of the Summit Packs (http://www.summitgear.com.au/day-packs/); I always liked the look of their kit as it was made in Katoomba.
use something as big as you like.. last dozen times I've been interstate the overhead lockers are full way before 1/2 the passengers get onboard..
everyone seems tro have a laptop bag the size of fitting a 386 + 12 in 1980s CRT screen, a bag thing you put suits in, and then their carry on bag - or 2...
As per the advice above, be careful of size and weight. Domestic carry-on is smaller than international carry-on. The crew/check-in staff can also get picky about the weight. That Caribee looks like US carry-on size rather than AU carry-on.
just double-checked the carry-on limits for jetstar (115cm) and virgin (105cm) and the caribee (105cm) complies, based on linear dimensions:
http://www.jetstar.com/au/en/help/articles/carry-on-baggage-what-can-i-bring-on-board (http://www.jetstar.com/au/en/help/articles/carry-on-baggage-what-can-i-bring-on-board)
http://www.virginaustralia.com/au/en/plan/baggage/carry-on-baggage/ (http://www.virginaustralia.com/au/en/plan/baggage/carry-on-baggage/)
i'll only ever be using this bag for domestic flights... i have a north face duffel for checked luggage. if required...
everyone seems tro have a laptop bag the size of fitting a 386 + 12 in 1980s CRT screen, a bag thing you put suits in, and then their carry on bag - or 2..
Ain't that the truth.
I use a Black Wolf backpack as checked luggage, carry on is the Akubra and the iPad. But then I only go away for 6-8 weeks.
Paceman, I have a Caribee Skymaster and to be quite honest I have never used it mainly because it is a very soft bag and doesn't hold its shape. It is also quite big but they say it is carry on. Not trying to sway you one way or the other it's just not my preference.
If you still think it's what you want give me a yell, I have been just storing gear in it and it's never been on a plane
My tip (I've been flying interstate nearly every week for 25+ years) get a bag with the least amount of extra pockets or zippers as possible.
Backpacks for domestic travel can be a PITA. Keep it simple, you'll only fill the extra pockets up with crap that you carry everywhere and never use. Same with an iPad or laptop bag, less is best.
I've just converted to one of these and have a second one now for swmbo. Duffle bag and shoulder pack in one. We don't use them as a full backpack as pictured, but do on occasion use one shoulder strap in an over shoulder style.
Never had mine full, but can accommodate 1 night to 4 nights away packed clothes.
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160616/6c505e4f235011610ef0a64ab8fd5f47.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160616/eba1fc2d0d4c1c8174f318b3e5a3b549.jpg)
FWIW
when ever I fly interstate for work (Bne, Syd, Per) I just take 1 bag and check it in and a normal laptop bag so I stand a chance of storing it overhead
FWIW
when ever I fly interstate for work (Bne, Syd, Per) I just take 1 bag and check it in and a normal laptop bag so I stand a chance of storing it overhead
I have checked my bag in for years. Just throw the laptop bag under the seat in front. When landed grab it get of the plane and wait a whole 2 minutes for bag gives me enough time to grab a coffee S well. I then chuckle at everyone slamming in suitcases on top of laptop :)
Starsky
I used a Crumpler Dry Red no. 5. Quite a versatile bag without too many pockets, 1.3kg empty and formal enough that it was ok to walk into a meeting without looking like you were there for the night.
Bit expensive but a lifetime warranty and as it's a "briefcase", tax deductible.
I have checked my bag in for years. Just throw the laptop bag under the seat in front. When landed grab it get of the plane and wait a whole 2 minutes for bag gives me enough time to grab a coffee S well. I then chuckle at everyone slamming in suitcases on top of laptop :)
Starsky
are you in the race to stand up first and stand there for 20 mins?? or like me wait until the very end, watchin the dude pinned to the window seat twitching for 25-30 mins ;D :D
Nobody has ever managed to tell me why theres a race to be first to stand up...
are you in the race to stand up first and stand there for 20 mins?? or like me wait until the very end, watchin the dude pinned to the window seat twitching for 25-30 mins ;D :D
Nobody has ever managed to tell me why theres a race to be first to stand up...
When your in row 1 or 2 mate, you just walk off first ;D
**** off ya snob :'(
My tip (I've been flying interstate nearly every week for 25+ years) get a bag with the least amount of extra pockets or zippers as possible.
Backpacks for domestic travel can be a PITA. Keep it simple, you'll only fill the extra pockets up with crap that you carry everywhere and never use. Same with an iPad or laptop bag, less is best.
I've just converted to one of these and have a second one now for swmbo. Duffle bag and shoulder pack in one. We don't use them as a full backpack as pictured, but do on occasion use one shoulder strap in an over shoulder style.
Never had mine full, but can accommodate 1 night to 4 nights away packed clothes.
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160616/6c505e4f235011610ef0a64ab8fd5f47.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160616/eba1fc2d0d4c1c8174f318b3e5a3b549.jpg)
Geez mate, can't get too much "gear" in that
It is worth considering how much the bag weighs empty, some of the wheeled options can be 2.5 kg even before you put a tooth brush in.
I recall seeing a patagoina one that was light and well made, have you tried looking second hand on evil bay?
Our bags of that sort vary from 70 litre (24kg) to 120 litre (32kg-ish) depending on what we've put in there exactly; sometimes the bigger bags are better for bulky things (mine came over with 2x Exped megamat 10LXW's in it) so they aren't always as heavy as they seem.
Also, I'm a big believer in a the nature abhors a vacuum, the more space you have, the more likely you are to fill it with useless useful crap
Thongs oldmate, take much less room
Do you wear a top with that?
Mostly yes, but wear sox with them in winter
photo of him when he gets the call his flight is delayed
(http://www.wearysloth.com/Gallery/ActorsM/tve20457-261-19780307-0.jpg)
thanks, mate... what size are you using for carry-on? i have the exact same one in large and it is brilliant... (but too big for carry-on)...
Not sure what capacity it is, but when I bought them, they would have been the medium size (next one up from the small) and definitely cabin size.
i have tossed up between the small and medium, but worried that the medium is too big...
could i trouble you to take a quick measurement of the bag, so i can be sure?
i have tossed up between the small and medium, but worried that the medium is too big...
could i trouble you to take a quick measurement of the bag, so i can be sure?
No prob. Will do tonight when I get home.
thanks, mate...
this is the medium size i have been looking at...
https://rushfaster.com.au/product/the-north-face/medium-69l-base-camp-duffle-2015-bomber-blue-cosmic-blue/12124/
technically, it is bigger than the carry-on linear dimensions, but being a duffel, it can be compressed if not too full...
you've never had an issue as carry-on on jetstar or virgin?
thanks, mate...
this is the medium size i have been looking at...
https://rushfaster.com.au/product/the-north-face/medium-69l-base-camp-duffle-2015-bomber-blue-cosmic-blue/12124/
technically, it is bigger than the carry-on linear dimensions, but being a duffel, it can be compressed if not too full...
you've never had an issue as carry-on on jetstar or virgin?
Based on the dimensions 64x35x35, and scale against the human silhoette, pretty sure that's the size I have and similar to a couple of older duffle style bags I've used. Never been questioned on either Q or V, but as you said, I've never had it bulging even if full of clothes for 4 days.
The other tip I can offer is think carefully about any shoes you might pack. They are what takes the most space and I just take a pair of thongs in summer and casual slip ons in winter. Also stuff your sox and undies into your shoes.
Based on the dimensions 64x35x35, and scale against the human silhoette, pretty sure that's the size I have and similar to a couple of older duffle style bags I've used. Never been questioned on either Q or V, but as you said, I've never had it bulging even if full of clothes for 4 days.
The other tip I can offer is think carefully about any shoes you might pack. They are what takes the most space and I just take a pair of thongs in summer and casual slip ons in winter. Also stuff your sox and undies into your shoes.
i'm OK with packing techniques like you have mentioned... that's what i do, too...
i have been thinking about packing cubes as well, plenty of good reports, but have never got around to using them...
i'm OK with packing techniques like you have mentioned... that's what i do, too...
i have been thinking about packing cubes as well, plenty of good reports, but have never got around to using them...
Also what's with men's toilet bags? For some reason the world thinks men have to have a brick size bag to carry a comb/brush, toothbrush/toothpaste, and shaver. Took me years, but finally found the Japanese shops (muji) sell perfect size shaver/toilet bags for men (obviously exclude the scissors etc)
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160616/21e8215186f829a87a94188c0293ed67.jpg)
Also what's with men's toilet bags? For some reason the world thinks men have to have a brick size bag to carry a comb/brush, toothbrush/toothpaste, and shaver. Took me years, but finally found the Japanese shops (muji) sell perfect size shaver/toilet bags for men (obviously exclude the scissors etc)
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160616/21e8215186f829a87a94188c0293ed67.jpg)
i have been using an old leather 'dopp' style bag for years and it has served me well...
depends on what you need to take, i guess...
I typically travel domestic with a carry-on duffle. It's an Eddie Bauer bag I picked up in the US. It has a main compartment and 2 end compartments, one end is for shoe storage and the other end I use for toiletries bag. I pack all socks/jocks in a mesh cube bag to keep them together and roll the rest of my clothes and pack them in the main compartment. Being a soft duffle you can typically jam it into a full over head locker vs. the solid style that can be a pita to stow. I can go away for a day or a week with this bag. Only issue is if you're stuck in a line it can get heavy as you need to hold onto it and can't roll it.
I typically travel domestic with a carry-on duffle. It's an Eddie Bauer bag I picked up in the US. It has a main compartment and 2 end compartments, one end is for shoe storage and the other end I use for toiletries bag. I pack all socks/jocks in a mesh cube bag to keep them together and roll the rest of my clothes and pack them in the main compartment. Being a soft duffle you can typically jam it into a full over head locker vs. the solid style that can be a pita. I can go away for a day or a week with this bag. Only issue is if you're stuck in a line it can get heavy as you need to hold onto it and can't roll it.
thanks for the input, mate... the softness of the bag is a plus for me, for the reasons you and others have mentioned...
have you got some rough measurements for the bag?
is it something like this:
http://www.eddiebauer.com/product/maximus-duffel---45l/82302367/_/A-ebSku_0232367766__82302367_catalog10002_en__US?showProducts=&backToCat=Duffels%20_%20Luggage&previousPage=GNAV&tab=gear&color=938 (http://www.eddiebauer.com/product/maximus-duffel---45l/82302367/_/A-ebSku_0232367766__82302367_catalog10002_en__US?showProducts=&backToCat=Duffels%20_%20Luggage&previousPage=GNAV&tab=gear&color=938)
i have been using an old leather 'dopp' style bag for years and it has served me well...
depends on what you need to take, i guess...
Since my hair started falling out, found I don't need to take the hairdryer or curling wand anymore
have also been looking at one of these:
https://www.tombihn.com/collections/travel-bags/products/aeronaut-45?variant=16381010823 (https://www.tombihn.com/collections/travel-bags/products/aeronaut-45?variant=16381010823)
expensive, but the quality appears to be excellent... and plenty of good reviews...
Cubes are great. Kathmandu ones when they're on special or Aldi ones when they have their luggage range.
thanks for the input, mate... the softness of the bag is a plus for me, for the reasons you and others have mentioned...
have you got some rough measurements for the bag?
is it something like this:
http://www.eddiebauer.com/product/maximus-duffel---45l/82302367/_/A-ebSku_0232367766__82302367_catalog10002_en__US?showProducts=&backToCat=Duffels%20_%20Luggage&previousPage=GNAV&tab=gear&color=938 (http://www.eddiebauer.com/product/maximus-duffel---45l/82302367/_/A-ebSku_0232367766__82302367_catalog10002_en__US?showProducts=&backToCat=Duffels%20_%20Luggage&previousPage=GNAV&tab=gear&color=938)
Looks like this http://www.eddiebauer.com/product/expedition-medium-duffel-bag/82302255/_/A-ebSku_0232255166__82302255_catalog10002_en__US?showProducts=&backToCat=Duffels _ Luggage&previousPage=GNAV&tab=gear&color=938 (http://www.eddiebauer.com/product/expedition-medium-duffel-bag/82302255/_/A-ebSku_0232255166__82302255_catalog10002_en__US?showProducts=&backToCat=Duffels _ Luggage&previousPage=GNAV&tab=gear&color=938)
Cubes are great. Kathmandu ones when they're on special or Aldi ones when they have their luggage range.
I have these http://shop.eaglecreek.com/packit-cube-set/d/1322_cl_2541 (http://shop.eaglecreek.com/packit-cube-set/d/1322_cl_2541)
I've used an Osprey Porter 46 for years and its a great option. One really nice feature is the stiffer foam sides that allow it hold its shape when laid flat and opened. It also compresses nicely if not overfull and using on a domestic flight with smaller size allowance. Another great Osprey one is the Farpoint 40, a little smaller, but has a proper backpack internal frame. So an option if you planning on lots of walking. I think over 40l in bag size you have trouble staying below 7kg limit. You may go years of flying and never get pulled up with overweight carry on, but when you do it can be an expensive exercise. We now moving to smart looking 40l backpacks as we doing lots of walking on our trips.
Apol's for the delay. Packed tonight for next 3 days in Brisvegas. Here's the NF duffle, but less than 1/2full including toilet bag and 2nd pair shoes.
I was thinking of starting a new thread called 'show us your luggage and how well it's packed' but knowing this group, it'd get locked pretty quickly
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160621/8a6d7e8e411b36a26f48afce50198455.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160621/6c26b3a1c78396d7c93bd0bca3042617.jpg)
Reminds me, I often wear a ScottEvest jacket. Takes at least a couple of kg (iPad, phone, passports, glasses, micro first aid kit etc). I have a few different ScottEvest things and they're all well designed. Bit daggy (very according to the kids) but functional.
Apol's for the delay. Packed tonight for next 3 days in Brisvegas. Here's the NF duffle, but less than 1/2full including toilet bag and 2nd pair shoes.
I was thinking of starting a new thread called 'show us your luggage and how well it's packed' but knowing this group, it'd get locked pretty quickly
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160621/8a6d7e8e411b36a26f48afce50198455.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160621/6c26b3a1c78396d7c93bd0bca3042617.jpg)
by the looks of those measurements, you have the small north face duffel (530mm x 320mm)... ?
https://rushfaster.com.au/product/the-north-face/small-50l-base-camp-duffle-2015-tnf-black/12136/
by the looks of those measurements, you have the small north face duffel (530mm x 320mm)... ?
https://rushfaster.com.au/product/the-north-face/small-50l-base-camp-duffle-2015-tnf-black/12136/
Possible, but there was a smaller one again in the shop.
I've only had this really full once and it would easily have expended out to 600m+ long and 400mm x 350mm around the middle
Possible, but there was a smaller one again in the shop.
I've only had this really full once and it would easily have expended out to 600m+ long and 400mm x 350mm around the middle
they do make an extra-small model as well...
https://rushfaster.com.au/product/the-north-face/extra-small-33l-base-camp-duffle-2015-tnf-black/12140/
450mm x 280mm
Flew to Brisbane last week with You-Might-Get-There airlines (Tiger) and they weighed all hand luggage going on board, causing a few casualties. On the way back we were sitting next to a Jetstar gate waiting for our flight and spent a very amusing 45 minutes watching them check all that flight's carry on. Several smug women would saunter up and put their bag on the scale (usually just on 7 kg) only to be told they also had to put their handbag on as well (usually another 7 kg), the smiles soon disappeared. Businessmen with carry on and laptop bag would usually come in at the 14 - 18 kg range. Lots then agreed to put bags in underneath at $50 a go. The two best were a early 20s shapely young girl trying to discreetly pull on a pair of jeans while still wearing her very short mini and tights, gave up in the end and went to the loo. The second girl had 18 kgs of luggage. Tried various ways to get the bags weight down so the hostie would put the ok label on them. She was even sprung piling up her clothes behind a wall so she get the label and then just refill the bag for the flight. In the end she boarded the flight wearing about 5 layers of clothing, looking bigger than the Michelin Man, she would have been almost impossible to sit beside and would have been very uncomfortable.
I suppose this long ramble is saying, depending on who you are flying with, be careful about the weight. Second point is that with the Brisbane Tiger flight (was actually early), there must have been only about 20 bags off the flight and we would have taken about 2 minutes longer to leave compared to us not taking any checked luggage ($15 a bag).
Flew down to Brissie on Monday with Virgin. My check in was weighed when I was checking in.
So it appears they are on the warpath.
They always weigh checkin bags
I have just found and purchased the ultimate carry-on/laptop bag, best part is the side laptop pocket for a quick in/out of the laptop for airport security. Very comfy shoulder strap for throwing over one shoulder, handle for carrying is also comfy. I can keep all my items required during travel in the front section. In the middle section you can get a good couple of days worth of clothes, it also includes mesh zip sections and it expands if you need more room. Can be used for business or pleasure travel without looking out of place. I was almost tempted to also buy the check-in suitcase version as well...
http://www.crumpler.com/au/laptop-bags/dry-red-no-6 (http://www.crumpler.com/au/laptop-bags/dry-red-no-6)
We have one of these which is similar to the Crumpler, but at about a third the price, and we are very happy with it. Not knocking the Crumpler as they make excellent bags, but just letting you see a cheaper option.
http://www.bagworld.com.au/shop/detail/samsonite-vizair-plus-15.6-laptop-backpack-black-/ (http://www.bagworld.com.au/shop/detail/samsonite-vizair-plus-15.6-laptop-backpack-black-/)
I have just found and purchased the ultimate carry-on/laptop bag, best part is the side laptop pocket for a quick in/out of the laptop for airport security. Very comfy shoulder strap for throwing over one shoulder, handle for carrying is also comfy. I can keep all my items required during travel in the front section. In the middle section you can get a good couple of days worth of clothes, it also includes mesh zip sections and it expands if you need more room. Can be used for business or pleasure travel without looking out of place. I was almost tempted to also buy the check-in suitcase version as well...
http://www.crumpler.com/au/laptop-bags/dry-red-no-6 (http://www.crumpler.com/au/laptop-bags/dry-red-no-6)
I have the same one. Great bag.
$345 bucks over rated. As a frequent traveller I have a simple $50 suitcase but I always check it in over fighting for overhead cabin space & I find that most the time I'm at the hire car counter next to the guys who carried on their baggage comes out quick these days. A simple slim laptop bag is also the go quick to get out through checkin, when seated throw laptop in seat pocket and bag under front seat.
I've had the 1 suitcase fits all
The 1 laptop bag fits all
The 1 backpack fits all
Now back to this config
$345 bucks over rated.
That's what the wife said. I tried to sell it via the lifetime warranty, she wasn't having any of it.
I've acquired 'free' bags via my previous employer over the last 14 years. This is the first bag I've actually purchased, other than my trusty Samsonite suitcase that I bought 16 years ago.
I paid $160 with a Myer receipt on eBay from a guy who tried it and didn't like it. Don't forget that it's a "briefcase " so tax deductible.
Iam a carry on guy. Hate checking bags. I will even do japan for 5 days with a carry on. Being platnuim you do get leeway on carry on though.
I am also a spinner fan as well ! I found the perfect bag up in Japan but my bloody card stopped working! It was a samosnite but not available here. Basically they are all going this way with separate front compartments for laptops so it's straight out at security. Check out the blue bag or what ever it's called! I had that idea years ago has GPS tracking and a geo fence around it!!! Only problem is it's about 5.5 kg by itself before you load it.
If you travel in the exit aisle you can't have your laptop in the pocket. A tablet is okay but not a laptop, even though they maybe the same size Ffs! I just ordered a new X1 yoga so hoping it'll fool em as a tablet!
This site is worth a read http://www.onebag.com/bags.html (http://www.onebag.com/bags.html)
It's US based so some suggestions wont work here, but it has some good principles to follow
I'm with Swannie, i dont fly much anymore but when i do i have to take steel cap boots and other PPE and am usually away all week so i always check a bag, as Swannie says they come out quick these days, then i either take an Ebags TLS slim professional or my old faithful North Face backpack, but never both together, and chuck it under the seat that way i can always get at what i need during the flight
Difference between Swannie and me tho is he is always up the pointy end and im down back in cattle class